Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

2020 Great Group Reads

October is National Reading Group Month, and to celebrate, the Women's National Book Association has picked out a great selection for book clubs. Here are some of them in audiobook form.

Playlist Tags: audience: book clubs

View all playlists

Continental Divide

A Novel

By Alex Myers
Narrated by: Scott Turner Schofield
Length: 9 hours 24 minutes

Go west, young man. Isn’t that the advice every east coast boy has considered at least once in his life?

At nineteen, almost twenty, Ron Bancroft thinks those words sound pretty good. Newly out as transgender, Ron finds himself adrift: kicked out by his family, jilted by his girlfriend, and unable to afford to return to college in the fall. So he... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Exiles

A Novel

By Christina Baker Kline
Narrated by: Caroline Lee
Length: 10 hours 17 minutes

The Exiles

“"The Exiles" is a powerful and gorgeously written portrait of colonial Australia during the Transportation. From Evangeline, a pregnant convict determined to make a better life for herself after incarceration, to Mathinna, a Palawa Aborigine forcibly adopted from her home and community in Flinders, and still to so many others, Kline creates a page-turning story about how disempowered women survive the fates bestowed onto them, and effect change both in their lives and those of others. I read between print and audiobook, and must mention that Caroline Lee's mastery of a variety of accents from the British diaspora made the characters all the more distinct and real. She brought Kline's words, already compelling, to life.”

Oxford Exchange image Cat, Oxford Exchange
Audiobook details

In Five Years

A Novel

By Rebecca Serle
Narrated by: Megan Hilty
Length: 6 hours 44 minutes

In Five Years

“Rebecca Serle’s In Five Years has so many of the things I want in a terrific novel: a twisty plot that leaves me guessing; radically unexpected developments; settings that I can see, smell, and taste; and probably the thing that Serle does best — an introduction to characters I’ll grow to care about and shed tears with. That last one? The tear thing? In Five Years had me weeping for the last part of a coast-to-coast flight, prompting the flight attendant to hand me a drink because, she said, it looked like I needed one. I loved this book and can’t wait to offer it to readers.”

Brookline Booksmith image Nick Petrulakis, Brookline Booksmith
Audiobook details

The Hierarchies

A Novel

By Ros Anderson
Narrated by: Katharine Lee McEwan
Length: 10 hours 21 minutes

In this stunningly original debut novel that will appeal to readers of The Power or Never Let Me Go, a synthetic woman—created solely to serve her human "Husband"—slowly comes to the realization that her Husband is far less invested in her wellbeing than she is in his...sending her on a harrowing emotional journey of self-realization as she asks... Read more »

Audiobook details

Miracle Creek

A Novel

By Angie Kim
Narrated by: Jennifer Lim
Length: 14 hours 4 minutes

Miracle Creek

Miracle Creek is a courtroom drama with impeccable pacing, an original plot, and stellar writing. It’s also a remarkably empathetic book, exploring the ripple effects of causality and the urgent need to do right by each other in big and small ways, recognizing that even the best of us will fail once in a while. It is a lovely reminder that even when doing the right thing feels like swimming upstream, we never know what harm may be prevented and what good might come from our actions. Agreat read that deserves broad success.”

Hudson Booksellers image Sara Hinckley, Hudson Booksellers
Audiobook details

The Prettiest Star

By Carter Sickels
Narrated by: Charlie Thurston & Tiffany Morgan
Length: 10 hours 21 minutes

The Prettiest Star

“This beautiful, elegiac novel tells the story of the last homecoming to rural Ohio for Brian, who is dying of AIDS at the height of the 1980s epidemic. Told with empathy and heart, complemented by a pitch-perfect sense of time and place, The Prettiest Star is a deeply affecting story about what it means to understand each other and where we come from, even when our lives have taken us light years away.”

Ashley Warlick image Ashley Warlick, M. Judson Booksellers & Storytellers
Audiobook details

The Royal Abduls

By Ramiza Shamoun Koya
Narrated by: Neil Shah & Soneela Nankani
Length: 9 hours 37 minutes

Ramiza Shamoun Koya reveals the devastating cost of anti-Muslim sentiment in The Royal Abduls, her debut novel about an Indian America family.

Evolutionary biologist Amina Abdul accepts a post-doc in Washington, DC, choosing her career studying hybrid zones over a faltering West Coast romance. Her brother and sister-in-law welcome her to the... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Wanting Life

A Novel

By Mark Rader
Narrated by: Donald Corren
Length: 9 hours 51 minutes

Father Paul, a gay priest, reflects on his life while his sister and niece grapple with the life choices they’ve made.

Set in Rome, Cape Cod, and Wisconsin over the course of the summer of 2009 and in Rome during the spring of 1970, The Wanting Life tells the intertwined story of three members of the Novak family: Father Paul, a closeted gay... Read more »

Audiobook details