Get Your First Month for Free Get Started

Brilliant Books Staff Picks

Brilliant Books' staff are avid readers with a keen eye for quality literature and nonfiction for life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. Each bookseller has their own unique taste, but all appreciate smart, well-written books they can't help but recommend.

Station Eleven

A novel
By Emily St. John Mandel
Narrated by Kirsten Potter /  10 hours 39 minutes

2014 National Book Award Finalist

A New York Times Bestseller


An audacious, darkly glittering novel set in the eerie days of civilization’s collapse, Station Eleven tells the spellbinding story of a Hollywood star, his would-be savior, and a nomadic group of actors roaming the scattered outposts of the Great Lakes region, risking everything for... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

The Fireman

A Novel
By Joe Hill
Narrated by Kate Mulgrew /  22 hours 18 minutes

The Fireman

“A pandemic called Dragonscale has infected civilization and threatens to end it. The contagion spreads quickly and people are spontaneously combusting. Harper Grayson is a nurse struggling to save those who are infected. When she contracts Dragonscale, Harper is rescued by an enigmatic man known only as The Fireman, who takes her to a camp populated by those who have learned to control their disease. Longtime fans of Hill and his father, Stephen King, will enjoy the homage to King's masterpiece The Stand, while new readers will appreciate Hill's work on its own merit.”

Sharon Nagel image Sharon Nagel, Boswell Book Company
Price:

$49.44

Get for Free with Membership

Sleeping Giants

The Themis Files: Book #1
By Sylvain Neuvel
Narrated by Various /  8 hours 27 minutes

Sleeping Giants

“Sleeping Giants reads like a military dossier, interview after interview given with the serious intent of laying out the scientific tale of a discovered history that will change everyone's lives forever. At the age of 10, Rose falls through a hole in the ground and lands in a large metal hand that had been buried. Seventeen years later, she is on the research team that seeks answers to the relic's source and the meaning behind its existence. Is it a weapon? Is it a threat to humanity? Or is it simply a mystery that will remain unsolved? Whatever it is, readers will enjoy this Prometheus-like look into our distant past and the excitement of forecasting the potential future of the human race.”

Linda Bond image Linda Bond, Auntie's Bookstore
Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

Noonday

The Life Class Trilogy: Book #3
By Pat Barker
Narrated by Juliet Stevenson, Stephen Boxer, John Sackville, Anne Reid, Finlay Robertson & various narrators /  9 hours 47 minutes

A new novel from the Booker Prize–winning Pat Barker, author of the Regeneration trilogy, that unforgettably portrays London during the Blitz and reaffirms her place as a top-ranked British novelistLondon, the Blitz, Autumn 1940. As the bombs fall on the blacked-out city, ambulance driver Elinor Brooke races from bomb sites to hospitals in order... Read More »

Price:

$22.94

Get for Free with Membership

This Census-Taker

By China Miéville
Narrated by Matthew Frow /  4 hours 2 minutes

For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Miéville.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR

In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic... Read More »

Price:

$18.00

Get for Free with Membership

The Tsar of Love and Techno

Stories
By Anthony Marra
Narrated by Mark Bramhall, Beata Pozniak & Rustam Kasymov /  10 hours 45 minutes

From the New York Times bestselling author of A Constellation of Vital Phenomena—dazzling, poignant, and lyrical interwoven stories about family, sacrifice, the legacy of war, and the redemptive power of art.

This stunning, exquisitely written collection introduces a cast of remarkable characters whose lives intersect in ways both life-affirming... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

The Shepherd's Life

Modern Dispatches from an Ancient Landscape
By James Rebanks
Narrated by Bryan Dick /  7 hours 34 minutes

"It's bloody marvelous." - Helen Macdonald, New York Times bestselling author of H IS FOR HAWK

The Instant #1 International Bestseller

Some people's lives are entirely their own creations. James Rebanks' isn't. The first son of a shepherd, who was the first son of a shepherd himself, his family have lived and worked in the Lake District of... Read More »

Price:

$22.99

Get for Free with Membership

The Story of My Teeth

By Valeria Luiselli & Christina MacSweeney
Narrated by Armando Duran & Thom Rivera /  4 hours 7 minutes

The story of "Highway" Sanchez-bon vivant, world traveler, auctioneer-and his teeth is like Johnny Cash meets Robert Walser in Mexico."I was born in Pachuca, the Beautiful Windy City, with four premature teeth and my body completely covered in a very fine coat of fuzz. But I'm grateful for that inauspicious start because ugliness, as my other... Read More »

Price:

$16.04

Get for Free with Membership

Our Souls at Night

A novel
By Kent Haruf
Narrated by Mark Bramhall /  3 hours 28 minutes

A spare yet eloquent, bittersweet yet inspiring story of a man and a woman who, in advanced age, come together to wrestle with the events of their lives and their hopes for the imminent future.

In the familiar setting of Holt, Colorado, home to all of Kent Haruf’s inimitable fiction, Addie Moore pays an unexpected visit to a neighbor, Louis... Read More »

Price:

$15.00

Get for Free with Membership

The Girls

A Novel
By Emma Cline
Narrated by Cady McClain /  9 hours 44 minutes

The Girls

“Evie Boyd is a lonely 14-year-old adjusting to her parents' recent divorce and an emotional break with her childhood best friend. She encounters a wild and enchanting group of girls and is immediately drawn into their world of reckless abandon. Seduced by their thrilling, cult-like family hidden in the California hills, Evie finds herself pulled into events that will lead to unspeakable violence. Cline's captivating prose strips bare the deep desires and vulnerability of teenage Evie as she struggles for acceptance. The Girls is an enthralling and haunting novel that will linger with readers long after the last page.”

Tarah Jennings image Tarah Jennings, Mitzi's Main Street Books
Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

Everyone Brave is Forgiven

By Chris Cleave
Narrated by Luke Thompson /  12 hours 35 minutes

If you enjoyed Salt to the Sea, then you’ll love Everyone Brave is Forgiven.

“World War II, the perspective of young people, brave but deeply human characters, & a story that will bring you to tears before giving you a shining ray of hope—if you liked one you'll definitely like the other. These two excellent audiobooks have so much in common, but each are a uniquely heartbreaking experience that will teach you something new about WWII. And it doesn't hurt that both productions have multiple readers, all of which are top notch.”

Wild Geese Bookshop image Bethany, Wild Geese Bookshop
Price:

$27.59

Get for Free with Membership

The Vegetarian

A Novel
By Han Kang
Narrated by Janet Song & Stephen Park /  5 hours 13 minutes

Winner of the 2016 Man Booker International Prize

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review • Publisher's Weekly • Buzzfeed • Entertainment Weekly • Time • Wall Street Journal • Bustle • Elle • The Economist • Slate • The Huffington Post • The St. Louis Dispatch • Electric Literature

Featured in the New...
Read More »

Price:

$18.00

Get for Free with Membership

This Changes Everything

Capitalism vs. The Climate
By Naomi Klein
Narrated by Ellen Archer /  20 hours 44 minutes

The most important book yet from the author of the international bestseller The Shock Doctrine, a brilliant explanation of why the climate crisis challenges us to abandon the core “free market” ideology of our time, restructure the global economy, and remake our political systems.

In short, either we embrace radical change ourselves or radical... Read More »

Price:

$34.49

Get for Free with Membership

Glass Sword

Red Queen: Book #2
By Victoria Aveyard
Narrated by Amanda Dolan /  14 hours 39 minutes

The #1 New York Times bestselling series!

The electrifying second installment in the Red Queen series has all the drama, intrigue, and steamy romance that made it a #1 New York Times bestseller.

Mare Barrow's blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal... Read More »

Price:

$33.34

Get for Free with Membership

The Wild Robot

The Wild Robot: Book #1
By Peter Brown
Narrated by Kate Atwater /  4 hours 14 minutes

Wall-E meets Hatchet in this New York Times bestselling illustrated middle grade novel from Caldecott Honor winner Peter Brown
Can a robot survive in the wilderness?

When robot Roz opens her eyes for the first time, she discovers that she is alone on a remote, wild island. She has no idea how she got there or what her purpose is--but she... Read More »

Price:

$26.43

Get for Free with Membership

Are We There Yet?

By Dan Santat
Narrated by Robert Petkoff /  4 minutes

Caldecott Medalist Dan Santat takes listeners on the road trip of a lifetime!
"Are we there yet?" Every parent has heard this classic kid question on a long car ride--and after listening to this astonishingly inventive new audiobook, you'll never look at being bored the same way again.

Let's face it: everyone knows that car rides can be boring.... Read More »

Price:

$2.28

Get for Free with Membership

The Darkest Corners

By Kara Thomas
Narrated by Jorjeana Marie /  9 hours 38 minutes

"Gripping from start to finish . . . with twists that left me shocked."—Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Red Queen

For fans of Gillian Flynn and Pretty Little Liars, The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell, and the deadly truths those lies become.

There are secrets around every... Read More »

Price:

$30.00

Get for Free with Membership

Wink Poppy Midnight

By April Genevieve Tucholke
Narrated by Michael Crouch, Alicyn Packard & Caitlin Davies /  5 hours 39 minutes

The intrigue of The Raven Boys and the "supernatural or not" question of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer coalesce in this young adult mystery, where nothing is quite as it seems, no one is quite who you think, and everything can change on a dime.

Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd,... Read More »

Price:

$21.60

Get for Free with Membership

The Charmed Children of Rookskill Castle

By Janet Fox
Narrated by Fiona Hardingham /  9 hours 20 minutes

An eerie gothic fairytale with a World War II setting and magic at its heart-- and the recipient of four starred reviews and multiple honors.

Twelve-year-old Katherine Bateson believes in a logical explanation for everything. But even she can't make sense of the strange goings-on at Rookskill Castle, the drafty old Scottish castle-turned-school... Read More »

Price:

$30.00

Get for Free with Membership

Wolf Hollow

By Lauren Wolk
Narrated by Emily Rankin /  6 hours 54 minutes

A 2017 Newbery Honor Book
New York Times Bestseller

A young girl's kindness, compassion, and honesty overcome bullying.


★ An NPR Best Book of the Year
★ A Booklist Best Book of the Year
★ An Entertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade Book of the Year
★ A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year
★ A Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year
★ A School Library... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener