Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started

Bethany Beach Books Staff Picks

Staff picks from the booksellers at Bethany Beach Books!

The Phantom Tollbooth

By Norton Juster
Narrated by Rainn Wilson & Norton Juster /  4 hours 40 minutes

Hailed as "a classic. . . . humorous, full of warmth and real invention" (The New Yorker), this beloved story--first published more than fifty ago--introduces readers to Milo and his adventures in the Lands Beyond.

For Milo, everything's a bore. When a tollbooth mysteriously appears in his room, he drives through only because he's got nothing... Read More »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Silent Patient

By Alex Michaelides
Narrated by Jack Hawkins & Louise Brealey /  8 hours 43 minutes

The Silent Patient

“In “The Silent Patient”, a masterfully maniacal mystery set in London, Alex Michaelides manages to manipulate the most sleuthful and it’s magnificent! Meet artist Alicia and her photographer husband Gabriel, happily married for seven years until one evening, they were not. Convicted of killing Gabriel, a guilty Alicia is sentenced to a mental institution where she has spent the past six years, silent, never uttering a single word since her vicious act. Enter Theo, a psychotherapist slightly obsessed with Alicia’s case and quietness. Can Theo unleash Alicia’s closely guarded secrets without suffering the consequences or will her madness destroy him and all he has overcome? It’s an edge-of-your-seat psychological thriller sure to keep you questioning until the very end. And, then some… ”

McLean & Eakin Booksellers image Kristin Bates, McLean & Eakin Booksellers
Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Chain

By Adrian McKinty
Narrated by January LaVoy /  10 hours 8 minutes

The Chain

“Adrian McKinty goes deviously dark with her thriller, The Chain. Psychologically exhausting, The Chain drags the reader around like a run-away horse drags a rider! Fans of suspense should put this book right at the top of their TBR piles. Really well read by January LaVoy, it's a great book to listen to on Libro.fm.”

Anderson's Bookshop image Mary, Anderson's Bookshop
Price:

$29.88 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Snow Child

A Novel
By Eowyn Ivey
Narrated by Therese Plummer /  10 hours 56 minutes

In this magical debut, a couple's lives are changed forever by the arrival of a little girl, wild and secretive, on their snowy doorstep

Alaska, 1920: a brutal place to homestead, and especially tough for recent arrivals Jack and Mabel. Childless, they are drifting apart--he breaking under the weight of the work of the farm; she crumbling from... Read More »

Price:

$28.73 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Wizards of Once

The Wizards of Once: Book #1
By Cressida Cowell
Narrated by David Tennant /  5 hours 56 minutes

In the first book of a new series by the internationally bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon, the warring worlds of Wizards and Warriors collide in a thrilling and enchanting adventure.

Once there were Wizards, who were Magic, and Warriors, who were not. But Xar, son of the King of Wizards, can't cast a single spell. And Wish,... Read More »

Price:

$4.99 USD

Retail Price (USD): $28.73

Discount: 83%

Get for Free with Membership

The Alchemist

By Paulo Coelho
Narrated by Jeremy Irons /  4 hours

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho continues to change the lives of its readers forever. With more than two million copies sold around the world, The Alchemist has established itself as a modern classic, universally admired.

Paulo Coelho’s masterpiece tells the magical story of Santiago, an Andalusian shepherd boy who yearns to travel in search of a... Read More »

Price:

$24.14 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Mysterious Benedict Society

Mysterious Benedict Society: Book #1
By Trenton Lee Stewart
Narrated by Del Roy /  13 hours 15 minutes

ARE YOU A GIFTED CHILD Looking for special opportunities?

When this peculiar ad appears in the newspaper, dozens of children enroll to take a series of mysterious, mind-bending tests. (And you, dear listener, can test your wits right alongside them.) But in the end just four very special children will succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret... Read More »

Price:

$35.70 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Leah on the Offbeat

By Becky Albertalli
Narrated by Shannon Purser /  7 hours 5 minutes

#1 New York Times bestseller! Goodreads Choice Award for the best young adult novel of the year!

In this sequel to the acclaimed Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda—now a major motion picture, Love, Simon—we follow Simon’s BFF Leah as she grapples with changing friendships, first love, and senior year angst.

When it comes to drumming, Leah Burke is... Read More »

Price:

$24.14 USD

Get for Free with Membership

These Is My Words

The Diary of Sarah Agnes Prine, 1881-1901
By Nancy E. Turner
Narrated by Amy Rubinate /  13 hours 45 minutes

A moving, exciting, and heartfelt American saga inspired by the author's own family memoirs, these words belong to Sarah Prine, a woman of spirit and fire who forges a full and remarkable existence in a harsh, unfamiliar frontier. Scrupulously recording her steps down the path Providence has set her upon—from child to determined young adult to... Read More »

Price:

$25.29 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Salt to the Sea

By Ruta Sepetys
Narrated by Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris & Michael Crouch /  8 hours 46 minutes

New York Times Bestseller! "Masterly crafted"The Wall Street Journal

For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and... Read More »

Price:

$32.20 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Kept

A Novel
By James Scott
Narrated by Kate Udall /  12 hours 9 minutes

In the winter of 1897, Elspeth Howell treks across miles of snow and ice to the isolated farmstead in upstate New York where she and her husband have raised their five children. Her midwife's salary is tucked into the toes of her boots, and her pack is full of gifts for her family. But as she crests the final hill, and sees her darkened house... Read More »

Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Lovely Bones

Booktrack Edition
By Alice Sebold
Narrated by Alice Sebold /  10 hours 53 minutes

The critically acclaimed and commercially beloved novel about a young girl's murder in suburban Pennsylvania and her journey for justice from the afterlife.

Once in a generation a novel comes along that taps a vein of universal human experience, resonating with readers of all ages. THE LOVELY BONES is such a book -- a #1 bestseller celebrated... Read More »

Price:

$22.98 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Woman in the Window

A Novel
By A. J. Finn
Narrated by Ann Marie Lee /  13 hours 41 minutes

The Woman in the Window

“The Woman in the Window is being touted as one of the hottest releases of early 2018, and with excellent reason. A modern take on Hitchcock's Rear Window, with many nods to classic noir film, A.J. Finn's debut novel is told through the eyes of a narrator trapped inside her beautiful house by a severe case of agoraphobia and separated from her estranged husband and young daughter. She copes with her condition by spying on her neighbors and living vicariously through their drama, until the night she witnesses what appears to be a murder and finds herself swept up in its wake. Once this story gets rolling, it will bowl you over. Fans of psychological thrillers should take note of this banger of a tale!”

Schuler Books image Whitney Spotts, Schuler Books
Price:

$34.49 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Where the Crawdads Sing

By Delia Owens
Narrated by Cassandra Campbell /  12 hours 11 minutes

Where the Crawdads Sing

“Everyone that Kya has ever known has abandoned her. From the time that she was a young child she is left behind. After the student truancy officers track her down and get her to school the children laugh at her so she retreats to the only place that she feels normal - the marshland of North Carolina. She perseveres when she has every strike against her. She fends for herself and studies the natural surroundings of the marsh carefully. She paints and catalogs her collections, studies animal biology carefully, and becomes more in tune with nature than with the townspeople who call her "The Marsh Girl." Then one day the town's "golden boy" Chase Andrews ends up dead and Kya is the one that is suspected of killing him. The story that unfolds will draw you in - I was consumed with the story to the point where I could think about little else during the day because I had to know what happened next in the book. I laughed, I cried, I did fist pumps when things go well for Kya... this book infected me and I'm still having a tough time with the idea that the book is over. I'll carry these characters and this story with me for a long time.”

The Bookstore at Fitger's image Jennifer, The Bookstore at Fitger's
Price:

$24.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

By Abbi Waxman
Narrated by Emily Rankin /  9 hours 3 minutes

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

“What a joyous, charming, funny and beautiful celebration of books and the people who love them. There is so much detail in both the wonderful, wide-ranging cast of characters and in the setting. Quirky in the very best sense of the word. I will certainly return to the world of Nina Hill again and again.”

Leah Koch image Leah Koch, The Ripped Bodice
Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Chilbury Ladies' Choir

A Novel
By Jennifer Ryan
Narrated by Various /  11 hours 33 minutes

The Chilbury Ladies' Choir

“This gorgeous novel grabbed me from the very first page with laughter and kept me hooked with characters that are vivid and lovable. As each woman shares her place in the intrigue, romance, sorrow, and friendship of Chilbury and World War II through letters and diaries, their lives become increasingly real, until you can hardly believe this is fiction. At the center of the story is the indomitable Chilbury Ladies' Choir and when their individual triumphs and sorrows wind together during their performances, Ryan's writing reaches a soulful crescendo that will continue to echo in readers' hearts. Fans of Helen Simonson should not miss this beautiful debut.”

Parnassus Books image Grace Wright, Parnassus Books
Price:

$31.50 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener