Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started
These Audiobooks Give 100% of Proceeds to Local Bookstores Browse Now

Book Nerd Native's 2019 Favorites

These were books I listened to in 2019 that really made an impact on my reading life, and became new favorites!

I Am, I Am, I Am

Seventeen Brushes with Death
By Maggie O'Farrell
Narrated by Daisy Donovan /  5 hours 54 minutes

I Am, I Am, I Am

“Maggie O'Farrell's memoir left me breathless and heart-sore. There were times I literally had a fist to my own heart in sympathy. The encounters told according to each limb or organ is a genius device; it is as though each distinct part of her body had its own voice and wanted my sole attention. Even the spaces of years between each event were full of meaning and nuance. This is one of the most mesmerizing memoirs I have ever read. The breadth and scope of Maggie's 17 brushes with death left me gasping for air, and her strong voice is indelible: There is no victim here, and life is to be treasured but not treated too delicately.”

Northshire Bookstore image Maeve Noonan, Northshire Bookstore
Price:

$21.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Bookshop on the Corner

A Novel
By Jenny Colgan
Narrated by Lucy Price-Lewis /  9 hours 13 minutes

Nina Redmond is a librarian with a gift for finding the perfect book for her readers. But can she write her own happy-ever-after? In this valentine to readers, librarians, and book-lovers the world over, the New York Times-bestselling author of Little Beach Street Bakery returns with a funny, moving new novel for fans of Meg Donohue, Sophie... Read More »

Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Red at the Bone

A Novel
By Jacqueline Woodson
Narrated by Jacqueline Woodson, Quincy Tyler Bernstine, Peter Francis James, Shayna Small & Bahni Turpin /  3 hours 52 minutes

Red at the Bone

“Jacqueline Woodon's novella RED AT THE BONE is the story of a black American family told through the perspective of 5 people. Vastly different perspectives of the same events (a teenage pregnancy, prejudice, class issues between generations) creates a compelling audiobook. Listening to this book was a delight, as the 5 narrators truly made it a beautiful production. I've never experienced a story like this and was spellbound. Highly recommend.”

Avid Bookshop image Rachel, Avid Bookshop
Price:

$21.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Red, White & Royal Blue

A Novel
By Casey McQuiston
Narrated by Ramon de Ocampo /  12 hours 15 minutes

Red, White & Royal Blue

“Fresh, irreverent, and funny, Red, White & Royal Blue is a delight and a treasure. With subtle jabs, Casey McQuiston pokes fun at both the public face of the British monarchy as well as the back-door politicking that dominates the U.S. political scene. The story follows the self-centered Alex Claremont-Diaz (America’s First Son) and his interactions with British Prince Henry of Wales. As hostility increases between two political scions forced into a sham friendship, we see the framework of political destiny and duty begin to fray. Little by little, hostility turns to something else entirely. This is a story about happiness — and, more importantly, honesty — for those who live their lives in the public eye.”

The Book Cellar image Todd Ketcham, The Book Cellar
Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Sourdough

A Novel
By Robin Sloan
Narrated by Therese Plummer /  6 hours 47 minutes

"Robin Sloan's second novel is an entertaining concoction of probiotic and high-tech ingredients...This is a funny, effervescent book told in the first person and given full range by Therese Plummer, whose youthful voice captures the matter-of-fact nature of Lois's unjaded, scientific temperament and the dizzying ups and downs of her spirits." —... Read More »

Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Severance

A Novel
By Ling Ma
Narrated by Nancy Wu /  9 hours 53 minutes

Severance

“Candace Chen is a first-generation Chinese millennial immigrant who tries to make a life in New York City by succumbing to the role of the office drone who helps create cheap bibles. But when Shen Fever—a plague that causes its victims to perform a rote task until death—hits, only a few survive, including Candace. She soon finds herself in a cult-like band of other survivors heading to the Midwest while also trying to come to terms with her past and the unknowns of her future. With dark humor, sharp intelligence, and compassion, Ling Ma has written a well-constructed, biting satire of capitalism and a moving glimpse into the roles of memory, place, and identity in a life.”

Kelsey Westenberg image Kelsey Westenberg, The Dial Bookshop
Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Simple Wild

A Novel
By K.A. Tucker
Narrated by Rebekkah Ross /  12 hours 33 minutes

City girl Calla Fletcher attempts to reconnect with her estranged father, and unwittingly finds herself torn between her desire to return to the bustle of Toronto and a budding relationship with a rugged Alaskan pilot in this masterful new romance from acclaimed author K.A. Tucker.

Calla Fletcher was two when her mother took her and fled the... Read More »

Price:

$27.59 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Family Upstairs

A Novel
By Lisa Jewell
Narrated by Tamaryn Payne, Bea Holland & Dominic Thorburn /  9 hours 36 minutes

Family Upstairs

“This intriguing story combines classic mystery elements with touches of domestic suspense and all around creepiness. The audiobook uses three different narrators, which provides for a further immersive experience. The three different perspectives are intertwined in a unique way allowing us to watch as three different lives hurtle toward their intersection. Libby and Lucy’s experience in the present are shared through third person narration while Henry’s first person narrating provides his account of the past with an occasional interjection of his perspective of the events unfolding in the present. With a string of bread crumbs along the way, the climax is somewhat inevitable, but some assumptions you will probably make along the way are smashed as the final unexpected twists are revealed.”

Bright Side Bookshop image Cori, Bright Side Bookshop
Price:

$27.59 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Reasons to Stay Alive

By Matt Haig
Narrated by Matt Haig /  4 hours 13 minutes

Like nearly one in five people, Matt Haig suffers from depression. Reasons to Stay Alive is his inspiring account of how, minute by minute and day by day, he overcame the disease with the help of reading, writing, and the love of his parents and his girlfriend (now wife), Andrea. And eventually, he learned to appreciate life all the more for... Read More »

Price:

$16.09 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Bride Test

By Helen Hoang
Narrated by Emily Woo Zeller /  10 hours

The Bride Test

“This follow-up to The Kiss Quotient is an incredibly diverse and fun story about Khai, Michael’s cousin from the previous novel. He is Vietnamese-American, autistic, and believes himself to be incapable of the emotions that matter. I would recommend this to those who enjoyed The Rosie Effect and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine. Hoang is making important waves, one sweet, sexy romance novel at a time.”

Books Around the Corner image Stephanie Csaszar, Books Around the Corner
Price:

$24.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

If, Then

A Novel
By Kate Hope Day
Narrated by Rebecca Lowman /  8 hours 31 minutes

If, Then

“I devoured this book. Reading about these characters felt like stepping right into other lives, with all of the messiness of human striving and relationships. If, Then is a beautiful novel for this alone, but when each character begins to see visions they don’t understand, the book takes on a new sense of urgency. Driven by its characters and with a masterfully written thread of speculative fiction, If, Then is a moving look at how events large and small and the choices we make carve our unique lives out of the infinite number of possible lives that could have been.”

Literati Bookstore image Kelsey O'Rourke, Literati Bookstore
Price:

$24.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership
These Audiobooks Give 100% of Proceeds to Local Bookstores Browse Now