Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started

Book Girl Magic

All things bookish and Black Girl Magic!

Their Eyes Were Watching God

By Zora Neale Hurston
Narrated by Ruby Dee /  6 hours 44 minutes

“A deeply soulful novel that comprehends love and cruelty, and separates the big people from the small of heart, without ever losing sympathy for those unfortunates who don’t know how to live properly.” —Zadie Smith

One of the most important and enduring books of the twentieth century, Their Eyes Were Watching God brings to life a Southern love... Read More »

Price:

$24.14 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Hate U Give

By Angie Thomas
Narrated by Bahni Turpin /  11 hours 40 minutes

The Hate U Give

“This bestselling, powerful young adult novel about social justice and one teen girl's effort to fight for what is right, will leave you breathless. The narration by Bahni Turpin is hands down the best I've ever heard. This is such an important book it should be required reading for life in general. Or listening. Definitely listening.”

Tattered Cover image Kristen, Tattered Cover
Price:

$29.89 USD

Get for Free with Membership

We're Going to Need More Wine

Stories That Are Funny, Complicated, and True
By Gabrielle Union
Narrated by Gabrielle Union /  7 hours 48 minutes

We're Going to Need More Wine

“Gabrielle Union is smart, funny, articulate and honest. She's also an excellent reader.I loved hearing her takes on growing up in a mostly white town, her experiences in Hollywood, about being in the room where it happens (or not, as the case may be). And, about owning her faults. I would love to sit down and have a glass of wine (or two) with her.”

Belmont Books image Audrey, Belmont Books
Price:

$25.29 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Black Enough

By Ibi Zoboi, Tracey Baptiste, Coleen Booth, Dhonielle Clayton, Brandy Colbert, Jay Coles, Lamar Giles, Leah Henderson, Justina Ireland, Varian Johnson, Kekla Magoon, Tochi Onyebuchi, Jason Reynolds, Nic Stone, Liara Tamani, Renée Watson & Rita Williams-Garcia
Narrated by Bahni Turpin & Ron Butler /  11 hours 14 minutes

Edited by National Book Award finalist Ibi Zoboi, and featuring some of the most acclaimed bestselling Black authors writing for teens today—Black Enough is an essential collection of captivating stories about what it’s like to be young and Black in America.

Black is...sisters navigating their relationship at summer camp in Portland, Oregon, as... Read More »

Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Bluest Eye

By Toni Morrison
Narrated by Toni Morrison /  7 hours 5 minutes

The Bluest Eye, published in 1970, is the first novel written by Toni Morrison, winner of the 1993 Nobel Prize in Literature.

It is the story of eleven-year-old Pecola Breedlove--a black girl in an America whose love for its blond, blue-eyed children can devastate all others--who prays for her eyes to turn blue: so that she will be beautiful, so... Read More »

Price:

$24.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Wedding Date

By Jasmine Guillory
Narrated by Janina Edwards /  8 hours 28 minutes

A groomsman and his last-minute guest are about to discover if a fake date can go the distance in this fun and flirty multicultural romance debut by New York Times bestselling author Jasmine Guillory—author of the Resse Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick The Proposal.

THE USA TODAY BESTSELLER
#5 LibraryReads Pick

“A swoony rom-com brimming...
Read More »

Price:

$24.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Becoming

By Michelle Obama
Narrated by Michelle Obama /  19 hours 1 minute

Becoming

“I adore our former president and I miss him. Yet I cannot help but be ecstatic that Michelle is coming out with a book about her own life so that I can learn more about this powerful, intelligent, and singularly awesome woman. Barack would be the first to say that his wife is a superstar, and I can’t wait to get my hands on Becoming to read about her in her own words.”

Bookshop Santa Cruz image Jax, Bookshop Santa Cruz
Price:

$35.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Odd One Out

By Nic Stone
Narrated by Dion Graham, Kim Mai Guest & Nic Stone /  7 hours 57 minutes

From the New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It's Us.

Courtney Cooper and Jupiter Sanchez (Coop & Jupe!) have been next-door neighbors and best friends since they were seven-years-old. She's his... Read More »

Price:

$32.20 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Well-Read Black Girl

Finding Our Stories, Discovering Ourselves
By Glory Edim
Narrated by Glory Edim /  5 hours 6 minutes

An inspiring collection of essays by black women writers, curated by the founder of the popular book club Well-Read Black Girl, on the importance of recognizing ourselves in literature.

Remember that moment when you first encountered a character who seemed to be written just for you? That feeling of belonging remains with readers the rest of... Read More »

Price:

$21.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Washington Black

A novel
By Esi Edugyan
Narrated by Dion Graham /  12 hours 18 minutes

Washington Black

“From sweltering Barbados to London streets, Arctic ice to Moroccan heat, skies above to depths below, fear to love and back again, again, again. Esi Edugyan’s epic new historical novel follows the young Washington Black from the unrelenting brutality of slavery to the edges of the world as he searches for freedom, finding the complexities of the world, of the heart, and of humanity. A journey that vividly lingers long after turning the last page.”

Bookshop Santa Cruz image Jocelyn, Bookshop Santa Cruz
Price:

$31.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry

Logan Family Saga
By Mildred D. Taylor
Narrated by Lynne Thigpen & Jacqueline Woodson /  7 hours 27 minutes

Mildred D. Taylor's Newbery Award-winning masterpiece with an introduction written and read by Jacqueline Woodson, just in time for its 40th Anniversary! 

Set in Mississippi at the height of the Depression, this is the story of one family's struggle to maintain their integrity, pride, and independence in the face of racism and social injustice.... Read More »

Price:

$23.80 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Eloquent Rage

A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower
By Brittney Cooper
Narrated by Brittney Cooper /  6 hours 57 minutes

"...Cooper delivers a frank, conversational-style examination of the importance of black female friendships, respectability politics, and harmful stereotypes, among other topics. She blends candor and humor as she roots out toxic behaviors and beliefs we use in America to tear ourselves and each other down, while also offering paths forward.... Read More »

Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Kindred

By Octavia E. Butler
Narrated by Kim Staunton /  10 hours 54 minutes

The first science fiction written by a Black woman, Kindred has become a cornerstone of Black American literature. This combination of slave memoir, fantasy, and historical fiction is a novel of rich literary complexity. Having just celebrated her 26th birthday in 1976 California, Dana, an African-American woman, is suddenly and inexplicably... Read More »

Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Warmth of Other Suns

The Epic Story of America's Great Migration
By Isabel Wilkerson
Narrated by Robin Miles /  22 hours 40 minutes

In this epic, beautifully written masterwork, Pulitzer Prize–winning author Isabel Wilkerson chronicles one of the great untold stories of American history: the decades-long migration of black citizens who fled the South for northern and western cities, in search of a better life.

NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD WINNER
LYNTON HISTORY PRIZE... Read More »

Price:

$23.39 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The New Jim Crow

Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness
By Michelle Alexander
Narrated by Karen Chilton /  13 hours 15 minutes

Civil rights advocate and accomplished lawyer Michelle Alexander broaches a topic worthy of national conversation. Alexander argues that criminals convicted by our justice system face the same obstacles- legal discrimination and disenfranchisement- African Americans faced during the Jim Crow era. ''Carefully researched, deeply engaging, and... Read More »

Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Men We Reaped

A Memoir
By Jesmyn Ward
Narrated by Cherise Boothe /  8 hours 42 minutes

"We saw the lightning and that was the guns; and then we heard the thunder and that was the big guns; and then we heard the rain falling and that was the blood falling; and when we came to get in the crops, it was dead men that we reaped." --Harriet Tubman"In five years, Jesmyn Ward lost five young men in her life--to drugs, accidents, suicide,... Read More »

Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Black Girls Rock!

Owning Our Magic. Rocking Our Truth.
By Beverly Bond
Narrated by Beverly Bond /  7 hours 34 minutes

From the award-winning entrepreneur, culture leader, and creator of the BLACK GIRLS ROCK! movement comes an inspiring and beautifully designed book that pays tribute to the achievements and contributions of black women around the world.

Fueled by the insights of women of diverse backgrounds, including Michelle Obama, Angela Davis, Shonda Rhimes,... Read More »

Price:

$20.69 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Queenie

By Candice Carty-Williams
Narrated by Shvorne Marks /  9 hours 45 minutes

Queenie

“This was excellent on so many levels. It's been comped as a Bridget Jones + Americanah. But, I think that description does all three books a disservice. Queenie does have some LOL moments but it's has many more serious moments and issues. I listened to this and much of the listen, I was stressed as AF for Queenie. I listened to her make terrible decisions and choices and I listened to her hit rock bottom. And, the whole time, I was rooting for her to just get better. There are so many intersections of race, harassment, coming of age and friendships that it made it a satisfying read. And, just as important, the reader was FANTASTIC.”

Belmont Books image Audrey, Belmont Books
Price:

$27.59 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Freedom is a Constant Struggle

Ferguson, Palestine, and the Foundations of a Movement
By Angela Y. Davis
Narrated by Angela Davis & Coleen Marlo /  5 hours 47 minutes

In these newly collected essays, interviews, and speeches, world-renowned activist and scholar Angela Y. Davis illuminates the connections between struggles against state violence and oppression throughout history and around the world. Reflecting on the importance of black feminism, intersectionality, and prison abolitionism for today's... Read More »

Price:

$18.39 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Sun is Also a Star

By Nicola Yoon
Narrated by Bahni Turpin, Raymond Lee & Dominic Hoffman /  8 hours 3 minutes

Now a major motion picture starring Yara Shahidi and Charles Melton! The #1 New York Times bestseller and National Book Award Finalist from the bestselling author of Everything, Everything will have you falling in love with Natasha and Daniel as they fall in love with each other.

Natasha:
I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate.... Read More »

Price:

$32.20 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener