Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
The Book Jam Summer Reading List

The Book Jam Summer Reading List

Ahhh summer, a time when longer days provide extra daylight to read and road trips to listen to audiobooks. Here's the Book Jam’s annual list of audiobooks for the beach, lake, mountains, and/or your own backyard or apartment roof.

Playlist Tags: Norwich Bookstore

View all playlists

The Nightingale

A Novel

By Kristin Hannah
Narrated by: Polly Stone
Length: 17 hours 19 minutes

In love we find out who we want to be.
In war we find out who we are.

FRANCE, 1939

In the quiet village of Carriveau, Vianne Mauriac says goodbye to her husband, Antoine, as he heads for the Front. She doesn't believe that the Nazis will invade France...but invade they do, in droves of marching soldiers, in caravans of trucks and tanks, in planes...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Lily and the Octopus

By Steven Rowley
Narrated by: Michael Urie
Length: 8 hours 3 minutes

Lily and the Octopus

“Lily and the Octopus is a profound book about all the important things in life -- love, how to let go, how important it is to live in the moment, and how one big love can lead to another. And Lily, dear Lily, is at the center -- a smart, movie-loving dog who would never pass up the chance at some good ice cream, tofurkey dinner, or beaming her unconditional love at her human companion, Ted. Told with humor, compassion, and a quirky sense of life's possibilities, Lily and the Octopus will hold you by the heart long after the final page is turned.”

University Book Store image Pam Cady, University Book Store
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Our Souls at Night

A novel

By Kent Haruf
Narrated by: Mark Bramhall
Length: 3 hours 28 minutes

Our Souls at Night

“A charming, bittersweet tale of aging, loneliness and connection. Graceful, tender, and both uplifting and sad.”

Bookstore1Sarasota image Andrea, Bookstore1Sarasota
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

Sweetbitter

A Novel

By Stephanie Danler
Narrated by: Alex McKenna
Length: 12 hours 23 minutes

INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER  *  A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan.  Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter

Twenty-two, and knowing... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Nest

By Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney
Narrated by: Mia Barron
Length: 11 hours 6 minutes

The Nest

“Welcome to the strikingly dysfunctional Plumb family: four siblings connected by little more than 'The Nest,' a joint trust fund that each has earmarked to support their unrealistic lifestyles. When Leo, the older brother and the center of the Plumb family universe, injures himself and a 19-year-old waitress in a scandalous car accident and endangers 'The Nest' just months before the funds are to be made available, the siblings come together for damage control. Sweeney artfully touches on each family member as they scramble to save the precarious lives they have built for themselves, bringing light and humor to her characters' various plights. Funny, thoughtful, and filled with unique and complex characters -- this book is a must-read.”

University Book Store image Jennifer Oleinik, University Book Store
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Eligible

A modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice

By Curtis Sittenfeld
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 13 hours 20 minutes

Eligible

“It is a universally acknowledged truth that a retelling of Pride and Prejudice must be cleverly written and wickedly funny. Sittenfeld has accomplished that and more with her fantastic new novel. The Bennet sisters have been transported to modern day Cincinnati. Jane is a yoga instructor; Liz, a writer for a women's magazine; Lydia and Kitty do nothing but work out; and Mary spends most of her time in her room. The two older sisters live in New York, but have come home to check on Mr. Bennet, who is recovering from a heart attack. The storyline is one that will be familiar to most Austen readers, but with some extremely funny twists.”

Sharon Nagel image Sharon Nagel, Boswell Book Company
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A Spool of Blue Thread

A novel

By Anne Tyler
Narrated by: Kimberly Farr
Length: 13 hours 18 minutes

Short-listed for the Man Booker Prize 

“It was a beautiful, breezy, yellow-and-green afternoon. . .” This is how Abby Whitshank always begins the story of how she fell in love with Red that day in July 1959. The Whitshanks are one of those families that radiate togetherness: an indefinable, enviable kind of specialness. But they are also like all...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Girl in the Spider's Web

A Lisbeth Salander novel, continuing Stieg Larsson's Millennium Series
Millennium Series: Book #4

By David Lagercrantz
Narrated by: Simon Vance
Length: 13 hours 22 minutes

Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist return
 
She is the girl with the dragon tattoo—a genius hacker and uncompromising misfit. He is a crusading journalist whose championing of the truth often brings him to the brink of prosecution.

Late one night, Blomkvist receives a phone call from a source claiming to have information vital to the United...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

When Breath Becomes Air

By Paul Kalanithi
Narrated by: Sunil Malhotra & Cassandra Campbell
Length: 5 hours 34 minutes

When Breath Becomes Air

“With a message both mournful and life-affirming, When Breath Becomes Air chronicles a young doctor's journey from literature student to promising neurosurgeon and finally to a patient in his own hospital after being diagnosed with Stage IV lung cancer. Always profound, never sentimental, this important book refuses to take refuge in platitudes, instead facing mortality with honesty and humility. Written in engaging prose and filled with penetrating insights, this story is relevant to everyone and will captivate fans of memoir, literature, philosophy, and popular science alike. Lyrical passages of great beauty and vulnerability are deftly balanced by bright, candid moments of joy and even humor. Come prepared with plenty of tissues; over and over again this exquisite book will break your heart.”

Carmen Tracey image Carmen Tracey, Loganberry Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Dead Wake

The Last Crossing of the Lusitania

By Erik Larson
Narrated by: Scott Brick
Length: 13 hours 3 minutes

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the bestselling author and master of narrative nonfiction comes the enthralling story of the sinking of the Lusitania

“Both terrifying and enthralling.”—Entertainment Weekly
Thrilling, dramatic and powerful.—NPR
Thoroughly engrossing.—George R.R. Martin


On May 1, 1915, with WWI entering its tenth month, a... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Salt to the Sea

By Ruta Sepetys
Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris & Michael Crouch
Length: 8 hours 46 minutes

New York Times Bestseller! "Masterly crafted"The Wall Street Journal

For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account