Libro.fm Audiobooks

Booknotes - Summer 2016

Booknotes, the literary review of The Elliott Bay Book Company, is written entirely by bookstore staff. It represents a sampling of recently published and forthcoming books that we're excited to share with you.

Thunder Boy Jr.

By Sherman Alexie
Narrated by David Alexie /  6 minutes

Thunder Boy Jr. is named after his dad, but he wants a name that's all his own. Just because people call his dad Big Thunder doesn't mean he wants to be Little Thunder. He wants a name that celebrates something cool he's done, like Touch the Clouds, Not Afraid of Ten Thousand Teeth, or Full of Wonder.

But just when Thunder Boy Jr. thinks all... Read More »

Price:

$2.28

Get for $0.99 with Membership

You Know Me Well

A Novel
By David Levithan & Nina LaCour
Narrated by Matthew Brown & Emma Galvin /  6 hours 36 minutes

Who knows you well? Your best friend? Your boyfriend or girlfriend? A stranger you meet on a crazy night? No one, really?

Mark and Kate have sat next to each other for an entire year, but have never spoken. For whatever reason, their paths outside of class have never crossed.

That is until Kate spots Mark miles away from home, out in the city... Read More »

Price:

$17.24

Get for $0.99 with Membership

The Gallery

By Laura Marx Fitzgerald
Narrated by Jorjeana Marie /  6 hours 51 minutes

A riveting historical art mystery for fans of Chasing Vermeer and The Westing Game, set in the Roaring Twenties!

It's 1929, and twelve-year-old Martha has no choice but to work as a maid in the New York City mansion of the wealthy Sewell family. But, despite the Gatsby-like parties and trimmings of success, she suspects something might be deeply... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Towers Falling

By Jewell Parker Rhodes
4 hours 10 minutes

From award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes, a powerful novel set fifteen years after the 9/11 attacks.

When her fifth-grade teacher hints that a series of lessons about home and community will culminate with one big answer about two tall towers once visible outside their classroom window, Dèja can't help but feel confused. She sets off on a... Read More »

Price:

$25.28

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Fall of Man in Wilmslow

The Death and Life of Alan Turing: A novel
By David Lagercrantz
Narrated by John Lee /  12 hours 30 minutes

From the author of the #1 best seller The Girl in the Spider’s Web—an electrifying thriller that begins with Alan Turing’s suicide and plunges into a post-war Britain of immeasurable repression, conformity and fear

June 8, 1954. Several English nationals have defected to the USSR, while a witch hunt for homosexuals rages across Britain. In... Read More »

Price:

$27.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Smoke

A Novel
By Dan Vyleta
Narrated by Allan Corduner /  18 hours 33 minutes

Readers of the Harry Potter series and Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell are sure to be mesmerized by Dan Vyleta’s thrilling blend of historical fiction and fantasy, as three young friends scratch the surface of the grown-up world to discover startling wonders—and dangerous secrets.



“Dan Vyleta writes with intricacy and imagination and... Read More »

Price:

$33.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Marrow Island

By Alexis M. Smith
Narrated by Emily Rankin /  8 hours 41 minutes

What would you give to save the thing you love the most?

It has been twenty years since Lucie Bowen left the islands. Twenty years ago, the May Day Quake set loose catastrophic waves along the west coast, from Alaska to California, shattering thousands of lives. Twenty years ago, Lucie’s father disappeared in an explosion at the Marrow Island oil... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Infomocracy

Book One of the Centenal Cycle
The Centenal Cycle: Book #1
By Malka Older
Narrated by Christine Marshall /  9 hours 43 minutes

It's been twenty years and two election cycles since Information, a powerful search engine monopoly, pioneered the switch from warring nation-states to global microdemocracy. The corporate coalition party Heritage has won the last two elections. With another election on the horizon, the Supermajority is in tight contention, and everything's on... Read More »

Price:

$22.99

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Homegoing

A novel
By Yaa Gyasi
Narrated by Dominic Hoffman /  13 hours 10 minutes

Winner of the NBCC's John Leonard First Book Prize
A New York Times 2016 Notable Book
One of Oprah’s 10 Favorite Books of 2016
NPR's Debut Novel of the Year
One of Buzzfeed's Best Fiction Books Of 2016
One of Time's Top 10 Novels of 2016

Homegoing is an inspiration.” —Ta-Nehisi Coates



The unforgettable New York Times best seller begins with the story... Read More »

Price:

$27.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Grace

A Novel
By Natashia Deon
Narrated by Lisa Renee Pitts /  13 hours 41 minutes

For a runaway slave in the 1840s South, life on the run can be just as dangerous as life under a sadistic master. That’s what fifteen-year-old Naomi learns after she escapes the brutal confines of life on an Alabama plantation. Striking out on her own, she leaves behind her beloved Momma and sister Hazel and takes refuge in a Georgia brothel run... Read More »

Price:

$26.39

Get for $0.99 with Membership

The Girls

A Novel
By Emma Cline
Narrated by Cady McClain /  9 hours 44 minutes

THE INSTANT BESTSELLER • An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The Washington Post • NPR • The Guardian • Entertainment Weekly • San Francisco Chronicle • Financial Times • Esquire • Newsweek • Vogue • Glamour • People • The... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Barkskins

A Novel
By Annie Proulx
Narrated by Robert Petkoff /  25 hours 53 minutes

From Annie Proulx—the Pulitzer Prize- and National Book Award-winning author of The Shipping News and Brokeback Mountain—comes her masterpiece, ten years in the writing: an epic, dazzling, violent, magnificently dramatic novel about taming the wilderness, set over two centuries.

In the late eighteenth century Rene Sel, an illiterate woodsman,... Read More »

Price:

$40.24

Get for $0.99 with Membership

How to Set a Fire and Why

A Novel
By Jesse Ball
Narrated by Emma Galvin /  5 hours 31 minutes

A teenage girl. A shattering loss. An obsession with a secret arson club. This is the story of a girl who has nothing and will burn anything.

Lucia’s father is dead, her mother is in a mental hospital, and she’s living in a garage-turned-bedroom with her aunt. And now she’s been kicked out of school—again. Making her way through the world with... Read More »

Price:

$18.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Shrill

Notes from a Loud Woman
By Lindy West
6 hours 9 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY:

NPR, ESQUIRE, The LA Times, and NEWSWEEK

WINNER OF THE STRANGER GENIUS AWARD

Shrill is an uproarious memoir, a feminist rallying cry in a world that thinks gender politics are tedious and that women, especially feminists, can't be funny.

Coming of age in a culture that demands... Read More »

Price:

$28.73

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Joe Gould's Teeth

By Jill Lepore
Narrated by Jill Lepore /  3 hours 17 minutes

From New Yorker staff writer and Harvard historian Jill Lepore, the dark, spellbinding tale of her restless search for the long-lost, longest book ever written, a century-old manuscript called “The Oral History of Our Time.”

Joe Gould, a madman, believed he was the most brilliant historian of the twentieth century. So did some of his friends, a... Read More »

Price:

$15.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

The Gene

An Intimate History
By Siddhartha Mukherjee
Narrated by Dennis Boutsikaris /  19 hours 22 minutes

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning, bestselling author of The Emperor of All Maladies—a magnificent history of the gene and a response to the defining question of the future: What becomes of being human when we learn to “read” and “write” our own genetic information?

The extraordinary Siddhartha Mukherjee has a written a biography of the gene as... Read More »

Price:

$34.49

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Tribe

On Homecoming and Belonging
By Sebastian Junger
Narrated by Author /  2 hours 59 minutes

We have a strong instinct to belong to small groups defined by clear purpose and understanding--"tribes." This tribal connection has been largely lost in modern society, but regaining it may be the key to our psychological survival.

Decades before the American Revolution, Benjamin Franklin lamented that English settlers were constantly fleeing... Read More »

Price:

$28.73

Get for $0.99 with Membership

How to Make White People Laugh

By Negin Farsad
5 hours 34 minutes

From the acclaimed writer, director, and star of the hit documentary The Muslims are Coming! comes a memoir in essays about growing up Iranian-American in a post-9/11 world and the power of comedy to combat racism.

Negin Farsad is an Iranian-American-Muslim female stand-up comedian who believes she can change the world through jokes. And yes,... Read More »

Price:

$28.73

Get for $0.99 with Membership

But What If We're Wrong?

Thinking About the Present As If It Were the Past
By Chuck Klosterman
Narrated by Fiona Hardingham & Chuck Klosterman /  10 hours 6 minutes

New York Times bestselling author Chuck Klosterman asks questions that are profound in their simplicity: How certain are we about our understanding of gravity? How certain are we about our understanding of time? What will be the defining memory of rock music, five hundred years from today? How seriously should we view the content of our dreams?... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Magic and Loss

The Internet as Art
By Virginia Heffernan & Virginia Heffernan
Narrated by Candace Thaxton /  7 hours 24 minutes

Just as Susan Sontag did for photography and Marshall McLuhan did for television, Virginia Heffernan (called one of the “best living writers of English prose”) reveals the logic and aesthetics behind the Internet.

Since its inception, the Internet has morphed from merely an extension of traditional media into its own full-fledged civilization. It... Read More »

Price:

$20.69

Get for $0.99 with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener