Skip content
Get two free audiobooks AND support McLean & Eakin Booksellers Make the switch
Bookseller Created
Staff Favorites
All playlists

Staff Favorites

Favorites from the staff of McLean and Eakin Booksellers.

One Italian Summer

A Novel

By: Rebecca Serle
Narrated by: Lauren Graham
Length: 6 hours 21 minutes

“This book was the perfect read that I finished with happy tears streaming down my face. Rebecca Serle’s writing is beautiful and gripping, and I will now read everything she writes. One Italian Summer has a hint of magical realism with time-travel in the premise. Katy and Adam are both so relatable I found myself wishing I was friends with both... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Liberation Day

Stories

By: George Saunders
Narrated by: George Saunders, Tina Fey, Michael McKean, Edi Patterson, Jenny Slate, Jack McBrayer, Melora Hardin & Stephen Root
Length: 7 hours 6 minutes

“The stories are creative and well written, although can be a bit dark! This audio version is a must listen however. The various actors that read are all fabulous. It was such fun listening, I listened to some twice! Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World

A Novel

By: C. A. Fletcher
Narrated by: C. A. Fletcher
Length: 10 hours 48 minutes

A "suspenseful, atmospheric tale. . .punctured by a gut-punch twist" (Entertainment Weekly), A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World is a story of survival, courage and hope amid the ruins of our world.

My name's Griz. I've never been to school, I've never had friends, and in my whole life I've not met enough people to play a game of football.... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Phone showing make the switch message

Limited-time offer

Get two free audiobooks when you make the switch!

Now’s a great time to shop indie. When you start a new membership supporting McLean & Eakin Booksellers with promo code SWITCH, we’ll give you two bonus audiobook credits at sign-up.

Make the switch

Poverty, by America

By: Matthew Desmond
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 5 hours 40 minutes

“Desmond challenges readers to recognize how they benefit from poverty through low cost goods, services, and systemic structures that benefit those who already have resources (no surprise - they also have roots in racism and misogyny!). He reminds us that both the rich and poor benefit from government assistance, but only programs for the poor... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Kitchen Front

A Novel

By: Jennifer Ryan
Narrated by: Jasmine Blackborow
Length: 13 hours 33 minutes

From the bestselling author of The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir comes an unforgettable novel of a BBC-sponsored wartime cooking competition and the four women who enter for a chance to better their lives.

Two years into World War II, Britain is feeling her losses: The Nazis have won battles, the Blitz has destroyed cities, and U-boats have cut off the... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

All My Rage

A Novel

By: Sabaa Tahir
Narrated by: Deepti Gupta, Kamran R. Khan & Kausar Mohammed
Length: 10 hours 24 minutes

“Two thumbs up. I loved how the pacing accelerated as the story unfolded. Intense and heartbreaking, as well as refreshing and angering, in the best of ways. I was hooked, listening to the different voices and learning so much about Pakistani beliefs and traditions. Trigger alerts, though! Also important to hear about how folks live with... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting

A Novel

By: Clare Pooley
Narrated by: Clare Corbett
Length: 8 hours 37 minutes

“If you liked Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine (Gail Honeyman) and Anxious People (Fredik Backman), you’ll love Iona Iverson’s Rules for Commuting by Clare Pooley. I want to be Iona, and I want all of her fellow commuters to be my friends. This is a cheerful read, laugh out loud funny, and just what I wanted to read in these crazy times.... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Mr. Wrong Number

By: Lynn Painter
Narrated by: Callie Dalton & Andrew Eiden
Length: 8 hours 27 minutes

Things get textual when a steamy message from a random wrong number turns into an anonymous relationship in this hilarious rom-com by Lynn Painter.

Bad luck has always followed Olivia Marshall...or maybe she's just the screw-up her family thinks she is. But when a "What are you wearing?" text from a random wrong number turns into the hottest,... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

How to Sell a Haunted House

By: Grady Hendrix
Narrated by: Jay Aaseng & Mikhaila Aaseng
Length: 12 hours 59 minutes

“When Louise returns home for her parents' funeral, she and her brother uncover long hidden family secrets and an entity that has haunted both of them for much longer than they have realized. While scary and very much a horror novel, this book is a beautifully heartfelt exploration of family and grief. It truly brought me to tears by the end! Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Year of the Puppy

How Dogs Become Themselves

By: Alexandra Horowitz
Narrated by: Alexandra Horowitz
Length: 8 hours 54 minutes

“What Mr. Rogers was to children, Alexandra Horowitz is to dogs: a wise and patient observer who seeks to intimately know a creature... Her chapters, packed with close observations about canine cognition and behavior, are mini-mood lifters." —NPR, Maureen Corrigan on Fresh Air

What is it like to be a puppy? Author of the classic Inside of a Dog,...
Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Demon Copperhead

A Novel

By: Barbara Kingsolver
Narrated by: Charlie Thurston
Length: 21 hours 2 minutes

WINNER OF THE 2023 PULITZER PRIZE WINNER OF THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTIONA New York Times ""Ten Best Books of 2022"" • An Oprah’s Book Club Selection • An Instant New York Times Bestseller • An Instant Wall Street Journal Bestseller • A #1 Washington Post Bestseller ""Demon is a voice for the ages—akin to Huck Finn or Holden Caulfield—only... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Inciting Joy

Essays

By: Ross Gay
Narrated by: Ross Gay
Length: 8 hours 20 minutes

An intimate and electrifying collection of essays from the New York Times bestselling author of The Book of Delights  

In these gorgeously written and timely pieces, prize-winning poet and author Ross Gay considers the joy we incite when we care for each other, especially during life’s inevitable hardships. Throughout Inciting Joy, he explores... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Light Pirate

By: Lily Brooks-Dalton
Narrated by: Rosemary Benson
Length: 11 hours 18 minutes

“A warning of warming. This dystopian novel, set in what was something like the Everglades in Florida, gives a sticky, swampy story of the life of a girl born during a devastating hurricane. Reminiscent of Where the Crawdads Sing, but, dare I say, so much more! Fans of Lydia Millet's The Children's Bible and Emily St. John Mandel's Station Eleven... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Invisible Things

A Novel

By: Mat Johnson
Narrated by: Nicole Lewis
Length: 8 hours 41 minutes

A sharp allegorical novel about a hidden human civilization, a crucial election, and a mysterious invisible force that must not be named, by one of our most imaginative comic novelists

LONGLISTED FOR THE PEN/FAULKNER AWARD • ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: The Washington Post


When sociologist Nalini Jackson joins the SS Delany for the first... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Get two free audiobooks AND support McLean & Eakin Booksellers Make the switch

McLean & Eakin Booksellers is proud to partner with Libro.fm to give you a great audiobook experience.