Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

One More Page's Favorite Audiobooks of 2018

What a year it's been! The staff of One More Page has gotten married, traveled to Romania, starred in two plays at once, announced their first book deal, and more! Here are the audiobooks that enthralled us, serenaded us, empowered us, and delighted us along the way.

Playlist Tags: One More Page

View all playlists

The Hazel Wood

A Novel
The Hazel Wood: Book #1

By Melissa Albert
Narrated by: Rebecca Soler & James Fouhey
Length: 10 hours 30 minutes

The Hazel Wood

“What happens when fairy tales mix with reality? What happens when those fairy tales aren't all happy endings? Alice experiences this first hand in the novel, The Hazel Wood, by Melissa Albert. I listed through Libro.fm as Rebecca Soler narrated the tale of Alice, a teenager, constantly on the move with her mother, Ella, as bad luck always seems to find them. Ella is striving to turn their straw house into a brick one, when something terrible happens and mother and daughter are separated. Alice discovers her own dark and magical past on the journey to the Hazel Wood to save her mother, but what she becomes isn't the good kind of fairy tale. Soler's narration was over dramatic for my taste. Albert's use of words was beautiful and descriptive and didn't need the at times sinister twist Soler's point of view put on it. Focusing on Albert's writing made me enjoy the story more. I loved how Albert put words together. Some of the things she described in NYC were so spot on I laughed out loud. I couldn't put this book down (or should I say turn off?). The book was a little farfetched, but what would you expect from a fairy tale? Albert had me hooked. I give it a comb, a bone and a feather from the Hinterland a.k.a. 9 out of 10.”

M. Judson Booksellers image Kelly, M. Judson Booksellers
Audiobook details

Spinning Silver

A Novel

By Naomi Novik
Narrated by: Lisa Flanagan
Length: 17 hours 56 minutes

Spinning Silver

“In her second standalone fantasy, Novik once again mines the tales we know to create something completely modern yet timeless. This reimagined version of Rumpelstiltskin, set in a tsarist, Eastern Europe-like country called Litvas, is breathtaking. It explores female autonomy, class, Jewish life, and oppression while telling a compelling and richly realized fantasy tale. If anything, I just wanted to spend more time with Miryem, Wanda, Irina, and the story’s other vibrant, compelling voices. If you loved Uprooted, don’t hesitate to dive into this one. If you haven’t read Novik’s earlier work, begin here—you’ll be hooked.”

Main Point Books image Anmiryam Budner, Main Point Books
Audiobook details

Who Is Vera Kelly?

By Rosalie Knecht
Narrated by: Elisabeth Rodgers
Length: 6 hours 49 minutes

Who Is Vera Kelly?

“This book gives an amazing new twist to spy fiction! Absolutely captivating and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Vera is such a unique character living so much of her life in secrecy. This book has been on so many anticipated lists, and now I see exactly why.”

Left Bank Books image Shane, Left Bank Books
Audiobook details

The Poet X

By Elizabeth Acevedo
Narrated by: Elizabeth Acevedo
Length: 3 hours 30 minutes

The Poet X

“Getting to listen to the author herself read her poetry, which are clearly a testament to the spoken word and the art of slam, is absolutely the best way to devour this novel-in-verse. Acevedo puts everything into her words, and no one else could do them justice the way she does herself. Despite possible age/cultural/religious differences, any listener will immediately relate to this teenage girl desperately trying to both find herself and her voice, and live up to her family's expectations.”

Quail Ridge Books image Amber, Quail Ridge Books
Audiobook details

Last Shot (Star Wars)

A Han and Lando Novel
Star Wars

By Daniel José Older
Narrated by: Marc Thompson, Daniel José Older & January LaVoy
Length: 11 hours 11 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Han Solo and Lando Calrissian are reunited on the Millennium Falcon in a galaxy-spanning novel inspired by Solo: A Star Wars Story. But even the fastest ship in the universe can’t outrun the past. . . .

THEN:
 
It’s one of the galaxy’s most dangerous secrets: a mysterious transmitter with unknown power and a reward... Read more »

Audiobook details

My Plain Jane

By Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton & Jodi Meadows
Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
Length: 10 hours 6 minutes

Move over, Charlotte Brontë. The authors of the New York Times bestselling My Lady Jane are back with an irreverent spin on Jane Eyre—a tale of mischief, romance, and supernatural mayhem perfect for fans of The Princess Bride or A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

You may think you know the story. Penniless orphan Jane Eyre begins a new life... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Map of Salt and Stars

By Zeyn Joukhadar
Narrated by: Lara Sawalha
Length: 12 hours 17 minutes

The Map of Salt and Stars

“Scheherazade's The Thousand and One Nights meets Alan Gratz's Refugee in this important debut novel. A 12th century fable about an apprentice mapmaker is interwoven with a modern-day Syrian refugee searching for home. The plot follows both girls through the Middle East, encountering tremendous dangers and immense kindness. A must-read for adults and teens 14+, this is a deeply moving and lushly described story of family and friends, meaningful culture, changing landscapes, and universal hope. There are parts that make your heart stop and parts that make it beat again. It's an incredible force, with vivid descriptions that make you long to see, smell, and taste everything described.”

River Dog Book Co. image BrocheAroe, River Dog Book Co.
Audiobook details

Circe

By Madeline Miller
Narrated by: Perdita Weeks
Length: 12 hours 8 minutes

Circe

“This remarkable journey into mythology brings the ancient gods directly and viscerally into the present. Circe is a perfect mashup of elegant language, glorious storytelling, and exquisitely modern sensibilities. Miller's telling left me awed and moved by Circe and her story, all while wishing I could invite her over for a glass of wine on the porch. How this amazing author so perfectly melds the human and the divine, creating a story both immediate and epic, is dazzling.”

Beth Albrecht image Beth Albrecht, The Magic Tree Bookstore
Audiobook details

This Will Be My Undoing

Living at the Intersection of Black, Female, and Feminist in (White) America

By Morgan Jerkins
Narrated by: Morgan Jerkins
Length: 7 hours 5 minutes

This Will Be My Undoing

“This book ravaged and then healed my weary soul. A micro and macro look at the exhaustion and triumph of black womanhood, Jerkins' essays are poignant enough on their own. When linked together in her book, the pieces become the subtle knife cutting through the membrane of gender and racial disparity that covers our country. Jerkins uses herself not simply as a reference point, but as a dissection, laid on the table and explained.”

WORD Bookstores image Hannah Oliver Depp, WORD Bookstores
Audiobook details

Educated

A Memoir

By Tara Westover
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 12 hours 9 minutes

Educated

“Raised by Mormon fundamentalists, mistrustful of the medical community while having never stepped foot in a classroom setting, Tara Westover's memoir, "Educated" is excruciatingly painful at times. From witnessing devastating destruction deep in the woods of Idaho to enduring an abusive bi-polar brother to becoming ostracized by her survivalist parents for her beliefs, Tara's tale of self-discovery will totally bring you to tears. Torrents of them. For fans of "The Glass Castle" by Jeannette Walls and "Hillbilly Elegy" by J.D. Vance, except much more dysfunctional, "Educated" will leave you thanking your lucky stars you weren't raised a Westover. Read by Julia Whelan, this audiobook is perfect for recent graduates, educators and everyone concerned about the state of our country. I highly recommend!”

McLean & Eakin Booksellers image Kristin, McLean & Eakin Booksellers
Audiobook details

Calypso

By David Sedaris
Narrated by: David Sedaris
Length: 6 hours 38 minutes

Calypso

“David Sedaris’s storytelling capabilities are only strengthened through the audiobook, in which the author himself leads us through his gut-busting tale of his vacations in beach homes. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, and then you’ll listen to the audiobook forty times over again.”

Parnassus Books image Ella, Parnassus Books
Audiobook details

The Kiss Quotient

A Novel

By Helen Hoang
Narrated by: Carly Robins
Length: 9 hours 36 minutes

The Kiss Quotient

“While looking at the cover of this book you may assume it is going be a light-hearted romance- well, you would be wrong. This book is powerful, sexy, and not to be underestimated. I loved every second of this book because it was so different from anything I have ever known. I read it in one sitting, while telling everyone that tried to talk to me to go away. I was so enthralled by both of the character's life struggles and how they were able to overcome them without each other. Their love did not conquer all- they had to learn to be better versions of themselves first before they could be there for each other. If you're looking for a hot but meaningful romance (yes, they exist!), then you've found it. ”

Anderson's Bookshop image Katrina, Anderson's Bookshop
Audiobook details

So Close to Being the Sh*t, Y'all Don't Even Know

By Retta
Narrated by: Retta
Length: 6 hours 55 minutes

So Close to Being the Sh*t, Y'all Don't Even Know

“This is totally delightful and insightful. The Queen of Treat Yo Self reads her book of essays, and she manages to discuss topics such as race, body image, friendship, handbags, and other things with a sense of levity that doesn’t undermine each topic’s seriousness. Definitely a fun read/listen!”

Belmont Books image Tildy, Belmont Books
Audiobook details

Family Trust

A Novel

By Kathy Wang
Narrated by: Joy Osmanski
Length: 14 hours 6 minutes

Family Trust

““Family Trust is a novel that I did not want to end. From the start, I was completely immersed in the Huang family dynamic, complicated as most families tend to be. In one sentence you feel real sympathy for a character, and in the next you are laughing out loud. It is a true gem. From the first pages, I was completely swept in to the lives of the Huang family. I have a feeling this will be my go-to hand-sell for the fall! Those who loved The Nest and Crazy Rich Asians will eat this right up! A very well-written, highly enjoyable read.”

Copperfield's Books image Kaitlin Smith, Copperfield's Books
Audiobook details

Speak No Evil

A Novel

By Uzodinma Iweala
Narrated by: Prentice Onayemi & Julia Whelan
Length: 6 hours 21 minutes

Speak No Evil

“'This is who I am.' 'This is what happened to me.' These are the simplest of expressions, yet the ability to speak them fully is a privilege not shared by the teenaged protagonists of this novel. Nigerian immigrant and Harvard-accepted aspiring doctor Niru is not able to tell his conservative religious parents that he is gay. The daughter of D.C.'s political elite, Meredith is not able to tell the world what really happened in an alley outside a bar on a hot spring night. Speak No Evil describes how loving relationships are strained, how trust is shattered, and how bodies can be broken when the truth is silenced. This heartbreakingly beautiful story will stay with you for a long time.”

Literati Bookstore image Jill Zimmerman, Literati Bookstore
Audiobook details