Get Your First Month for Free Get Started

Booknotes - Fall 2017

Booknotes, the literary review of The Elliott Bay Book Company, is written entirely by bookstore staff. It represents a sampling of recently published and forthcoming books that we're excited to share with you.

Solo

By Kwame Alexander & Mary Rand Hess
Narrated by Kwame Alexander with Randy Preston /  4 hours 1 minute

New York Times bestseller!

Blade never asked for a life of the rich and famous. In fact, he’d give anything not to be the son of Rutherford Morrison, a washed-up rock star and drug addict with delusions of a comeback. Or to no longer be part of a family known most for lost potential, failure, and tragedy, including the loss of his mother. The one... Read More »

Price:

$15.99

Get for Free with Membership

New People

By Danzy Senna
Narrated by Kristen Ariza /  6 hours 5 minutes

Named a BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW, VOGUE, TIME MAGAZINE, NPR and THE ROOT

Named A 2017 BEST SUMMER READ BY


Vogue • Elle Harper's Bazaar Glamour • Buzzfeed • In Style • Men's Journal Bustle Ms. Magazine Pop Sugar Newsday • The Millions • Time Out • Bitch CNN's The Lead • The Fader

"[A] cutting take on race...
Read More »

Price:

$18.00

Get for Free with Membership

Improbable Destinies

Fate, Chance, and the Future of Evolution
By Jonathan B. Losos
Narrated by Marc Cashman /  11 hours 59 minutes

A major new book overturning our assumptions about how evolution works

Earth’s natural history is full of fascinating instances of convergence: phenomena like eyes and wings and tree-climbing lizards that have evolved independently, multiple times. But evolutionary biologists also point out many examples of contingency, cases where the tiniest... Read More »

Price:

$27.00

Get for Free with Membership

Stay with Me

A novel
By Ayobami Adebayo
Narrated by Adjoa Andoh /  7 hours 59 minutes

A New York Times Notable Book
The New York Times’ Critics’ Top Books of the Year
Named a Best Book of the Year by San Francisco Chronicle, National Public Radio, The Economist, Buzzfeed, Paste Magazine, Southern Living, HelloGiggles, and Shelf Awareness
Huffington Post’s Best Feminist Books of the Year
The New York Post’s Most Thrilling and...
Read More »

Price:

$21.00

Get for Free with Membership

The Heart's Invisible Furies

A Novel
By John Boyne
Narrated by Stephen Hogan /  21 hours 8 minutes

Named Book of the MonthClub's Book of the Year, 2017
Selected one of New York Times Readers’ Favorite Books of 2017

From the beloved New York Times bestselling author of The Boy In the Striped Pajamas, a sweeping, heartfelt saga about the course of one man's life, beginning and ending in post-war Ireland

Cyril Avery is not a real Avery -- or at... Read More »

Price:

$33.00

Get for Free with Membership

The Red-Haired Woman

A novel
By Orhan Pamuk
Narrated by John Lee & Katharine McEwan /  7 hours 21 minutes

From the Nobel Prize winner and best-selling author of Snow and My Name Is Red, a fable of fathers and sons and the desires that come between them.

On the outskirts of a town thirty miles from Istanbul, a master well digger and his young apprentice are hired to find water on a barren plain. As they struggle in the summer heat, excavating without... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

Dinner at the Center of the Earth

A novel
By Nathan Englander
Narrated by Mark Bramhall /  7 hours

The best work yet from the Pulitzer finalist and best-selling author of For the Relief of Unbearable Urges--a political thriller that unfolds in the highly charged territory of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and pivots on the complex relationship between a secret prisoner and his guard.

A prisoner in a secret cell. The guard who has watched... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

A Legacy of Spies

A Novel
By John le Carré
Narrated by Tom Hollander /  8 hours 28 minutes

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

The undisputed master returns with a riveting new book—his first Smiley novel in more than twenty-five years


Peter Guillam, staunch colleague and disciple of George Smiley of the British Secret Service, otherwise known as the Circus, is living out his old age on the family farmstead on the south coast of Brittany when... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

George and Lizzie

A Novel
By Nancy Pearl
Narrated by Nancy Pearl /  9 hours 46 minutes

From “America’s librarian” and NPR books commentator Nancy Pearl comes an emotionally riveting debut novel about an unlikely marriage at a crossroads.

George and Lizzie have radically different understandings of what love and marriage should be. George grew up in a warm and loving family—his father an orthodontist, his mother a stay-at-home... Read More »

Price:

$22.99

Get for Free with Membership

Sing, Unburied, Sing

A Novel
By Jesmyn Ward
Narrated by Kelvin Harrison, Jr., Chris Chalk & Rutina Wesley /  8 hours 22 minutes

*WINNER of the NATIONAL BOOK AWARD for FICTION
*A TIME MAGAZINE BEST NOVEL OF THE YEAR and A NEW YORK TIMES TOP 10 OF 2017
*Finalist for the Kirkus Prize
*Finalist for the Andrew Carnegie Medal
*Publishers Weekly Top 10 of 2017


“The heart of Jesmyn Ward’s Sing, Unburied, Sing is story—the yearning for a narrative to help us understand... Read More »

Price:

$22.99

Get for Free with Membership

The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole

By Michelle Cuevas
Narrated by Laura Ortiz /  3 hours 55 minutes

A girl's friendship with a lonely black hole leads her to face her own sadness in this original, funny, and touching middle grade novel for fans of Crenshaw and Flora & Ulysses.

When eleven-year-old Stella Rodriguez shows up at NASA to request that her recording be included in Carl Sagan's Golden Record, something unexpected happens: A black... Read More »

Price:

$18.00

Get for Free with Membership

Love and Other Consolation Prizes

A Novel
By Jamie Ford
Narrated by Emily Woo Zeller & Jamie Ford /  11 hours 28 minutes

From the bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet comes a powerful novel, inspired by a true story, about a boy whose life is transformed at Seattle’s epic 1909 World’s Fair.

“An evocative, heartfelt, beautifully crafted story that shines a light on a fascinating, tragic bit of forgotten history.”—Kristin Hannah, author of... Read More »

Price:

$27.00

Get for Free with Membership

Forest Dark

A Novel
By Nicole Krauss
Narrated by Gabra Zackman /  8 hours 12 minutes

"A brilliant novel. I am full of admiration." —Philip Roth

"One of America’s most important novelists" (New York Times), the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of The History of Love, conjures an achingly beautiful and breathtakingly original novel about personal transformation that interweaves the stories of two disparate... Read More »

Price:

$25.29

Get for Free with Membership

Every Word Is a Bird We Teach to Sing

Encounters with the Mysteries and Meanings of Language
By Daniel Tammet
Narrated by Daniel Tammet /  10 hours 28 minutes

A mind-expanding, deeply humane tour of language by the bestselling author of Born on a Blue Day and Thinking in Numbers.
Is vocabulary destiny? Why do clocks "talk" to the Nahua people of Mexico? Will A.I. researchers ever produce true human-machine dialogue? In this mesmerizing collection of essays, Daniel Tammet answers these and many other... Read More »

Price:

$29.88

Get for Free with Membership

Fresh Complaint

Stories
By Jeffrey Eugenides
Narrated by Jeffrey Eugenides, Ari Fliakos & Cynthia Nixon /  8 hours 2 minutes

"The theme of complaint extends beyond the title story, but for listeners the key takeaway is the word 'fresh.' Jeffrey Eugenides's fresh writing...showcases his originality and — since he also narrates it — his ability to navigate multiple accents and personalities." — AudioFile Magazine

The first collection of short fiction from Pulitzer... Read More »

Price:

$22.99

Get for Free with Membership

The Future Is History

How Totalitarianism Reclaimed Russia
By Masha Gessen
Narrated by Masha Gessen /  16 hours 44 minutes

WINNER OF THE 2017 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD IN NONFICTION

FINALIST FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARDS

NAMED A BEST BOOK OF 2017 BY THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW, LOS ANGELES TIMES, WASHINGTON POST, BOSTON GLOBE, SEATTLE TIMES, CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR, NEWSWEEK, PASTE, and POP SUGAR

The essential journalist and bestselling biographer of...
Read More »

Price:

$30.00

Get for Free with Membership

A Moonless, Starless Sky

Ordinary Women and Men Fighting Extremism in Africa
By Alexis Okeowo
Narrated by Kamali Minter /  7 hours 55 minutes

WINNER OF THE 2018 PEN OPEN BOOK AWARD

"A rich and urgently necessary book" (New York Times Book Review), A Moonless, Starless Sky is a masterful, humane work of journalism by Alexis Okeowo--a vivid narrative of Africans who are courageously resisting their continent's wave of fundamentalism.

In A Moonless, Starless Sky Okeowo weaves together... Read More »

Price:

$28.73

Get for Free with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener