Get Your First Month for Free Get Started

Booknotes - Summer 2016

Booknotes, the literary review of The Elliott Bay Book Company, is written entirely by bookstore staff. It represents a sampling of recently published and forthcoming books that we're excited to share with you.

Thunder Boy Jr.

By Sherman Alexie
Narrated by David Alexie /  6 minutes

Thunder Boy Jr. is named after his dad, but he wants a name that's all his own. Just because people call his dad Big Thunder doesn't mean he wants to be Little Thunder. He wants a name that celebrates something cool he's done, like Touch the Clouds, Not Afraid of Ten Thousand Teeth, or Full of Wonder.

But just when Thunder Boy Jr. thinks all hope... Read More »

Price:

$2.28

Get for Free with Membership

You Know Me Well

A Novel
By David Levithan & Nina LaCour
Narrated by Matthew Brown & Emma Galvin /  6 hours 36 minutes

Who knows you well? Your best friend? Your boyfriend or girlfriend? A stranger you meet on a crazy night? No one, really?

Mark and Kate have sat next to each other for an entire year, but have never spoken. For whatever reason, their paths outside of class have never crossed.

That is until Kate spots Mark miles away from home, out in the city for... Read More »

Price:

$22.99

Get for Free with Membership

The Gallery

By Laura Marx Fitzgerald
Narrated by Jorjeana Marie /  6 hours 51 minutes

A riveting historical art mystery for fans of Chasing Vermeer and The Westing Game, set in the Roaring Twenties!

It's 1929, and twelve-year-old Martha has no choice but to work as a maid in the New York City mansion of the wealthy Sewell family. But, despite the Gatsby-like parties and trimmings of success, she suspects something might be deeply... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

Towers Falling

By Jewell Parker Rhodes
Narrated by Jewell Parker Rhodes /  4 hours 10 minutes

From award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes comes a powerful novel set fifteen years after the 9/11 attacks.

When her fifth-grade teacher hints that a series of lessons about home and community will culminate with one big answer about two tall towers once visible outside their classroom window, Dèja can't help but feel confused. She sets off... Read More »

Price:

$25.28

Get for Free with Membership

Fall of Man in Wilmslow

The Death and Life of Alan Turing: A novel
By David Lagercrantz
Narrated by John Lee /  12 hours 30 minutes

From the author of the #1 best seller The Girl in the Spider’s Web—an electrifying thriller that begins with Alan Turing’s suicide and plunges into a post-war Britain of immeasurable repression, conformity and fear

June 8, 1954. Several English nationals have defected to the USSR, while a witch hunt for homosexuals rages across Britain. In... Read More »

Price:

$27.00

Get for Free with Membership

Smoke

A Novel
By Dan Vyleta
Narrated by Allan Corduner /  18 hours 33 minutes

Smoke

“Imagine a world where every dark thought you possessed was revealed by a wisp of smoke. And what if a portion of society could hide their darkness, while others were forever stained by their sins? Set in an alternative England, this tale reveals what really lies behind this sinful soot through the eyes of three teenagers who begin to question all they have been told. Smoke is a brilliant combination of fantasy and historical fiction, where layers of mystery and glimmers of truth will keep readers feverishly turning pages until the very end.”

Book Passage image Luisa Smith, Book Passage
Price:

$33.00

Get for Free with Membership

Marrow Island

By Alexis M. Smith
Narrated by Emily Rankin /  8 hours 41 minutes

What would you give to save the thing you love the most?

It has been twenty years since Lucie Bowen left the islands. Twenty years ago, the May Day Quake set loose catastrophic waves along the west coast, from Alaska to California, shattering thousands of lives. Twenty years ago, Lucie’s father disappeared in an explosion at the Marrow Island oil... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

Infomocracy

Book One of the Centenal Cycle
The Centenal Cycle: Book #1
By Malka Older
Narrated by Christine Marshall /  9 hours 43 minutes

It's been twenty years and two election cycles since Information, a powerful search engine monopoly, pioneered the switch from warring nation-states to global microdemocracy. The corporate coalition party Heritage has won the last two elections. With another election on the horizon, the Supermajority is in tight contention, and everything's on... Read More »

Price:

$31.04

Get for Free with Membership

Homegoing

A novel
By Yaa Gyasi
Narrated by Dominic Hoffman /  13 hours 10 minutes

Homegoing

“Homegoing is an epic narrative that is sure to become a treasured staple. Two sisters in Ghana are marked by fiery tragedy: one is married off to an English slave trader, and the other is sold to be a slave in America. The story follows their descendants generation by generation. Homegoing will break your heart over and over, impress you with the resilience of the human spirit and the amazing power of forgiveness, and leave you optimistic and in awe.”

Bookshop Santa Cruz image Nichole McCown, Bookshop Santa Cruz
Price:

$27.00

Get for Free with Membership

Grace

A Novel
By Natashia Deon
Narrated by Lisa Renee Pitts /  13 hours 41 minutes

For a runaway slave in the 1840s South, life on the run can be just as dangerous as life under a sadistic master. That’s what fifteen-year-old Naomi learns after she escapes the brutal confines of life on an Alabama plantation. Striking out on her own, she leaves behind her beloved Momma and sister Hazel and takes refuge in a Georgia brothel run... Read More »

Price:

$26.39

Get for Free with Membership

The Girls

A Novel
By Emma Cline
Narrated by Cady McClain /  9 hours 44 minutes

The Girls

“Evie Boyd is a lonely 14-year-old adjusting to her parents' recent divorce and an emotional break with her childhood best friend. She encounters a wild and enchanting group of girls and is immediately drawn into their world of reckless abandon. Seduced by their thrilling, cult-like family hidden in the California hills, Evie finds herself pulled into events that will lead to unspeakable violence. Cline's captivating prose strips bare the deep desires and vulnerability of teenage Evie as she struggles for acceptance. The Girls is an enthralling and haunting novel that will linger with readers long after the last page.”

Tarah Jennings image Tarah Jennings, Mitzi's Main Street Books
Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

Barkskins

A Novel
By Annie Proulx
Narrated by Robert Petkoff /  25 hours 53 minutes

Barkskins

“This multigenerational saga follows the fortunes of the Sel and Duke families from early Colonial days to the present, spanning centuries and continents as they make their living not only from the bounty of the land but also from the ravaging and destruction of it. As always, Proulx is brilliant at creating a story that flows impeccably, and her nature writing is some of the most beautiful and evocative to be found in modern literature. This novel is an epic work, a fictional Silent Spring that will linger with readers long after completion.”

Square Books image Bill Cusumano, Square Books
Price:

$40.24

Get for Free with Membership

How to Set a Fire and Why

A Novel
By Jesse Ball
Narrated by Emma Galvin /  5 hours 31 minutes

How to Set a Fire and Why

“On page one of Ball's new novel, 16-year-old Lucia Stanton gets kicked out of school for stabbing the star basketball player in the neck with a pencil. Lucia is a delinquent, a philosopher, a shard of glass. She's also an aspiring arsonist and an iconoclast, who is vibrant, alive, and charming in a misanthropic way. Ball's prose is precise and deceptively spare, his message dynamic in what he doesn't write. Enlightenment thinkers used the symbol of the flame to represent the power and transmission of knowledge. It's in this tradition that How to Set a Fire and Why becomes Ball's pyrotechnic masterpiece.”

Matt Nixon image Matt Nixon, The Booksellers at Laurelwood
Price:

$18.00

Get for Free with Membership

Shrill

Notes from a Loud Woman
By Lindy West
Narrated by Lindy West /  6 hours 9 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY:
NPR,
ESQUIRE, The LA Times, and NEWSWEEK

WINNER OF THE STRANGER GENIUS AWARD

Shrill is an uproarious memoir, a feminist rallying cry in a world that thinks gender politics are tedious and that women, especially feminists, can't be funny.

Coming of age in a culture that demands women be...
Read More »

Price:

$28.73

Get for Free with Membership

Joe Gould's Teeth

By Jill Lepore
Narrated by Jill Lepore /  3 hours 17 minutes

From New Yorker staff writer and Harvard historian Jill Lepore, the dark, spellbinding tale of her restless search for the long-lost, longest book ever written, a century-old manuscript called “The Oral History of Our Time.”

Joe Gould, a madman, believed he was the most brilliant historian of the twentieth century. So did some of his friends, a... Read More »

Price:

$15.00

Get for Free with Membership

The Gene

An Intimate History
By Siddhartha Mukherjee
Narrated by Dennis Boutsikaris /  19 hours 22 minutes

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning, bestselling author of The Emperor of All Maladies—a magnificent history of the gene and a response to the defining question of the future: What becomes of being human when we learn to “read” and “write” our own genetic information?

The extraordinary Siddhartha Mukherjee has a written a biography of the gene as... Read More »

Price:

$34.49

Get for Free with Membership

Tribe

On Homecoming and Belonging
By Sebastian Junger
Narrated by Sebastian Junger /  2 hours 59 minutes

We have a strong instinct to belong to small groups defined by clear purpose and understanding--"tribes." This tribal connection has been largely lost in modern society, but regaining it may be the key to our psychological survival.

Decades before the American Revolution, Benjamin Franklin lamented that English settlers were constantly fleeing... Read More »

Price:

$28.73

Get for Free with Membership

How to Make White People Laugh

By Negin Farsad
Narrated by Negin Farsad /  5 hours 34 minutes

From the acclaimed writer, director, and star of the hit documentary The Muslims are Coming! comes a memoir in essays about growing up Iranian-American in a post-9/11 world and the power of comedy to combat racism.

Negin Farsad is an Iranian-American-Muslim female stand-up comedian who believes she can change the world through jokes. And yes,... Read More »

Price:

$28.73

Get for Free with Membership

But What If We're Wrong?

Thinking About the Present As If It Were the Past
By Chuck Klosterman
Narrated by Fiona Hardingham & Chuck Klosterman /  10 hours 6 minutes

New York Times bestselling author Chuck Klosterman asks questions that are profound in their simplicity: How certain are we about our understanding of gravity? How certain are we about our understanding of time? What will be the defining memory of rock music, five hundred years from today? How seriously should we view the content of our dreams?... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

Magic and Loss

The Internet as Art
By Virginia Heffernan & Virginia Heffernan
Narrated by Candace Thaxton /  7 hours 24 minutes

Just as Susan Sontag did for photography and Marshall McLuhan did for television, Virginia Heffernan (called one of the “best living writers of English prose”) reveals the logic and aesthetics behind the Internet.

Since its inception, the Internet has morphed from merely an extension of traditional media into its own full-fledged civilization. It... Read More »

Price:

$20.69

Get for Free with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener