Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Desi (South Asian) Books

DesiBooks Podcast Picks (will be updated on an ongoing basis).

Playlist Tags: audience: bookish podcast fans desi books podcast

View all playlists

When Breath Becomes Air

By Paul Kalanithi & Abraham Verghese
Narrated by Sunil Malhotra & Cassandra Campbell /  5 hours 34 minutes

When Breath Becomes Air

“With a message both mournful and life-affirming, When Breath Becomes Air chronicles a young doctor's journey from literature student to promising neurosurgeon and finally to a patient in his own hospital after being diagnosed with Stage IV lung cancer. Always profound, never sentimental, this important book refuses to take refuge in platitudes, instead facing mortality with honesty and humility. Written in engaging prose and filled with penetrating insights, this story is relevant to everyone and will captivate fans of memoir, literature, philosophy, and popular science alike. Lyrical passages of great beauty and vulnerability are deftly balanced by bright, candid moments of joy and even humor. Come prepared with plenty of tissues; over and over again this exquisite book will break your heart.”

Carmen Tracey image Carmen Tracey, Loganberry Books
Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Devourers

A Novel
By Indra Das
Narrated by Shishir Kurup & Meera Simhan /  13 hours 25 minutes

For readers of Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, China Miéville, and David Mitchell comes a striking debut novel by a storyteller of keen insight and captivating imagination.

LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD WINNER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST

On a cool evening in Kolkata, India, beneath a full moon, as the whirling rhythms... Read more »

Price:

$31.50 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

All the Names They Used for God

Stories
By Anjali Sachdeva
Narrated by Cassandra Campbell, Zainab Jah, Will Damron, Jorjeana Marie & MacLeod Andrews /  7 hours 16 minutes

For fans of Dave Eggers and Kelly Link, an exhilarating collection of stories that explores the mysterious, often dangerous forces that shape our lives—from censorship and terrorism to technology and online dating.

Spanning centuries, continents, and a diverse set of characters, these alluringly strange stories are united by each character’s... Read more »

Price:

$24.50 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Gift audiobook memberships

Shop local bookstores and gift audiobook memberships! You pick the membership (1, 3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and local bookstores are supported by your purchase.

Start shopping
Libro.fm App

The Checklist Manifesto

How to Get Things Right
By Atul Gawande
Narrated by John Bedford Lloyd /  6 hours 8 minutes

The New York Times bestselling author of Being Mortal and Complications reveals the surprising power of the ordinary checklist

We live in a world of great and increasing complexity, where even the most expert professionals struggle to master the tasks they face. Longer training, ever more advanced technologies—neither seems to prevent grievous... Read more »

Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Half Gods

By Akil Kumarasamy
Narrated by Priya Ayyar & Vikas Adam /  6 hours 30 minutes

A startlingly beautiful audiobook debut, Half Gods by Akil Kumarasamy brings together the exiled, the disappeared, the seekers

Following the fractured origins and destinies of two brothers named after demigods from the ancient epic the Mahabharata, we meet a family struggling with the reverberations of the past in their lives. These ten... Read more »

Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Inheritance of Loss

By Kiran Desai
Narrated by Meera Simhan /  12 hours 13 minutes

In a crumbling, isolated house at the foot of Mount Kanchenjunga in the Himalayas lives an embittered judge who wants only to retire in peace, when his orphaned granddaughter, Sai, arrives on his doorstep. The judge’s cook watches over her distractedly, for his thoughts are often on his son, Biju, who is hopscotching from one gritty New York... Read more »

Price:

$31.50 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Midnight's Children

By Salman Rushdie
Narrated by Lyndam Gregory /  24 hours 30 minutes

Salman Rushdie holds the literary world in awe with a jaw-dropping catalog of critically acclaimed novels that have made him one of the world's most celebrated authors. Winner of the prestigious Booker of Bookers, Midnight's Children tells the story of Saleem Sinai, born on the stroke of India's independence. "One of the most important books to... Read more »

Price:

$40.24 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Island of a Thousand Mirrors

By Nayomi Munaweera
Narrated by Priya Ayyar /  7 hours 6 minutes

A stunning literary debut of two young women on opposingsides of the devastating Sri Lankan Civil War

Before violence tore apart the tapestry of Sri Lanka andturned its pristine beaches red, there were two families. Yasodhara tells thestory of her own Sinhala family, rich in love, with everything they could askfor. As a child in idyllic Colombo,... Read more »

Price:

$15.26 USD

Retail price (USD): $16.95

Discount: 10%

This title is not eligible for purchase with membership credits. Why?

  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Milk Lady of Bangalore

An Unexpected Adventure
By Shoba Narayan
Narrated by Soneela Nankani /  8 hours 2 minutes

When Shoba Narayan, a writer and cookbook author who had lived for years in Manhattan, moves back to Bangalore with her family, she befriends the milk lady, from whom she buys fresh milk every day. These two women from very different backgrounds bond over not only cows, considered holy in India, but also family, food, and life. After Narayan... Read more »

Price:

$19.99 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Interpreter of Maladies

By Jhumpa Lahiri
Narrated by Matilda Novak /  6 hours 15 minutes

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize. Navigating between the Indian traditions they've inherited and the baffling new world, the characters in Jhumpa Lahiri's elegant, touching stories seek love beyond the barriers of cultures and generations. In A Temporary Matter, published in the New Yorker, a young Indian-American couple faces the heartbreak of a... Read more »

Price:

$21.70 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Atlas of Reds and Blues

A Novel
By Devi S. Laskar
Narrated by Jeed Saddy /  4 hours 19 minutes

When a woman—known only as Mother—moves her family from Atlanta to its wealthy suburbs, she discovers that neither the times nor the people have changed since her childhood in a small Southern town. Despite the intervening decades, Mother is met with the same questions: Where are you from? No, where are you really from? The American-born... Read more »

Price:

$14.94 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

White Dancing Elephants

Stories
By Chaya Bhuvaneswar
Narrated by Priya Ayyar /  6 hours 54 minutes

White Dancing Elephants

“Bhuvaneswar's short stories beautifully share the lives of sixteen different women. WHITE DANCING ELEPHANTS explores issues of immigration, religion, and feminism, but what it does best it let you peer inside each woman's soul. This is a brilliant debut.”

Avid Bookshop image Rachel, Avid Bookshop
Price:

$15.26 USD

Retail price (USD): $16.95

Discount: 10%

This title is not eligible for purchase with membership credits. Why?

  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account