Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference
2021 National Book Awards Longlist: Fiction

2021 National Book Awards Longlist: Fiction

Here are the available audiobooks for the 2021 National Book Award longlist for Fiction! The 2021 Fiction Longlist includes writers at all stages of their careers, and features three debut novels among the ten titles. The Finalists in all five categories will be revealed on October 5.

Playlist Tags: genre: Fiction & Literature awards: national book award nba

View all playlists

The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois

An Oprah’s Book Club Novel

By Honoree Fanonne Jeffers
Narrated by: Adenrele Ojo, Karen Chilton & Prentice Onayemi
Length: 29 hours 48 minutes

If you enjoyed Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist), then you’ll love The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois.

“This book really won me over with its brilliant writing and entrancing story. Honestly, I was intimidated by the length and title (especially as someone who doesn't love poetry) but the blurb was so good and it sounded right up my alley. The narrators, Adenrele Ojo, Karen Chilton & Prentice Onayemi, all have gorgeous voices and immediately draw you in. It took a bit for me to get fully invested in the story but holy cow, Jeffers weaves an IMPRESSIVE tale. It was both too long and too short; I savored every word and was sad it when it was over. There is true talent in being able to hold your attention for 816 pages, especially for a slow burn of a literary novel and this one is well worth it in the end. With rich language, multi-generational family history, borderline poetic (and yet not intimidating poetic), this book is for fans of Pachinko, Homegoing, Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides, or any work of Jesmyn Ward's.”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Kimi, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details

Matrix

A Novel

By Lauren Groff
Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
Length: 8 hours 51 minutes

Matrix

“In this brilliant work of historical fiction, Lauren Groff reimagines a 12th century in which Marie of France, scorned by the French court and exiled to an impoverished English abbey, uses her keen intellect and iron will to smash through the patriarchy and become one of the most powerful women of her age...British actress Adjoa Andoh is a brilliant narrator, bringing Marie and her cohort of nuns to life throughout half a century of abbey life. In turns mystic, humorous, and poignant, Groff invites us to ask “what if?” What if women throughout history had been allowed to use their skills and smarts as leaders? What would our society, our religions, look like? Matrix provides a powerful springboard for imagining the possibilities.”

Honest Dog Books image Claire, Honest Dog Books
Audiobook details

Intimacies

A Novel

By Katie Kitamura
Narrated by: Traci Kato-Kiriyama
Length: 5 hours 26 minutes

Intimacies

“Katie Kitamura's Intimacies details a few months in the life of an interpreter at The Hague who is looking for belonging to a place and perhaps to a partner. Just as she has to see beyond the words in her work, she has to interpret the actions of her married lover as well as the alleged atrocities of a war criminal she works with at the International Court. This novel is both quiet and thrilling.”

Avid Bookshop image Rachel, Avid Bookshop
Audiobook details
Libro.fm app and screens

Shop early and gift big!

Gift an audiobook membership to anyone in the world and support local bookstores at the same time.

Start gifting

The Souvenir Museum

Stories

By Elizabeth McCracken
Narrated by: Kate Reading
Length: 7 hours 39 minutes

A Most Anticipated Book From: OprahMag.com * Refinery 29 * Seattle Times * LitHub * Houston Chronicle * The Millions * Buzzfeed

Award-winning author Elizabeth McCracken is an undisputed virtuoso of the short story, and this new collection features her most vibrant and heartrending work to date

In these stories, the mysterious bonds of family are...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Prophets

By Robert Jones, Jr.
Narrated by: Karen Chilton
Length: 14 hours 52 minutes

The Prophets

“This was quite the stunning debut - I loved the meta quality of the narration and the overall lyrical writing style. A powerful and commanding story! ”

Curious Iguana image Lauren, Curious Iguana
Audiobook details

Hell of a Book

A Novel

By Jason Mott
Narrated by: JD Jackson & Ronald Peet
Length: 9 hours 39 minutes

2021 National Book Award Longlist

A READ WITH JENNA TODAY SHOW BOOK CLUB PICK!

One of Entertainment Weekly's 15 Books you Need to Read This June | On Entertainment Weekly's "Must List" | One of The NY Post's Best Summer Reading books | One of GMA's 27 Books for June | One of USA Today's 5 Books Not to Miss | One of Fortune's 21 Most Anticipated... Read more »

Audiobook details

Bewilderment

A Novel

By Richard Powers
Narrated by: Edoardo Ballerini
Length: 7 hours 50 minutes

AN OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB SELECTION

Shortlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize
Longlisted for the 2021 National Book Award for Fiction

A heartrending new novel from the Pulitzer Prize–winning and #1 New York Times best-selling author of The Overstory.

I never believed the diagnoses the doctors settled on my son. When a condition gets three different names... Read more »

Audiobook details

Cloud Cuckoo Land

A Novel

By Anthony Doerr
Narrated by: Marin Ireland & Simon Jones
Length: 14 hours 51 minutes

If you enjoyed The Shadow of the Wind, then you’ll love Cloud Cuckoo Land.

“I loved this book so much. The intersection of the various stories surrounding a profound awareness of the importance of books was perfect. I also appreciated the weaving of the classic tale intertwined all throughout the book. Each character's story could have been a book all by themselves, but having them all together was brilliant. This is a book that I didn't know I needed, but was the perfect book for the time I listened to it.”

Schuler Books image Tim, Schuler Books
Audiobook details

Abundance

By Jakob Guanzon
Narrated by: George Newbern
Length: 10 hours 6 minutes

Evicted from their trailer on New Year's Eve, Henry and his son, Junior, have been reduced to living out of a pickup truck. Six months later, things are even more desperate. Henry, barely a year out of prison for pushing opioids, is down to his last pocketful of dollars, and little remains between him and the street. But hope is on the horizon:... Read more »

Audiobook details
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference