Folio Books
Refer your friends, get free audiobooks, support local bookstores. Learn More

The Indie Next List

With new audiobooks added each month, the Indie Next List is drawn from bookseller-recommended favorite handsells and epitomizes the heart and soul of passionate bookselling. Independent booksellers are and have always been discoverers of the next big thing, the next great read, the next bestseller, and the next undiscovered gem. The audiobook titles below have recently appeared on the list.

The Stowaway

A Young Man's Extraordinary Adventure to Antarctica
By Laurie Gwen Shapiro
Narrated by Jacques Roy /  6 hours 27 minutes

The spectacular, true story of a scrappy teenager from New York’s Lower East Side who stowed away on the Roaring Twenties’ most remarkable feat of science and daring: an expedition to Antarctica.

It was 1928: a time of illicit booze, of Gatsby and Babe Ruth, of freewheeling fun. The Great War was over and American optimism was higher than the... Read More »

Price:

$20.69

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Red Clocks

A Novel
By Leni Zumas
Narrated by Karissa Vacker /  9 hours 5 minutes

A National Bestseller

A New York Times Editor's Choice

An Amazon Best Book of the Month

An Indie Next Pick

One of Wall Street Journal's Twelve Books to Read This Winter

An Esquire most anticipated book of 2018

An Elle Best Book of Winter

A Popsugar most anticipated book of Fall

A Ploughshares most anticipated book of Fall

A Nylon Best... Read More »

Price:

$29.88

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Need to Know

A Novel
By Karen Cleveland
Narrated by Mia Barron /  9 hours 39 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Perfect husband. Perfect father. Perfect liar?

“Terrific.”—John Grisham
“Superb.”—Lee Child
“Breathtaking, heart-pounding.”—Louise Penny
“A fast-paced, relentlessly gripping read.”—Chris Pavone

Vivian Miller. High-powered CIA analyst, happily married to a man she adores, mother of four beautiful children. Until the... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Eternal Life

By Dara Horn
Narrated by Elisabeth Rodgers /  8 hours 54 minutes

The award-winning, critically acclaimed author returns with an ingenious novel about what it would mean to live forever. Rachel has an unusual problem: she can't die. Her recent troubles-widowhood, a failing business, an unemployed middle-aged son-are only the latest. She's already put up with scores of marriages and hundreds of children, over... Read More »

Price:

$19.99

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Heart Berries

A Memoir
By Terese Marie Mailhot, Sherman Alexie & Joan Naviyuk Kane
Narrated by Rainy Fields /  3 hours 45 minutes

Heart Berries is a powerful, poetic memoir of a woman's coming of age on the Seabird Island Indian Reservation in the Pacific Northwest. Having survived a profoundly dysfunctional upbringing only to find herself hospitalized and facing a dual diagnosis of post traumatic stress disorder and bipolar II disorder; Terese Marie Mailhot is given a... Read More »

Price:

$11.49

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Freshwater

By Akwaeke Emezi
Narrated by Akwaeke Emezi /  6 hours 42 minutes

An extraordinary debut novel, Freshwater explores the surreal experience of having a fractured self. It centers around a young Nigerian woman, Ada, who develops separate selves within her as a result of being born "with one foot on the other side." Unsettling, heartwrenching, dark, and powerful, Freshwater is a sharp evocation of a rare way of... Read More »

Price:

$28.74

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Mothers of Sparta

A Memoir in Pieces
By Dawn Davies
Narrated by Dawn Davies /  7 hours 4 minutes

This program is read by the author

If you’re looking for a parenting audiobook, this is not it. This is not a treatise on how to be a mother.

This is an audiobook about a young girl who moves to a new town every couple of years; a misfit teenager who finds solace in a local music scene; an adrift twenty-something who drops out of college to... Read More »

Price:

$22.99

Get for $0.99 with Membership

In Every Moment We Are Still Alive

By Tom Malmquist & Henning Koch
Narrated by Simon Vance /  7 hours 44 minutes

When Tom's heavily pregnant girlfriend Karin is rushed to the hospital, doctors are able to save the baby. But they are helpless to save Karin from what turns out to be acute leukemia. And in a cruel, fleeting moment Tom gains a daughter but loses his soulmate. In Every Moment We Are Alive is the story of the year that changes everything, as Tom... Read More »

Price:

$19.95

Get for $0.99 with Membership

The Unmade World

By Steve Yarbrough
Narrated by Pete Bradbury /  10 hours 17 minutes

Set against a backdrop of the current political and cultural upheaval in the US and Eastern Europe, The Unmade World is a thoughtful, scope-y literary novel with a dose of suspense that moves from Poland to California to the Hudson Valley and back to Poland. It covers a decade in the lives of an American journalist and a Polish small businessman... Read More »

Price:

$24.99

Get for $0.99 with Membership

The Mitford Murders

A Mystery
The Mitford Murders: Book #1
By Jessica Fellowes
Narrated by Rachel Atkins /  11 hours 45 minutes

*Named one of the best audiobooks of 2017 by The Times (UK)*

This program includes a bonus interview with the author

"The pleasures of this English murder mystery, set in 1920, are many. Rachel Atkins's crisp performance is just right...A concluding interview with author Jessica Fellowes, who wrote the "Downtown Abbey" companion books, promises... Read More »

Price:

$31.04

Get for $0.99 with Membership

The Largesse of the Sea Maiden

Stories
By Denis Johnson
Narrated by Nick Offerman, Michael Shannon, Dermot Mulroney & Will Patton /  5 hours 16 minutes

Twenty-five years after Jesus’ Son, a haunting new collection of short stories on mortality and transcendence, from National Book Award winner and two-time Pulitzer Prize finalist Denis Johnson

The Largesse of the Sea Maiden is the long-awaited new story collection from Denis Johnson. Written in the luminous prose that made him one of the most... Read More »

Price:

$18.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Force of Nature

A Novel
By Jane Harper
Narrated by Stephen Shanahan /  8 hours 56 minutes

"Narrator Stephen Shanahan...makes it sizzle to the very end. Both story and narrator are not to be missed." — AudioFile Magazine

From Jane Harper, New York Times bestselling author of The Dry, comes a riveting new audiobook featuring Federal Police Agent Aaron Falk.

Five women go on a hike. Only four return. Force of Nature begs the question:... Read More »

Price:

$31.04

Get for $0.99 with Membership

This Will Be My Undoing

Living at the Intersection of Black, Female, and Feminist in (White) America
By Morgan Jerkins
Narrated by Morgan Jerkins /  7 hours 5 minutes

From one of the fiercest critics writing today, Morgan Jerkins’ highly-anticipated collection of linked essays interweaves her incisive commentary on pop culture, feminism, black history, misogyny, and racism with her own experiences to confront the very real challenges of being a black woman today—perfect for fans of Roxane Gay’s Bad Feminist,... Read More »

Price:

$24.14

Get for $0.99 with Membership

White Houses

A Novel
By Amy Bloom
Narrated by Tonya Cornelisse /  6 hours 40 minutes

For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a “sensuous, captivating account of a forbidden affair between two women” (People)—Eleanor Roosevelt and “first friend” Lorena Hickok.

Lorena Hickok meets Eleanor Roosevelt in 1932 while reporting on Franklin Roosevelt’s first presidential campaign. Having grown up worse than poor... Read More »

Price:

$21.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

The Immortalists

By Chloe Benjamin
Narrated by Maggie Hoffman /  11 hours 29 minutes

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“A captivating family saga.”—The New York Times Book Review

"You won’t be able to put it down.”The Skimm (Skimm Reads Pick)

“This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt.”—People Magazine (Book of the Week)


“A sprawling, enchanting family saga.”—Entertainment Weekly (The Must List)

A... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

The Woman in the Window

A Novel
By A. J. Finn
Narrated by Ann Marie Lee /  13 hours 41 minutes

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller!

“Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing.” —Gillian Flynn

“Unputdownable.” —Stephen King

“A dark, twisty confection.” —Ruth Ware

“Absolutely gripping.” —Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and... Read More »

Price:

$31.04

Get for $0.99 with Membership

The Wife Between Us (45-Minute Excerpt)

By Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen
Narrated by TBD /  45 minutes

Twisted and deliciously chilling, The Wife Between Us deftly explores the hidden complexities of marriage and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love. Read More »

Price:

$0.00

Grist Mill Road

A Novel
By Christopher J. Yates
Narrated by Dan Bittner, Graham Halstead, Saskia Maarleveld & Will Damron /  11 hours 22 minutes

"Four distinct voices tell the story of a disturbing incident and its far-reaching aftermath...It's a labyrinth of shifting perspectives, but the narrators keep this grim story focused and mesmerizing." — AudioFile Magazine

The highly anticipated new audiobook from the author whose debut was called “The smart summer thriller you’ve been waiting... Read More »

Price:

$31.04

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Neon in Daylight

By Hermione Hoby
Narrated by Saskia Maarleveld /  8 hours

New York City in 2012, the sweltering summer before Hurricane Sandy hits. Kate, a young woman newly arrived from England, is staying in a Manhattan apartment while she tries to figure out her future. She has two unfortunate responsibilities during her time in America: to make regular Skype calls to her miserable boyfriend back home, and to... Read More »

Price:

$16.95

Get for $0.99 with Membership

The Chalk Man

A Novel
By C. J. Tudor
Narrated by Andrew Scott & Euan Morton /  9 hours 49 minutes

“I haven’t had a sleepless night due to a book for a long time. The Chalk Man changed that.”
—Fiona Barton, New York Times bestselling author of The Widow

An assured debut that alternates between 1986 and 2016 with unpredictable twists. The Chalk Man fits well with other stories about troubled childhoods such as Stephen King’s novella ‘Stand by...
Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership
Folio Books Folio Books is proud to partner with Libro.fm to give you a great audiobook experience. Learn More

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener