Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Brilliant Books Staff Picks

Brilliant Books' staff are avid readers with a keen eye for quality literature and nonfiction for life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. Each bookseller has their own unique taste, but all appreciate smart, well-written books they can't help but recommend.

Playlist Tags: Brilliant Books Audio

View all playlists

Station Eleven

A novel

By Emily St. John Mandel
Narrated by: Kirsten Potter
Length: 10 hours 39 minutes

2014 National Book Award Finalist

A New York Times Bestseller


An audacious, darkly glittering novel set in the eerie days of civilization’s collapse, Station Eleven tells the spellbinding story of a Hollywood star, his would-be savior, and a nomadic group of actors roaming the scattered outposts of the Great Lakes region, risking everything for... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Fireman

A Novel

By Joe Hill
Narrated by: Kate Mulgrew
Length: 22 hours 18 minutes

The Fireman

“A pandemic called Dragonscale has infected civilization and threatens to end it. The contagion spreads quickly and people are spontaneously combusting. Harper Grayson is a nurse struggling to save those who are infected. When she contracts Dragonscale, Harper is rescued by an enigmatic man known only as The Fireman, who takes her to a camp populated by those who have learned to control their disease. Longtime fans of Hill and his father, Stephen King, will enjoy the homage to King's masterpiece The Stand, while new readers will appreciate Hill's work on its own merit.”

Sharon Nagel image Sharon Nagel, Boswell Book Company
Audiobook details

Sleeping Giants

The Themis Files: Book #1

By Sylvain Neuvel
Narrated by: Various
Length: 8 hours 27 minutes

Sleeping Giants

“Sleeping Giants reads like a military dossier, interview after interview given with the serious intent of laying out the scientific tale of a discovered history that will change everyone's lives forever. At the age of 10, Rose falls through a hole in the ground and lands in a large metal hand that had been buried. Seventeen years later, she is on the research team that seeks answers to the relic's source and the meaning behind its existence. Is it a weapon? Is it a threat to humanity? Or is it simply a mystery that will remain unsolved? Whatever it is, readers will enjoy this Prometheus-like look into our distant past and the excitement of forecasting the potential future of the human race.”

Linda Bond image Linda Bond, Auntie's Bookstore
Audiobook details

Noonday

The Life Class Trilogy: Book #3

By Pat Barker
Narrated by: Juliet Stevenson, Stephen Boxer, John Sackville, Anne Reid, Finlay Robertson & various narrators
Length: 9 hours 47 minutes

A new novel from the Booker Prize–winning Pat Barker, author of the Regeneration trilogy, that unforgettably portrays London during the Blitz and reaffirms her place as a top-ranked British novelistLondon, the Blitz, Autumn 1940. As the bombs fall on the blacked-out city, ambulance driver Elinor Brooke races from bomb sites to hospitals in order... Read more »

Audiobook details

This Census-Taker

By China Miéville
Narrated by: Matthew Frow
Length: 4 hours 2 minutes

For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Miéville.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR

In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Tsar of Love and Techno

Stories

By Anthony Marra
Narrated by: Mark Bramhall, Beata Pozniak & Rustam Kasymov
Length: 10 hours 45 minutes

From the New York Times bestselling author of A Constellation of Vital Phenomena—dazzling, poignant, and lyrical interwoven stories about family, sacrifice, the legacy of war, and the redemptive power of art.

This stunning, exquisitely written collection introduces a cast of remarkable characters whose lives intersect in ways both life-affirming... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Shepherd's Life

Modern Dispatches from an Ancient Landscape

By James Rebanks
Narrated by: Bryan Dick
Length: 7 hours 34 minutes

The New York Times bestseller and International Phenomenon

One of the Top Ten Books of 2015, Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times.

"It's bloody marvelous." - Helen Macdonald, New York Times bestselling author of H IS FOR HAWK

"Captivating... A book about continuity and roots and a sense of belonging in an age that's increasingly about mobility and... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Story of My Teeth

By Valeria Luiselli & Christina MacSweeney
Narrated by: Armando Durán & Thom Rivera
Length: 4 hours 7 minutes

The story of “Highway” Sánchez—bon vivant, world traveler, auctioneer—and his teeth is like Johnny Cash meets Robert Walser in Mexico.

“I was born in Pachuca, the Beautiful Windy City, with four premature teeth and my body completely covered in a very fine coat of fuzz. But I’m grateful for that inauspicious start because ugliness, as my other... Read more »

Audiobook details

Our Souls at Night

A novel

By Kent Haruf
Narrated by: Mark Bramhall
Length: 3 hours 28 minutes

A spare yet eloquent, bittersweet yet inspiring story of a man and a woman who, in advanced age, come together to wrestle with the events of their lives and their hopes for the imminent future.

In the familiar setting of Holt, Colorado, home to all of Kent Haruf’s inimitable fiction, Addie Moore pays an unexpected visit to a neighbor, Louis... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Girls

A Novel

By Emma Cline
Narrated by: Cady McClain
Length: 9 hours 44 minutes

The Girls

“Evie Boyd is a lonely 14-year-old adjusting to her parents' recent divorce and an emotional break with her childhood best friend. She encounters a wild and enchanting group of girls and is immediately drawn into their world of reckless abandon. Seduced by their thrilling, cult-like family hidden in the California hills, Evie finds herself pulled into events that will lead to unspeakable violence. Cline's captivating prose strips bare the deep desires and vulnerability of teenage Evie as she struggles for acceptance. The Girls is an enthralling and haunting novel that will linger with readers long after the last page.”

Tarah Jennings image Tarah Jennings, Mitzi's Main Street Books
Audiobook details

Everyone Brave is Forgiven

By Chris Cleave
Narrated by: Luke Thompson
Length: 12 hours 35 minutes

If you enjoyed Salt to the Sea, then you’ll love Everyone Brave is Forgiven.

“World War II, the perspective of young people, brave but deeply human characters, & a story that will bring you to tears before giving you a shining ray of hope—if you liked one you'll definitely like the other. These two excellent audiobooks have so much in common, but each are a uniquely heartbreaking experience that will teach you something new about WWII. And it doesn't hurt that both productions have multiple readers, all of which are top notch.”

Wild Geese Bookshop image Bethany, Wild Geese Bookshop
Audiobook details

The Vegetarian

A Novel

By Han Kang
Narrated by: Janet Song & Stephen Park
Length: 5 hours 13 minutes

Winner of the 2016 Man Booker International Prize

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review • Publisher's Weekly •  Buzzfeed •  Entertainment Weekly •  Time •  Wall Street Journal •  Bustle •  Elle •  The Economist •  Slate •  The Huffington Post • The St. Louis Dispatch •  Electric Literature

Featured in the New...
Read more »

Audiobook details

This Changes Everything

Capitalism vs. The Climate

By Naomi Klein
Narrated by: Ellen Archer
Length: 20 hours 44 minutes

The most important book yet from the author of the international bestseller The Shock Doctrine, a brilliant explanation of why the climate crisis challenges us to abandon the core “free market” ideology of our time, restructure the global economy, and remake our political systems.

In short, either we embrace radical change ourselves or radical... Read more »

Audiobook details

Glass Sword

Red Queen: Book #2

By Victoria Aveyard
Narrated by: Amanda Dolan
Length: 14 hours 39 minutes

The #1 New York Times bestselling series!

Perfect for fans of George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones series, Glass Sword is the high-stakes follow up to the #1 New York Times bestselling Red Queen.

Mare Barrow's blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Wild Robot

The Wild Robot: Book #1

By Peter Brown
Narrated by: Kate Atwater
Length: 4 hours 14 minutes

The Wild Robot

“Super heart warming tale of a robot, named Roz, shipwrecked on an island. She is faced with adapting and learning to survive in her new home. Roz teaches perseverance and how kindness in the face of adversity CAN create meaningful relationships. As the listener we learn that families come in all shapes and sizes, and how it can be hard to be the newcomer in a community. A pleasure to listen to!”

Content image Emma, Content
Audiobook details

Are We There Yet?

By Dan Santat
Narrated by: Robert Petkoff
Length: 4 minutes

Caldecott Medalist Dan Santat--creator of The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend and After the Fall--takes readers on the road trip of a lifetime!

"Are we there yet?" Every parent has heard this classic kid question on a long car ride--and after reading this astonishingly inventive new book (that even turns upside down for several... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Darkest Corners

By Kara Thomas
Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie
Length: 9 hours 38 minutes

"Gripping from start to finish . . . with twists that left me shocked."—Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Red Queen

For fans of Gillian Flynn and Pretty Little Liars, The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell, and the deadly truths those lies become.

    There are secrets around every... Read more »

Audiobook details

Wink Poppy Midnight

By April Genevieve Tucholke
Narrated by: Michael Crouch, Alicyn Packard & Caitlin Davies
Length: 5 hours 39 minutes

The intrigue of The Raven Boys and the "supernatural or not" question of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer coalesce in this young adult mystery, where nothing is quite as it seems, no one is quite who you think, and everything can change on a dime.

Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd,... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Charmed Children of Rookskill Castle

By Janet Fox
Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
Length: 9 hours 20 minutes

An eerie gothic fairytale with a World War II setting and magic at its heart-- and the recipient of four starred reviews and multiple honors.

Twelve-year-old Katherine Bateson believes in a logical explanation for everything. But even she can't make sense of the strange goings-on at Rookskill Castle, the drafty old Scottish castle-turned-school... Read more »

Audiobook details

Wolf Hollow

By Lauren Wolk
Narrated by: Emily Rankin
Length: 6 hours 54 minutes

A Newbery Honor Book
New York Times Bestseller

Wolf Hollow has stayed with me long after I closed the book. It has the feel of an instant classic." —Linda Sue Park, Newbery Medalist and New York Times bestselling author of A Long Walk to Water

“This book matters.” —Sara Pennypacker, New York Times bestselling author of Pax

Despite growing up in the... Read more »

Audiobook details