Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started

Michigan Non-Fiction

Detroit: An American Autopsy

An American Autopsy
By Charlie LeDuff
Narrated by Eric Martin /  7 hours 18 minutes

In the heart of America, a metropolis is quietly destroying itself. Detroit, once the richest city in the nation, is now its poorest. Once the vanguard of America’s machine age—mass production, automobiles, and blue-collar jobs—Detroit is now America’s capital for unemployment, illiteracy, foreclosure, and dropouts.

With the steel-eyed reportage... Read More »

Price:

$24.12

Get for Free with Membership

Beer Money

A Memoir of Privilege and Loss
By Frances Stroh
Narrated by Erin Bennett /  6 hours 37 minutes

In the tradition of Rich Cohen's Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey's Oh the Glory of it All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist's struggle to find her way out of the ruinsFrances Stroh's earliest memories are ones of great privilege: shopping trips to London and New York, lunches served by... Read More »

Price:

$22.94

Get for Free with Membership

Mennonite in a Little Black Dress

A Memoir of Going Home
By Rhonda Janzen
Narrated by Hillary Huber /  8 hours 15 minutes

A hilarious and moving memoir in the spirit of Anne Lamott and Nora Ephron about a woman who returns home to her Mennonite family after a personal crisis.

The same week her husband of 15 years ditches her for a guy he met on Gay.com, a partially inebriated teenage driver smacks her VW Beetle head-on. Marriage over, body bruised, life upside-down,... Read More »

Price:

$24.12

Get for Free with Membership

The Death and Life of the Great Lakes

By Dan Egan
Narrated by Jason Culp /  12 hours 15 minutes

The Great Lakes—Erie, Huron, Michigan, Ontario and Superior—hold 20 percent of the world’s supply of surface fresh water and provide sustenance, work and recreation for tens of millions of Americans. But they are under threat as never before, and their problems are spreading across the continent. The Death and Life of the Great Lakes is... Read More »

Price:

$27.00

Get for Free with Membership

Fordlandia

The Rise and Fall of Henry Ford's Forgotten Jungle City
By Greg Grandin
Narrated by Jonathan Davis /  15 hours 26 minutes

Fordlandia by National Book Award finalist Greg Grandin tells the enthralling tale of Henry Ford's failed attempts to transform a Connecticut-sized chunk of Brazilian rainforest into a homespun slice of American utopia. "Fordlandia is . a genuinely readable history recounted with a novelist's sense of pace and an eye for character. It is a... Read More »

Price:

$34.49

Get for Free with Membership

Bo's Lasting Lessons - Abridged

The Legendary Coach Teaches the Timeless Fundamentals of Leadership
By Bo Schembechler & John Bacon
Narrated by John H. Mayer /  3 hours 35 minutes

There are very few coaches held higher esteem than Bo Schembechler. As coach of the University of Michigan football team, he won 13 Big Ten titles and finished as the winningest coach in their storied history. But beyond the wins and losses, Bo is best remembered for the remarkable impact he had on his players and fans alike.

In BO'S LASTING... Read More »

Price:

$22.98

Get for Free with Membership

Life, on the Line

A Chef's Story of Chasing Greatness, Facing Death, and Redefining the Way We Eat
By Grant Achatz & Nick Kokonas
Narrated by Johnny Heller /  12 hours 51 minutes

In 2007, chef Grant Achatz seemingly had it made. He had been named one of the best new chefs in America by Food & Wine in 2002, received the James Beard Foundation Rising Star Chef of the Year Award in 2003, and in 2005 he and Nick Kokonas opened the conceptually radical restaurant Alinea, which was named Best Restaurant in America by... Read More »

Price:

$25.29

Get for Free with Membership

The Drummond Girls

A Story of Fierce Friendship Beyond Time and Chance
By Mardi Jo Link
Narrated by Mardi Jo Link /  9 hours 35 minutes

An inspiring and heartfelt memoir about the friendship between eight women forged over two decades.

The eight Drummond Girls first met in 1991 at Peegeo's Food & Spirits in northern Michigan where, at the time, they were all waitresses, bartenders, or regular customers. When one of them got engaged, they celebrated with a trip to Drummond... Read More »

Price:

$29.88

Get for Free with Membership

I Invented the Modern Age

The Rise of Henry Ford and the Most Important Car Ever Made
By Richard Snow
Narrated by Sean Runnette /  12 hours 18 minutes

Every century or so, our republic has been remade by a new technology: 170 years ago the railroad changed Americans' conception of space and time; in our era, the microprocessor revolutionized how humans communicate. But in the early twentieth century the agent of creative destruction was the gasoline engine, as put to work by an unknown and... Read More »

Price:

$22.99

Get for Free with Membership

Once In A Great City

A Detroit Story
By David Maraniss
Narrated by David Maraniss /  13 hours 39 minutes

As David Maraniss captures it with power and affection, Detroit summed up America’s path to music and prosperity that was already past history.

It’s 1963 and Detroit is on top of the world. The city’s leaders are among the most visionary in America: Grandson of the first Ford; Henry Ford II; influential labor leader Walter Reuther; Motown’s... Read More »

Price:

$27.59

Get for Free with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener