Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started

Learned Owl Favorites

Like The Learned Owl Book Shop, this list of our recent staff picks has something for everyone. Enjoy!

Eligible

A modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice
By Curtis Sittenfeld
Narrated by Cassandra Campbell /  13 hours 20 minutes

Eligible

“It is a universally acknowledged truth that a retelling of Pride and Prejudice must be cleverly written and wickedly funny. Sittenfeld has accomplished that and more with her fantastic new novel. The Bennet sisters have been transported to modern day Cincinnati. Jane is a yoga instructor; Liz, a writer for a women's magazine; Lydia and Kitty do nothing but work out; and Mary spends most of her time in her room. The two older sisters live in New York, but have come home to check on Mr. Bennet, who is recovering from a heart attack. The storyline is one that will be familiar to most Austen readers, but with some extremely funny twists.”

Sharon Nagel image Sharon Nagel, Boswell Book Company
Price:

$27.00

Get for Free with Membership

The Decent Proposal

A Novel
By Kemper Donovan
Narrated by Michael Bakkensen /  11 hours 8 minutes

An addictively readable debut romantic comedy, drama, and mystery rolled into one, about two very different strangers whose lives become intertwined when they receive an unusual proposition. This is a funny, tender, and enchanting story about love, attraction, and friendship: Jane Austen in Los Angeles.

A struggling Hollywood producer, Richard... Read More »

Price:

$28.74

Get for Free with Membership

Raymie Nightingale

By Kate DiCamillo
Narrated by Jenna Lamia /  4 hours 25 minutes

Two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo returns to her roots with a moving, masterful story of an unforgettable summer friendship.

Raymie Clarke has come to realize that everything, absolutely everything, depends on her. And she has a plan. If Raymie can win the Little Miss Central Florida Tire competition, then her father, who left town two... Read More »

Price:

$21.60

Get for Free with Membership

Wilde Lake

A Novel
By Laura Lippman
Narrated by Kathleen McInerney & Nicole Poole /  10 hours 52 minutes

An African-American man accused of rape by a humiliated girl. A vengeful father. A courageous attorney. A worshipful daughter. Think you know this story? Think again.

Laura Lippman, the “extravagantly gifted” (Chicago Tribune) New York Times bestselling author, delivers “one of her best novels ” (Washington Post)—a modern twist on To Kill a... Read More »

Price:

$31.04

Get for Free with Membership

Black Rabbit Hall

By Eve Chase
Narrated by Nathalie Buscombe, Katie Scarfe & Cassandra Campbell /  12 hours 6 minutes

“For fans of Kate Morton and Daphne du Maurier, Black Rabbit Hall is an obvious must-read.”—Bookpage

A secret history. A long-ago summer. A house with an untold story.

Amber Alton knows that the hours pass differently at Black Rabbit Hall, her London family’s Cornish country house, where no two clocks read the same. Summers there are perfect,... Read More »

Price:

$27.00

Get for Free with Membership

The Second Life of Nick Mason

A Nick Mason Novel: Book #1
By Steve Hamilton
Narrated by Ray Porter /  8 hours 6 minutes

An NPR and Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year
A Library Journal Best Thriller of the Year


“A gamechanger. Nick Mason is one of the best main characters I've read in years.”—Harlan Coben

From New York Times-bestselling, two-time Edgar-award-winning author Steve Hamilton comes an unforgettable new hero, a man who will walk out of prison and into... Read More »

Price:

$21.00

Get for Free with Membership

My Name Is Lucy Barton

A Novel
By Elizabeth Strout
Narrated by Kimberly Farr /  4 hours 11 minutes

My Name Is Lucy Barton

“Strout has the incredible ability to take ordinary, even mundane situations and use them to make acute observations on the human condition. A mother's visit to her daughter in the hospital becomes the vehicle for an astute examination of daily needs, desires, yearnings, wishes, and dreams that become so much of the remembered experience. Using spare, precise, but beautiful language, she has produced another masterpiece in a growing list of impressive work.”

Square Books image Bill Cusumano, Square Books
Price:

$18.00

Get for Free with Membership

Not If I See You First

By Eric Lindstrom
Narrated by Lauren Fortgang /  7 hours 29 minutes

In the tradition of Gayle Forman and John Green comes this extraordinary YA debut about a blind teen girl navigating life and love in high school.

Parker Grant doesn't need 20/20 vision to see right through you. That's why she created the Rules: Don't treat her any differently just because she's blind, and never take advantage. There will be no... Read More »

Price:

$26.43

Get for Free with Membership

The Astounding Broccoli Boy

By Frank Cottrell Boyce
Narrated by Ewan Goddard /  7 hours 46 minutes

From Frank Cottrell Boyce—the beloved, award-winning, New York Times-bestselling author of Millions and Cosmic—comes another hilarious, heartbreaking, and completely original middle grade novel.

Rory Rooney likes to be prepared for anything. That sort of planning pays off when you’re the smallest kid in your class. Rory is even prepared (mostly)... Read More »

Price:

$25.29

Get for Free with Membership

The Buried Giant

A novel
By Kazuo Ishiguro
Narrated by David Horovitch /  11 hours 47 minutes

From the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature and author of the Booker Prize–winning novel The Remains of the Day comes a luminous meditation on the act of forgetting and the power of memory.

In post-Arthurian Britain, the wars that once raged between the Saxons and the Britons have finally ceased. Axl and Beatrice, an elderly British... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

Lila

A Novel
By Marilynne Robinson
Narrated by Maggie Hoffman /  8 hours 57 minutes

A new American classic from the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Gilead and Housekeeping

Marilynne Robinson, one of the greatest novelists of our time, returns to the town of Gilead in an unforgettable story of a girlhood lived on the fringes of society in fear, awe, and wonder.
Lila, homeless and alone after years of roaming the countryside,... Read More »

Price:

$22.99

Get for Free with Membership

Uprooted

By Naomi Novik
Narrated by Julia Emelin /  17 hours 43 minutes

Uprooted

“Uprooted by Naomi Novik is like every fairy tale you've ever heard turned on their head. You have the girl trapped in a tower, a dragon, and a prince. You've heard this story before, but this one isn't so simple. I mean, if it was, what fun would that be? Novik draws heavily on her Polish roots and it creates a story that feels like home. Warm, inviting, and full of secrets that don't leave the walls. The antagonist is written in such a way that you can almost feel the Wood staring at you while you read, but the fact that it doesn't outright speak makes it more menacing. With a rich cast of characters that follow their own moral compasses, a beautifully built world, and a magic system that feels authentic, this book will leave you wanting more.”

Story on the Square image Ash, Story on the Square
Price:

$33.00

Get for Free with Membership

The Fifth Season

The Broken Earth: Book #1
By N. K. Jemisin
Narrated by Robin Miles /  15 hours 27 minutes

At the end of the world, a woman must hide her secret power and find her kidnapped daughter in this "intricate and extraordinary" Hugo Award winning novel of power, oppression, and revolution. (The New York Times)
This is the way the world ends...for the last time.
A season of endings has begun.

It starts with the great red rift across the... Read More »

Price:

$28.73

Get for Free with Membership

Before the Fall

Booktrack Edition
By Noah Hawley
Narrated by Robert Petkoff /  12 hours 55 minutes

Before the Fall

“When a private plane plunges into the ocean off Martha's Vineyard, the media and the government want answers. The two survivors -- a middle-aged artist along for the ride and the 4-year-old son of a prominent and powerful family - have little to say. Before the Fall takes the reader on a thrilling ride through the past lives of the other passengers and the aftermath of the crash. As the deepest secrets of the wealthy and those who surround them surface, no one is safe. A brilliant and relentless thriller.”

Rainy Day Books image Geoffrey Jennings, Rainy Day Books
Price:

$10.00

Retail Price: $29.88

Discount: 67%

Get for Free with Membership

Redemption Road

A Novel
By John Hart
Narrated by Scott Shepherd /  15 hours 16 minutes

Redemption Road

“Hart weaves several plotlines together in this masterful crime novel: the former cop serving hard time for a crime he didn't commit; the son who awaits the release of his mother's killer; the girl whose brutal attackers were tortured and assassinated; and Liz, the cop at the heart of all of these stories, who is, herself, wanted by the police. Like the best crime dramas, there are characters to love, characters to hate, outcomes to root for, and a resolution that readers will not foresee. This book should put John Hart on every reader's radar.”

Saturn Booksellers image Jill Miner, Saturn Booksellers
Price:

$37.94

Get for Free with Membership

An Ember in the Ashes

An Ember in the Ashes: Book #1
By Sabaa Tahir
Narrated by Fiona Hardingham & Steve West /  15 hours 20 minutes

Set in a terrifyingly brutal Rome-like world, An Ember in the Ashes is an epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It’s a story that’s literally burning to be told.

LAIA is a Scholar living under the iron-fisted rule of the Martial Empire. When her brother is arrested for treason, Laia... Read More »

Price:

$36.00

Get for Free with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener