Libro.fm Audiobooks
Celebrate Bookstore Day with free audiobooks on Saturday, April 28th. Learn More

Akoobooks Audio: O, The Oprah Magazine: 17 Best Books to Dive Into March 2018

The Oprah Magazine: The 17 best books to dive into in March 2018

Sunburn

A Novel
By Laura Lippman
Narrated by Susan Bennett /  9 hours 8 minutes

New York Times bestselling author Laura Lippman returns with a superb novel of psychological suspense about a pair of lovers with the best intentions and the worst luck: two people locked in a passionate yet uncompromising game of cat and mouse. But instead of rules, this game has dark secrets, forbidden desires, inevitable betrayals—and... Read More »

Price:

$31.04

Get for $0.99 with Membership

The House of Impossible Beauties

A Novel
By Joseph Cassara
Narrated by Christian Barillas /  15 hours 35 minutes

A gritty and gorgeous debut that follows a cast of gay and transgender club kids navigating the Harlem ball scene of the 1980s and ’90s, inspired by the real House of Xtravaganza made famous by the seminal documentary Paris Is Burning

It’s 1980 in New York City, and nowhere is the city’s glamour and energy better reflected than in the burgeoning... Read More »

Price:

$34.49

Get for $0.99 with Membership

This Will Be My Undoing

Living at the Intersection of Black, Female, and Feminist in (White) America
By Morgan Jerkins
Narrated by Morgan Jerkins /  7 hours 5 minutes

From one of the fiercest critics writing today, Morgan Jerkins’ highly-anticipated collection of linked essays interweaves her incisive commentary on pop culture, feminism, black history, misogyny, and racism with her own experiences to confront the very real challenges of being a black woman today—perfect for fans of Roxane Gay’s Bad Feminist,... Read More »

Price:

$24.14

Get for $0.99 with Membership

A False Report

A True Story of Rape in America
By T. Christian Miller & Ken Armstrong
Narrated by Hillary Huber, T. Christian Miller & Ken Armstrong /  10 hours 5 minutes

A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS' CHOICE

Two Pulitzer Prize-winning journalists tell the riveting true story of Marie, a teenager who was charged with lying about having been raped, and the detectives who followed a winding path to arrive at the truth.

On August 11, 2008, eighteen-year-old Marie reported that a masked man broke into her... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Educated

A Memoir
By Tara Westover
Narrated by Julia Whelan /  12 hours 9 minutes

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • An unforgettable memoir about a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge University

“A coming-of-age memoir reminiscent of The Glass Castle.”O: The Oprah Magazine

“Tara Westover is living proof that some people are flat-out, boots-always-laced-up...
Read More »

Price:

$27.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

The Line Becomes a River

Dispatches from the Border
By Francisco Cantú
Narrated by Francisco Cantú /  6 hours 29 minutes

The instant New York Times bestseller, "A must-read for anyone who thinks 'build a wall' is the answer to anything." --Esquire

For Francisco Cantú, the border is in the blood: his mother, a park ranger and daughter of a Mexican immigrant, raised him in the scrublands of the Southwest. Haunted by the landscape of his youth, Cantú joins the Border... Read More »

Price:

$21.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Feel Free

Essays
By Zadie Smith
Narrated by Nikki Amuka-Bird /  13 hours 52 minutes

From Zadie Smith, one of the most beloved authors of her generation, a new collection of essays

Since she burst spectacularly into view with her debut novel almost two decades ago, Zadie Smith has established herself not just as one of the world's preeminent fiction writers, but also a brilliant and singular essayist. She contributes regularly to... Read More »

Price:

$27.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

The Woman's Hour

The Great Fight to Win the Vote
By Elaine Weiss
Narrated by Tavia Gilbert & Elaine Weiss /  16 hours 27 minutes

The nail-biting climax of one of the greatest political battles in American history: the ratification of the constitutional amendment that granted women the right to vote.

"Weiss is a clear and genial guide with an ear for telling language ... She also shows a superb sense of detail, and it's the deliciousness of her details that suggests...
Read More »

Price:

$30.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

White Houses

A Novel
By Amy Bloom
Narrated by Tonya Cornelisse /  6 hours 40 minutes

For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a “sensuous, captivating account of a forbidden affair between two women” (People)—Eleanor Roosevelt and “first friend” Lorena Hickok.

Lorena Hickok meets Eleanor Roosevelt in 1932 while reporting on Franklin Roosevelt’s first presidential campaign. Having grown up worse than poor... Read More »

Price:

$21.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

The Great Alone

A Novel
By Kristin Hannah
Narrated by Julia Whelan /  15 hours 1 minute

*The #1 New York Times bestseller*

The newest audiobook sensation from Kristin Hannah, bestselling author of The Nightingale.

This program is read by acclaimed narrator Julia Whelan, whose enchanting voice brought Gone Girl and Fates and Furies to life. Kristin Hannah reads the acknowledgements.

Alaska, 1974.

Unpredictable. Unforgiving.... Read More »

Price:

$37.94

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Blue Dreams

The Science and the Story of the Drugs that Changed Our Minds
By Lauren Slater
Narrated by Betsy Foldes Meiman /  13 hours 33 minutes

"Capacious and rigorous . . . Blue Dreams, like all good histories of medicine, reveals healing to be art as much as science." --Parul Sehgal, New York Times

"Terrific." --@MichaelPollan

"Ambitious...Slater's depictions of madness are terrifying and fascinating." --USA Today

"A vivid and thought-provoking synthesis." --Harper's

A... Read More »

Price:

$29.88

Get for $0.99 with Membership

The Undertaker's Daughter

By Sara Blaedel
Narrated by Molly Parker Myers /  8 hours 39 minutes

A thrilling new novel from #1 international bestselling author Sara Blaedel, author of THE FORGOTTEN GIRLS

"One of the best I've come across." -Michael Connelly

"Sara Blaedel is a force to be reckoned with. She's a remarkable crime writer who time and again delivers a solid, engaging story that any reader in the world can enjoy." -Karin... Read More »

Price:

$29.88

Get for $0.99 with Membership

The Which Way Tree

By Elizabeth Crook
Narrated by Will Collyer /  7 hours 17 minutes

"A ripping adventure [with] a show-stopping finale."--Wall Street Journal

"The stuff of legends."--Attica Locke

"Powerful, sly, and often charming."--Daniel Woodrell

The poignant odyssey of a tenacious young girl who braves the dangers of the Texas frontier to avenge her mother's death

Early one morning in the remote hill country of... Read More »

Price:

$29.88

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Dreadful Young Ladies and Other Stories

By Kelly Barnhill
Narrated by John Lee /  7 hours 32 minutes

From award-winning, New York Times bestselling author Kelly Barnhill comes a stunning collection of nine stories teeming with uncanny characters whose lives unfold in worlds at once strikingly human and eerily original. When Mrs. Sorensen's husband dies, she rekindles a long-dormant love with an unsuitable mate in "Mrs. Sorensen and the... Read More »

Price:

$34.49

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener