Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started
Gift any 3, 6, or 12 month audiobook membership and get Circe for Free! Learn More

Beyond Book Club

On the last Thursday of every month at 6:00 pm at the Tattered Cover Bookstore in Aspen Grove, we host the Beyond Book Club: Recommended Readings Book Talk—a monthly presentation of AG bookseller's recent reads and recommends. As well as taking home a list of potential new titles, this talk involves give-aways/raffles, discounted titles, and of course free snacks and drinks.

The Gown

A Novel of the Royal Wedding
By Jennifer Robson
Narrated by Marisa Calin /  11 hours 37 minutes

The Gown

““Ann and Miriam are working for Norman Hartwell as embroiderers in 1947 when his firm receives a commission to create the wedding gown for Princess Elizabeth. As the two become best friends, we learn about their lives before the war and follow them as the gown is created. A fascinating look at life in post-WWII England, a time of both deprivation and joy as the country celebrates the wedding of their princess.”

The Country Bookshop image Beth Carpenter, The Country Bookshop
Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Tiny Beautiful Things

Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar
By Cheryl Strayed
Narrated by Cheryl Strayed /  9 hours 39 minutes

This bestselling book from the author of Wild collects the best of The Rumpus's Dear Sugar advice columns plus never-before-published pieces. Rich with humor, insight, compassion—and absolute honesty—this book is a balm for everything life throws our way.

Life can be hard: your lover cheats on you; you lose a family member; you can’t pay the... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Olive, Again (Oprah's Book Club)

A Novel
By Elizabeth Strout
Narrated by Kimberly Farr /  12 hours 14 minutes

Olive, Again (Oprah's Book Club)

“Thank goodness Elizabeth Strout decided to return for another round with one of the most beloved, maddening, confounding, and compelling characters I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Readers will delight in the fact that Olive, while forging new relationships and puzzling over long-existing ones, remains the crazy, complicated family member you just can’tquit. Add in spareyet beautifully rendered prose about the rugged, breathtaking state of Maine and you’ve got a gem of a book, one that leaves you rooting for Olive, despite her numerous shortcomings, as she stumbles through love, friendship, loss, and what it means to growold. Strout, through Olive, reminds us that it’s a messy business being human, but it’s a privilege to be along for the ride.”

Barrett Bookstore image Page Berger, Barrett Bookstore
Price:

$31.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Library of Lost and Found

By Phaedra Patrick
Narrated by Imogen Church /  10 hours 28 minutes

A librarian’s discovery of a mysterious book sparks the journey of a lifetime in the delightful new novel from the international bestselling author of The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper

Librarian Martha Storm has always found it easier to connect with books than people—though not for lack of trying. She keeps careful lists of how to help others... Read More »

Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Always Look on the Bright Side of Life

A Sortabiography
By Eric Idle
Narrated by Eric Idle /  8 hours 12 minutes

From the ingenious comic performer, founding member of Monty Python, and creator of Spamalot, comes an absurdly funny memoir of unparalleled wit and heartfelt candor

We know him best for his unforgettable roles on Monty Python--from the Flying Circus to The Meaning of Life. Now, Eric Idle reflects on the meaning of his own life in this... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead

A Novel
By Olga Tokarczuk & Antonia Lloyd-Jones
Narrated by Beata Pozniak /  11 hours 39 minutes

Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead

“Janina is an eccentric middle-aged woman who translates William Blake, studies astrology, and is acutely attuned to the wilderness around her in rural Poland. When hunters and poachers begin to be gruesomely murdered, Janina informs the police that the animals are responsible. As the bodies mount, so does her involvement with the mystery, although her status as a crank and possible madwoman ensures that she’s ignored. This is an extraordinary and disturbing tale — a mystery that becomes more complex as the story continues, accompanied by Janina’s often witty observations on man, nature, justice, and identity. The ending of this hard-to-categorize novel, a finalist for the 2019 Man Booker International Prize, will knock the breath out of you. Don’t miss this excellent translated work from an award-winning writer!”

The River's End Bookstore image Cindy Pauldine, The River's End Bookstore
Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

A Memory Called Empire

Teixcalaan: Book #1
By Arkady Martine
Narrated by Amy Landon /  15 hours 36 minutes

"A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All around brilliant space opera, I absolutely love it."—Ann Leckie, author of Ancillary Justice

Ambassador Mahit Dzmare arrives in the center of the multi-system Teixcalaanli Empire only to discover that her predecessor, the previous ambassador... Read More »

Price:

$37.94 USD

Get for Free with Membership

This Tender Land

By William Kent Krueger
Narrated by Scott Brick /  14 hours 19 minutes

This Tender Land

“The work of a master storyteller about the making of a young storyteller, This Tender Land is a coming-of-age novel for the ages. It begins in an isolated Dickensian boarding school in Minnesota during the early years of the Depression, then morphs into the story of four runaways in a canoe à la Huckleberry Finn. On the run from their school headmistress and the law, they encounter other wanderers and escapees from life as they canoe towards St. Louis to find their only known relative and a possible home. Odie, his brother Albert, their schoolmate Mose, and newly orphaned Emmy are unforgettable characters in an unforgiving era. Epic, thrilling, and beautifully written, this is storytelling at its very best.”

The Bookstore of Glen Ellyn image Renee Barker, The Bookstore of Glen Ellyn
Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Who Are You, Calvin Bledsoe?

A Novel
By Brock Clarke
Narrated by Peter Berkrot /  7 hours 47 minutes

Who Are You, Calvin Bledsoe?

“Brock Clarke is a genius. His writing is consistently brilliant and stylish, which makes the quiet moments of human understanding even more striking. I LOVE this book — it is unexpected (like all his work — how can that be?), surprising, and profoundly moving. Fans of Jim Shepard and George Saunders will love Clarke and his new book about a middle-aged man whose discovery of a secret aunt (is she a spy? a fake? his mom? crazy?) leads him across Europe in pursuit of... well, he isn’t quite sure yet. I laughed out loud, I chortled, I snickered quietly, I gasped. I can see putting this book into the hands of fans of Less by Andrew Sean Greer and Where’d You Go Bernadette— readers who like to be surprised.”

Newtonville Books image Mary Cotton, Newtonville Books
Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Lakota America

A New History of Indigenous Power
By Pekka Hamalainen
Narrated by Joe Barrett /  17 hours 34 minutes

The first comprehensive history of the Lakota Indians and their profound role in shaping America's history This first complete account of the Lakota Indians traces their rich and often surprising history from the early sixteenth to the early twenty-first century. Pekka Hämäläinen explores the Lakotas' roots as marginal hunter-gatherers and... Read More »

Price:

$34.49 USD

Get for Free with Membership
Get Circe Free with Gift Membership Purchase Learn More