Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Celebrate Juneteenth with Black-owned bookstores! Learn more

2021 Summer Reading Guide from Modern Mrs Darcy

I hope you enjoy listening to these titles from the 10th annual Modern Mrs Darcy Summer Reading Guide! Every year, I personally vet much-hyped new releases and unearth hidden gems to bring you the recommendations you need to get more out of your summer reading season. But don’t just start listening. Get your own copy of our beautifully formatted digital magazine so you can see which titles you should read next. www.modernmrsdarcy.com/srg

Playlist Tags: influencer-created season: summer

View all playlists

Firekeeper's Daughter

By Angeline Boulley
Narrated by: Isabella Star LaBlanc
Length: 14 hours 13 minutes

If you enjoyed There There, then you’ll love Firekeeper's Daughter.

Firekeeper's Daughter is a wonder! We so rarely hear YA through an Indigenous people's voice and this book does it so very well. Main character Daunis Lorenzo Fontaine lives a fine line between her white French Canadian mother and her Ojibwe father in a complicated family dynamic. She is smart, hockey talented, driven, and tenacious as she navigates the murder of her best friend Lily, rampant drug culture, and the journey to find herself. Angeline Boulley seamlessly incorporates the Ojbiwe language and lifeways that both inform and educate the reader in this amazing story that will stay with me long after I have moved onto other books. A MUST-read (or listen)!”

Rediscovered Books image Rebecca, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details

Hang the Moon

A Novel

By Alexandria Bellefleur
Narrated by: Lauren Sweet
Length: 10 hours 50 minutes

In a delightful follow-up to Written in the Stars, Alexandria Bellefleur delivers another #ownvoices queer rom-com about a hopeless romantic who vows to show his childhood crush that romance isn’t dead by recreating iconic dates from his favorite films...

Brendon Lowell loves love. It’s why he created a dating app to help people find their one... Read more »

Audiobook details

Sparks Like Stars

A Novel

By Nadia Hashimi
Narrated by: Mozhan Marno
Length: 12 hours 2 minutes

An Afghan American woman returns to Kabul to learn the truth about her family and the tragedy that destroyed their lives in this brilliant and compelling novel from the bestselling author of The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, The House Without Windows, and When the Moon Is Low.

Kabul, 1978: The daughter of a prominent family, Sitara Zamani lives a... Read more »

Audiobook details

Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry

By Joya Goffney
Narrated by: Jordan Cobb
Length: 9 hours 39 minutes

Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry by debut author Joya Goffney is an own voices story of an overly enthusiastic list maker who is blackmailed into completing a to-do list of all her worst fears. It’s a heartfelt, tortured, contemporary YA high school romance. Fans of Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and Kristina Forest’s I Wanna Be Where... Read more »

Audiobook details

We Are Each Other's Harvest

Celebrating African American Farmers, Land, and Legacy

By Natalie Baszile
Narrated by: Tina Lifford
Length: 13 hours 41 minutes

From the author of Queen Sugar—now a critically acclaimed series on OWN directed by Ava Duvernay—comes a beautiful exploration and celebration of black farming in America. 

In this impressive anthology, Natalie Baszile brings together essays, poems, quotes, conversations, and first-person stories to examine black people’s connection to the... Read more »

Audiobook details

World Travel

An Irreverent Guide

By Anthony Bourdain & Laurie Woolever
Narrated by: Laurie Woolever, Shep Gordon, Christopher Bourdain, Jen Agg, Matt Walsh, Bill Buford, Claude Tayag, Nari Kye, Vidya Balachander & Steve Albini
Length: 12 hours 11 minutes

World Travel

“There are not words for how much I miss the voice of Anthony Bourdain. A new collection of his writings put together with Laurie Woolever (his assistant for 10 years) details his favorite places on earth and with notes on how to visit them. As we prepare to travel as safely as possible again, it's comforting to have Bourdain as my companion if only in the brief and beautiful, irreverent and never-to-be-matched words he has left behind. ”

Fountain Bookstore image Kelly, Fountain Bookstore
Audiobook details

Good Company

A Novel

By Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney
Narrated by: Marin Ireland
Length: 8 hours 58 minutes

"Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney plumbs the depths of marriage, motherhood and friendship with warmth and wit. I devoured it in one gulp!  Treat yourself to some Good Company." —Maria Semple, author of Today Will Be Different

A warm, incisive new novel about the enduring bonds of marriage and friendship from Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney, author of the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Crying in H Mart

A Memoir

By Michelle Zauner
Narrated by: Michelle Zauner
Length: 7 hours 22 minutes

Crying in H Mart

“I was struck by just how much I loved this book for how it walks through grief not as a way to leave it behind, but as a way to remember its exact shape. I’m grateful for its funny, self-deprecating, and wise observations, and for its difficult beauty.”

Parnassus Books image Steve Haruch, Parnassus Books
Audiobook details

The Most Beautiful Girl in Cuba

By Chanel Cleeton
Narrated by: Frankie Corzo, Holly Linneman & Rebecca Soler
Length: 10 hours 50 minutes

Named one of 2021’s Most Anticipated Historical Novels and Best Beach Reads by Entertainment WeeklyOprah MagazineTravel + Leisure ∙ BuzzFeed ∙ Parade PopSugarBustle ∙ SheReads ∙ Brit + Co and more!

“An exciting and inspiring read that shows us how womanhood, courage and revolution are three words that often mean the same thing.”―NPR

...
Read more »

Audiobook details

People We Meet on Vacation

By Emily Henry
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 10 hours 46 minutes

People We Meet on Vacation

“What fun! This delightful book should be in every beach bag this summer. A hilariously comedic rom-com with memorable characters, set in varied vacation spots in various years. I enjoyed the changing timeline and seeing the relationship as it grew through the years.”

Monkey and Dog Books image Shelley Lowe, Monkey and Dog Books
Audiobook details

Hour of the Witch

A Novel

By Chris Bohjalian
Narrated by: Grace Experience, Saskia Maarleveld, Danny Campbell, Cassandra Campbell, Arthur Morey, Mark Deakins, Julia Whelan, Kaleo Griffith, Kirby Heyborne, Rebecca Lowman & Mark Bramhall
Length: 14 hours 8 minutes

Hour of the Witch

“Trapped in a marriage with a violent man in Puritan New England, the fierce and resilient Mary Deerfield has the audacity to file for divorce in a time when women are accused of witchcraft for any non-conforming behavior. While historical, this story rings true for today.”

Lisa Casper image Lisa Casper, Tattered Cover Colfax
Audiobook details

Klara and the Sun

A Novel

By Kazuo Ishiguro
Narrated by: Sura Siu
Length: 10 hours 16 minutes

Klara and the Sun

“When I read Ishiguo's work, I feel as if a veil has been lifted, and suddenly the world—or range—of humanness, and all it's uncomfortable possibilities, are clear. I'm so grateful for his extraordinary talents and ability to manifest new understandings inside the mind this reader. Whether it's the source of human emotion, the impact of memory, the grappling of regret, or simply the purpose of human life, I finish his books with greater insight into the scope of the living. Klara is no different—an inhuman character who in one almost childlike voice, reveals the boundaries between human and inhuman, between a future and obsolescence, between the bonds and boundaries of love. Thank you Mr. Ishiguro ~ again.”

Roundabout Books image Cassie, Roundabout Books
Audiobook details

Olympus, Texas

A Novel

By Stacey Swann
Narrated by: Karissa Vacker
Length: 10 hours 16 minutes

Olympus, Texas

“A gripping debut that takes all of the skeletons out of the Briscoe family closet and throws them on the front lawn. The depth of character development speaks to my own east Texan family, which feels disconcerting and scandalous. A page-turning read that you won’t want to end.”

BookPeople image Charley Rejsek, BookPeople
Audiobook details

Daughters of Sparta

A Novel

By Claire Heywood
Length: TBA

For millennia, men have told the legend of the woman whose face launched a thousand ships—but now it's time to hear her side of the story. Daughters of Sparta is a tale of secrets, love, and tragedy from the women behind mythology's most devastating war, the infamous Helen and her sister Klytemnestra.

As princesses of Sparta, Helen and... Read more »

Audiobook details

Hell of a Book

A Novel

By Jason Mott
Narrated by: JD Jackson & Ronald Peet
Length: TBA

One of Entertainment Weekly's 15 Books you Need to Read This June | One of The NY Post's Best Summer Reading books | One of GMA's 27 Books for June

An astounding work of fiction from a New York Times bestselling author Jason Mott, always deeply honest, at times electrically funny, that goes to the heart of racism, police violence, and the hidden...
Read more »

Audiobook details

While We Were Dating

By Jasmine Guillory
Narrated by: Janina Edwards
Length: TBA

Two people realize that it’s no longer an act when they veer off-script in this sizzling romantic comedy by New York Times bestselling author Jasmine Guillory.

Ben Stephens has never bothered with serious relationships. He has plenty of casual dates to keep him busy, family drama he’s trying to ignore and his advertising job to focus on. When Ben... Read more »

Audiobook details

Isn't It Bromantic?

Bromance Book Club: Book #4

By Lyssa Kay Adams
Narrated by: Andrew Eiden
Length: TBA

With his passion for romance novels, it was only a matter of time before Vlad wrote one.

Elena Konnikova has lived her entire adult life in the shadows. As the daughter of a Russian journalist who mysteriously disappeared, she escaped danger the only way she knew how: She married her childhood friend, Vladimir, and moved to the United States,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Chasing the Thrill

Obsession, Death, and Glory in America's Most Extraordinary Treasure Hunt

By Daniel Barbarisi
Narrated by: Daniel Barbarisi
Length: 11 hours

Chasing the Thrill

“This book makes you feel like you’re on an adventure! More than just a saga about one eccentric millionaire’s treasure hunt, Chasing the Thrill is a nuanced and highly addictive story about Forest Fenn, his now infamous hidden treasure, and all of the controversies, joys, and tragedies that ended up being irrevocably intertwined with it. Barbarisi deftly anchors his narrative with an unvarnished look at his own experiences hunting for Forest Fenn’s hidden riches, keeping the reader on the edge of their seat until the very last page.”

Copperfish Books image Lucile, Copperfish Books
Audiobook details

The Comfort Book

By Matt Haig
Length: TBA

An essential book from Matt Haig, the New York Times bestselling author of The Midnight Library, for anyone in search of hope, looking for a path to a more meaningful life, or in need of a little encouragement.

“It is a strange paradox, that many of the clearest, most comforting life lessons are learnt while we are at our lowest. But then we...
Read more »

Audiobook details

While Justice Sleeps

A Novel

By Stacey Abrams
Narrated by: Adenrele Ojo & Stacey Abrams
Length: 14 hours 54 minutes

While Justice Sleeps

“From the first pages, this crime novel from author/activist Stacey Abrams drew me into the world of the Supreme Court (and chess!) and the seedy underbelly of the U.S. government. This race through the streets of Washington, DC, also contains a deeply satisfying ending that I won’t give away.”

The Silver Unicorn Bookstore image Megan Birch-McMichael, The Silver Unicorn Bookstore
Audiobook details

Celebrate Juneteenth with Black-owned bookstores! Learn more