Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Hot New Releases

The hottest new audiobooks available through your local, independent bookstore!

Playlist Tags: new releases

View all playlists

The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois

A Novel

By Honoree Fanonne Jeffers
Narrated by: Adenrele Ojo, Karen Chilton & Prentice Onayemi
Length: 29 hours 48 minutes

“This sweeping, brilliant and beautiful narrative is at once a love song to Black girlhood, family, history, joy, pain… and so much more. In Jeffers' deft hands, the story of race and love in America becomes the great American novel.” —Jacqueline Woodson, author of Red at the Bone and Another Brooklyn

A Ms. Most Anticipated Book of the Year • A...

Read more »
Audiobook details

The River Has Teeth

By Erica Waters
Narrated by: Katherine Littrell & Sura Siu
Length: 11 hours 4 minutes

Lush and chilling, with razor-sharp edges and an iron core of hope, this bewitching, powerhouse novel of two girls fighting back against the violence the world visits on them will stun and enchant readers.

Girls have been going missing in the woods…

When Natasha’s sister disappears, Natasha desperately turns to Della, a local girl rumored to be a...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Not a Happy Family

A Novel

By Shari Lapena
Narrated by: Ellen Archer
Length: 9 hours 11 minutes

“A quintessential ‘beach read,’ I half expected sand to fall out of it. This one brings lurid family mayhem to the Hudson Valley [and] plausible suspects. With her cascading short chapters and teasers by the dozen, you stick with Lapena eagerly.” —Washington Post

“In this fast-paced, twisted family saga, Shari Lapena keeps you guessing until the... Read more »
Audiobook details

Goldenrod

Poems

By Maggie Smith
Narrated by: Maggie Smith
Length: 1 hours 5 minutes

Goldenrod

“Maggie Smith is the kind of magician who can make a poem breathe and sing. Goldenrod leaves the reader feeling as though the poet has gently struck their heart with a mallet, sending vibrations echoing throughout them for a long time.”

Beagle and Wolf Books & Bindery image Jennifer Wills Geraedts, Beagle and Wolf Books & Bindery
Audiobook details

A Song Everlasting

A Novel

By Ha Jin
Narrated by: Feodor Chin
Length: 11 hours 39 minutes

From the universally admired, National Book Award-winning, bestselling author of Waiting—a timely novel that follows a famous Chinese singer severed from his country, as he works to find his way in the United States
 
At the end of a U.S. tour with his state-supported choir, popular singer Yao Tian takes a private gig in New York to pick up... Read more »
Audiobook details

A Good Day for Chardonnay

A Novel
Sunshine Vicram Series: Book #2

By Darynda Jones
Narrated by: Lorelei King
Length: 12 hours 8 minutes

From the New York Times bestselling author Darynda Jones comes the second novel in her laugh-out-loud Sunshine Vicram mystery series, A Good Day for Chardonnay.

Running a small-town police force in the mountains of New Mexico should be a smooth, carefree kind of job. Sadly, full-time Sheriff—and even fuller-time coffee guzzler—Sunshine Vicram,...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Lifelines

A Doctor's Journey in the Fight for Public Health

By Dr. Leana Wen
Narrated by: Dr. Leana Wen
Length: 11 hours 35 minutes

This program is read by the author.

From medical expert Leana Wen, MD, Lifelines is an insider's account of public health and its crucial role—from opioid addiction to global pandemic—and an inspiring story of her journey from struggling immigrant to being one of Time’s 100 Most Influential People.

“Public health saved your life today—you just...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Gods & Monsters

Serpent & Dove: Book #3

By Shelby Mahurin
Narrated by: Holter Graham & Saskia Maarleveld
Length: 16 hours 58 minutes

Evil always seeks a foothold. We must not give it one. The electrifying conclusion to the New York Times and Indiebound bestselling Serpent & Dove series is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Kendare Blake.

Lou has spent her whole life running. Now, after a crushing blow from Morgane, the time has come to go home—and claim what is...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Radar Girls

By Sara Ackerman
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 10 hours 54 minutes

"A fresh, delightful romp of a novel... this gang of irrepressible friends lives up to their name in sparkling fashion."—Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Rose Code

An extraordinary story inspired by the real Women’s Air Raid Defense, where an unlikely recruit and her sisters-in-arms forge their place in WWII history.

Daisy... Read more »
Audiobook details

The Great Peace

A Memoir

By Mena Suvari
Narrated by: Mena Suvari
Length: 8 hours 29 minutes

A memoir by award-winning actor Mena Suvari, best-known forher iconic roles in American Beauty, American Pie, and Six Feet Under.

The Great Peace is a harrowing, heartbreaking coming-of-age story set in Hollywood, in which young teenage model-turned-actor Mena Suvari lost herself to sex, drugs and bad, often abusive relationships even as...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Devil in Disguise

By Lisa Kleypas
Narrated by: Mary Jane Wells
Length: 9 hours 7 minutes

New York Times bestseller Lisa Kleypas returns with an enthralling and steaming romance between a Scot with a mysterious past and strong-willed lady looking for adventure—and love. 

“The devil never tries to make people do the wrong thing by scaring them. He does it by tempting them.”

Lady Merritt Sterling, a strong-willed young widow who’s...

Read more »
Audiobook details

A Farewell to Gabo and Mercedes

A Son’s Memoir of Gabriel García MArquez and Mercedes Barcha

By Rodrigo Garcia
Narrated by: Rodrigo Garcia
Length: 2 hours 16 minutes

“This is a beautiful farewell to two extraordinary people. It enthralled and moved me, and it will move and enthrall anyone who has ever entered the glorious literary world of Gabriel García Márquez.”—Salman Rushdie

“In A Farewell to Gabo and Mercedes Rodrigo Garcia finds the words that cannot be said, the moments that signal all that is possible...

Read more »
Audiobook details

New Teeth

Stories

By Simon Rich
Narrated by: Fred Berman
Length: 4 hours 33 minutes

Laugh till you cry in this new collection of stories from the “Serena Williams of humor writing” (New York Times Book Review) about raising babies and trying to learn how not to be one.
  
Called a “comedic Godsend” by Conan O’Brien, and “the Stephen King of comedy writing” by John Mulaney, Simon Rich is back with New Teeth, his funniest and most... Read more »
Audiobook details

Chemistry for Breakfast

The Amazing Science of Everyday Life

By Dr. Mai Thi Nguyen-Kim
Narrated by: Raechel Wong
Length: 5 hours 34 minutes

Have you ever wondered why your alarm clock sends you spiraling? Or how toothpaste works on your teeth? Why do cakes and cookies sometimes turn out dry? (Hint: you may not be adding enough sugar.) In Chemistry for Breakfast, award-winning chemist and science communicator Mai Thi Nguyen-Kim reveals the amazing chemistry behind everyday things... Read more »
Audiobook details

The Boy Who Drew Auschwitz

A Powerful True Story of Hope and Survival

By Thomas Geve
Narrated by: Mark Meadows
Length: 9 hours 12 minutes

An inspiring true story of hope and survival, this is the testimony of a boy who was imprisoned in Auschwitz, Gross-Rosen and Buchenwald and recorded his experiences through words and color drawings.

In June 1943, after long years of hardship and persecution, thirteen-year-old Thomas Geve and his mother were deported to Auschwitz-Birkenau....

Read more »
Audiobook details

Orphans of Davenport, The

Eugenics, the Great Depression, and the War Over Children's Intelligence

By Marilyn Brookwood
Narrated by: Susie Berneis
Length: 12 hours 25 minutes

“Doomed from birth” was how psychologist Harold Skeels described two toddler girls at the Orphans’ Home in Davenport, Iowa, in 1934. Following prevailing eugenic beliefs, Skeels and his colleague Marie Skodak assumed that the girls had inherited their parents’ low intelligence and sent them to an institution for the “feebleminded” to be cared... Read more »
Audiobook details

Below the Edge of Darkness

A Memoir of Exploring Light and Life in the Deep Sea

By Edith Widder, Ph.D.
Narrated by: Allyson Ryan
Length: 11 hours 55 minutes

A pioneering marine biologist takes us down into the deep ocean to understand bioluminescence—the language of light that helps life communicate in the darkness—and what it tells us about the future of life on Earth. 

“Edith Widder’s story is one of hardscrabble optimism, two-fisted exploration, and groundbreaking research. She’s done things I... Read more »
Audiobook details

The Minister Primarily

A Novel

By John Oliver Killens
Narrated by: Nyambi Nyambi
Length: 17 hours 19 minutes

A major literary event—the eagerly anticipated publication of a long-lost novel from legendary writer and three-time Pulitzer Prize nominee John Oliver Killens, hailed as the founding father of the Black Arts Movement and mentor to celebrated writers, including Maya Angelou, Nikki Giovanni, Arthur Flowers, and Terry McMillan.


Wanderlust has taken...

Read more »
Audiobook details

We Want What We Want

Stories

By Alix Ohlin
Narrated by: Eileen Stevens, Hillary Huber, Brittany Pressley & Kristen Sieh
Length: 7 hours 52 minutes

An Esquire Best Book of Summer • A collection of glittering, surprising, darkly funny stories of people testing the boundaries of their lives—from the award-winning author of Dual Citizens, who is "spoken of in the same reverent breath as Lorrie Moore and Joy Williams" (Heidi Julavits, author of The Folded Clock).

In the... Read more »
Audiobook details

Heartbreak for Hire

A Novel

By Sonia Hartl
Narrated by: Shaina Summerville
Length: 8 hours 40 minutes

A smart, sexy, and witty romantic comedy—perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Sally Thorne—about a twentysomething who lives out every woman’s fantasy: getting paid to give men who do us wrong a taste of their own medicine. But when a previous target unexpectedly shows up at her office, she’s forced to rethink her life as a professional... Read more »
Audiobook details