Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started

Black History Month Listens

Black History Month reads for everyone from middle grade to adults, curated by The Winged Pen.

The Crossover

By Kwame Alexander
Narrated by Corey Allen /  2 hours 16 minutes

Fourteen-year-old twin basketball stars Josh and Jordan wrestle with highs and lows on and off the court as their father ignores his declining health. Review Quotes: "This novel in verse is rich in character and relationships. . . . Poet Alexander deftly reveals the power of the format to pack an emotional punch." --"Kirkus, " starred review... Read More »

Price:

$12.64 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Booked

By Kwame Alexander
Narrated by Kwame Alexander /  2 hours 26 minutes

In this middle grade novel-in-verse by the Newbery Medal-winning and Coretta Scott King Honor Award-winning author of "The Crossover," soccer, family, love, and friendship take center stage as twelve-year-old Nick learns the power of words as he wrestles with problems at home, stands up to a bully, and tries to impress the girl of his dreams. Read More »

Price:

$12.64 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Stella by Starlight

By Sharon M. Draper
Narrated by Heather Alicia Simms /  6 hours 45 minutes

2016 Audie Award Finalist for Middle Grade

When the Ku Klux Klan’s unwelcome reappearance rattles Stella’s segregated southern town, bravery battles prejudice in this New York Times bestselling Depression-era “novel that soars” (The New York Times Book Review) that School Library Journal called “storytelling at its finest” in a starred... Read More »

Price:

$17.24 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Out of My Mind

By Sharon M. Draper
Narrated by Sisi Aisha Johnson /  6 hours 49 minutes

Over 1.5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks.

Out of My Mind spent two years on the New York Times bestseller list!

“If there’s one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind should be it.” —Denver Post
“A gutsy, candid,... Read More »

Price:

$20.69 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Long Way Down

By Jason Reynolds
Narrated by Jason Reynolds /  1 hour 43 minutes

2018 Odyssey Honor Audiobook
A YALSA 2018 Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults Selection
ALSC 2018 Notable Children’s Recordings List
A Newbery Honor Book
A Coretta Scott King Honor Book
A Printz Honor Book
A Los Angeles Times Book Prize Winner for Young Adult Literature
Longlisted for the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature
Winner... Read More »

Price:

$11.49 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Ghost

Track: Book #1
By Jason Reynolds
Narrated by Guy Lockard /  3 hours 29 minutes

A National Book Award Finalist for Young People’s Literature.
Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read.


Ghost wants to be the fastest sprinter on his elite middle school track team, but his past is slowing him down in this first electrifying novel of a brand-new series from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe... Read More »

Price:

$17.24 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Patina

Track: Book #2
By Jason Reynolds
Narrated by Heather Alicia Simms /  5 hours 46 minutes

2018 Audie Award Finalist for Middle Grade

A YALSA 2018 Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults Selection

ALSC 2018 Notable Children’s Recordings List

A New York Times Notable Children’s Book

A newbie to the track team, Patina must learn to rely on her teammates as she tries to outrun her personal demons in this follow-up to the National Book Award... Read More »

Price:

$17.24 USD

Get for Free with Membership

As Brave As You

By Jason Reynolds
Narrated by Guy Lockard /  7 hours 1 minute

Kirkus Award Finalist
Schneider Family Book Award Winner
Coretta Scott King Author Honor Book

When two brothers decide to prove how brave they are, everything backfires—literally—in this “pitch-perfect contemporary novel” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) by the winner of the Coretta Scott King – John Steptoe Award.

Genie’s summer is full of... Read More »

Price:

$20.69 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Mesmerist

By Ronald L. Smith
Narrated by Colleen Prendergast /  6 hours 7 minutes

Thirteen-year-old Jessamine Grace and her mother make a living as sham spiritualists-until they discover that Jess is a mesmerist and that she really can talk to the dead. Soon she is plunged into the dark world of Victorian London's supernatural underbelly and learns that the city is under attack by ghouls, monsters, and spirit summoners. Can... Read More »

Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Hoodoo

By Ronald L. Smith
Narrated by Ron Butler /  5 hours 31 minutes

Twelve-year-old Hoodoo Hatcher was born into a family with a rich tradition of practicing folk magic: hoodoo, as most people call it. But even though his name is Hoodoo, he can't seem to cast a simple spell. When a mysterious man called the Stranger comes to town, Hoodoo starts dreaming of the dead rising from their graves. Even worse, he soon... Read More »

Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Black Panther

The Young Prince
By Ronald L. Smith
Narrated by Dion Graham /  5 hours 44 minutes

Black Panther. Ruler of Wakanda. Avenger.

This is his destiny. But right now, he's simply T'Challa-the young prince.


Life is comfortable for twelve-year-old T'Challa in his home of Wakanda, an isolated, technologically advanced African nation. When he's not learning how to rule a kingdom from his father-the reigning Black Panther-or testing out... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Brown Girl Dreaming

By Jacqueline Woodson
Narrated by Jacqueline Woodson /  3 hours 54 minutes

New York Times bestseller and National Book Award winner

Jacqueline Woodson, the acclaimed author of Another Brooklyn, tells the moving story of her childhood in mesmerizing verse. 
 
Raised in South Carolina and New York, Woodson always felt halfway home in each place. In vivid poems, she shares what it was like to grow up as an African... Read More »

Price:

$21.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Stars Beneath Our Feet

By David Barclay Moore
Narrated by Nile Bullock & David Barclay Moore /  6 hours 19 minutes

"The right story at the right time. . . . It’s not just a narrative; it’s an experience. It’s the novel we’ve been waiting for." —The New York Times

A boy tries to steer a safe path through the projects in Harlem in the wake of his brother’s death in this outstanding debut novel that celebrates community and creativity.

** WINNER OF THE CORETTA... Read More »

Price:

$25.20 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Towers Falling

By Jewell Parker Rhodes
Narrated by Jewell Parker Rhodes /  4 hours 10 minutes

From award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes comes a powerful novel set fifteen years after the 9/11 attacks.

When her fifth-grade teacher hints that a series of lessons about home and community will culminate with one big answer about two tall towers once visible outside their classroom window, Dèja can't help but feel confused. She sets off... Read More »

Price:

$25.28 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Bayou Magic

By Jewell Parker Rhodes
Narrated by Bahni Turpin /  4 hours 46 minutes

It's Maddy's turn to have a bayou summer. At first she misses life back home in the city, but soon she grows to love everything about her new surroundings -- the glimmering fireflies, the glorious landscape, and something else, deep within the water, that only Maddy sees. Could it be a mermaid? As her grandmother shares wisdom about sayings and... Read More »

Price:

$14.94 USD

Get for Free with Membership

A Poem for Peter

The Story of Ezra Jack Keats and the Creation of the Snowy Day
By Andrea Davis Pinkney
Narrated by Channie Waites /  34 minutes

On the 100th anniversary of his birth, a celebration of the extraordinary life of Ezra Jack Keats, creator of The Snowy Day. Andrea Davis Pinkney's powerful and poetic text tells the story of Ezra Jack Keats, who was born in Brooklyn in 1916, and grew up in extreme poverty. Keats's artistic talent was recognized even in high school, but his... Read More »

Price:

$7.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Red Pencil

By Andrea Davis Pinkney
Narrated by Shane W. Evans /  3 hours 12 minutes

"Amira, look at me," Muma insists. She collects both my hands in hers. "The Janjaweed attack without warning. If ever they come-- run."

Finally, Amira is twelve. Old enough to wear a toob, old enough for new responsibilities. And maybe old enough to go to school in Nyala-- Amira's one true dream.

But life in her peaceful Sudanese village is... Read More »

Price:

$25.28 USD

Get for Free with Membership

One Crazy Summer

By Rita Williams-Garcia
Narrated by Sisi Aisha Johnson /  5 hours 9 minutes

Eleven-year-old Delphine and her younger sisters Vonetta and Fern travel to Oakland to meet their mother, Cecile, who abandoned their family years earlier. But even when Cecile gets them to her house, she shows no interest and seems to view them as nothing but a nuisance. Cecile's cold, unloving attitude leaves the girls wishing for the... Read More »

Price:

$18.39 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground

By Rita Williams-Garcia
Narrated by Adam Lazarre-White /  3 hours 44 minutes

From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander.

Clayton feels most alive when he’s with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen—he can’t wait to... Read More »

Price:

$16.09 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Garvey's Choice

By Nikki Grimes
Narrated by James Shippy /  51 minutes

Garvey's father has always wanted Garvey to be athletic, but Garvey is interested in astronomy, science fiction, reading-anything but sports. Feeling like a failure, he comforts himself with food. Garvey is kind, funny, smart, a loyal friend, and he is also overweight, teased by bullies, and lonely. When his only friend encourages him to join... Read More »

Price:

$7.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener