Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

OBOB 21-22

A list of the Oregon Battle of the Books titles for the 2021-2022 school year. Not all titles on the lists have audiobooks available. To the best of our ability, we have included all of those that do.

Playlist Tags: Third Street Books obob oregon battle of the books 21-22 school year

View all playlists

Stay

By Bobbie Pyron
Narrated by: Kathleen McInerney & Kirby Heyborne
Length: 6 hours 4 minutes

Fans of Pax and A Dog’s Way Home will love this heartwarming story of a girl living in a shelter and the homeless dog she’s determined to reunite with his family.

Piper’s life is turned upside down when her family moves into a shelter in a whole new city. She misses her house, her friends, and her privacy—and she hates being labeled the homeless... Read more »

Audiobook details

I Can Make This Promise

By Christine Day
Narrated by: Kyla Garcia
Length: 5 hours 46 minutes

In her debut middle grade novel—inspired by her family’s history—Christine Day tells the story of a girl who uncovers her family’s secrets—and finds her own Native American identity.

All her life, Edie has known that her mom was adopted by a white couple. So, no matter how curious she might be about her Native American heritage, Edie is sure her... Read more »

Audiobook details

Save Me a Seat

By Sarah Weeks & Gita Varadarajan
Narrated by: Josh Hurley & Vikas Adam
Length: 3 hours 58 minutes

From award-winning author of Pie Sarah Weeks and debut author Gita Varadarajan comes a story that shows us the beautiful ways our lives end up being much more similar than we ever imagine.

Two boys -- one white, one Indian American -- gain strength from each other from afar as they struggle to navigate middle school, family, and friendships. Read more »

Audiobook details

The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole

By Michelle Cuevas
Narrated by: Laura Ortiz
Length: 3 hours 55 minutes

A girl's friendship with a lonely black hole leads her to face her own sadness in this original, funny, and touching middle grade novel for fans of Crenshaw and Flora & Ulysses.

When eleven-year-old Stella Rodriguez shows up at NASA to request that her recording be included in Carl Sagan's Golden Record, something unexpected happens: A black... Read more »

Audiobook details

Clean Getaway

By Nic Stone
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 3 hours 56 minutes

Clean Getaway

“William "Scoob" Lamar's white G'ma fell in love with his black G'pa at a time when a mixed-race relationship between adult Americans was illegal in many parts of the country. It was especially difficult for them in the conservative south where they lived. Now G'ma is on a mission to revisit places she and G'pa traveled and to take Scoob along with her. She wants to show him many of the historic sights that were a part of the early civil rights movement and part of Scoob's heritage. But G'ma also seems to have some secrets and Scoob isn't sure where this journey is really taking them. Nic Stone, famous for her best-selling YA novels, has written a terrific middle-grade story, with historic significance, that would be perfect for reading circles or middle-grade book clubs. Dion Graham's voice enriches the story for those who enjoy a "read-along" experience.”

Rediscovered Books image Becky, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details

The Fourteenth Goldfish

By Jennifer L. Holm
Narrated by: Georgette Perna
Length: 3 hours 3 minutes

Believe in the possible . . . with this "warm, witty, and wise" New York Times bestselling novel from three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm. A perfect read about a child's relationship with her grandfather!
 
Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer.
Science can change the world . . . but can it go too far?
 
Eleven-year-old Ellie has never... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Harlem Charade

By Natasha Tarpley
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 6 hours 49 minutes

Chasing Vermeer comes to Harlem in this clever mystery about art, artifice, and the power of community.

WATCHER. SHADOW. FUGITIVE.

Harlem is home to all kinds of kids. Jin sees life passing her by from the window of her family's bodega. Alex wants to help the needy one shelter at a time, but can't tell anyone who she really is. Elvin's living on... Read more »

Audiobook details

Astrid the Unstoppable

By Maria Parr & Guy Puzey
Narrated by: Devon Sorvari
Length: 6 hours 10 minutes

Pippi Longstocking meets Heidi meets Anne Shirley in this tale of an irrepressible girl in a mountain village who navigates unexpected changes with warmth and humor.

Speed and self-confidence, that’s Astrid’s motto. Nicknamed “the little thunderbolt,” she loves to spend her days racing down the hillside on her sled, singing loudly as she goes,... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Storm Runner

A Storm Runner Novel: Book #1

By J. C. Cervantes
Narrated by: Ozzie Rodriguez
Length: 11 hours 50 minutes

A contemporary adventure based on Mayan mythology from Rick Riordan Presents!

Zane Obispo spends every day exploring the sleeping volcano in his backyard. "The Beast," as he calls it, is the one place where he can escape other kids, who make fun of him because he has a limp and walks with a cane.

After a twin-engine plane crashes into The Beast, a... Read more »

Audiobook details

When Stars Are Scattered

By Victoria Jamieson & Omar Mohamed
Narrated by: Faysal Ahmed, Barkhad Abdi, Victoria Jamieson, Omar Mohamed, Robin Miles, Ifrah Mansour, Bahni Turpin, Hakeemshady Mohamed, Sadeeq Ali, Dominic Hoffman, Christine Avila, JD Jackson & Various
Length: 3 hours 42 minutes

An Odyssey Honor audiobook and National Book Award Finalist, this remarkable graphic novel—adapted for audio—is about growing up in a refugee camp, as told by a former Somali refugee to the Newbery Honor-winning creator of Roller Girl.

Omar and his younger brother, Hassan, have spent most of their lives in Dadaab, a refugee camp in Kenya. Life... Read more »

Audiobook details

Nowhere Boy

By Katherine Marsh
Narrated by: Jeremy Arthur
Length: 8 hours 4 minutes

*Winner of a Parents' Choice Silver Award*

An "important and riveting story, masterfully told" of family, sacrifice and the friendship between a young Syrian refugee and an American boy living in Brussels. The Center for Children's Books calls Nowhere Boy a "perilous journey, tempered by the striking realism of obstacles refugees face... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise

By Dan Gemeinhart
Narrated by: Khristine Hvam
Length: 9 hours 12 minutes

*Winner of a Parents' Choice Gold Award*
A 2020 Audie Awards Finalis
t

"Khristine Hvam's narration is as heartfelt as the story of 12-year-old Coyote Sunrise...Both the story and Hvam's distinctive narration will linger in listeners' minds." — AudioFile Magazine, Earphones Award winner

Five years.

That's how long Coyote and her dad, Rodeo, have lived... Read more »

Audiobook details

Genesis Begins Again

By Alicia D. Williams
Narrated by: Alicia D. Williams
Length: 8 hours 48 minutes

“Reminiscent of Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye.” —The New York Times

“One of the best books I have ever read…will live in the hearts of readers for the rest of their lives.” —Colby Sharp, founder of Nerdy Book Club

“An emotional, painful, yet still hopeful adolescent journey…one that needed telling.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“I really... Read more »

Audiobook details

To Night Owl From Dogfish

By Holly Goldberg Sloan & Meg Wolitzer
Narrated by: Imani Parks, Cassandra Morris, Michael Crouch, Sullivan Jones, Bahni Turpin, Renata Friedman, Cassandra Campbell, Robbie Daymond, Giordan Diaz, Alexandra Harris, Johnathan McClain, Emily Rankin & Various
Length: 6 hours 13 minutes

From two extraordinary authors comes a moving, exuberant, laugh-out-loud novel about friendship and family, told entirely in emails and letters.

Avery Bloom, who's bookish, intense, and afraid of many things, particularly deep water, lives in New York City. Bett Devlin, who's fearless, outgoing, and loves all animals as well as the ocean, lives... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Best at It

By Maulik Pancholy
Narrated by: Maulik Pancholy
Length: 6 hours 22 minutes

Stonewall Honor Book!

From award-winning actor Maulik Pancholy comes a hilarious and heartfelt middle grade debut about a gay Indian American boy coming into his own. One of Time Out's “LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month”, this is perfect for fans of Tim Federle’s Nate series.

Rahul Kapoor is heading into seventh grade in a small... Read more »

Audiobook details

Shadow School #1: Archimancy

Shadow School: Book #1

By J. A. White
Narrated by: Kim Mai Guest
Length: 7 hours 21 minutes

From the acclaimed author of Nightbooks and The Thickety comes a spooky series, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Adam Gidwitz, and Stranger Things!

Cordelia Liu knew Shadow School was going to be different. Still, she didn’t expect the school grounds to be filled with ghosts.

Cordelia soon realizes she’s not the only one who can see the ghosts;... Read more »

Audiobook details

Arlo Finch in the Valley of Fire

The Arlo Finch Series: Book #1

By John August
Narrated by: James Patrick Cronin
Length: 6 hours 51 minutes

Arlo Finch in the Valley of Fire is the first book in a spellbinding fantasy adventure series by screenwriter John August.Some trails lead to magic. Some lead to danger."As Arlo looked around, the walls of his room began to vanish, revealing a moonlit forest. Only his bed remained, and the frame of his window, through which he saw the girl. The... Read more »

Audiobook details

Deep Water

By Watt Key
Narrated by: Karissa Vacker
Length: 4 hours 39 minutes

It's the most important rule of scuba diving: If you don't feel right, don't go down. So after her father falls ill, twelve-year-old Julie Sims must take over and lead two of his clients on a dive miles off the coast of Alabama while her father stays behind in the boat. When the clients, a reckless boy Julie's age and his equally foolhardy... Read more »

Audiobook details

Akata Witch

Akata Witch: Book #1

By Nnedi Okorafor
Narrated by: Yetide Badaki
Length: 8 hours 49 minutes

Twelve-year-old Sunny lives in Nigeria, but she was born American. Her features are African, but she has albinism. She's a terrific athlete, but can't go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits in. And then she discovers something amazing—she is a "free agent" with latent mystical power. Soon she's part of a... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

By Ben Philippe
Narrated by: James Fouhey
Length: 9 hours 11 minutes

William C. Morris YA Debut Award Winner!

A hilarious YA contemporary realistic novel about a witty Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the joys, clichés, and awkward humiliations of the American high school experience—including falling in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon, When Dimple Met Rishi, and John... Read more »

Audiobook details