Libro.fm Audiobooks
Celebrate Bookstore Day with free audiobooks on Saturday, April 28th. Learn More

2018 PEN America Literary Awards Finalists

This year’s PEN America Literary Awards will recognize writers and translators whose exceptional literary works were published in 2017. The winners will be announced live at the 2018 PEN America Literary Awards Ceremony on February 20 in NYC.

We Were Eight Years in Power

An American Tragedy
By Ta-Nehisi Coates
Narrated by Beresford Bennett /  13 hours 37 minutes

In these “urgently relevant essays,”* the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World and Me “reflects on race, Barack Obama’s presidency and its jarring aftermath”*—including the election of Donald Trump.

New York Times Bestseller • One of Time’s Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of the Year • One of USA Today’s top 10 books of the year • A...
Read More »

Price:

$30.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

White Tears

A novel
By Hari Kunzru
Narrated by Lincoln Hoppe, Danny Campbell & Dominic Hoffman /  10 hours 15 minutes

White Tears is a ghost story, a terrifying murder mystery, a timely meditation on race, and a love letter to all the forgotten geniuses of American music and Delta Mississippi Blues.


"An incisive meditation on race, privilege and music. Spanning decades, this novel brings alive the history of old-time blues and America’s racial...
Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

The Changeling

A Novel
By Victor LaValle
Narrated by Victor LaValle /  14 hours 1 minute

“If the literary gods mixed together Haruki Murakami and Ralph Ellison, the result would be Victor LaValle.”—Anthony Doerr, author of All the Light We Cannot See

“A dark fairy tale of New York, full of magic and loss, myth and mystery, love and madness. The Changeling is a mesmerizing, monumental work.”—Marlon James, author of A Brief History of... Read More »

Price:

$27.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Bunk

The Rise of Hoaxes, Humbug, Plagiarists, Phonies, Post-Facts, and Fake News
By Kevin Young
Narrated by Mirron Willis /  20 hours 24 minutes

Bunk traces the history of the hoax as a peculiarly American phenomenon, examining what motivates hucksters and makes the rest of us so gullible. Disturbingly, Young finds that fakery is woven from stereotype and suspicion, race being the most insidious American hoax of all. He chronicles how Barnum came to fame by displaying figures like Joice... Read More »

Price:

$34.49

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Sonora

By Hannah Lillith Assadi
Narrated by Soneela Nankani /  6 hours 2 minutes

Based on true events, Hannah Assadi's fierce and raging debut novel tracks the shattered, illuminated psyche of a young woman seizing her own adulthood Ahlam, the daughter of a Palestinian refugee and his Israeli wife, grows up in the arid lands of desert suburbia outside of Phoenix. In a stark landscape where coyotes prowl and mysterious lights... Read More »

Price:

$24.99

Get for $0.99 with Membership

History of Wolves

By Emily Fridlund
Narrated by Susan Bennett /  9 hours 12 minutes

"So delicately calibrated and precisely beautiful that one might not immediately sense the sledgehammer of pain building inside this book. And I mean that in the best way. What powerful tension and depth this provides!"-Aimee Bender Fourteen-year-old Linda lives with her parents in the beautiful, austere woods of northern Minnesota, where their... Read More »

Price:

$24.99

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Her Body and Other Parties

Stories
By Carmen Maria Machado
Narrated by Amy Landon /  8 hours 41 minutes

In Her Body and Other Parties, Carmen Maria Machado blithely demolishes the arbitrary borders between psychological realism and science fiction, comedy and horror, fantasy and fabulism. While her work has earned her comparisons to Karen Russell and Kelly Link, she has a voice that is all her own. In this electric and provocative debut, Machado... Read More »

Price:

$28.74

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Sour Heart

Stories
By Jenny Zhang
Narrated by Greta Jung, Jenny Zhang & Various /  9 hours 59 minutes

A sly debut story collection that conjures the experience of adolescence through the eyes of Chinese American girls growing up in New York City—for readers of Zadie Smith, Helen Oyeyemi, and Junot Díaz

A fresh new voice emerges with the arrival of Sour Heart, establishing Jenny Zhang as a frank and subversive interpreter of the immigrant... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

My Soul Looks Back

A Memoir
By Jessica B. Harris
Narrated by Jessica B. Harris /  6 hours 13 minutes

In the technicolor glow of the early seventies, Jessica B. Harris debated, celebrated, and danced her way from the jazz clubs of the Manhattan's West Side to the restaurants of the Village, living out her buoyant youth alongside the great minds of the day-luminaries like Maya Angelou, James Baldwin, and Toni Morrison. My Soul Looks Back is her... Read More »

Price:

$22.94

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Augustown

By Kei Miller
Narrated by Dona Croll /  7 hours 31 minutes

In the wake of Marlon James's Man Booker Prize-winning A Brief History of Seven Killings, Augustown-set in the backlands of Jamaica-is a magical and haunting novel of one woman's struggle to rise above the brutal vicissitudes of history, race, class, collective memory, violence, and myth. Ma Taffy may be blind but she sees everything. So when... Read More »

Price:

$24.99

Get for $0.99 with Membership

A Moonless, Starless Sky

Ordinary Women and Men Fighting Extremism in Africa
By Alexis Okeowo
Narrated by Kamali Minter /  7 hours 55 minutes

WINNER OF THE 2018 PEN OPEN BOOK AWARD

"A rich and urgently necessary book" (New York Times Book Review), A Moonless, Starless Sky is a masterful, humane work of journalism by Alexis Okeowo--a vivid narrative of Africans who are courageously resisting their continent's wave of fundamentalism.

In A Moonless, Starless Sky Okeowo weaves together... Read More »

Price:

$28.73

Get for $0.99 with Membership

The Book of Emma Reyes

A Memoir
A Penguin Classics Hardcover
By Emma Reyes, Daniel Alarcón & Daniel Alarcón
Narrated by Marisol Ramirez & Daniel Alarcón /  5 hours 8 minutes

“Startling and astringently poetic.” —The New York Times

A literary discovery: an extraordinary account, in the tradition of The House on Mango Street and Angela’s Ashes, of a Colombian woman’s harrowing childhood


This astonishing memoir was hailed as an instant classic when first published in Colombia in 2012, nearly a decade after the death of... Read More »

Price:

$18.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

A Horse Walks Into a Bar

By David Grossman & Jessica Cohen
Narrated by Joe Barrett /  5 hours 49 minutes

In a little dive in a small Israeli city, Dov Greenstein, a comedian a bit past his prime, is doing a night of standup. In the audience is a district court justice, Avishai Lazar, whom Dov knew as a boy, along with a few others who remember Dov as the awkward, scrawny kid who walked on his hands to confound the neighborhood bullies. Gradually,... Read More »

Price:

$28.74

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Out in the Open

A Novel
By Jesús Carrasco
Narrated by W. Morgan Sheppard /  5 hours 21 minutes

"A harrowing, humane, and very beautiful book.” —Garth Greenwell, author of What Belongs to You

A searing dystopian vision of a young boy's flight through an unnamed, savaged country, searching for sanctuary and redemption—a debut novel from one of Europe's bestselling literary stars.

A young boy has fled his home. He’s pursued by... Read More »

Price:

$18.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Flâneuse

Women Walk the City in Paris, New York, Tokyo, Venice, and London
By Lauren Elkin
Narrated by Abby Craden /  9 hours 13 minutes

The flâneur is the quintessentially masculine figure of privilege and leisure who strides the capitals of the world with abandon. But it is the flâneuse who captures the imagination of the cultural critic Lauren Elkin. In her wonderfully gender-bending new book, the flâneuse is a "determined, resourceful individual keenly attuned to the creative... Read More »

Price:

$23.56

Get for $0.99 with Membership

No Time to Spare

By Ursula K. Le Guin
Narrated by Barbara Caruso /  6 hours 33 minutes

From acclaimed author Ursula K. Le Guin, and with an introduction by Karen Joy Fowler, a collection of thoughts-always adroit, often acerbic-on aging, belief, the state of literature, and the state of the nation. Ursula K. Le Guin has taken readers to imaginary worlds for decades. Now she's in the last great frontier of life, old age, and... Read More »

Price:

$19.99

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Grant

By Ron Chernow
Narrated by Mark Bramhall /  47 hours 58 minutes

The #1 New York Times bestseller.

Named one of the 10 Best Books of 2017 by The New York Times Book Review.

Pulitzer Prize winner Ron Chernow returns with a sweeping and dramatic portrait of one of our most compelling generals and presidents, Ulysses S. Grant.


Ulysses S. Grant's life has typically been misunderstood. All too often he is... Read More »

Price:

$48.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Richard Nixon

The Life
By John A. Farrell
Narrated by Dan Woren /  28 hours 52 minutes

From a prize-winning biographer comes the defining portrait of a man who led America in a time of turmoil and left us a darker age. We live today, John A. Farrell shows, in a world Richard Nixon made.

At the end of WWII, navy lieutenant “Nick” Nixon returned from the Pacific and set his cap at Congress, an idealistic dreamer seeking to build a... Read More »

Price:

$36.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Chester B. Himes

By Lawrence P. Jackson
Narrated by Ruffin Prentiss /  20 hours 29 minutes

The definitive biography of the groundbreaking African American author who had an extraordinary legacy on black writers globally. In his Chester B. Himes (1909-1984), Lawrence P. Jackson depicts the improbable life of the controversial writer whose novels confront sexuality, racism, and social injustice. In absorbing detail, Jackson explores... Read More »

Price:

$34.99

Get for $0.99 with Membership

You Say to Brick

The Life of Louis Kahn
By Wendy Lesser
Narrated by Will Damron /  15 hours 8 minutes

Born to a Jewish family in Estonia in 1901 and brought to America in 1906, the architect Louis Kahn grew up in poverty in Philadelphia; by the time of his death in 1974, he was widely recognized as one of the greatest architects of his era. Yet this enormous reputation was based on only a handful of masterpieces, all built during the last... Read More »

Price:

$25.29

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener