Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Get a free audiobook on Independent Bookstore Day! Learn more

Independent Bookstore Day

We love bookstores. You love bookstores. Here are some audiobooks to celebrate that love.

Playlist Tags: topic: bookstores audience: bookstore junkies audience: booksellers season: independent bookstore day topic: books

View all playlists

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

By Abbi Waxman
Narrated by: Emily Rankin
Length: 9 hours 3 minutes

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

“What a joyous, charming, funny and beautiful celebration of books and the people who love them. There is so much detail in both the wonderful, wide-ranging cast of characters and in the setting. Quirky in the very best sense of the word. I will certainly return to the world of Nina Hill again and again.”

Leah Koch image Leah Koch, The Ripped Bodice
Audiobook details

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

By Gabrielle Zevin
Narrated by: Scott Brick
Length: 7 hours 2 minutes

The irascible A. J. Fikry, owner of Island Books—the only bookstore on Alice Island—has already lost his wife. Now his most prized possession, a rare book, has been stolen from right under his nose in the most embarrassing of circumstances. The store itself, it seems, will be next to go.

One night upon closing, he discovers a toddler in his... Read more »

Audiobook details

Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore

A Novel

By Robin Sloan
Narrated by: Ari Fliakos
Length: 7 hours 41 minutes

A gleeful and exhilarating tale of global conspiracy, complex code-breaking, high-tech data visualization, young love, rollicking adventure, and the secret to eternal life—mostly set in a hole-in-the-wall San Francisco bookstore

The Great Recession has shuffled Clay Jannon out of his life as a San Francisco Web-design drone—and serendipity, sheer... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend

By Katarina Bivald
Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham & Lorelei King
Length: 12 hours 9 minutes

A debut novel to charm all readers, that shows beyond all doubt that it's books, along with love, that make the world go round.
     It all began with a correspondence between two quite different women: 28-year-old Sara from Haninge, Sweden, and 65-year-old Amy from the small town of Broken Wheel, Iowa. After years of exchanging books, letters... Read more »

Audiobook details

Words in Deep Blue

By Cath Crowley
Narrated by: Hamish R. Johnson & Chelsea Bruland
Length: 6 hours 46 minutes

“One of the loveliest, most exquisitely beautiful books I’ve read in a very long time. . . . I didn’t just read the pages, I lived in them.” —Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places
 
A beautiful love story for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon: two teens find their way back to each other in a bookstore full... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Plot is Murder

Mystery Bookshop

By V. M. Burns
Narrated by: Kate Rudd
Length: 6 hours 47 minutes

Samantha Washington has dreamed of owning her own mystery bookstore for as long as she can remember. Now that she's preparing for her store's grand opening, she's also realizing another dream-penning a cozy mystery that's set in England between the wars. While Samantha hires employees and fills the shelves, her pen has quick-witted Lady Penelope... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Diary of a Bookseller

By Shaun Bythell
Narrated by: Robin Laing
Length: 9 hours 42 minutes

The Diary of a Bookseller

“When you enter The Book Shop in Wigtown, Scotland, you enter Shaun Bythell’s world. You’ll recognize his colorful staff and quirky customers immediately and fall in love with them instantly. The Diary of a Bookseller was written for book buyers, booksellers, and book lovers everywhere (you must be one of them!). While books and The Book Shop occupy much of Bythell’s hilarious story, it is made whole with priceless pieces on gardening, fishing with his dad, cycling, and, of course, music, food, and drink. Cheers!”

The River's End Bookstore image Bill Reilly, The River's End Bookstore
Audiobook details

The Little Paris Bookshop

A Novel

By Nina George
Narrated by: Steve West, Emma Bering & Cassandra Campbell
Length: 10 hours 54 minutes

“There are books that are suitable for a million people, others for only a hundred. There are even remedies—I mean books—that were written for one person only…A book is both medic and medicine at once. It makes a diagnosis as well as offering therapy. Putting the right novels to the appropriate ailments: that’s how I sell books.”
 
Monsieur Perdu... Read more »

Audiobook details

Social Purpose Annual Report

Social Purpose Annual Report

As we look to the future as a Social Purpose Corporation, we’re committed to serving readers and independent bookstores. Read our 2020 Annual Report to see an overview of the year.

Read the Report

How to Find Love in a Bookshop

By Veronica Henry
Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
Length: 9 hours 47 minutes

“Absolutely delightful.” —People

The enchanting story of a bookshop, its grieving owner, a supportive literary community, and the extraordinary power of books to heal the heart
 

Nightingale Books, nestled on the main street in an idyllic little village, is a dream come true for book lovers—a cozy haven and welcoming getaway for the... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Bookshop

By Penelope Fitzgerald
Narrated by: Pearl Hewitt
Length: 3 hours 53 minutes

In 1959 Florence Green, a kindhearted widow with a small inheritance, risks everything to open a bookshop—the only bookshop—in the seaside town of Hardborough. By making a success of a business so impractical, she invites the hostility of the town's less prosperous shopkeepers. By daring to enlarge her neighbors' lives, she crosses Mrs. Gamart,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Get a free audiobook on Independent Bookstore Day! Learn more