Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Celebrate Pride Month with Libro.fm! Learn more
Bookseller

Lit Out Loud

Lit Out Loud is a series of virtual events that bring authors together in conversation with the audiobook narrators of their most beloved titles. Join us for a discussion of the process of writing and narrating a book, how it feels to hear your words read aloud and the power of engaging with a story using both your eyes and ears. East City Bookshop welcomes Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé with her new book Ace of Spades, joined by audiobook narrators Jeanette Illidge and Tapiwa Mugweni. Tickets are available via Eventbrite here https://www.eventbrite.com/e/lit-out-loud-ace-of-spades-tickets-150763175717. Registration is required.

Playlist Tags: East City Bookshop genre: Non-Classifiable great listen young adult audience: event audience: lit out loud

View all playlists

Ace of Spades

By Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé
Narrated by: Tapiwa Mugweni & Jeanette Illidge
Length: 13 hours 48 minutes

This program includes an author's note read by the author.

Gossip Girl meets Get Out in Ace of Spades, a YA contemporary thriller by debut author Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé about two students, Devon & Chiamaka, and their struggles against an anonymous bully.

All you need to know is . . . I’m here to divide and conquer. Like all great tyrants do.... Read more »

Audiobook details

Crying in H Mart

A Memoir

By Michelle Zauner
Narrated by: Michelle Zauner
Length: 7 hours 22 minutes

If you enjoyed Minor Feelings, then you’ll love Crying in H Mart.

“This memoir is an unflinchingly honest portrayal of grief as well as a tender look at the complex relationship between a mother and daughter bridging generational and cultural gaps through the comforting creation of food. This book had me simultaneously sobbing and starving. A perfect read.”

Blue Cypress Books image LeeAnna, Blue Cypress Books
Audiobook details

Goodbye, Again

Essays, Reflections, and Illustrations

By Jonny Sun
Narrated by: Jonny Sun
Length: 3 hours 41 minutes

The wonderfully original author of Everyone's a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too gives us a collection of touching and hilarious personal essays, stories, poems—covering topics such as mental health, happiness, and what it means to belong.

Jonny Sun is back with a collection of essays and other writings in his unique, funny, and heartfelt style. The... Read more »

Audiobook details

We Cast a Shadow

A Novel

By Maurice Carlos Ruffin
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 9 hours 41 minutes

“An incisive and necessary” (Roxane Gay) debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty’s The Sellout, about a father’s obsessive quest to protect his son—even if it means turning him white

“Stunning and audacious . . . at once a pitch-black comedy, a chilling horror story and an endlessly perceptive novel about the possible future of race in... Read more »

Audiobook details

Sadie

A Novel

By Courtney Summers
Narrated by: Dan Bittner, Fred Berman, Gabra Zackman & Rebecca Soler
Length: 7 hours 57 minutes

Sadie

“This book made me cry. I felt so deeply for Sadie as she goes in search of the man who hurt her sister. Sadie goes on a journey from place to place, fighting against her severe stutter along the way, all to find one man. I think the framing of this story was PERFECT. The author splits the narrative between a radio presenter, West McCray, as he investigates Sadie’s disappearance, and the first person perspective of Sadie herself, as she hunts down her sister’s killer. If you like gripping, emotional reads, don't miss this one.”

The Owl Books & Brew image Heather, The Owl Books & Brew
Audiobook details

Grown

By Tiffany D. Jackson
Narrated by: Joniece Abbott-Pratt
Length: 8 hours 18 minutes

“Grown exposes the underbelly of a tough conversation, providing a searing examination of misogynoir, rape culture, and the vulnerability of young black girls. Groundbreaking, heart-wrenching, and essential reading for all in the #MeToo era.” —Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Belles 

Award-winning author Tiffany D.... Read more »

Audiobook details

Let Me Hear a Rhyme

By Tiffany D. Jackson
Narrated by: Korey Jackson, Nile Bullock, Adenrele Ojo & Adam Lazarre-White
Length: 9 hours 31 minutes

Let Me Hear a Rhyme

“I listened to this book on audio during my commute & read chapters while at home and enjoyed it in BOTH formats. The story of 3 friends trying to get a record deal for their murdered best friend & brother was strained in parts but the desire to see the outcome & my enjoyment of the characters carried me through.”

Books Inc. image Rachael , Books Inc.
Audiobook details

Monday's Not Coming

By Tiffany D. Jackson
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 10 hours 6 minutes

Monday's Not Coming

“This heartbreaking, mind-bending thriller reads like truth: Monday Charles, a young black girl who lives in poverty, whose care has been shifted from one agency to another until no one knows who is supposed be looking out for her, disappears at the beginning of a long, hot, DC summer. But only her best friend Claudia registers her disappearance. Everyone else assumes she's moved, she's living with another relative, she's dropped out of school. As Claudia struggles to find allies to help her in her search for Monday, she also struggles to reconcile the Monday she thought she knew with the girl who was fighting for her life against the ponderous bulk of an uncaring system. This book is a tragic wake-up call in an era where the lives of some missing girls are still given more weight than the lives of others.”

Inklings Bookshop image Emily, Inklings Bookshop
Audiobook details

Allegedly

By Tiffany D. Jackson
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 10 hours 36 minutes

Orange Is the New Black meets Walter Dean Myer’s Monster in this gritty, twisty, and haunting debut by Tiffany D. Jackson about a girl convicted of murder seeking the truth while surviving life in a group home.

Mary B. Addison killed a baby.

Allegedly. She didn’t say much in that first interview with detectives, and the media filled in the only... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Diviners

The Diviners: Book #1

By Libba Bray
Narrated by: January LaVoy
Length: 18 hours 12 minutes

The Diviners

“The glamorous, ghoulish 1920's New York City setting and spine-tingling thrills will draw you in from the start. However, it's the varied cast of characters - brassy, smart, complex, hilarious, flawed, and just so achingly REAL - that steal the show. I can't put this series down, and with each book it just gets better and better. The narrator, January LaVoy, is just brilliant and does justice to each and every character. She has amazing range!!”

Malaprop's Bookstore image Lauren, Malaprop's Bookstore
Audiobook details

Lair of Dreams

A Diviners Novel
The Diviners: Book #2

By Libba Bray
Narrated by: January LaVoy
Length: 20 hours 11 minutes

After a supernatural showdown with a serial killer, Evie O'Neill has outed herself as a Diviner. Now that the world knows of her ability to "read" objects, and therefore, read the past, she has become a media darling, earning the title, "America's Sweetheart Seer." But not everyone is so accepting of the Diviners' abilities...

Meanwhile,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Before the Devil Breaks You

The Diviners: Book #3

By Libba Bray
Narrated by: January LaVoy
Length: 21 hours 24 minutes

The Diviners are back in this thrilling and eerie third installment by #1 New York Times bestselling author Libba Bray. 

After battling a sleeping sickness, The Diviners are up against a group of new and malevolent foes--ghosts! Out in Ward's Island sits a mental hospital full of lost souls from people long forgotten. Ghosts who have unusual and... Read more »

Audiobook details

The King of Crows

The Diviners: Book #4

By Libba Bray
Narrated by: January LaVoy
Length: 22 hours 20 minutes

The breath-taking finale to the epic New York Times bestseller, The Diviners, from Printz winner and beloved author, Libba Bray.

After the horrifying explosion that claimed one of their own, the Diviners find themselves wanted by the US government, and on the brink of war with the King of Crows.

While Memphis and Isaiah run for their lives from... Read more »

Audiobook details

Celebrate Pride Month with Libro.fm! Learn more