Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Desi (South Asian) Books

DesiBooks Podcast Picks (will be updated on an ongoing basis).

Playlist Tags: audience: bookish podcast fans desi books podcast

View all playlists

When Breath Becomes Air

By Paul Kalanithi
Narrated by: Sunil Malhotra & Cassandra Campbell
Length: 5 hours 34 minutes

When Breath Becomes Air

“With a message both mournful and life-affirming, When Breath Becomes Air chronicles a young doctor's journey from literature student to promising neurosurgeon and finally to a patient in his own hospital after being diagnosed with Stage IV lung cancer. Always profound, never sentimental, this important book refuses to take refuge in platitudes, instead facing mortality with honesty and humility. Written in engaging prose and filled with penetrating insights, this story is relevant to everyone and will captivate fans of memoir, literature, philosophy, and popular science alike. Lyrical passages of great beauty and vulnerability are deftly balanced by bright, candid moments of joy and even humor. Come prepared with plenty of tissues; over and over again this exquisite book will break your heart.”

Carmen Tracey image Carmen Tracey, Loganberry Books
Audiobook details

The Devourers

A Novel

By Indra Das
Narrated by: Shishir Kurup & Meera Simhan
Length: 13 hours 25 minutes

For readers of Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, China Miéville, and David Mitchell comes a striking debut novel by a storyteller of keen insight and captivating imagination.

LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD WINNER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST

On a cool evening in Kolkata, India, beneath a full moon, as the whirling rhythms... Read more »
Audiobook details

All the Names They Used for God

Stories

By Anjali Sachdeva
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell, Zainab Jah, Will Damron, Jorjeana Marie & MacLeod Andrews
Length: 7 hours 16 minutes

For fans of Dave Eggers and Kelly Link, an exhilarating collection of stories that explores the mysterious, often dangerous forces that shape our lives—from censorship and terrorism to technology and online dating.

Spanning centuries, continents, and a diverse set of characters, these alluringly strange stories are united by each character’s... Read more »
Audiobook details

The Checklist Manifesto

How to Get Things Right

By Atul Gawande
Narrated by: John Bedford Lloyd
Length: 6 hours 8 minutes

The New York Times bestselling author of Being Mortal and Complications reveals the surprising power of the ordinary checklist

We live in a world of great and increasing complexity, where even the most expert professionals struggle to master the tasks they face. Longer training, ever more advanced technologies—neither seems to prevent grievous...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Half Gods

By Akil Kumarasamy
Narrated by: Priya Ayyar & Vikas Adam
Length: 6 hours 30 minutes

A startlingly beautiful audiobook debut, Half Gods by Akil Kumarasamy brings together the exiled, the disappeared, the seekers

Following the fractured origins and destinies of two brothers named after demigods from the ancient epic the Mahabharata, we meet a family struggling with the reverberations of the past in their lives. These ten...

Read more »
Audiobook details

The Inheritance of Loss

By Kiran Desai
Narrated by: Meera Simhan
Length: 12 hours 13 minutes

In a crumbling, isolated house at the foot of Mount Kanchenjunga in the Himalayas lives an embittered judge who wants only to retire in peace, when his orphaned granddaughter, Sai, arrives on his doorstep. The judge’s cook watches over her distractedly, for his thoughts are often on his son, Biju, who is hopscotching from one gritty New York... Read more »
Audiobook details

Midnight's Children

By Salman Rushdie
Narrated by: Lyndam Gregory
Length: 24 hours 30 minutes

Salman Rushdie holds the literary world in awe with a jaw-dropping catalog of critically acclaimed novels that have made him one of the world's most celebrated authors. Winner of the prestigious Booker of Bookers, Midnight's Children tells the story of Saleem Sinai, born on the stroke of India's independence. "One of the most important books to... Read more »
Audiobook details

Island of a Thousand Mirrors

By Nayomi Munaweera
Narrated by: Priya Ayyar
Length: 7 hours 6 minutes

A stunning literary debut of two young women on opposing sides of the devastating Sri Lankan Civil WarBefore violence tore apart the tapestry of Sri Lanka and turned its pristine beaches red, there were two families. Yasodhara tells the story of her own Sinhala family, rich in love, with everything they could ask for. As a child in idyllic... Read more »
Audiobook details

The Milk Lady of Bangalore

An Unexpected Adventure

By Shoba Narayan
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 8 hours 2 minutes

When Shoba Narayan, a writer and cookbook author who had lived for years in Manhattan, moves back to Bangalore with her family, she befriends the milk lady, from whom she buys fresh milk every day. These two women from very different backgrounds bond over not only cows, considered holy in India, but also family, food, and life. After Narayan... Read more »
Audiobook details

Interpreter of Maladies

By Jhumpa Lahiri
Narrated by: Matilda Novak
Length: 6 hours 15 minutes

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize. Navigating between the Indian traditions they've inherited and the baffling new world, the characters in Jhumpa Lahiri's elegant, touching stories seek love beyond the barriers of cultures and generations.

In A Temporary Matter, published in the New Yorker, a young Indian-American couple faces the heartbreak of a... Read more »
Audiobook details

The Atlas of Reds and Blues

A Novel

By Devi S. Laskar
Narrated by: Jeed Saddy
Length: 4 hours 19 minutes

When a woman—known only as Mother—moves her family from Atlanta to its wealthy suburbs, she discovers that neither the times nor the people have changed since her childhood in a small Southern town. Despite the intervening decades, Mother is met with the same questions: Where are you from? No, where are you really from? The American-born... Read more »
Audiobook details

White Dancing Elephants

Stories

By Chaya Bhuvaneswar
Narrated by: Priya Ayyar
Length: 6 hours 54 minutes

White Dancing Elephants

“Bhuvaneswar's short stories beautifully share the lives of sixteen different women. WHITE DANCING ELEPHANTS explores issues of immigration, religion, and feminism, but what it does best it let you peer inside each woman's soul. This is a brilliant debut.”

Avid Bookshop image Rachel, Avid Bookshop
Audiobook details