Skip navigation
Skip content
11 Fantastic Audiobooks You Might Have Missed

11 Fantastic Audiobooks You Might Have Missed

Arianna Rebolini shares the can't-miss audiobooks that might've flown under your radar in 2021. Read more on the Libro.fm blog!

Playlist Tags: topic: non-fiction topic: fiction under the radar independent publishers indie publishers

View all playlists

Brood

A Novel

By Jackie Polzin
Narrated by: Rebecca Lowman
Length: 4 hours 50 minutes

Brood

“Over the course of a year, told in a collection of snapshots, Brood shows the life of a woman grieving by doing anything but. She gives herself purpose by taking care of a small flock of chickens, as well as finding small but kind, funny, or wry ways of interacting with her neighbors, eccentric mother-in-law, and caring husband, Percy. There are plenty of clever and funny moments from scene to scene (not to mention the odd and interesting analyses of a chicken’s life and point of view), but the beauty in this book lies in the narrator’s acceptance of the everyday, and of all the things — bad, good, but mostly in-between — that come therein.”

Oxford Exchange image Cat Chapman, Oxford Exchange
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Body Scout

A Novel

By Lincoln Michel
Narrated by: Greg Chun
Length: 9 hours 48 minutes

In this “timeless and original” sci-fi thriller (New York Times), a hardboiled baseball scout must solve the murder of his brother in a world transformed by body modification, perfect for readers of William Gibson and Max Barry.

In the future you can have any body you want—as long as you can afford it.

But in a New York ravaged by climate change...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Hot Stew

By Fiona Mozley
Narrated by: Nneka Okoye
Length: 9 hours 47 minutes

Hot Stew

“A young millionaire wants to turn an old Soho brothel into luxury condos, but the tenants aren’t going to leave without a fight. A riveting tale about wealth, class, gentrification, power, and gender, this story shows readers just how unjust the world can be. A 2021 must-read!”

Flyleaf Books image Jennie Minor, Flyleaf Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

The Kissing Bug

A True Story of a Family, an Insect, and a Nation’s Neglect of a Deadly Disease

By Daisy Hernández
Narrated by: Frankie Corzo
Length: 6 hours 55 minutes

Who does the United States take care of and who does it leave behind? This is a riveting investigation of infectious disease, poverty, racism, and for-profit health care—and the harm caused by decades of silence.

Growing up in a New Jersey factory town in the 1980s, Daisy Hernández believed that her aunt had become deathly ill from eating an...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Gone Missing in Harlem

A Novel

By Karla FC Holloway
Narrated by: Kelechi Ezie
Length: 9 hours 30 minutes

The Mosby family, like other thousands, migrate from the loblolly-scented Carolinas north to the Harlem of their aspirations—with its promise of freedom and opportunities, sunlit boulevards, and elegant societies.

The family arrives as Harlem staggers under the flu pandemic that follows the First World War. DeLilah Mosby and her daughter,... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Shelf Life

Chronicles of a Cairo Bookseller

By Nadia Wassef
Narrated by: Vaneh Assadourian
Length: 7 hours 3 minutes

The streets of Cairo make strange music: the echoing calls to prayer, the raging insults hurled between drivers, the steady crescendo of horns honking, the shouts of street vendors, the television sets and radios blaring from every sidewalk. Nadia Wassef knows this song by heart. In 2002, with her sister, Hind, and their friend, Nihal, she... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Lemon

By Kwon Yeo-Sun
Narrated by: Greg Chun, Greta Jung & Jaine Ye
Length: 3 hours 15 minutes

PARASITE MEETS THE GOOD SON IN THIS PIERCING PSYCHOLOGICAL PORTRAIT OF THREE WOMEN HAUNTED BY A BRUTAL, UNSOLVED CRIME. In the summer of 2002, when Korea is abuzz over hosting the FIFA World Cup, eighteen-year-old Kim Hae-on is killed in what becomes known as the High School Beauty Murder. Two suspects quickly emerge: rich kid Shin Jeongjun,... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Happy Hour

By Marlowe Granados
Narrated by: Bronwyn Szabo
Length: 8 hours 6 minutes

“A wild ride with a brilliantly cocky young protagonist who’s got the world wrapped around her finger. So propulsive you'll feel like you've been hypnotized.” — Zoe Whittall, author of The Best Kind of People

Happy Hour feels like a breathless whisper at six in the morning when it’s too hot to sleep. Marlowe Granados is a fresh, exciting...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Surviving the White Gaze

A Memoir

By Rebecca Carroll
Narrated by: Rebecca Carroll
Length: 7 hours 28 minutes

An Esquire Best Book of 2021

A “gorgeous and powerful” (The New York Times Book Review) memoir from cultural critic Rebecca Carroll recounting her painful struggle to overcome a completely white childhood to forge her identity as a Black woman in America.

Rebecca Carroll grew up the only Black person in her rural New Hampshire town. Adopted at... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account