Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started

One More Page's Favorite Audiobooks of 2018

What a year it's been! The staff of One More Page has gotten married, traveled to Romania, starred in two plays at once, announced their first book deal, and more! Here are the audiobooks that enthralled us, serenaded us, empowered us, and delighted us along the way.

The Hazel Wood

A Novel
By Melissa Albert
Narrated by Rebecca Soler /  10 hours 30 minutes

The Hazel Wood

“This book is perfect for those who love dark fairytales. Alice has always lived her life on the road with her mother, Ella. They move every couple of months due to this run of bad luck that follows them wherever they go. She has an estranged grandmother with a small cult-following from writing a mysterious book of fairytales whom her mother refuses to talk about. However, when Ella goes missing in New York City, Alice must unravel the secrets of her grandmother's past to get the answers regarding her mother's disappearance. Such a creepy and captivating story!”

An Unlikely Story image Colleen, An Unlikely Story
Price:

$31.04

Get for Free with Membership

Spinning Silver

A Novel
By Naomi Novik
Narrated by Lisa Flanagan /  17 hours 56 minutes

Spinning Silver

“When Miryem takes over the family money-lender business from her unsuccessful father, her family's fortune finally starts looking up. However, her reputation for turning silver to gold catches the notice of the feared Staryk (magical ice-beings) who come to test her claim. Meanwhile, a duke plots to marry his daughter to Tsar Mirnatius, who is trapped by a deadly secret. When the girls cross paths, chaos ensues and no one is what they appear. Every moment is action packed and engrossing. Novak does so well weaving the multiple story lines into the novel and showing how a first impression is not always accurate.”

Undercover Books & Gifts image Darean, Undercover Books & Gifts
Price:

$35.00

Get for Free with Membership

Who Is Vera Kelly?

By Rosalie Knecht
Narrated by Elisabeth Rodgers /  6 hours 49 minutes

Who Is Vera Kelly?

“This book gives an amazing new twist to spy fiction! Absolutely captivating and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Vera is such a unique character living so much of her life in secrecy. This book has been on so many anticipated lists, and now I see exactly why.”

Left Bank Books image Shane, Left Bank Books
Price:

$22.94

Get for Free with Membership

The Poet X

By Elizabeth Acevedo
Narrated by Elizabeth Acevedo /  3 hours 30 minutes

The Poet X

“The Poet X is written and narrated by Elizabeth Acevedo. It is a novel made up of poems by a teenager, Xiomara Batista, growing up in Harlem. Acevedo's narration is wonderful and brings the story to life. Xiomara's dad is MIA even though he lives at home; her mother is extremely religious and pushes her faith onto her daughter; her twin brother is quiet and also working through his own feelings; she starts her first relationship with a guy; and all the time Xiomara is told what she can and cannot do, gets accosted by men, has to defend herself because no one else will, is questioning God and has no one to open up to. She releases her pent of feelings in a notebook. It isn't until her new English teacher introduces her to spoken poetry that she realizes that is what she is meant to be: a poet. This is a lovely story of a young, misunderstood girl, coming of age and showing the world that she is worth it. Great for adults who enjoyed Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson and extremely relevant literature for the #metoo movement.”

M. Judson Booksellers & Storytellers image Kelly, M. Judson Booksellers & Storytellers
Price:

$18.39

Get for Free with Membership

Last Shot (Star Wars)

A Han and Lando Novel
Star Wars
By Daniel José Older
Narrated by Marc Thompson, Daniel José Older & January LaVoy /  11 hours 11 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Han Solo and Lando Calrissian are reunited on the Millennium Falcon in a galaxy-spanning novel inspired by Solo: A Star Wars Story. But even the fastest ship in the universe can’t outrun the past. . . .

THEN:

It’s one of the galaxy’s most dangerous secrets: a mysterious transmitter with unknown power and a reward... Read More »

Price:

$31.50

Get for Free with Membership

My Plain Jane

By Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton & Jodi Meadows
Narrated by Fiona Hardingham /  10 hours 6 minutes

Move over, Charlotte Brontë. The authors of the New York Times bestselling My Lady Jane are back with an irreverent spin on Jane Eyre—a tale of mischief, romance, and supernatural mayhem perfect for fans of The Princess Bride or A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

You may think you know the story. Penniless orphan Jane Eyre begins a new life... Read More »

Price:

$31.04

Get for Free with Membership

The Map of Salt and Stars

By Jennifer Zeynab Joukhadar
Narrated by Lara Sawalha /  12 hours 17 minutes

The Map of Salt and Stars

“The two intertwining stories--one an ancient folk tale, one a story set in modern day Syria, and both featuring a young girl not yet come of age as the protagonist and hero of her own adventure--is brilliantly performed by Lara Sawalha. I was captivated from the first but both the rich stories and the gorgeous telling of them.”

Left Bank Books image Kris, Left Bank Books
Price:

$27.59

Get for Free with Membership

Circe

By Madeline Miller
Narrated by Perdita Weeks /  12 hours 8 minutes

Circe

“This remarkable journey into mythology brings the ancient gods directly and viscerally into the present. Circe is a perfect mashup of elegant language, glorious storytelling, and exquisitely modern sensibilities. Miller's telling left me awed and moved by Circe and her story, all while wishing I could invite her over for a glass of wine on the porch. How this amazing author so perfectly melds the human and the divine, creating a story both immediate and epic, is dazzling.”

Beth Albrecht image Beth Albrecht, The Magic Tree Bookstore
Price:

$29.88

Get for Free with Membership

This Will Be My Undoing

Living at the Intersection of Black, Female, and Feminist in (White) America
By Morgan Jerkins
Narrated by Morgan Jerkins /  7 hours 5 minutes

This Will Be My Undoing

“This book ravaged and then healed my weary soul. A micro and macro look at the exhaustion and triumph of black womanhood, Jerkins' essays are poignant enough on their own. When linked together in her book, the pieces become the subtle knife cutting through the membrane of gender and racial disparity that covers our country. Jerkins uses herself not simply as a reference point, but as a dissection, laid on the table and explained.”

WORD Bookstores image Hannah Oliver Depp, WORD Bookstores
Price:

$24.14

Get for Free with Membership

Educated

A Memoir
By Tara Westover
Narrated by Julia Whelan /  12 hours 9 minutes

Educated

“Educated by Tara Westover is a wrenching account of a young woman who must choose between education on one hand and her family which is ruled by a religious misogynist apocalyptic zealot who lives off the grid and who might also be bi-polar, on the other. I thought the most fascinating part of Westover’s story would be her journey from backwoods Idaho to a Cambridge University PhD, but her relationship with her family, and one brother, in particular, was at the heart of this memoir and quest for self.”

Wellesley Books image Phyllis, Wellesley Books
Price:

$31.50

Get for Free with Membership

Calypso

By David Sedaris
Narrated by David Sedaris /  6 hours 38 minutes

Calypso

“We, your concerned booksellers, want to make sure you are in tip-top reading shape before David Sedaris visits Main Street Books. Much like a runner must train for a marathon, you must exercise your sense of humor, so as not to pull something in David's presence. Tune up your funny bone with Me Talk Pretty One Day, Naked, When You Are Engulfed in Flames, or any of the other great Sedaris collections on Libro.fm. ”

Main Street Books Davidson image Eleanor, Main Street Books Davidson
Price:

$31.03

Get for Free with Membership

The Kiss Quotient

A Novel
By Helen Hoang
Narrated by Carly Robins /  9 hours 36 minutes

The Kiss Quotient

“While looking at the cover of this book you may assume it is going be a light-hearted romance- well, you would be wrong. This book is powerful, sexy, and not to be underestimated. I loved every second of this book because it was so different from anything I have ever known. I read it in one sitting, while telling everyone that tried to talk to me to go away. I was so enthralled by both of the character's life struggles and how they were able to overcome them without each other. Their love did not conquer all- they had to learn to be better versions of themselves first before they could be there for each other. If you're looking for a hot but meaningful romance (yes, they exist!), then you've found it. ”

Anderson's Bookshop image Katrina, Anderson's Bookshop
Price:

$24.99

Get for Free with Membership

So Close to Being the Sh*t, Y'all Don't Even Know

By Retta
Narrated by Retta /  6 hours 55 minutes

So Close to Being the Sh*t, Y'all Don't Even Know

“Parks and Recreation star Retta delves into her life as a comedian, family member, and ultimate fangirl, starting at how she missed the opportunity of a lifetime due to lack of confidence and ending at the drive-thru of KFC. We get all the important details of her infamous live-tweeting sessions, her classy/not so classy moments at award shows, and her aggressive love of handbags. This book is hilarious and empowering, proving that if you work hard and fight for your dreams, you can see the musical Hamilton six times and sit in Obama's seats. I thoroughly enjoyed listening to Retta narrate this book and provide her own mannerisms into the storytelling. Treat yo self to a fantastic listen and buy this book ASAP.”

An Unlikely Story image Colleen, An Unlikely Story
Price:

$22.99

Get for Free with Membership

Family Trust

A Novel
By Kathy Wang
Narrated by Joy Osmanski /  13 hours 43 minutes

Family Trust

““Family Trust is a novel that I did not want to end. From the start, I was completely immersed in the Huang family dynamic, complicated as most families tend to be. In one sentence you feel real sympathy for a character, and in the next you are laughing out loud. It is a true gem. From the first pages, I was completely swept in to the lives of the Huang family. I have a feeling this will be my go-to hand-sell for the fall! Those who loved The Nest and Crazy Rich Asians will eat this right up! A very well-written, highly enjoyable read.”

Copperfield's Books image Kaitlin Smith, Copperfield's Books
Price:

$34.49

Get for Free with Membership

Speak No Evil

A Novel
By Uzodinma Iweala
Narrated by Prentice Onayemi & Julia Whelan /  6 hours 21 minutes

Speak No Evil

“'This is who I am.' 'This is what happened to me.' These are the simplest of expressions, yet the ability to speak them fully is a privilege not shared by the teenaged protagonists of this novel. Nigerian immigrant and Harvard-accepted aspiring doctor Niru is not able to tell his conservative religious parents that he is gay. The daughter of D.C.'s political elite, Meredith is not able to tell the world what really happened in an alley outside a bar on a hot spring night. Speak No Evil describes how loving relationships are strained, how trust is shattered, and how bodies can be broken when the truth is silenced. This heartbreakingly beautiful story will stay with you for a long time.”

Literati Bookstore image Jill Zimmerman, Literati Bookstore
Price:

$24.14

Get for Free with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener