Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started
Celebrate Audiobook Month! It’s the perfect time to listen while enjoying summer activities. Learn More

Gallery Bookshop 2018 Summer Staff Favorites

With the lengthening days, there is more time for books! We at Gallery Bookshop have picked some of our current favorites – everything from twisty thrillers to adorable middle grade. Whether you're on vacation or listening at home, we think you'll love these.

The Bird and the Blade

By Megan Bannen
Narrated by Emily Woo Zeller /  10 hours 11 minutes

A sweeping and tragic debut novel perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and Megan Whalen Turner.

The Bird and the Blade is a lush, powerful story of life and death, battles and riddles, lies and secrets from author Megan Bannen.

Enslaved in Kipchak Khanate, Jinghua has lost everything: her home, her family, her freedom . . . until the... Read More »

Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Close to Home

A Novel
By Cara Hunter
Narrated by Lee Ingleby & Emma Cunniffe /  9 hours 30 minutes

A truly original psychological crime novel about a missing child and the scandal that erupts in the aftermath, brilliantly plotted with a shocking twist

She was certain it was Daisy in the flower costume. . . .

When eight-year-old Daisy Mason vanishes from her family's Oxford home during a costume party, Detective Inspector Adam Fawley knows that... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Order of Time

By Carlo Rovelli
Narrated by Benedict Cumberbatch /  4 hours 19 minutes

The Order of Time

“I was drawn to this book, the third in Rovelli's recent series of short introductions to the mind-blowing propositions of modern physics, by its inexhaustibly poignant and fascinating subject: time. He spends the first half of the book explaining why time doesn't exist, and the second half explaining why, at least for us lesser mortals, it does. (That he does so, in the audio version, in the deliciously elegant voice of Mr. Cumberbatch, is a wonderful bonus.) It is indeed mind-blowing, while also being movingly human, and while it is short (just four-plus hours in listening time), I expect I'll have to listen at least once more for some of these simply stated but earth-shiftingly difficult concepts to start fitting into my brain.”

Phinney Books image Tom, Phinney Books
Price:

$22.40 USD

Get for Free with Membership

There There

A novel
By Tommy Orange
Narrated by Darrell Dennis, Shaun Taylor-Corbett, Alma Cuervo & Kyla Garcia /  7 hours 59 minutes

There There

“There There is the kind of book that grabs you from the start and doesn’t let go, even after you’ve turned the last page. It is a work of fiction, but every word of it feels true. Tommy Orange writes with a palpable anger and pain, telling the history of a cultural trauma handed down through generations in the blood and bones and stories of individual lives. He also writes with incredible heart and humor, infusing his characters with a tangible humanity and moments of joy even as they are headed toward tragedy. There There has claimed a permanent spot in my heart despite having broken it, or maybe because it did. I think this may be the best book I’ve ever read.”

Changing Hands image Heather Weldon, Changing Hands
Price:

$24.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Adventures of a Girl Called Bicycle

By Christina Uss
Narrated by Jennifer Barnhart /  7 hours 15 minutes

A determined 12-year-old girl bikes across the country in this quirky and charming debut middle grade novel.

Introverted Bicycle has lived most of her life at the Mostly Silent Monastery in Washington, D.C. When her guardian, Sister Wanda, announces that Bicycle is going to attend a camp where she will learn to make friends, Bicycle says no way... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Circe

By Madeline Miller
Narrated by Perdita Weeks /  12 hours 8 minutes

Circe

“Beautifully composed and deeply compelling, Circe is hands-down one of the best novels of 2018. As she did in Song of Achilles, Miller recreates the ancient and enchanting world of Greek mythology, this time focusing on ocean nymph Circe. Cast out of her home and exiled to the island of Aiaia, Circe turns not only to her enchantments, but also to the world of Mortals, becoming close with legendary figures like Daedalus, Odysseus, and Penelope. Miller’s delicate, yet stunning prose swept me off my feet — I wanted to savor every moment with Circe in her immortal world. Introspective, soft, at times simply breathtaking, but always beautiful. So, so beautiful.”

Mysterious Galaxy Books image Kelly, Mysterious Galaxy Books
Price:

$29.88 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Barbed Wire Heart

By Tess Sharpe
12 hours 33 minutes

This powerful debut thriller from "a major new talent" (Kirkus) set in a poor, rural community where loyalty is everything, "packs an emotional punch" (Lisa Gardner) as the daughter of a meth kingpin is forced to choose between family, or freedom.

Never cut the drugs--leave them pure.
Guns are meant to be shot--keep them loaded.
Family is...
Read More »

Price:

$29.88 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Power

By Naomi Alderman
Narrated by Adjoa Andoh /  12 hours 5 minutes

What would happen if women suddenly possessed a fierce new power?
"The Power is our era's The Handmaid's Tale." --Ron Charles, Washington Post
*WINNER OF THE BAILEYS WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION*
One of the New York Times's Ten Best Books of the Year One of President Obama's favorite reads of the Year A Los Angeles Times Best Book of the... Read More »

Price:

$28.73 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Cactus

By Sarah Haywood
Narrated by Katherine Manners /  10 hours 30 minutes

In this witty and heartfelt debut, one woman’s unconventional journey to motherhood means learning to embrace the unexpected

Even the prickliest cactus has its flower…

For Susan Green, messy emotions don’t fit into the equation of her perfectly ordered life. She has a flat that is ideal for one, a job that suits her passion for logic and an... Read More »

Price:

$24.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Emergency Contact

By Mary H. K. Choi
Narrated by Joy Osmanski & Jacques Roy /  9 hours 6 minutes

“Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.” —Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

For Penny Lee high... Read More »

Price:

$20.69 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

A Novel
By Gail Honeyman
Narrated by Cathleen McCarron /  11 hours 1 minute

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

“Eleanor Oliphant has quickly become one of my favorite fictional characters, and this novel one of my favorite books. Eleanor is completely original and the right kind of weird. Her life and her past, combined with such kindhearted characters, made for a compulsively readable, heartwarming story that I did not want to put down. I can't wait for this book to come out so many more can fall in love with Eleanor. Highly, highly recommended.”

Copperfield's Books image Kaitlin Smith, Copperfield's Books
Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Meddling Kids

A Novel
By Edgar Cantero
Narrated by Kyla Garcia /  12 hours 53 minutes

Meddling Kids

“I have an abiding fondness for kooky premises executed well, and Edgar Cantero's Meddling Kids is as kooky as they come. In 1977, the tween members of the Blyton Summer Detective Club solved their last case and went their separate ways. Now it's 1990 and the man they sent to jail has been paroled. These former detectives have unfinished business, so one of them resolves to get the gang back together to find out the dark truth behind that final case. Meddling Kids is a pop-culture savvy, uproarious romp but also an action-packed horror-thriller. Highly recommended for fans of Christopher Moore and Ernest Cline, or anyone seeking a little laughter, nostalgia, or escapism.”

BookShop West Portal image Susan Tunis, BookShop West Portal
Price:

$31.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership
Celebrate Audiobook Month! It’s the perfect time to listen while enjoying summer activities. Learn More

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener