Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started

Midwest Connections Picks

Midwest Connections are titles selected by regional booksellers as having particular interest or relevance to the Upper Midwest.

Strange Birds

A Field Guide to Ruffling Feathers
By Celia C. Pérez
Narrated by Rebecca Soler /  7 hours 31 minutes

From the award-winning author of The First Rule of Punk comes the story of four kids who form an alternative Scout troop that shakes up their sleepy Florida town.

"Writing with wry restraint that's reminiscent of Kate DiCamillo... a beautiful tale." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review!)

When three very different girls find a mysterious invitation to... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Reckless Oath We Made

By Bryn Greenwood
Narrated by Alex McKenna, Kirby Heyborne, Adenrele Ojo, MacLeod Andrews, Mark Bramhall, Maxwell Glick, Georgette Perna, Amanda Carlin & Kaleo Griffith /  14 hours 42 minutes

The Reckless Oath We Made

“Greenwood brings these characters -- from Zee with her hard-luck life and equally rough family to autistic Gentry and his quest to be a K-night -- to life with her words, but it was the full cast audio that make them real for me. Each narrator -- one for each character that had a chapter -- brought something new and unique to the character's voice, and that just added depth the whole story. Highly recommended, but especially on audio!”

Watermark Books image Melissa, Watermark Books
Price:

$31.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

A River of Royal Blood

By Amanda Joy
Narrated by Soneela Nankani /  10 hours 40 minutes

An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in a North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown.

Sixteen-year-old Eva is a princess, born with the magick of blood and marrow--a dark and terrible magick that hasn't been seen for generations in the vibrant but fractured... Read More »

Price:

$38.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

We Speak in Storms

By Natalie Lund
Narrated by Brittany Pressley & Kirby Heyborne /  10 hours 33 minutes

A powerful and haunting debut novel about friendship, acceptance, and learning to let go as the balance between the living and the dead is upended, perfect for fans of We Were Liars.

It's been more than 50 years since a tornado tore through a drive-in movie theater in tiny Mercer, Illinois, leaving dozens of teens -- a whole generation of... Read More »

Price:

$38.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Topeka School

A Novel
By Ben Lerner
Narrated by Nancy Linari, Peter Berkrot & Tristan Wright /  10 hours 34 minutes

The Topeka School

“It’s the late ’90s in Topeka, and high school senior Adam Gordon is partying, going to school, and preparing for a national speech and debate competition—living a life he expects to reflect back upon with irony and detachment in some urbane, imaginary future. Lerner shifts between perspectives, stealing stylistic bits from autofiction and documentary; he reinvents the way narrative can place the moments of our lives in the context of history, both global and hyper-local, exploring how history inflicts trauma onto us and how we, in turn, inflict that trauma back onto history. And he does all this while toying with language and the spaces where it breaks down as we attempt to self-define. Simply put, The Topeka School is a work of genius.”

Chris Lee image Chris Lee, Boswell Book Company
Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

After The Flood

By Kassandra Montag
Narrated by Hillary Huber /  12 hours 59 minutes

Life is about more than just surviving...

An unforgettable, inventive, and riveting epic saga about a mother, her daughter and their struggle to survive in a post-apocalyptic flooded world, which signals the arrival of an extraordinary new talent.


'An adventure rife with great peril and high emotional stakes, this postapocalyptic novel reads like... Read More »

Price:

$27.59 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Nothing More Dangerous

By Allen Eskens
Narrated by Kevin Stillwell /  10 hours 26 minutes

Missouri native Allen Eskens' "stunning small-town mystery" (New York Times Book Review) is "a coming-of-age book to rival some of the best, such as Ordinary Grace." (Library Journal, starred review)
FINALIST FOR THE MINNESOTA BOOK AWARD
Best Book of the Year: Florida Sun-Sentinel * Library Journal

In a small Southern town where loyalty... Read More »

Price:

$29.88 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Evergreen Tidings from the Baumgartners

By Anthony & Gretchen Anthony
Narrated by Andi Arndt, Eric Dove & Donna Postel /  10 hours 20 minutes

Best Books of Fall 2018 Selection by PopSugar
“Stunning... An intricately satisfying story about love and understanding that is full of both nostalgia and surprising optimism.” —Kirkus Reviews
“A propulsive and endearing debut.” —J. Ryan Stradal, New York Times bestselling author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest
A formidable matriarch learns the... Read More »

Price:

$24.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

This Tender Land

By William Kent Krueger
Narrated by Scott Brick /  14 hours 19 minutes

This Tender Land

“Historical fiction in the hands of a genius storyteller. A band of vagabond children on an epic journey to find their way during the great depression. Their search for home, for peace, for family, for identity is one of the most beautiful stories I have read in a very long time. This is Mark Twain meets Dickens, and then some. Extensively researched and eloquently told, this is storytelling at its finest. Yes, I used the word “storytelling” twice. But there is no better example of this beautiful art form. The only thing missing is a crackling fire and a creaking rocker, as this tale unfolds. “Lucky us”, as Mose would say.”

Watermark Books image Robin, Watermark Books
Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Chronicles of a Radical Hag (with Recipes)

A Novel
By Lorna Landvik
Narrated by Lorna Landvik /  9 hours 39 minutes

When Haze Evans first appeared in the small-town newspaper, she earned fans by writing a story about her bachelor uncle who brought a Queen of the Rodeo to Thanksgiving dinner. Now, fifty years later, when the beloved columnist suffers a massive stroke and falls into a coma, publisher Susan McGrath fills the void (temporarily, she hopes) with... Read More »

Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Lager Queen of Minnesota

A Novel
By J. Ryan Stradal
Narrated by Judith Ivey /  11 hours 12 minutes

The Lager Queen of Minnesota

“A Minnesota family grounded in farming, beer, and award-winning pies is split for decades when one of two sisters inherits the farm. Helen and Edith — whose stories author J. Ryan Stradal effectively weaves together — stop speaking, while one’s fortunes soar and the other’s plummet. When a woman of the next generation has a chance at success, she may also reunite the Calder family. Stradal brings the heartland to the page with warmth, humor, and plenty of hops-inspired lore.”

Book Passage image Cheryl McKeon, Book Passage
Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Twenty-Ninth Day

Surviving a Grizzly Attack in the Canadian Tundra
By Alex Messenger
7 hours 42 minutes

A six-hundred-mile canoe trip in the Canadian wilderness is a seventeen-year-old’s dream adventure, but after he is mauled by a grizzly bear, it’s all about staying alive.

This true-life wilderness survival epic recounts seventeen-year-old Alex Messenger’s near-lethal encounter with a grizzly bear during a canoe trip in the Canadian tundra. The... Read More »

Price:

$19.49 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Curse of the Werepenguin

Werepenguin: Book #1
By Allan Woodrow
Narrated by Oliver Wyman /  7 hours 41 minutes

"Young Frankenstein meets The Princess Bride in the most hysterically hilarious book I've read in years."--Chris Grabenstein, #1 New York Times bestselling author

All orphan Bolt Wattle has ever wanted was to find his true family. When a mysterious baron in far-off Brugaria sends for Bolt, he wonders if he's getting closer to finding his... Read More »

Price:

$32.20 USD

Get for Free with Membership