Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Celebrate Juneteenth with Black-owned bookstores! Learn more

Moms Don't Have Time to Read Books: Memoir Audiobooks

Memoir recommendations from Zibby Owens, a writer, mother of four and the creator and host of Webby-nominated, popular podcast, "Moms Don't Have Time to Read Books.”

Playlist Tags: genre: Biography & Memoir influencer-created audience: bookish podcast fans

View all playlists

Motherland

A Memoir of Love, Loathing, and Longing

By Elissa Altman
Narrated by: Elissa Altman
Length: 6 hours 34 minutes

“I’m reading this book right now and loving it!”—Cheryl Strayed, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wild

How can a mother and daughter who love (but don’t always like) each other coexist without driving each other crazy? 

“Vibrating with emotion, this deeply honest account strikes a chord.”—People

“A wry and moving meditation on aging and the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Inheritance

A Memoir of Genealogy, Paternity, and Love

By Dani Shapiro
Narrated by: Dani Shapiro
Length: 6 hours 43 minutes

Inheritance

“Who are we? Does who we think we are change when we learn a family secret that alters the source of our identity? Shapiro has explored issues of identity in her previous memoirs, but in her latest she applies her signature candor and heart to a riveting, provocative, and inspiring genealogical mystery and journey of discovery.”

R.J. Julia Booksellers image Roxanne Coady, R.J. Julia Booksellers
Audiobook details

The Lie

A Memoir of Two Marriages, Catfishing & Coming Out

By William Dameron
Narrated by: Will Damron
Length: 8 hours 16 minutes

A candid memoir of denial, stolen identities, betrayal, faking it, and coming out.

Do you know me?, the email began, sparking tremors of fear that turned into a full quake of panic when William Dameron discovered that his selfie had been stolen by strangers. On social networks and dating sites, his image and identity—a forty-year-old straight... Read more »

Audiobook details

The End of Your Life Book Club

By Will Schwalbe
Narrated by: Jeff Harding
Length: 9 hours 36 minutes

“What are you reading?”

That’s the question Will Schwalbe asks his mother, Mary Anne, as they sit in the waiting room of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. In 2007, Mary Anne returned from a humanitarian trip to Pakistan and Afghanistan suffering from what her doctors believed was a rare type of hepatitis. Months later she was diagnosed... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Beautiful No - Abridged

And Other Tales of Trial, Transcendence, and Transformation

By Sheri Salata
Narrated by: Sheri Salata
Length: 6 hours 39 minutes

“Thursday morning.

One hundred pounds overweight, no man in sight, and rounding the bend to 57 years old—a full-blown catastrophe.”

What happens when you realize you’ve had the career of your dreams, but you don’t have the life of your dreams? This was the stark reality facing Sheri Salata when she left her twenty-year stint at The Oprah Winfrey... Read more »

Audiobook details

Joy Enough

A Memoir

By Sarah McColl
Narrated by: Sarah McColl
Length: 4 hours 40 minutes

From a bracing new voice comes this life-affirming memoir of a daughter making and remaking her life in her mother's image. Sifting gingerly through memories of her late mother, brilliant newcomer Sarah McColl has penned an indelible tribute to the joy and pain of loving well. Even as her own marriage splinters, McColl drops everything when her... Read more »

Audiobook details

I Am Yours

A Shared Memoir

By Reema Zaman
Narrated by: Reema Zaman
Length: 11 hours 58 minutes

I Am Yours is the story of Reema Zaman’s unwavering fight to protect and free her voice from those who have sought to silence her. From Bangladesh, to Thailand, to New York, to Oregon, through gorgeous prose as beautiful as it is biting, poetic as it is political, and healing as it is haunting, Zaman explores the many difficulties, dangers, and,... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Anti-Romantic Child

A Story of Unexpected Joy

By Priscilla Gilman
Narrated by: Priscilla Gilman
Length: 9 hours 21 minutes

“TheAnti-Romantic Child is remarkable. This haunting and lyrical memoir will bean invaluable and heartening guide to all who find themselves in similarsituations and indeed anyone confronting an unforeseen challenge.” —MarieBrenner, writer for Vanity Fair andauthor of Apples and Oranges
 
With an emotionally resonant combination of memoirand... Read more »

Audiobook details

You All Grow Up and Leave Me

A Memoir of Teenage Obsession

By Piper Weiss
Narrated by: Brittany Pressley
Length: 8 hours 10 minutes

A highly unsettling blend of true crime and coming-of-age memoir— The Stranger Beside Me meets Prep—that presents an intimate and thought-provoking portrait of girlhood within Manhattan’s exclusive prep-school scene in the early 1990s, and a thoughtful meditation on adolescent obsession and the vulnerability of youth.

Piper Weiss was fourteen... Read more »

Audiobook details

Gross Anatomy

Dispatches from the Front (and Back)

By Mara Altman
Narrated by: Mara Altman
Length: 9 hours 17 minutes

An honest, funny, neurotic, and totally gross love child of Mindy Kaling and Mary Roach.

Mara Altman's volatile and apprehensive relationship with her body has led her to wonder about a lot of stuff over the years. Like, who decided that women shouldn't have body hair? And how sweaty is too sweaty? Also, why is breast cleavage sexy but camel toe... Read more »

Audiobook details

Don't Wait Up

Confessions of a Stay-at-Work Mom

By Liz Astrof
Narrated by: Liz Astrof
Length: 8 hours 24 minutes

“The parenting genre is never going to be the same” (Jancee Dunn, author of How Not to Hate Your Husband After Having Kids) with this candid and hilarious collection of essays on motherhood from the award-winning television comedy writer and producer of 2 Broke Girls and The King of Queens, who swears she loves her kids—when she’s not hiding... Read more »

Audiobook details

Running Home

A Memoir

By Katie Arnold
Narrated by: Katie Arnold
Length: 11 hours 21 minutes

In the tradition of Wild and H Is for Hawk, an Outside magazine writer tells her story—of fathers and daughters, grief and renewal, adventure and obsession, and the power of running to change your life.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY REAL SIMPLE

I’m running to forget, and to remember.

For more than a decade, Katie Arnold chased... Read more »

Audiobook details

All Happy Families

A Memoir

By Jeanne McCulloch
Narrated by: Gabra Zackman
Length: 6 hours 39 minutes

The Glass Castle meets The Nest in this stunning debut, an intimate family memoir that gracefully brings us behind the dappled beachfront vista of privilege, to reveal the inner lives of two wonderfully colorful, unforgettable families.

On a mid-August weekend, two families assemble for a wedding at a rambling family mansion on the beach in East... Read more »

Audiobook details

No One Tells You This

A Memoir

By Glynnis MacNicol
Narrated by: Allyson Ryan
Length: 9 hours 20 minutes

“I found myself underlining sentences, and then entire passages, that resonated with me, articulating the extreme inadequacy and sense of dislocation single women of a certain age, like MacNicol—and like me —experience in moments when others are growing closer without you…an anthem to choosing the single, family-free life.”—Amanda Stern, The New... Read more »

Audiobook details

How to Be Loved

A Memoir of Lifesaving Friendship

By Eva Hagberg Fisher
Narrated by: Eva Hagberg Fisher
Length: 6 hours 27 minutes

A luminous memoir about how friendship saved one woman's life, for anyone who has loved a friend who was sick, grieving, or lost-and for anyone who has struggled to seek help or accept it. Eva Hagberg Fisher spent her lonely youth looking everywhere for connection: drugs, alcohol, therapists, boyfriends, girlfriends. Sometimes she found it, but... Read more »

Audiobook details

Love and Trouble

A Midlife Reckoning

By Claire Dederer
Narrated by: Claire Dederer
Length: 7 hours

From the New York Times best-selling author of Poser: My Life in Twenty-Three Yoga Poses, a ferocious, sexy, hilarious memoir about going off the rails at midlife and trying to reconcile the girl she was with the woman she has become.

Claire Dederer is a happily married mother of two, ages nine and twelve, when she suddenly finds herself totally... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Rules of Inheritance

By Claire Bidwell Smith
Narrated by: Claire Bidwell Smith
Length: 7 hours 35 minutes

A resonant memoir of the ways untimely good-byes echo through the years by a writer who has considered every nuance of grief.

At age fourteen, Claire Bidwell Smith-an only child- learned that both of her parents had cancer. The fear of becoming a family of one before she came of age compels Claire to make a series of fraught choices, set against... Read more »

Audiobook details

Fifty Things That Aren't My Fault

Essays from the Grown-up Years

By Cathy Guisewite
Narrated by: Cathy Guisewite & Anna Guisewite
Length: 9 hours 52 minutes

A National Bestseller

From the creator of the iconic "Cathy" comic strip comes her first collection of funny, wise, poignant, and incredibly honest essays about being a woman in what she lovingly calls "the panini generation."


As the creator of "Cathy," Cathy Guisewite found her way into the hearts of readers more than forty years ago, and has... Read more »

Audiobook details

Is There Still Sex in the City?

By Candace Bushnell
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 6 hours 11 minutes

Is There Still Sex in the City?

“In her sharp and realistic new explorations of the modern 21st century woman, Bushnell maintains the voice and wry musings she brought to life with Carrie Bradshaw. But, these are not just any 21st century women. We are offered a peek into the lives of the 50-something woman that we met as a 30-somethings in the original Sex & The City. The landscape and slang for friendships and relationships has changed, but Bushnell shows us that age doesn’t take away the opportunities for adventure and fun once you’ve arrived at the heart of middle age. With moments ranging from heart-breaking to laugh out loud hilarious, you will devour these insightful essays and vignettes.”

Bright Side Bookshop image Cori, Bright Side Bookshop
Audiobook details

On Edge

A Journey Through Anxiety

By Andrea Petersen
Narrated by: Andrea Petersen
Length: 8 hours 47 minutes

A celebrated science and health reporter offers a wry, bracingly honest account of living with anxiety.
 
A racing heart. Difficulty breathing. Overwhelming dread. Andrea Petersen was first diagnosed with an anxiety disorder at the age of twenty, but she later realized that she had been experiencing panic attacks since childhood. With time her... Read more »

Audiobook details

Celebrate Juneteenth with Black-owned bookstores! Learn more