Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Own Voices YA

Books for teens written about diverse characters written by authors from their own experiences.

Playlist Tags: genre: Young Adult audience: teens topic: own voices

View all playlists

Gem & Dixie

By Sara Zarr
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 5 hours 45 minutes

“A story that broke my heart and put it back together again. You won’t want to let Gem and Dixie go.” —Sarah Dessen, New York Times bestselling author of Saint Anything

From renowned author and National Book Award finalist Sara Zarr comes a deep, nuanced, and gorgeously written story about the complex relationship between two sisters from a... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Hate U Give

By Angie Thomas
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 11 hours 40 minutes

The Hate U Give

“This bestselling, powerful young adult novel about social justice and one teen girl's effort to fight for what is right, will leave you breathless. The narration by Bahni Turpin is hands down the best I've ever heard. This is such an important book it should be required reading for life in general. Or listening. Definitely listening.”

Tattered Cover image Kristen, Tattered Cover
Audiobook details

The Kingdom of Copper

A Novel

By S. A. Chakraborty
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 23 hours 14 minutes

S. A. Chakraborty continues the sweeping adventure begun in The City of Brass—"the best adult fantasy I’ve read since The Name of the Wind" (#1 New York Times bestselling author Sabaa Tahir)—conjuring a world where djinn summon flames with the snap of a finger and waters run deep with old magic; where blood can be dangerous as any spell, and a... Read more »

Audiobook details

We Set the Dark on Fire

By Tehlor Kay Mejia
Narrated by: Kyla Garcia
Length: 9 hours 53 minutes

We Set the Dark on Fire

“Filled with lore, rebellion, and intricate world building- 'We Set The Dark On Fire' waves between exciting, beautiful, and intense. The writing is simple but not repetitive, it pulls a cultural backdrop with new values stacked around it, and the story in itself makes you continue to question how this will move forward. The relationships are all complex and multifaceted and there is no right or wrong perfection but tense navigation.”

Next Chapter Booksellers image Riley, Next Chapter Booksellers
Audiobook details

Let Me Hear a Rhyme

By Tiffany D. Jackson
Narrated by: Korey Jackson, Nile Bullock, Adenrele Ojo & Adam Lazarre-White
Length: 9 hours 31 minutes

Let Me Hear a Rhyme

“I listened to this book on audio during my commute & read chapters while at home and enjoyed it in BOTH formats. The story of 3 friends trying to get a record deal for their murdered best friend & brother was strained in parts but the desire to see the outcome & my enjoyment of the characters carried me through.”

Books Inc. image Rachael , Books Inc.
Audiobook details

Whichwood

By Tahereh Mafi
Narrated by: Bronson Pinchot
Length: 7 hours 5 minutes

Whichwood

“Whichwood is a darkly whimsical tale with a Persian flair involving magical worlds, ghostly pests, and a lonely young mortician. It is lyrical and fans of Miyazaki and Tim Burton will enjoy it immensely. The narrator is what really makes this audio book special! Whichwood is a companion book, but it isn't necessary to have read or listened to the first book (Furthermore) if this story has grabbed you and only listening to it RIGHT NOW will satisfy the itch.”

Bank Square Books image Kate, Bank Square Books
Audiobook details

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns

Rise of the Empress: Book #1

By Julie C. Dao
Narrated by: Kim Mai Guest
Length: 13 hours 21 minutes

The Wrath and the Dawn meets Snow White and the Huntsman in this dark and mystical East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl's quest to become Empress.

"A richly developed fantasy world . . . Julie C. Dao is a talent to watch."—Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Young Elites

Eighteen-year-old... Read more »

Audiobook details

Who Put This Song On?

By Morgan Parker
Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie, Bahni Turpin, Morgan Parker, Michael Crouch, Bailey Carr, Tim Andrés Pabon & Dan Bittner
Length: 9 hours 8 minutes

"Unflinchingly irreverent, laugh-out-loud funny, and heartbreakingly honest." —Elizabeth Acevedo, National Book Award winner and New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X

In the vein of powerful reads like The Hate U Give and The Poet X, comes poet Morgan Parker's pitch-perfect novel about a black teenage girl searching for her identity... Read more »

Audiobook details

Mirage

A Novel
Mirage Series: Book #1

By Somaiya Daud
Narrated by: Rasha Zamamiri
Length: 8 hours 58 minutes

Mirage is full of characters who feel like they existed long before the story began, and a rich world that is as beautiful as it is cruel. Somaiya Daud is a rare talent. A smart, romantic, exciting debut.” —Veronica Roth, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Divergent and Carve the Mark

A stunning epic fantasy audiobook inspired by the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Give Me Some Truth

By Eric Gansworth
Narrated by: Eric Gansworth & Brittany LeBorgne
Length: 14 hours 20 minutes

A powerful new book from Eric Gansworth, author of If I Ever Get Out of Here, that speaks the truth on race, relationships, and rock from two unforgettable perspectives.

Carson Mastick is entering his senior year of high school and desperate to make his mark, on the reservation and off. A rock band -- and winning the local Battle of the Bands,... Read more »

Audiobook details

I Wish You All the Best (Digital Audio Download Edition)

By Mason Deaver
Narrated by: MW Cartozian Wilson
Length: 8 hours 34 minutes

Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli, Mason Deaver's groundbreaking debut will rip your heart out before showing you how to heal from tragedy and celebrate life in the process.

"Heartfelt, romantic, and quietly groundbreaking. This book will save lives." -- Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo... Read more »
Audiobook details

Children of Blood and Bone

Legacy of Orisha: Book #1

By Tomi Adeyemi
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 17 hours 44 minutes

Children of Blood and Bone

“Children of Blood & Bone, is a story told in a world where magic no longer exists. Years ago, this was not the case. Once, magic and the Gods were celebrated. Now, Diviners (those with Maji blood, but no magic) are treated poorly, and all the Maji have been killed. One of those including our main protagonist, Zélie’s, mother. Determined to find a way to bring back magic, Zélie, along with her brother Tzain, and Orïsha’s only princess, Amari (gone rogue), set out on a quest against all odds. Told from Zélie, Amari and Amari’s brother and crown prince, Inan’s viewpoints, Tomi Adeyemi weaves together a tale so beautifully and tragically relevant, it will leave you craving for answers and more.”

Vroman's Bookstore image Jen, Vroman's Bookstore
Audiobook details

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

By Benjamin Alire Sáenz
Narrated by: Lin-Manuel Miranda
Length: 7 hours 29 minutes

This Printz Honor Book is a “tender, honest exploration of identity” (Publishers Weekly) that distills lyrical truths about family and friendship.

Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common.... Read more »

Audiobook details

Labyrinth Lost

Brooklyn Brujas: Book #1

By Zoraida Cordova
Narrated by: Almarie Guerra
Length: 9 hours 27 minutes

Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives. Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can't... Read more »

Audiobook details

North of Happy

By Adi Alsaid
Narrated by: Luis Moreno
Length: 8 hours 39 minutes

His whole life has been mapped out for him. Carlos Portillo has always led a privileged and sheltered life. A dual citizen of Mexico and the United States, he lives in Mexico City with his wealthy family, where he attends an elite international school. Always a rule follower and a parent pleaser, Carlos is more than happy to tread the well-worn... Read more »

Audiobook details

When Dimple Met Rishi

By Sandhya Menon
Narrated by: Sneha Mathan & Vikas Adam
Length: 10 hours 45 minutes

Now that Dimple Shah has graduated, she's ready for a break from her family - especially from Mamma's inexplicable obsession with her finding the Ideal Indian Husband. Ugh. But Dimple knows that her mother must respect that she isn't interested in doing that right now - otherwise she wouldn't have paid for her to attend a summer program for... Read more »

Audiobook details

We Are Okay

By Nina LaCour
Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie
Length: 5 hours 36 minutes

Winner of the 2018 Michael L. Printz Award — An achingly beautiful novel about grief and the enduring power of friendship.

Short, poetic and gorgeously written.” —The New York Times Book Review

“A beautiful, devastating piece of art.
" —Bookpage

You go through life thinking there’s so much you need. . . . Until you leave with only your phone, your... Read more »

Audiobook details

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter

By Erika L. Sánchez
Narrated by: Kyla Garcia
Length: 9 hours 40 minutes

National Book Award Finalist!
Instant New York Times Bestseller!

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
meets Jane the Virgin in this poignant but often laugh-out-loud funny contemporary YA about losing a sister and finding yourself amid the pressures, expectations, and stereotypes of growing up in a Mexican-American home. 

 
Perfect... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Downstairs Girl

By Stacey Lee
Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
Length: 10 hours 22 minutes

The Downstairs Girl

“I never expected to love The Downstairs Girl as much as I did. This book has it all - love, romance, family secrets, and a delightful, well-crafted story. It takes place in Atlanta in 1890 and Jo is the lovable protagonist who works as a ladies maid by day and an undercover advice columnist by night. The writing was the star of this lovely story. The words and Southern expressions were music to my ears. I highly recommend this witty, insightful, cleverly-written book. The narration was nothing less than brilliant.”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Melinda, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details

Jack of Hearts (and other parts)

By L. C. Rosen
Narrated by: Drew Caiden
Length: 8 hours 11 minutes

Riverdale meets Love, Simon in this modern, fresh, YA debut about an unapologetically queer teen working to uncover a blackmailer threatening him back into the closet.

Jack has a lot of sex--and he's not ashamed of it. While he's sometimes ostracized, and gossip constantly rages about his sex life, Jack always believes that "it could be worse."

... Read more »

Audiobook details