Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started
Celebrate Independent Bookstore Day with Free Audiobooks on Saturday, April 27th. Learn More

Gallery Bookshop 2018 Summer Staff Favorites

With the lengthening days, there is more time for books! We at Gallery Bookshop have picked some of our current favorites – everything from twisty thrillers to adorable middle grade. Whether you're on vacation or listening at home, we think you'll love these.

The Bird and the Blade

By Megan Bannen
Narrated by Emily Woo Zeller /  10 hours 11 minutes

A sweeping and tragic debut novel perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and Megan Whalen Turner.

The Bird and the Blade is a lush, powerful story of life and death, battles and riddles, lies and secrets from author Megan Bannen.

Enslaved in Kipchak Khanate, Jinghua has lost everything: her home, her family, her freedom . . . until the... Read More »

Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Close to Home

A Novel
By Cara Hunter
Narrated by Lee Ingleby & Emma Cunniffe /  9 hours 30 minutes

A truly original psychological crime novel about a missing child and the scandal that erupts in the aftermath, brilliantly plotted with a shocking twist

She was certain it was Daisy in the flower costume. . . .

When eight-year-old Daisy Mason vanishes from her family's Oxford home during a costume party, Detective Inspector Adam Fawley knows that... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Order of Time

By Carlo Rovelli
Narrated by Benedict Cumberbatch /  4 hours 19 minutes

The Order of Time

“In thirteen succinct chapters, Rovelli shows us that time as we know it—continuous, smooth, regular—is an illusion. Our perception of time is limited and can’t take into account its true nature as a fluctuating, particulate field--“a network of relations that no longer holds together as a coherent canvas.” Step by step, Rovelli’s deconstruction of received notions of time is clear and accessible—our present is “a bubble around us” and can’t refer to far places in the universe; increasing entropy means “the entire universe is like a mountain that collapses in slow motion”—and his writing is elegant in all senses of the word, as breathtaking for the startling ideas as for his compact articulation of them. A theoretical physicist, Rovelli is also a true humanist; he doesn’t abandon us in a quantum universe ruled by entropy where “the difference between the past and the future refers only to our own blurred vision of the world,” but ends with Proust, music, and emotion. Overall, his book includes more poetry than equations, and he opens each chapter with an excerpt from Horace’s Odes—perhaps a subtle comment on standing the test of time.”

Politics & Prose image Laurie G., Politics & Prose
Price:

$22.40 USD

Get for Free with Membership

There There

A novel
By Tommy Orange
Narrated by Darrell Dennis, Shaun Taylor-Corbett, Alma Cuervo & Kyla Garcia /  7 hours 59 minutes

There There

“There There is the kind of book that grabs you from the start and doesn’t let go, even after you’ve turned the last page. It is a work of fiction, but every word of it feels true. Tommy Orange writes with a palpable anger and pain, telling the history of a cultural trauma handed down through generations in the blood and bones and stories of individual lives. He also writes with incredible heart and humor, infusing his characters with a tangible humanity and moments of joy even as they are headed toward tragedy. There There has claimed a permanent spot in my heart despite having broken it, or maybe because it did. I think this may be the best book I’ve ever read.”

Changing Hands image Heather Weldon, Changing Hands
Price:

$24.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Adventures of a Girl Called Bicycle

By Christina Uss
Narrated by Jennifer Barnhart /  7 hours 15 minutes

A determined 12-year-old girl bikes across the country in this quirky and charming debut middle grade novel.

Introverted Bicycle has lived most of her life at the Mostly Silent Monastery in Washington, D.C. When her guardian, Sister Wanda, announces that Bicycle is going to attend a camp where she will learn to make friends, Bicycle says no way... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Circe

By Madeline Miller
Narrated by Perdita Weeks /  12 hours 8 minutes

Circe

“This remarkable journey into mythology brings the ancient gods directly and viscerally into the present. Circe is a perfect mashup of elegant language, glorious storytelling, and exquisitely modern sensibilities. Miller's telling left me awed and moved by Circe and her story, all while wishing I could invite her over for a glass of wine on the porch. How this amazing author so perfectly melds the human and the divine, creating a story both immediate and epic, is dazzling.”

Beth Albrecht image Beth Albrecht, The Magic Tree Bookstore
Price:

$29.88 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Barbed Wire Heart

By Tess Sharpe
12 hours 33 minutes

This powerful debut thriller from "a major new talent" (Kirkus) set in a poor, rural community where loyalty is everything, "packs an emotional punch" (Lisa Gardner) as the daughter of a meth kingpin is forced to choose between family, or freedom.

Never cut the drugs--leave them pure.
Guns are meant to be shot--keep them loaded.
Family is...
Read More »

Price:

$29.88 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Power

By Naomi Alderman
Narrated by Naomi Alderman /  12 hours 5 minutes

What would happen if women suddenly possessed a fierce new power?
"The Power is our era's The Handmaid's Tale." --Ron Charles, Washington Post
*WINNER OF THE BAILEYS WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION*
One of the New York Times's Ten Best Books of the Year One of President Obama's favorite reads of the Year A Los Angeles Times Best Book of the... Read More »

Price:

$28.73 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Cactus

By Sarah Haywood
Narrated by Katherine Manners /  10 hours 30 minutes

In this witty and heartfelt debut, one woman’s unconventional journey to motherhood means learning to embrace the unexpected

Even the prickliest cactus has its flower…

For Susan Green, messy emotions don’t fit into the equation of her perfectly ordered life. She has a flat that is ideal for one, a job that suits her passion for logic and an... Read More »

Price:

$24.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Emergency Contact

By Mary H. K. Choi
Narrated by Joy Osmanski & Jacques Roy /  9 hours 6 minutes

“Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.” —Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

For Penny Lee high... Read More »

Price:

$4.99 USD

Retail Price (USD): $20.69

Discount: 76%

Get for Free with Membership

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

A Novel
By Gail Honeyman
Narrated by Cathleen McCarron /  11 hours 1 minute

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

“Eleanor Oliphant has quickly become one of my favorite fictional characters, and this novel one of my favorite books. Eleanor is completely original and the right kind of weird. Her life and her past, combined with such kindhearted characters, made for a compulsively readable, heartwarming story that I did not want to put down. I can't wait for this book to come out so many more can fall in love with Eleanor. Highly, highly recommended.”

Copperfield's Books image Kaitlin Smith, Copperfield's Books
Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Meddling Kids

A Novel
By Edgar Cantero
Narrated by Kyla Garcia /  12 hours 53 minutes

Meddling Kids

“I have an abiding fondness for kooky premises executed well, and Edgar Cantero's Meddling Kids is as kooky as they come. In 1977, the tween members of the Blyton Summer Detective Club solved their last case and went their separate ways. Now it's 1990 and the man they sent to jail has been paroled. These former detectives have unfinished business, so one of them resolves to get the gang back together to find out the dark truth behind that final case. Meddling Kids is a pop-culture savvy, uproarious romp but also an action-packed horror-thriller. Highly recommended for fans of Christopher Moore and Ernest Cline, or anyone seeking a little laughter, nostalgia, or escapism.”

BookShop West Portal image Susan Tunis, BookShop West Portal
Price:

$31.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership
Celebrate Independent Bookstore Day with Free Audiobooks on Saturday, April 27th. Learn More

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener