Get Your First Month for Free Get Started
Celebrate Small Business Saturday! Over 150 great audiobooks on sale from now thru Saturday, November 24th! Shop the Sale

Portland Notables

Check out these notable Portland audiobooks.

The Misfit's Manifesto

TED Books
By Lidia Yuknavitch
Narrated by Lidia Yuknavitch, Melanie Alldritt, Jason Arias, Sean Davis, Zach Ellis, Melissa Febos, Jordan Foster, Domi Shoemaker & Mary Thompson /  3 hours 58 minutes

A self-defined misfit makes a powerful case for not fitting in—for recognizing the beauty, and difficulty, in forging an original path.

A misfit is a person who missed fitting in, a person who fits in badly, or this: a person who is poorly adapted to new situations and environments. It’s a shameful word, a word no one typically tries to own.... Read More »

Price:

$17.24

Get for Free with Membership

The Child Finder

A Novel
By Rene Denfeld
Narrated by Alyssa Bresnahan /  8 hours 40 minutes

The Child Finder

“In Rene Denfeld's new novel, a woman who searches for abducted or lost children must confront her own memoires of being abducted as a young girl. While searching for a girl recently kidnapped in her hometown, she is haunted by her past and the lies that she used to weave her present, lies that often took the form of stories. Meanwhile, the abducted girl must survive years of terror and heartbreak, all while constructing a magical mythology to shield herself from the atrocities of her captor. These characters, especially the women, are strong and imaginative. Readers who enjoyed Room will devour this literary thriller, which promises to open up Denfeld's readership to a much wider level.”

Wellesley Books image William Carl, Wellesley Books
Price:

$25.29

Get for Free with Membership

Geek Love

A Novel
By Katherine Dunn
Narrated by Christina Moore /  15 hours 28 minutes

Nominated for the National Book Award, Geek Love is mesmerizing, daring, and unconventional. Award-winning novelist Katherine Dunn fascinates and amazes much the same way tornados, earthquakes, and volcanos do. No one wants to be a victim, but most find the event too hypnotic to ignore. In order to save their traveling carnival from bankruptcy,... Read More »

Price:

$34.49

Get for Free with Membership

Sweetheart

A Thriller
Archie Sheridan & Gretchen Lowell: Book #2
By Chelsea Cain
Narrated by Carolyn McCormick /  11 hours 39 minutes

With Heartsick, Chelsea Cain took the crime world by storm, introducing two of the most compelling characters in decades: serial killer Gretchen Lowell and her obsessed pursuer Portland Detective Archie Sheridan. The book spent four weeks on the New York Times bestseller list and garnered rave reviews around the world. But the riveting story of... Read More »

Price:

$31.04

Get for Free with Membership

Birds of Paradise

By Diana Abu-Jaber
Narrated by Tamara Marston /  14 hours 38 minutes

Avis Muir is a brilliant pastry chef, Brian Muir a corporate real estate attorney. Their son, Stanley, is the proprietor of a trendy food market. Their beautiful daughter, Felice, is missing. A runaway at 13, Felice has spent five years modeling tattoos, skateboarding, clubbing, and sleeping in a squat house or on the beach. She’s about to turn... Read More »

Price:

$29.75

Get for Free with Membership

Every Anxious Wave

By Mo Daviau
Narrated by Zach Villa /  8 hours 8 minutes

Why would we need music if our lives were exactly as we wanted them to be?Karl Bender is a quiet guy who lives in three places: his bar, his apartment, and the cheap Mediterranean place on the corner that keeps him well-fed with his daily portion of hummus and chicken shwarma. But that’s all about to change. When he stumbles upon a... Read More »

Price:

$22.94

Get for Free with Membership

Martin Marten

A Novel
By Brian Doyle
Narrated by Travis Baldree /  10 hours 11 minutes

Dave is fourteen years old, living with his family in a cabin on Oregon's Mount Hood (or as he prefers to call it, like the Multnomah tribal peoples once did, Wy'east). Dave will soon enter high school, with adulthood and a future not far off—a future away from his mother, father, his precocious younger sister, and the wilderness where he's... Read More »

Price:

$20.69

Get for Free with Membership

Strange the Dreamer

Strange the Dreamer: Book #1
By Laini Taylor
Narrated by Steve West /  18 hours 19 minutes

Strange the Dreamer

“Get ready to be swept up in this hauntingly beautiful story of an orphan boy who dreams of places no on remembers and a powerful girl fighting to do what is right. Laini Taylor creates a fantasy world that is sure to stay in your dreams. Great for readers who enjoyed Six of Crows, An Ember in the Ashes, or Taylor's other books.”

Once Upon A Time image Jessica, Once Upon A Time
Price:

$28.73

Get for Free with Membership

Arabella of Mars

The Adventures of Arabella Ashby: Book #1
By David D. Levine
Narrated by Barrie Kreinik /  10 hours 32 minutes

Since Newton witnessed a bubble rising from his bathtub, mankind has sought the stars. When William III of England commissioned Capt. William Kidd to command the first expedition to Mars in the late 1600s, he proved that space travel was both possible and profitable.

Now, one century later, a plantation in a flourishing British colony on Mars is... Read More »

Price:

$31.04

Get for Free with Membership

Narrow River, Wide Sky

A Memoir
By Jenny Forrester
Narrated by Amy Melissa Bentley /  6 hours 38 minutes

In the vein of The Liar's Club and The Glass Castle, Jenny Forrester's memoir perfectly captures both place and a community situated on the Colorado Plateau between slot canyons and rattlesnakes, where she grew up with her mother and brother in a single-wide trailer proudly displaying an American flag. Forrester's powerfully eloquent story... Read More »

Price:

$19.54

Get for Free with Membership

No Time to Spare

By Ursula K. Le Guin
Narrated by Barbara Caruso /  6 hours 33 minutes

From acclaimed author Ursula K. Le Guin, and with an introduction by Karen Joy Fowler, a collection of thoughts-always adroit, often acerbic-on aging, belief, the state of literature, and the state of the nation. Ursula K. Le Guin has taken readers to imaginary worlds for decades. Now she's in the last great frontier of life, old age, and... Read More »

Price:

$19.99

Get for Free with Membership

The Girl Who Fell from the Sky

By Heidi W. Durrow
Narrated by Karen Murray, Emily Bauer & Kathleen McInerney /  6 hours 56 minutes

A timely and moving bicultural coming-of-age tale, based on a true story and told by an author who has struggled with the same issues as her protagonist.

The daughter of a Danish immigrant and a black G.I., Rachel survives a family tragedy only to face new challenges. Sent to live with her strict African-American grandmother in a racially divided... Read More »

Price:

$24.12

Get for Free with Membership

Wildwood

Wildwood Chronicles: Book #3
By Colin Meloy
Narrated by Amanda Plummer /  15 hours 52 minutes

For fans of The Chronicles of Narnia comes the first book in the Wildwood Chronicles, the New York Times bestselling fantasy adventure series by Colin Meloy, lead singer of the Decemberists.

In Wildwood, Prue and her friend Curtis uncover a secret world in the midst of violent upheaval—a world full of warring creatures, peaceable mystics, and... Read More »

Price:

$27.59

Get for Free with Membership
Celebrate Small Business Saturday! Over 150 great audiobooks on sale from now thru Saturday, November 24th! Shop the Sale

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener