Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started

Moms Don't Have Time to Read Books: Memoir Audiobooks

Memoir recommendations from Zibby Owens, a writer, mother of four and the creator and host of Webby-nominated, popular podcast, "Moms Don't Have Time to Read Books.”

Motherland

A Memoir of Love, Loathing, and Longing
By Elissa Altman
Narrated by Elissa Altman /  6 hours 34 minutes

“I’m reading this book right now and loving it!”—Cheryl Strayed, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wild

How can a mother and daughter who love (but don’t always like) each other coexist without driving each other crazy? 

“A wry and moving meditation on aging and the different kinds of love between women.”—O: The Oprah Magazine (“2019’s Best... Read More »

Price:

$21.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Inheritance

A Memoir of Genealogy, Paternity, and Love
By Dani Shapiro
Narrated by Dani Shapiro /  6 hours 43 minutes

Inheritance

“Who are we? Does who we think we are change when we learn a family secret that alters the source of our identity? Shapiro has explored issues of identity in her previous memoirs, but in her latest she applies her signature candor and heart to a riveting, provocative, and inspiring genealogical mystery and journey of discovery.”

R.J. Julia Booksellers image Roxanne Coady, R.J. Julia Booksellers
Price:

$24.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Lie

A Memoir of Two Marriages, Catfishing & Coming Out
By William Dameron
Narrated by Will Damron /  8 hours 16 minutes

A candid memoir of denial, stolen identities, betrayal, faking it, and coming out.

Do you know me?, the email began, sparking tremors of fear that turned into a full quake of panic when William Dameron discovered that his selfie had been stolen by strangers. On social networks and dating sites, his image and identity—a forty-year-old straight... Read More »

Price:

$32.49 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The End of Your Life Book Club

By Will Schwalbe
Narrated by Jeff Harding /  9 hours 36 minutes

“What are you reading?”

That’s the question Will Schwalbe asks his mother, Mary Anne, as they sit in the waiting room of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. In 2007, Mary Anne returned from a humanitarian trip to Pakistan and Afghanistan suffering from what her doctors believed was a rare type of hepatitis. Months later she was diagnosed... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Beautiful No - Abridged

And Other Tales of Trial, Transcendence, and Transformation
By Sheri Salata
Narrated by Sheri Salata /  6 hours 39 minutes

“Thursday morning.

One hundred pounds overweight, no man in sight, and rounding the bend to 57 years old—a full-blown catastrophe.”

What happens when you realize you’ve had the career of your dreams, but you don’t have the life of your dreams? This was the stark reality facing Sheri Salata when she left her twenty-year stint at The Oprah Winfrey... Read More »

Price:

$24.14 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Joy Enough

A Memoir
By Sarah McColl
Narrated by Sarah McColl /  4 hours 40 minutes

From a bracing new voice comes this life-affirming memoir of a daughter making and remaking her life in her mother's image. Sifting gingerly through memories of her late mother, brilliant newcomer Sarah McColl has penned an indelible tribute to the joy and pain of loving well. Even as her own marriage splinters, McColl drops everything when her... Read More »

Price:

$12.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

I Am Yours

A Shared Memoir
By Reema Zaman
Narrated by Reema Zaman /  11 hours 58 minutes

I Am Yours is the story of Reema Zaman's unwavering fight to protect and free her voice from those who have sought to silence her. From Bangladesh, to Thailand, to New York, to Oregon, through gorgeous prose as beautiful as it is biting, poetic as it is political, and healing as it is haunting, Zaman explores the many difficulties, dangers, and,... Read More »

Price:

$26.39 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Anti-Romantic Child

A Story of Unexpected Joy
By Priscilla Gilman
Narrated by Priscilla Gilman /  9 hours 21 minutes

“TheAnti-Romantic Child is remarkable. This haunting and lyrical memoir will bean invaluable and heartening guide to all who find themselves in similarsituations and indeed anyone confronting an unforeseen challenge.” —MarieBrenner, writer for Vanity Fair andauthor of Apples and Oranges
 
With an emotionally resonant combination of memoirand... Read More »

Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for Free with Membership

You All Grow Up and Leave Me

A Memoir of Teenage Obsession
By Piper Weiss
Narrated by Brittany Pressley /  8 hours 10 minutes

A highly unsettling blend of true crime and coming-of-age memoir— The Stranger Beside Me meets Prep—that presents an intimate and thought-provoking portrait of girlhood within Manhattan’s exclusive prep-school scene in the early 1990s, and a thoughtful meditation on adolescent obsession and the vulnerability of youth.

Piper Weiss was fourteen... Read More »

Price:

$27.59 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Gross Anatomy

Dispatches from the Front (and Back)
By Mara Altman
Narrated by Mara Altman /  9 hours 17 minutes

An honest, funny, neurotic, and totally gross love child of Mindy Kaling and Mary Roach.

Mara Altman's volatile and apprehensive relationship with her body has led her to wonder about a lot of stuff over the years. Like, who decided that women shouldn't have body hair? And how sweaty is too sweaty? Also, why is breast cleavage sexy but camel toe... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Don't Wait Up

Confessions of a Stay-at-Work Mom
By Liz Astrof
Narrated by Liz Astrof /  8 hours 24 minutes

“The parenting genre is never going to be the same” (Jancee Dunn, author of How Not to Hate Your Husband After Having Kids) with this candid and hilarious collection of essays on motherhood from the award-winning television comedy writer and producer of 2 Broke Girls and The King of Queens, who swears she loves her kids—when she’s not hiding... Read More »

Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Running Home

A Memoir
By Katie Arnold
Narrated by Katie Arnold /  11 hours 21 minutes

In the tradition of Wild and H Is for Hawk, an Outside magazine writer tells her story—of fathers and daughters, grief and renewal, adventure and obsession, and the power of running to change your life.

I’m running to forget, and to remember.


For more than a decade, Katie Arnold chased adventure around the world, reporting on extreme athletes who... Read More »

Price:

$31.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

All Happy Families

A Memoir
By Jeanne McCulloch
Narrated by Gabra Zackman /  6 hours 39 minutes

The Glass Castle meets The Nest in this stunning debut, an intimate family memoir that gracefully brings us behind the dappled beachfront vista of privilege, to reveal the inner lives of two wonderfully colorful, unforgettable families.

On a mid-August weekend, two families assemble for a wedding at a rambling family mansion on the beach in East... Read More »

Price:

$24.14 USD

Get for Free with Membership

No One Tells You This

A Memoir
By Glynnis MacNicol
Narrated by Allyson Ryan /  9 hours 20 minutes

“I found myself underlining sentences, and then entire passages, that resonated with me, articulating the extreme inadequacy and sense of dislocation single women of a certain age, like MacNicol—and like me —experience in moments when others are growing closer without you…an anthem to choosing the single, family-free life.”—Amanda Stern, The New... Read More »

Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

How to Be Loved

A Memoir of Lifesaving Friendship
By Eva Hagberg Fisher
Narrated by Eva Hagberg Fisher /  6 hours 27 minutes

A luminous memoir about how friendship saved one woman's life, for anyone who has loved a friend who was sick, grieving, or lost-and for anyone who has struggled to seek help or accept it. Eva Hagberg Fisher spent her lonely youth looking everywhere for connection: drugs, alcohol, therapists, boyfriends, girlfriends. Sometimes she found it, but... Read More »

Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Love and Trouble

A Midlife Reckoning
By Claire Dederer
Narrated by Claire Dederer /  7 hours

From the New York Times best-selling author of Poser: My Life in Twenty-Three Yoga Poses, a ferocious, sexy, hilarious memoir about going off the rails at midlife and trying to reconcile the girl she was with the woman she has become.

Claire Dederer is a happily married mother of two, ages nine and twelve, when she suddenly finds herself totally... Read More »

Price:

$24.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Rules of Inheritance

By Claire Bidwell Smith
Narrated by Claire Bidwell Smith /  7 hours 35 minutes

A resonant memoir of the ways untimely good-byes echo through the years by a writer who has considered every nuance of grief.

At age fourteen, Claire Bidwell Smith-an only child- learned that both of her parents had cancer. The fear of becoming a family of one before she came of age compels Claire to make a series of fraught choices, set against... Read More »

Price:

$24.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Fifty Things That Aren't My Fault

Essays from the Grown-up Years
By Cathy Guisewite
Narrated by Cathy Guisewite & Anna Guisewite /  9 hours 52 minutes

From the creator of the iconic "Cathy" comic strip comes her first collection of funny, wise, poignant, and incredibly honest essays about being a woman in what she lovingly calls "the panini generation."

As the creator of "Cathy," Cathy Guisewite found her way into the hearts of readers more than forty years ago, and has been there ever since.... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Is There Still Sex in the City?

By Candace Bushnell
Narrated by Julia Whelan /  6 hours 11 minutes

Set between the Upper East Side of Manhattan and a country enclave known as The Village, Is There Still Sex in the City? gathers Bushnell’s signature short, sharp, satirical commentaries on the love and dating habits of middle-aged men and women as they continue to navigate the ever-modernizing world of relationships. Throughout, Bushnell... Read More »

Price:

$24.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

On Edge

A Journey Through Anxiety
By Andrea Petersen
Narrated by Andrea Petersen /  8 hours 47 minutes

A celebrated science and health reporter offers a wry, bracingly honest account of living with anxiety.
 
A racing heart. Difficulty breathing. Overwhelming dread. Andrea Petersen was first diagnosed with an anxiety disorder at the age of twenty, but she later realized that she had been experiencing panic attacks since childhood. With time her... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener