Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started
Celebrate Independent Bookstore Day with Free Audiobooks on Saturday, April 27th. Learn More

#OnceYouGoBlackOut

A celebration of less discovered titles from black authors and a challenge to read and share these classics. Follow, listen, participate and celebrate #OnceYouGoBlackOut.

Between the World and Me

By Ta-Nehisi Coates
Narrated by Ta-Nehisi Coates /  3 hours 35 minutes

Hailed by Toni Morrison as “required reading,” a bold and personal literary exploration of America’s racial history by “the single best writer on the subject of race in the United States” (The New York Observer)

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER | NAACP IMAGE AWARD WINNER | PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST | NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS...
Read More »

Price:

$24.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Invisible Man

By Ralph Ellison
Narrated by Joe Morton /  18 hours 38 minutes

Selected by the Modern Library as one of the 100 best novels of all time

Ralph Elllison's Invisible Man is a monumental novel, one that can well be called an epic of modern American Negro life. It is a strange story, in which many extraordinary things happen, some of them shocking and brutal, some of them pitiful and touching--yet always with... Read More »

Price:

$33.60 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Ghost

Track: Book #1
By Jason Reynolds
Narrated by Guy Lockard /  3 hours 29 minutes

A National Book Award Finalist for Young People’s Literature.
Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read.


Ghost wants to be the fastest sprinter on his elite middle school track team, but his past is slowing him down in this first electrifying novel of a brand-new series from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe... Read More »

Price:

$17.24 USD

Get for Free with Membership

If Beale Street Could Talk

A Novel
By James Baldwin
Narrated by Bahni Turpin /  7 hours 7 minutes

In this honest and stunning novel, James Baldwin has given America a moving story of love in the face of injustice. Told through the eyes of Tish, a nineteen-year-old girl in love with Fonny, a young sculptor who is the father of her child, Baldwin’s story mixes the sweet and the sad.Tish and Fonny have pledged to get married, but Fonny is... Read More »

Price:

$19.49 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The New Jim Crow

Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness
By Michelle Alexander
Narrated by Karen Chilton /  13 hours 15 minutes

Civil rights advocate and accomplished lawyer Michelle Alexander broaches a topic worthy of national conversation. Alexander argues that criminals convicted by our justice system face the same obstacles- legal discrimination and disenfranchisement- African Americans faced during the Jim Crow era. ''Carefully researched, deeply engaging, and... Read More »

Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Freshwater

By Akwaeke Emezi
Narrated by Akwaeke Emezi /  6 hours 42 minutes

An extraordinary debut novel, Freshwater explores the surreal experience of having a fractured self. It centers around a young Nigerian woman, Ada, who develops separate selves within her as a result of being born "with one foot on the other side." Unsettling, heartwrenching, dark, and powerful, Freshwater is a sharp evocation of a rare way of... Read More »

Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Here Comes the Sun

A Novel
By Nicole Dennis-Benn
Narrated by Bahni Turpin /  11 hours 42 minutes

Capturing the distinct rhythms of Jamaican life and dialect, Nicole Dennis-Benn pens a tender hymn to a world hidden among pristine beaches and the wide expanse of turquoise seas. At an opulent resort in Montego Bay, Margot hustles to send her younger sister, Thandi, to school. Taught as a girl to trade her sexuality for survival, Margot is... Read More »

Price:

$34.49 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Black No More

By George S. Schuyler
Narrated by Sean Crisden /  5 hours 23 minutes

According to Max Disher, an ambitious young black man in 1930s New York, someone of his race has only three alternatives: "Get out, get white, or get along." Incapable of getting out and unhappy with getting along, Max leaps at the remaining possibility. Thanks to a certain Dr. Junius Crookman and his mysterious process, Max and other eager... Read More »

Price:

$18.39 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Another Country

By James Baldwin
Narrated by Dion Graham /  16 hours 13 minutes

Published in 1962, this is an emotionally intense novel of love, hatred, race, and America in the 1950s. Set in Greenwich Village, Harlem, and France, among other locales, Another Country tells the story of the suicide of jazz musician Rufus Scott and the friends who search for an understanding of his life and death, discovering uncomfortable... Read More »

Price:

$34.44 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Giovanni's Room

By James Baldwin
Narrated by Dan Butler /  6 hours 49 minutes

Set in the 1950s Paris of American expatriates, liaisons, and violence, a young man finds himself caught between desire and conventional morality.With a sharp, probing imagination, James Baldwin's now-classic narrative delves into the mystery of loving and creates a moving, highly controversial story of death and passion that reveals the... Read More »

Price:

$19.95 USD

Get for Free with Membership

If You Come Softly

Twentieth Anniversary Edition
By Jacqueline Woodson
Narrated by Guy Lockard, Jorjeana Marie & Jacqueline Woodson /  3 hours 42 minutes

A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by National Ambassador for Children’s Literature Jacqueline Woodson--now celebrating its twentieth anniversary, and including a new preface by the author

Jeremiah feels good inside his own skin. That is, when he's in his own Brooklyn neighborhood. But now he's going to... Read More »

Price:

$25.20 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Krik? Krak!

By Edwidge Danticat
Narrated by Robin Miles & Dion Graham /  4 hours 52 minutes

American Book Award-winning author Edwidge Danticat earned a National Book Award nomination for this brilliant collection of stories, which includes Pushcart Prize winner "Between the Pool and the Gardenias." A "remarkably gifted writer" (Publishers Weekly), Danticat examines the brutality of her native Haiti, particularly as it affects women,... Read More »

Price:

$18.39 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Becoming

By Michelle Obama
Narrated by Michelle Obama /  19 hours 1 minute

Becoming

“I adore our former president and I miss him. Yet I cannot help but be ecstatic that Michelle is coming out with a book about her own life so that I can learn more about this powerful, intelligent, and singularly awesome woman. Barack would be the first to say that his wife is a superstar, and I can’t wait to get my hands on Becoming to read about her in her own words.”

Bookshop Santa Cruz image Jax, Bookshop Santa Cruz
Price:

$35.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The People Could Fly

American Black Folktales
By Virginia Hamilton
Narrated by Andrew Barnes /  3 hours 45 minutes

Virginia Hamilton (1936-2002), a giant in the world of children’s literature, was the first African-American woman to win a Newbery Medal and the first children’s book author to be awarded a MacArthur Genius Grant. In her prize-winning anthology of American Black folktales, The People Could Fly, Hamilton has gathered and retold a collection of... Read More »

Price:

$22.94 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Ain't I a Woman

Black Women and Feminism 2nd Edition
By Bell Hooks
Narrated by Adenrele Ojo /  8 hours 55 minutes

A classic work of feminist scholarship, Ain't I a Woman has become a must–read for all those interested in the nature of black womanhood. Examining the impact of sexism on black women during slavery, the devaluation of black womanhood, black male sexism, racism among feminists, and the black woman's involvement with feminism, Hooks attempts to... Read More »

Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

A Kind of Freedom

A Novel
By Margaret Wilkerson Sexton
Narrated by Kevin Kenerly, Bahni Turpin & Adenrele Ojo /  8 hours 12 minutes

Evelyn is a Creole woman who comes of age in New Orleans at the height of World War II. Her family inhabits the upper echelon of black society, and when she falls for no-name Renard, she is forced to choose between her life of privilege and the man she loves.In 1982, Evelyn’s daughter Jackie is a frazzled single mother grappling with her absent... Read More »

Price:

$22.94 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Tears We Cannot Stop

A Sermon to White America
By Michael Eric Dyson
Narrated by Michael Eric Dyson /  5 hours 31 minutes

This program is read by the author

"Elegantly written, Tears We Cannot Stop is powerful in several areas: moving personal recollections; profound cultural analysis; and guidance for moral redemption. A work to relish." —Toni Morrison

"Here’s a sermon that’s as fierce as it is lucid. It shook me up, but in a good way. This is how it works if... Read More »

Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

When They Call You a Terrorist

A Black Lives Matter Memoir
By Patrisse Khan-Cullors & asha bandele
Narrated by Patrisse Khan-Cullors /  6 hours 12 minutes

"Narrating her own work, Patrisse Khan-Cullors shares the salient moments of her life that led her to become a founder of Black Lives Matter...pain, frustration, and joy [emblazon] each word she utters." — AudioFile Magazine

This program is read by Patrisse Khan-Cullors and includes a bonus conversation

The emotional and powerful story of one of... Read More »

Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Ghost Boys

By Jewell Parker Rhodes
Narrated by Miles Harvey /  2 hours 51 minutes

A heartbreaking and powerful story about a black boy killed by a police officer, drawing connections through history, from award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes.
An instant New York Times bestseller An instant IndieBound bestseller The #1 Kids' Indie Next Pick A Walter Award winner

Only the living can make the world better. Live and... Read More »

Price:

$25.28 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Just Mercy

A Story of Justice and Redemption
By Bryan Stevenson
Narrated by Bryan Stevenson /  11 hours 3 minutes

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A powerful true story about the potential for mercy to redeem us, and a clarion call to fix our broken system of justice—from one of the most brilliant and influential lawyers of our time

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING MICHAEL B. JORDAN AND JAMIE FOXX


Named one of the Best Books of the Year by The New...
Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership
Celebrate Independent Bookstore Day with Free Audiobooks on Saturday, April 27th. Learn More

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener