Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Celebrate Juneteenth with Black-owned bookstores! Learn more

The Indie Next List

With new audiobooks added each month, the Indie Next List is drawn from bookseller-recommended favorite handsells and epitomizes the heart and soul of passionate bookselling!

Playlist Tags: topic: indie next new releases

View all playlists

Falling

A Novel

By T. J. Newman
Narrated by: Steven Weber
Length: 8 hours 26 minutes

Falling

Falling is the literary thriller that gets your heart racing and causes you to be both contemplative and terrified at the same time. TJ Newman, a former indie bookseller and a former flight attendant, knows how to tell a story. She writes with a remarkable turn of phrase and with insider knowledge of what can happen in an airplane. It's always a great day when an indie bookseller publishes a book. It's an extremely great day when the book is a fantastic page-turner.”

Changing Hands image Cindy, Changing Hands
Audiobook details

A Psalm for the Wild-Built

Monk & Robot: Book #1

By Becky Chambers
Narrated by: Emmett Grosland
Length: TBA

In A Psalm for the Wild-Built, Hugo Award-winner Becky Chambers's delightful new Monk & Robot series gives us hope for the future.

It's been centuries since the robots of Earth gained self-awareness and laid down their tools; centuries since they wandered, en masse, into the wilderness, never to be seen again; centuries since they faded into... Read more »

Audiobook details

Fox and I

An Uncommon Friendship

By Catherine Raven
Narrated by: Stacey Glemboski
Length: TBA

A solitary woman’s inspiring, moving, surprising, and often funny memoir about the transformative power of her unusual friendship with a wild fox, a new window into the natural world, and the introduction of a remarkable literary talent.

Catherine Raven left home at fifteen, fleeing an abusive, disdainful father and an indifferent mother. More... Read more »

Audiobook details

Seek You

A Journey Through American Loneliness

By Kristen Radtke
Narrated by: Kristen Radtke
Length: TBA

From the acclaimed author of Imagine Wanting Only This—a timely and moving meditation on isolation and longing, both as individuals and as a society. • One of Lit Hub's Most Anticipated Books of 2021

There is a silent epidemic in America: loneliness. Shameful to talk about and often misunderstood, loneliness is everywhere, from the most major of... Read more »

Audiobook details

Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead

A Novel

By Emily Austin
Narrated by: Emily Tremaine
Length: TBA

This hilarious and profound debut for fans of Mostly Dead Things and Goodbye, Vitamin, follows a morbidly anxious young woman—“the kindhearted heroine we all need right now” (Courtney Maum, New York Times bestselling author)—who stumbles into a job as a receptionist at a Catholic church and becomes obsessed with her predecessor’s mysterious... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Woman They Could Not Silence

One Woman, Her Incredible Fight for Freedom, and the Men Who Tried to Make Her Disappear

By Kate Moore
Length: 14 hours 36 minutes

From the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of The Radium Girls comes another dark and dramatic but ultimately uplifting tale of a forgotten woman whose inspirational journey sparked lasting change for women’s rights and exposed injustices that still resonate today.

1860: As the clash between the states rolls... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Personal Librarian

By Marie Benedict & Victoria Christopher Murray
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 12 hours 22 minutes

The remarkable story of J. P. Morgan’s personal librarian, Belle da Costa Greene, the Black American woman who was forced to hide her true identity and pass as white to leave a lasting legacy that enriched our nation, from New York Times bestselling author Marie Benedict, and acclaimed author Victoria Christopher Murray.

In her twenties, Belle da... Read more »

Audiobook details

Nowhere Girl

A Memoir of a Fugitive Childhood

By Cheryl Diamond
Narrated by: Eileen Stevens
Length: 10 hours 36 minutes

By the age of nine, I will have lived in more than a dozen countries, on five continents, under six assumed identities. I’ll know how a document is forged, how to withstand an interrogation, and most important, how to disappear . . .

Wild, heart-wrenching, and unexpectedly funny, Nowhere Girl is an inspiring coming-of-age memoir about running for... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Final Girl Support Group

By Grady Hendrix
Length: TBA

In horror movies, the final girls are the ones left standing when the credits roll. They made it through the worst night of their lives…but what happens after?
 
Like his bestselling novel The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires, Grady Hendrix’s latest is a fast-paced, frightening, and wickedly humorous thriller. From chain saws to... Read more »

Audiobook details

Such a Quiet Place

A Novel

By Megan Miranda
Narrated by: Rebekkah Ross
Length: 9 hours 32 minutes

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Last House Guest—a Reese Witherspoon Book Club selection—comes a new riveting suspense novel about a mysterious murder in an idyllic and close-knit neighborhood.

We had no warning that she’d come back.​

Hollow’s Edge used to be a quiet place. A private and idyllic neighborhood where neighbors... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Paper Palace

A Novel

By Miranda Cowley Heller
Narrated by: Nan McNamara
Length: 12 hours 37 minutes

“This house, this place, knows all my secrets.”

A story of summer, secrets, love, and lies: in the course of a singular day on Cape Cod, one woman must make a life-changing decision that has been brewing for decades.


It is a perfect July morning, and Elle, a fifty-year-old happily married mother of three, awakens at “The Paper Palace”—the family... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Therapist

A Novel

By B. A. Paris
Narrated by: Olivia Dowd & Thomas Judd
Length: 10 hours 1 minutes

The Therapist

“Quick and smart–this thriller will keep you guessing until the end!”

Old Firehouse Books image Tara, Old Firehouse Books
Audiobook details

The Startup Wife

A Novel

By Tahmima Anam
Narrated by: Tanha Dil
Length: TBA

“Tahmima Anam deftly uses humor to explore both start-up culture and the institution of marriage in an utterly charming and genuinely thoughtful way.” —Rumaan Alam, author of Leave the World Behind

Newlyweds Asha and Cyrus build an app that replaces religious rituals and soon find themselves running one of the most popular social media platforms... Read more »

Audiobook details

Dear Miss Metropolitan

A Novel

By Carolyn Ferrell
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 11 hours 12 minutes

Dear Miss Metropolitan

“This searing debut is loosely based on the case of three young women who spent years in captivity in a Cleveland basement in the early 2000s. Ferrell moves the action to New York City, but keeps the horror and grief intact. Told in fragmented bursts by multiple voices, the rage and terror of the victims is laid bare, daring the reader to look away. While fragile redemption is achieved, it is weak tea in the face of the abuses endured. A formidable first novel from a powerful, singular voice.”

Mac's Back-Books image Grace, Mac's Back-Books
Audiobook details

The Sweetness of Water

A Novel

By Nathan Harris
Narrated by: William DeMeritt
Length: 12 hours 7 minutes

In the spirit of The Known World and The Underground Railroad, “a stunning debut” (Oprah Daily) about the unlikely bond between two freedmen who are brothers and the Georgia farmer whose alliance will alter their lives, and his, forever—from “a storyteller with bountiful insight and assurance” (Kirkus)

A July Indie Next Pick


In the waning days of... Read more »

Audiobook details

Songs in Ursa Major

A novel

By Emma Brodie
Narrated by: Kristen Sieh
Length: 10 hours 45 minutes

A Bustle Must-Read Book
 
A transporting love story of music, stardom, heartbreak, and a gifted young singer-songwriter who must find her own voice—“pure sun-soaked summer fun” (Kate Quinn, bestselling author of The Alice Network).
 


The year is 1969, and the Bayleen Island Folk Fest is abuzz with one name: Jesse Reid. Tall and soft-spoken, with... Read more »

Audiobook details

Filthy Animals

Stories

By Brandon Taylor
Narrated by: Kevin R. Free, Nicole Lewis & TL Thompson
Length: 7 hours 42 minutes

BRANDON TAYLOR IS:
A powerhouse. Newsweek
An extraordinary cartographer. Esquire
A striking new voice with a vital perspective. Harpers Bazaar
A brilliant writer. Garth Greenwell

Named a Most Anticipated Book of the Year by Time, Elle, Enterntainment Weekly, Cosmopolitan, O: The Oprah Magazine, Harper’s Bazaar, Marie Claire, BuzzFeed,...
Read more »

Audiobook details

The World Gives Way

A Novel

By Marissa Levien
Narrated by: Christine Lakin
Length: 12 hours 57 minutes

In a near-future world on the brink of collapse, a young woman born into servitude must seize her own freedom in this glittering debut with a brilliant twist—perfect for fans of Station Eleven, Karen Thompson Walker, and Naomi Alderman.

In fifty years, Myrra will be free.

Until then, she's a contract worker. Ever since she was five, her life an Read more »d...
Audiobook details

The Forest of Vanishing Stars

A Novel

By Kristin Harmel
Narrated by: Madeleine Maby & Kristin Harmel
Length: 11 hours 21 minutes

The New York Times bestselling author of the “heart-stopping tale of survival and heroism” (People) The Book of Lost Names returns with an evocative coming-of-age World War II story about a young woman who uses her knowledge of the wilderness to help Jewish refugees escape the Nazis—until a secret from her past threatens everything.

After being... Read more »

Audiobook details

Dream Girl

A Novel

By Laura Lippman
Narrated by: Jason Culp
Length: 8 hours 53 minutes

“My dream novel. I devoured this in three days. The sharpest, clearest-eyed take on our #MeToo reckoning yet. Plus: enthralling." —Megan Abbott, Edgar Award-winning author of Dare Me and The Fever

Following up on her acclaimed and wildly successful New York Times bestseller Lady in the Lake, Laura Lippman returns with a dark, complex tale of... Read more »

Audiobook details

Celebrate Juneteenth with Black-owned bookstores! Learn more
Secret Garden Bookshop

Secret Garden Bookshop is proud to partner with Libro.fm to give you a great audiobook experience.