Get Your First Month for Free Get Started

Gallery Bookshop 2018 Summer Staff Favorites

With the lengthening days, there is more time for books! We at Gallery Bookshop have picked some of our current favorites – everything from twisty thrillers to adorable middle grade. Whether you're on vacation or listening at home, we think you'll love these.

The Bird and the Blade

By Megan Bannen
Narrated by Emily Woo Zeller /  10 hours 11 minutes

A sweeping and tragic debut novel perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and Megan Whalen Turner.

The Bird and the Blade is a lush, powerful story of life and death, battles and riddles, lies and secrets from author Megan Bannen.

Enslaved in Kipchak Khanate, Jinghua has lost everything: her home, her family, her freedom . . . until the... Read More »

Price:

$31.04

Get for Free with Membership

Close to Home

A Novel
By Cara Hunter
Narrated by Lee Ingleby & Emma Cunniffe /  9 hours 30 minutes

A truly original psychological crime novel about a missing child and the scandal that erupts in the aftermath, brilliantly plotted with a shocking twist

She was certain it was Daisy in the flower costume. . . .

When eight-year-old Daisy Mason vanishes from her family's Oxford home during a costume party, Detective Inspector Adam Fawley knows that... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

The Order of Time

By Carlo Rovelli
Narrated by Benedict Cumberbatch /  4 hours 19 minutes

The Order of Time

“I was drawn to this book, the third in Rovelli's recent series of short introductions to the mind-blowing propositions of modern physics, by its inexhaustibly poignant and fascinating subject: time. He spends the first half of the book explaining why time doesn't exist, and the second half explaining why, at least for us lesser mortals, it does. (That he does so, in the audio version, in the deliciously elegant voice of Mr. Cumberbatch, is a wonderful bonus.) It is indeed mind-blowing, while also being movingly human, and while it is short (just four-plus hours in listening time), I expect I'll have to listen at least once more for some of these simply stated but earth-shiftingly difficult concepts to start fitting into my brain.”

Phinney Books image Tom, Phinney Books
Price:

$19.20

Get for Free with Membership

There There

A novel
By Tommy Orange
Narrated by Darrell Dennis, Shaun Taylor-Corbett, Alma Cuervo & Kyla Garcia /  7 hours 59 minutes

There There

“A stunning debut novel by an original voice. Twelve characters of Native American descent, interrelated by birth or chance, struggle with the competing forces of cultural history and modern urban existence. Their stories build separately before colliding powerfully in the book’s final pages at The Big Oakland Powwow. I was riveted.”

Parnassus Books image Keltie, Parnassus Books
Price:

$21.00

Get for Free with Membership

The Adventures of a Girl Called Bicycle

By Christina Uss
Narrated by Jennifer Barnhart /  7 hours 15 minutes

A determined 12-year-old girl bikes across the country in this quirky and charming debut middle grade novel.

Introverted Bicycle has lived most of her life at the Mostly Silent Monastery in Washington, D.C. When her guardian, Sister Wanda, announces that Bicycle is going to attend a camp where she will learn to make friends, Bicycle says no way... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

Circe

By Madeline Miller
Narrated by Perdita Weeks /  12 hours 8 minutes

Circe

“This sweeping tale of the gods and heroes of Greek mythology as seen through the eyes of a minor goddess had me from the first chapter. I listened to this as an audiobook from our audio vendor, Libro.fm. The brilliant narrator was the 29-year-old Welsh film actress, Perdita Weeks.”

Changing Hands image Bob, Changing Hands
Price:

$29.88

Get for Free with Membership

Barbed Wire Heart

By Tess Sharpe
12 hours 33 minutes

The daughter of a meth kingpin faces the most difficult choice of her life-family loyalty, or freedom. Set in a harsh and insular rural community reminiscent of Winter's Bone, Tess Sharpe's powerful debut BARBED WIRE HEART is a breathtaking "ballad of survival sung by a voice you'll never forget" (David Joy).

Never cut the drugs--leave them... Read More »

Price:

$29.88

Get for Free with Membership

The Power

By Naomi Alderman
Narrated by Naomi Alderman /  12 hours 5 minutes

One of the New York Times's Ten Best Books of 2017 A Los Angeles Times Best Book of 2017 One of the Washington Post's Ten Best Books of 2017 An NPR Best Book of 2017 One of Entertainment Weekly's Ten Best Books of 2017 A Bustle Best Book of 2017 A Paste Magazine Best Novel of 2017 A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of 2017 Winner of the... Read More »

Price:

$28.73

Get for Free with Membership

The Cactus

By Sarah Haywood
Narrated by Katherine Manners /  10 hours 30 minutes

In this witty and heartfelt debut, one woman’s unconventional journey to motherhood means learning to embrace the unexpected

Even the prickliest cactus has its flower…

For Susan Green, messy emotions don’t fit into the equation of her perfectly ordered life. She has a flat that is ideal for one, a job that suits her passion for logic and an... Read More »

Price:

$24.99

Get for Free with Membership

Emergency Contact

By Mary H. K. Choi
Narrated by Joy Osmanski & Jacques Roy /  9 hours 6 minutes

“Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.” —Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

For Penny Lee high... Read More »

Price:

$20.69

Get for Free with Membership

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

A Novel
By Gail Honeyman
Narrated by Cathleen McCarron /  11 hours 1 minute

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

“Eleanor Oliphant has quickly become one of my favorite fictional characters, and this novel one of my favorite books. Eleanor is completely original and the right kind of weird. Her life and her past, combined with such kindhearted characters, made for a compulsively readable, heartwarming story that I did not want to put down. I can't wait for this book to come out so many more can fall in love with Eleanor. Highly, highly recommended.”

Copperfield's Books image Kaitlin Smith, Copperfield's Books
Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

Meddling Kids

A Novel
By Edgar Cantero
Narrated by Kyla Garcia /  12 hours 53 minutes

Meddling Kids

“I have an abiding fondness for kooky premises executed well, and Edgar Cantero's Meddling Kids is as kooky as they come. In 1977, the tween members of the Blyton Summer Detective Club solved their last case and went their separate ways. Now it's 1990 and the man they sent to jail has been paroled. These former detectives have unfinished business, so one of them resolves to get the gang back together to find out the dark truth behind that final case. Meddling Kids is a pop-culture savvy, uproarious romp but also an action-packed horror-thriller. Highly recommended for fans of Christopher Moore and Ernest Cline, or anyone seeking a little laughter, nostalgia, or escapism.”

BookShop West Portal image Susan Tunis, BookShop West Portal
Price:

$27.00

Get for Free with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener