Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Kids’ Next

The Kids' Next list is drawn from bookseller-recommended favorites for kids ranging from 4-year-olds to teens. The audiobook titles below have recently appeared on this list.

Playlist Tags: genre: Children's audience: kids audience: middle grade audience: teens audience: tweens topic: indie next topic: kids next

View all playlists

Tokyo Ever After

A Novel
Tokyo Ever After

By Emiko Jean
Narrated by: Ali Ahn
Length: 9 hours 35 minutes

The Princess Diaries meets Crazy Rich Asians in Emiko Jean’s Tokyo Ever After, a “refreshing, spot-on” (Booklist, starred review) story of an ordinary Japanese-American girl who discovers that her father is the Crown Prince of Japan.

Izumi Tanaka has never really felt like she fit in—it isn’t easy being Japanese American in her small, mostly... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ace of Spades

By Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé
Narrated by: Tapiwa Mugweni & Jeanette Illidge
Length: TBA

Gossip Girl meets Get Out in Ace of Spades, a YA contemporary thriller by debut author Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé about two students, Devon & Chiamaka, and their struggles against an anonymous bully.

All you need to know is . . . I’m here to divide and conquer. Like all great tyrants do. —Aces

When two Niveus Private Academy students, Devon... Read more »

Audiobook details

Cool for the Summer

By Dahlia Adler
Narrated by: Natalie Naudus
Length: 6 hours 20 minutes

"Witty, wise, and disarmingly tender. I am hopelessly devoted to this summer dream of a book."--Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Dahlia Adler's Cool for the Summer is a story of self-discovery and new love. It’s about the things we want and the things we need. And it’s about the people who...
Read more »

Audiobook details

The Girl From the Sea

By Molly Knox Ostertag
Length: TBA

Fifteen-year-old Morgan has a secret: She can't wait to escape the perfect little island where she lives. She's desperate to finish
high school and escape her sad divorced mom, her volatile little brother, and worst of all, her great group of friends...who don't
understand Morgan at all. Because really, Morgan's biggest secret is that she has a... Read more »

Audiobook details

Instructions for Dancing

By Nicola Yoon
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 7 hours 48 minutes

#1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also a Star Nicola Yoon is back with her eagerly anticipated third novel. With all the heart and hope of her last two books, this is an utterly unique romance.

Evie Thomas doesn't believe in love anymore. Especially after the strangest thing occurs one otherwise... Read more »

Audiobook details

Last Chance Books

By Kelsey Rodkey
Narrated by: Siho Ellsmore
Length: 10 hours 7 minutes

You’ve Got Mail meets Morgan Matson in this smart, banter-filled romcom with a bookish twist.

Nothing will stop Madeline Moore from taking over her family’s independent bookstore after college. Nothing, that is—until a chain bookstore called Prologue opens across the street and threatens to shut them down.

Madeline sets out to demolish the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Pumpkin

Dumplin’

By Julie Murphy
Narrated by: Chad Burris
Length: 7 hours 19 minutes

Return to the beloved world of Julie Murphy’s #1 New York Times bestselling Dumplin’—now a popular Netflix feature film starring Jennifer Aniston—in this fabulously joyful, final companion novel about drag, prom, and embracing your inner Queen.

Waylon Russell Brewer is a fat, openly gay boy stuck in the small West Texas town of Clover City. His... Read more »

Audiobook details

Realm Breaker

By Victoria Aveyard
Narrated by: Natalie Naudus
Length: 16 hours 33 minutes

Irresistibly action-packed and full of lethal surprises, this stunning new fantasy series from Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Red Queen series, begins where hope is lost and asks: When the heroes have fallen, who will take up the sword?

A strange darkness grows in Allward.

Even Corayne an-Amarat can feel it,... Read more »

Audiobook details

A Sitting in St. James

By Rita Williams-Garcia
Narrated by: TBD
Length: TBA

A tour-de-force from three-time National Book Award finalist Rita Williams-Garcia, this story of an antebellum plantation—and the enduring legacies of slavery upon every person who lives there—is essential reading for both teens and adults grappling with the long history of American racism.

1860, Louisiana. After serving as mistress of Le Petit... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Witch King

The Witch King Duology: Book #1

By H.E. Edgmon
Narrated by: Dani Martineck
Length: 12 hours 1 minutes

To save a fae kingdom, a trans witch must face his traumatic past and the royal fiancé he left behind. This debut YA fantasy will leave you spellbound.

Wyatt would give anything to forget where he came from—but a kingdom demands its king.

In Asalin, fae rule and witches like Wyatt Croft…don’t. Wyatt’s betrothal to his best friend, fae prince Emyr... Read more »

Audiobook details

Both Can Be True

By Jules Machias
Narrated by: MW Cartozian Wilson & Kirby Heyborne
Length: TBA

Debut author Jules Machias explores identity, gender fluidity, and the power of friendship and acceptance in this dual-narrative Own Voices story about two kids who join forces to save a dog . . . but wind up saving each other.

Ash is no stranger to feeling like an outcast. For someone who cycles through genders, it’s a daily struggle to feel in... Read more »

Audiobook details

Healer of the Water Monster

By Brian Young
Narrated by: Shaun Taylor-Corbett
Length: 8 hours 59 minutes

Brian Young’s powerful debut novel tells of a seemingly ordinary Navajo boy who must save the life of a Water Monster—and comes to realize he’s a hero at heart.

When Nathan goes to visit his grandma, Nali, at her mobile summer home on the Navajo reservation, he knows he’s in for a pretty uneventful summer, with no electricity or cell service.... Read more »

Audiobook details

Da Vinci's Cat

By Catherine Gilbert Murdock
Narrated by: Sam Devereaux & Hope Newhouse
Length: 5 hours 56 minutes

Two unlikely friends—Federico, in sixteenth-century Rome, and Bee, in present-day New Jersey—are linked through an amiable cat, Leonardo Da Vinci’s mysterious wardrobe, and an eerily perfect sketch of Bee. Newbery Honor author Catherine Gilbert Murdock’s Da Vinci’s Cat is a thrilling, time-slip fantasy about rewriting history to save the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Long Lost

By Jacqueline West
Narrated by: Jesse Vilinsky
Length: 6 hours 26 minutes

Once there were two sisters who did everything together. But only one of them disappeared.

New York Times–bestselling author Jacqueline West’s Long Lost is an atmospheric, eerie mystery brimming with suspense. Fans of Katherine Arden’s Small Spaces and Victoria Schwab’s City of Ghosts series will lose themselves in this mesmerizing and... Read more »

Audiobook details

Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey

Maybe Marisol: Book #1

By Erin Entrada Kelly
Narrated by: Amielynn Abellera
Length: 1 hours 39 minutes

“Utterly endearing!” —Annie Barrows, New York Times-bestselling author of the Ivy + Bean books

"Hilarious and heart-melting.” —Sara Pennypacker, New York Times-bestselling author of Pax

Introducing eight-year-old Marisol Rainey—an irresistible new character from Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling Erin Entrada Kelly!

Maybe, Maybe... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ophie’s Ghosts

By Justina Ireland
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 7 hours 59 minutes

Ophie’s Ghosts

“YA powerhouse Justina Ireland (Dread Nation) gives voice to the voiceless dead in this middle grade novel. When a posse of white men come to set their house alight in the night, Ophie’s father tells her to take her mother and flee. The next morning brings impossible news: Ophie’s father had already been killed, and the warning came from her first ghost. When she and her mother move to Pittsburgh, theoretically more welcoming to Black people, they end up working in an old manor house full of restless dead. Can Ophie use her newfound gift to bring them justice? ”

Powell's Books image Madeline, Powell's Books
Audiobook details

The Shape of Thunder

By Jasmine Warga
Narrated by: Reena Dutt & Jennifer Jill Araya
Length: 7 hours 9 minutes

An extraordinary new novel from Jasmine Warga, Newbery Honor–winning author of Other Words for Home, about loss and healing—and how friendship can be magical.

Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a year.

Despite living next door to each other, they exist in separate worlds of grief. Cora is still grappling with the death of her... Read more »

Audiobook details

Unsettled

By Reem Faruqi
Narrated by: Ariana Delawari
Length: 2 hours 28 minutes

For fans of Other Words for Home and Front Desk, this powerful, charming own voices immigration story follows a girl who moves from Karachi, Pakistan, to Peachtree City, Georgia, and must find her footing in a new world. Reem Faruqi is the ALA Notable author of award-winning Lailah's Lunchbox.

"A lyrical coming of age story exploring family,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Becoming Vanessa

By Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Narrated by: Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Length: TBA

For readers of Alma and How She Got Her Name and The King of Kindergarten, this story will help kids just starting school transform from timid caterpillars into beautiful butterflies so they can love who they are.

On Vanessa's first day of school, her parents tell her it will be easy to make friends. Vanessa isn't so sure. She wears her fanciest... Read more »

Audiobook details

Bodies Are Cool

By Tyler Feder
Narrated by: Tyler Feder
Length: 3 minutes

This body positivity book for preschoolers is a joyful listen.

From the way a body jiggles to the scars a body bears, this book is a pure celebration of all the different human bodies that exist in the world. Highlighting the various skin tones, body shapes, and hair types is just the beginning in this truly inclusive audiobook. With its... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Brewster Book Store

The Brewster Book Store is proud to partner with Libro.fm to give you a great audiobook experience.