Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started

Share a video about what your bookstore means to you and receive a FREE audiobook.

Learn more

Historical YA

See how teens may have navigated the past with compelling historical fiction.

Playlist Tags: genre: Young Adult topic: history audience: teens topic: historical fiction

View All Playlists

Salt to the Sea

By Ruta Sepetys
Narrated by Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris & Michael Crouch /  8 hours 46 minutes

New York Times Bestseller! "Masterly crafted"The Wall Street Journal

For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and... Read more »

Price:

$32.20 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

What I Saw and How I Lied

By Judy Blundell
Narrated by Caitlin Greer /  6 hours 20 minutes

Evie slowly finds herself caught in a complicated web of lies in this brilliant mystery that won the 2008 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature. Read more »

Price:

$21.28 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Strings Attached

By Judy Blundell
Narrated by Emma Galvin /  8 hours 55 minutes

Kit Corrigan always dreamed of being a star. In order to get there she needs to break up with Billy and leave her family in Rhode Island behind for the bright lights of New York City. After Kit meets with Billy's father, Nate, things get easier - until she realizes that Nate's help comes with "strings attached." Kit soon uncovers a mystery she... Read more »

Price:

$21.28 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Fountains of Silence

By Ruta Sepetys
Narrated by Ruta Sepetys, Richard Ferrone, Maite Jáuregui, Neil Hellegers, Joshua Kane, Liza Kaplan & Oliver Wyman /  12 hours 22 minutes

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Salt to the Sea and Between Shades of Gray comes a gripping, extraordinary portrait of love, silence, and secrets under a Spanish dictatorship.

Madrid, 1957. Under the fascist dictatorship of General Francisco Franco, Spain is hiding a dark secret. Meanwhile, tourists and foreign businessmen flood... Read more »

Price:

$38.50 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Book Thief

By Markus Zusak
Narrated by Allan Corduner /  13 hours 55 minutes

DON’T MISS BRIDGE OF CLAY, MARKUS ZUSAK’S FIRST NOVEL SINCE THE BOOK THIEF.
 
The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.
 
Nominated as one of America's best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read.

When Death has a...
Read more »

Price:

$35.70 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume 1: The Pox Party

Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing: Book #1
By M.T. Anderson
Narrated by Peter Francis James /  8 hours 18 minutes

He is a boy dressed in silks and white wigs and given the best of classical educations. Raised by a mysterious group of rational philosophers known only by numbers, the boy and his mother–a princess in exile from a faraway land–are the only people in their household assigned names. As the boy’s regal mother, Cassiopeia, entertains the house... Read more »

Price:

$31.50 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Witch of Blackbird Pond

By Elizabeth George Speare
Narrated by Mary Beth Hurt /  6 hours 33 minutes

Kit Tyler must leave behind shimmering Caribbean islands to join the stern Puritan community of her relatives. She soon feels caged, until she meets the old woman known as the Witch of Blackbird Pond. But when their friendship is discovered, Kit herself is accused of witchcraft! Read more »

Price:

$21.00 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A Northern Light

By Jennifer Donnelly
Narrated by Hope Davis /  9 hours

All of Mattie Lyon's hopes and dreams are riding on her summer job at the Glennmore Hotel. She'll make enough money to go to college in the fall. She'll prove to her father that she is responsible. She'll learn how to survive in the sophisticated world beyond her dad's brokeback farm. But all her plans fall to pieces when a young woman turns up... Read more »

Price:

$20.93 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Pirates!

By Celia Rees
Narrated by Jennifer Wiltsie /  8 hours 54 minutes

It is the dawn of the eighteenth century, when girls stay home and sew while men sail the high seas finding adventure, danger, and gold. But two unusually adventurous girls--a rich merchant's daughter, Nancy Kington, and her former plantation slave, Minerva Sharpe--take to the high seas from Jamaica on a shop the crew renames Deliverance. Not... Read more »

Price:

$20.93 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Between Shades of Gray

By Ruta Sepetys
Narrated by Emily Klein /  7 hours 46 minutes

An international bestseller, a #1 New York Times bestseller, and now a major motion picture! Ruta Sepetys's Between Shades of Gray is now the film Ashes in the Snow!

"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." --The Washington Post


From New York Times and international bestseller and Carnegie Medal winner... Read more »

Price:

$32.20 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Out of the Easy

By Ruta Sepetys
Narrated by Lauren Fortgang /  9 hours 51 minutes

 It’s 1950, and as the French Quarter of New Orleans simmers with secrets, seventeen-year-old Josie Moraine is silently stirring a pot of her own. Known among locals as the daughter of a brothel prostitute, Josie wants more out of life than the Big Easy has to offer. She devises a plan get out, but a mysterious death in the Quarter leaves Josie... Read more »

Price:

$35.00 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Ruby in the Smoke: A Sally Lockhart Mystery

Book One
Sally Lockhart
By Philip Pullman
Narrated by Anton Lesser /  6 hours 25 minutes

In search of clues to the mystery of her father's death, 16-year-old Sally Lockhart ventures into the shadowy underworld of Victorian London. Pursued by villains at every turn, the intrepid Sally finally uncovers two dark mysteries--and realizes that she herself is the key to both.

"In Dickensian fashion, Pullman tells the story of 16-year-old... Read more »

Price:

$18.13 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Invasion

By Walter Dean Myers
Narrated by Nick Cordero /  5 hours 29 minutes

Walter Dean Myers brilliantly renders the realities of World War II. Josiah Wedgewood and Marcus Perry are on their way to an uncertain future. Their whole lives are ahead of them, yet at the same time, death's whisper is everywhere. One white, one black, these young men have nothing in common and everything in common as they approach an... Read more »

Price:

$18.39 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Flygirl

By Sherri L. Smith
Narrated by Bahni Turpin /  8 hours 36 minutes

All Ida Mae Jones wants to do is fly. Her daddy was a pilot, and years after his death she feels closest to him when she's in the air. But as a young black woman in 1940s Louisiana, she knows the sky is off limits to her, until America enters World War II, and the Army forms the WASP-Women Airforce Service Pilots.Ida has a chance to fulfill her... Read more »

Price:

$17.96 USD

Retail price (USD): $19.95

Discount: 10%

This title is not eligible for purchase with membership credits. Why?

  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Fever 1793

By Laurie Halse Anderson
Narrated by Bailey Carr /  6 hours 11 minutes

During the summer of 1793, Mattie Cook lives above the family coffee shop with her widowed mother and grandfather. Mattie spends her days avoiding chores and making plans to turn the family business into the finest Philadelphia has ever seen. But then the fever breaks out. Disease sweeps the streets, destroying everything in its path and turning... Read more »

Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Lovely War

By Julie Berry
Narrated by Jayne Entwistle, Allan Corduner, Julie Berry, Dion Graham, Fiona Hardingham, John Lee, Nathaniel Parker & Steve West /  12 hours 56 minutes

Lovely War

“One of the best, most unique novels I've read recently! The story of four young lovers during WW1, as told by the Greek Gods during a trial for Aphrodite. The audio cast is amazing, bringing to life the delights of first loves, the heartaches of separation, and the brutal truth of war. Simply perfect!”

Fountain Bookstore image Kate, Fountain Bookstore
Price:

$38.50 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Share a video about what your bookstore means to you and receive a FREE audiobook.

Learn more