Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started
These Audiobooks Give 100% of Proceeds to Local Bookstores Browse Now

Book Nerd Native's 2020 Favorites

All of my favorite audiobooks from 2020 so far (I listen to a lot of audiobooks)!

Such a Fun Age

By Kiley Reid
Narrated by Nicole Lewis /  9 hours 58 minutes

Such a Fun Age

“A racial comedy of manners for the digital age, Such a Fun Age is a hilarious and cringe-inducing look at white people trying to do the right thing: badly, and for all the wrong reasons. Nicole Lewis's reading is a dazzling feat: expertly code-switching between the voice Emira uses with her friends, to the voice she uses with her boss, Alix, to the voice her boss's suburban black friend, Tamara, uses with Alix, to the voice Tamara uses with Emira. I don't think I would have enjoyed this book half as much without this effortlessly nuanced narration.”

The Book Table image Rachel, The Book Table
Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Nickel Boys

A Novel
By Colson Whitehead
Narrated by JD Jackson & Colson Whitehead /  6 hours 45 minutes

The Nickel Boys

“With every book, Colson Whitehead proves his ever-growing genius. He’s a master of the written word and truly one of the greatest living American novelists of our time. I didn’t think it was possible for him to write something better than Underground Railroad, but he most certainly has — The NickelBoys grabbed me at page one. It’s a mystery and a thriller, a treatise on race and social injustice, and a literary masterpiece all rolled into one. Ellwood and Turner are characters that will stay with me forever. This should be mandatory reading in every classroom.”

Changing Hands image Michelle Malonzo, Changing Hands
Price:

$24.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Affairs of the Falcóns

A Novel
By Melissa Rivero
Narrated by Frankie Corzo /  8 hours 34 minutes

A stunning debut novel about a young undocumented Peruvian woman fighting to keep her family afloat in New York City.

Ana Falcón, along with her husband Lucho and their two young children, has fled the economic and political strife of Peru for a chance at a new life in New York City in the 1990s. Being undocumented, however, has significantly... Read More »

Price:

$27.59 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Tell Me Three Things

By Julie Buxbaum
Narrated by Jorjeana Marie /  8 hours 54 minutes

A New York Times Bestseller


What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?

 
Funny and romantic, this tug-at-your-heartstrings contemporary YA debut is perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week as a junior at... Read More »

Price:

$32.20 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Girl Who Drank the Moon

By Kelly Barnhill
Narrated by Christina Moore /  9 hours 31 minutes

A young girl raised by a witch, a swamp monster, and a Perfectly Tiny Dragon must unlock the dangerous magic buried deep inside her in this epic coming-of-age fairy tale from the highly acclaimed author of The Witch's Boy. Every year, the people of the Protectorate leave a baby as an offering to the witch who lives in the forest. They hope this... Read More »

Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

When We Were Vikings

By Andrew David MacDonald
Narrated by Phoebe Strole /  10 hours 14 minutes

When We Were Vikings

“I listened to this as an audiobook. I loved it! The author presented his characters with such realism, sensitivity and humor. Zelda was born with fetal alcohol syndrome. She has a passion for all that is Viking. She is courageous and smart. Zelda is coming of age and realizing just how powerful she is!”

Rediscovered Books image Jane, Rediscovered Books
Price:

$27.59 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Story Hour

By Thrity Umrigar
Narrated by Sneha Mathan /  11 hours 4 minutes

An experienced psychologist, Maggie carefully maintains emotional distance from her patients. But when she meets a young Indian woman who tried to kill herself, her professional detachment disintegrates. Cut off from her family in India, Lakshmi is desperately lonely and trapped in a loveless marriage. Moved by her plight, Maggie treats Lakshmi... Read More »

Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for Free with Membership

In the Dream House

A Memoir
By Carmen Maria Machado
Narrated by Carmen Maria Machado /  5 hours 28 minutes

In the Dream House

“This is a spellbinding memoir that will stand the test of time. Carmen Maria Machado has crafted a memoir that turns the form on its head, that creates a stunning, chilling and winding narrative that stays true to the nature of human beings: complex and nuanced. The LGBTQ archive of intimate-partner violence needed this and helped pave a way for others to explore the violence in their queer relationships.”

Green Apple Books image Charlie, Green Apple Books
Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership
These Audiobooks Give 100% of Proceeds to Local Bookstores Browse Now