Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started
Gift any 3, 6, or 12 month audiobook membership and get Circe for Free! Learn More

Books Inc’s 2019 Event Titles

Stay up-to-date with authors visiting your local Books Inc.!

99 Percent Mine

A Novel
By Sally Thorne
Narrated by Jayme Mattler /  11 hours 23 minutes

Readers and critics alike raved over USA Today bestselling author Sally Thorne’s smash hit debut novel, The Hating Game—which sold in over 20 countries. Now she’s back with an unforgettable romantic comedy about a twin sister and brother struggling over an inheritance—and the sexy best friend who comes between them.

Crush: a strong and often... Read More »

Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Good Lie

A Novel
By Tom Rosenstiel
Narrated by David Colacci /  10 hours 52 minutes

An intelligent and propulsive international political thriller in which political fixer Peter Rena is hired by the president to investigate the bombing of an American military base overseas

When a shadowy American diplomatic complex is attacked in North Africa, the White House is besieged by accusations of incompetence and wild conspiracy... Read More »

Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Save Me the Plums

My Gourmet Memoir
By Ruth Reichl
Narrated by Ruth Reichl /  7 hours 54 minutes

Save Me the Plums

“I really enjoyed this giant love letter from Ruth Reichl to Gourmet Magazine, her co-workers and her family. I’ve always enjoyed Reichl’s voice in her cookbooks and memoirs and this is no different. I listened to this and Reichl read it herself. Just as enjoyable was listening to her read aloud the recipes in the book.the story about how she first joined the magazine and how she changed it was fascinating to listen to. I’ve flipped through Gourmet over the years and made some fantastic dishes from it. It’s a shame and shameful how the powers that be closed the magazine so suddenly and without notice to the staff or readers. It’s time for me to revisit her last cookbook (which she wrote after the magazine shut down).”

Belmont Books image Audrey, Belmont Books
Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Future of Humanity

Terraforming Mars, Interstellar Travel, Immortality, and Our Destiny Beyond Earth
By Michio Kaku
Narrated by Feodor Chin /  12 hours 20 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

The #1 bestselling author of The Future of the Mind traverses the frontiers of astrophysics, artificial intelligence, and technology to offer a stunning vision of man's future in space, from settling Mars to traveling to distant galaxies.


We are entering a new Golden Age of space exploration. With irrepressible enthusiasm... Read More »

Price:

$31.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Radio Free Vermont

A Fable of Resistance
By Bill McKibben
Narrated by Danny Campbell /  5 hours 53 minutes

 “We've got a long history of resistance in Vermont and this book is testimony to that fact.”
–Bernie Sanders

A book that's also the beginning of a movement, Bill McKibben's debut novel Radio Free Vermont follows a band of Vermont patriots who decide that their state might be better off as its own republic.

 
As the host of Radio Free... Read More »

Price:

$24.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

American Cipher

Bowe Bergdahl and the U.S. Tragedy in Afghanistan
By Matt Farwell & Michael Ames
Narrated by Christopher Ryan Grant /  12 hours 45 minutes

The explosive narrative of the life, captivity, and trial of Bowe Bergdahl, the soldier who was abducted by the Taliban and whose story has served as a symbol for America's foundering war in Afghanistan

"A riveting journalistic account of Bowe Bergdahl's disastrous--and weirdly poignant--choice to walk off his military base in Afghanistan. . . ....
Read More »

Price:

$31.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

WOLFPACK

How to Come Together, Unleash Our Power, and Change the Game
By Abby Wambach
Narrated by Abby Wambach /  1 hour 10 minutes

“Abby is a relatable revolutionary — with WOLFPACK, she inspires the confidence, leadership and sisterhood we all so desperately need right now.” — Amy Schumer

This program is read by the author.

Based on her inspiring, viral 2018 commencement speech to Barnard College’s graduates in New York City, New York Times bestselling author, two-time... Read More »

Price:

$12.64 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Falter

Has the Human Game Begun to Play Itself Out?
By Bill McKibben
Narrated by Bill McKibben & Oliver Wyman /  10 hours 31 minutes

"[Oliver Wyman's] skillful, nuanced performance is enough to keep listeners from tossing their earbuds aside in despair...This isn't easy listening, but it's essential for anyone concerned about humanity's future." — AudioFile Magazine

This program includes a foreword read by the author.

Thirty years ago Bill McKibben offered one of the earliest... Read More »

Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Shrill

Notes from a Loud Woman
By Lindy West
Narrated by Lindy West /  6 hours 9 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY:
NPR,
ESQUIRE, The LA Times, and NEWSWEEK

WINNER OF THE STRANGER GENIUS AWARD

Shrill is an uproarious memoir, a feminist rallying cry in a world that thinks gender politics are tedious and that women, especially feminists, can't be funny.

Coming of age in a culture that demands women be... Read More »

Price:

$28.73 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat

Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking
By Samin Nosrat
Narrated by Samin Nosrat /  5 hours 56 minutes

Now a Netflix series!

New York Times Bestseller and Winner of the 2018 James Beard Award for Best General Cookbook and multiple IACP Cookbook Awards

Named one of the Best Books of 2017 by: NPR, BuzzFeed, The Atlantic, The Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Rachel Ray Every Day, San Francisco Chronicle, Vice Munchies, Elle.com, Glamour, Eater,... Read More »

Price:

$20.69 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Me for You

By Lolly Winston
Narrated by George Newbern & Cassandra Campbell /  7 hours 21 minutes

This “winsome story with charm to burn about second acts and second chances” (Jennifer Weiner, New York Times bestselling author) from the New York Times bestselling author of Good Grief asks us how soon is too soon to fall in love again?

Rudy never expected to be a widower at fifty-four-years-old. Now, ten months after the untimely death of his... Read More »

Price:

$20.69 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Swimming for Sunlight

By Allie Larkin
Narrated by Madeleine Maby /  10 hours

When recently divorced Katie Ellis and her rescue dog Bark move back in with Katie’s grandmother in Florida, she becomes swept up in a reunion of her grandmother’s troupe of underwater performers—finding hope and renewal in unexpected places, in this sweet novel perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Claire Cook.

Aspiring costume designer Katie... Read More »

Price:

$27.59 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Trial of Lizzie Borden

By Cara Robertson
Narrated by Amanda Carlin /  11 hours 46 minutes

The Trial of Lizzie Borden

“Cara Robertson's first book details the events surrounding the infamous murders of Andrew and Abby Borden in Fall River, Massachusetts in 1892. Based entirely on primary sources: trial transcripts, contemporary accounts, and even recently discovered letters from Lizzie herself, The Trial of Lizzie Borden is an in-depth discussion of the circumstances surrounding the incident and Lizzie's subsequent trial. Robertson has poured decades of research into this sensational book, breathing new life into a story that has captivated the american psyche for over a century. An excellent read for fans of David Grann's Killers of the Flower Moon and Michelle McNamara's I'll be Gone in the Dark.”

The King's English Bookshop image Rachel Haisley, The King's English Bookshop
Price:

$27.59 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Players Ball

A Genius, a Con Man, and the Secret History of the Internet's Rise
By David Kushner
Narrated by George Newbern /  7 hours 9 minutes

“An engrossing microcosm of the internet's Wild West years” (Kirkus Reviews), award-winning journalist David Kushner tells the incredible battle between the founder of Match.com and the con man who swindled him out of the website Sex.com, resulting in an all-out war for control for what still powers the internet today: love and sex.

In 1994,... Read More »

Price:

$20.69 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Pan Am at War

How the Airline Secretly Helped America Fight World War II
By John H. Hill & Mark Cotta Vaz
Narrated by Mike Chamberlain /  12 hours 33 minutes

Pan Am at War chronicles the airline's historic role in advancing aviation and serving America's national interest before and during World War II. From its inception, Pan American Airways operated as the "wings of democracy," spanning six continents and placing the country at the leading edge of international aviation. At the same time, it was... Read More »

Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Infinite Baseball

Notes from a Philosopher at the Ballpark
By Alva Noe
Narrated by Barry Abrams /  4 hours 30 minutes

In this deeply entertaining book, philosopher and baseball fan Alva Noë explores the many unexpected ways in which baseball is truly a philosophical kind of game. For example, he ponders how observers of baseball are less interested in what happens, than in who is responsible for what happens; every action receives praise or blame. To put it... Read More »

Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Decisive Intuition

Use Your Gut Instincts to Make Smart Business Decisions
By Rick Snyder
Narrated by Tom Parks /  6 hours 54 minutes

At last a practical guide on intuitive decision-making for anyone in the business world to get to the answer they need faster.

Intuition is the great differentiator in business. Listening to, trusting, and acting on your intuitive intelligence separates you from the pack as most people are not listening to theirs. Intuition is the one intangible... Read More »

Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for Free with Membership

A Savage Order

How the World's Deadliest Countries Can Forge a Path to Security
By Rachel Kleinfeld
Narrated by Joyce Bean /  12 hours 8 minutes

The most violent places in the world today are not at war. More people have died in Mexico in recent years than in Iraq and Afghanistan combined. These parts of the world are instead buckling under a maelstrom of gangs, organized crime, political conflict, corruption, and state brutality. Such devastating violence can feel hopeless, yet some... Read More »

Price:

$38.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Late Bloomers

The Power of Patience in a World Obsessed with Early Achievement
By Rich Karlgaard
Narrated by Fred Sanders /  9 hours 19 minutes

A groundbreaking exploration of how finding one's way later in life can be an advantage to long-term achievement and happiness.

“What Yogi Berra observed about a baseball game—it ain't over till it's over—is true about life, and [Late Bloomers] is the ultimate proof of this. . . . It’s a keeper.”—Forbes

We live in a society where kids and parents... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Parade

A novel
By Dave Eggers
Narrated by Dion Graham /  3 hours 43 minutes

From the bestselling author of The Monk of Mokha and The Circle comes a taut, suspenseful story of two foreigners' role in a nation's fragile peace.

An unnamed country is leaving the darkness of a decade at war, and to commemorate the armistice the government commissions a new road connecting two halves of the state. Two men, foreign contractors... Read More »

Price:

$21.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership
Get Circe Free with Gift Membership Purchase Learn More