Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Celebrate Pride Month with Libro.fm! Learn more

Audiobooks by Muslim Authors

Explore this collection of recent audiobook releases by Muslim authors.

Playlist Tags: topic: muslim topic: own voices

View all playlists

You Exist Too Much

A Novel

By Zaina Arafat
Narrated by: Zehra Jane Naqvi
Length: 7 hours 53 minutes

You Exist Too Much

“Zaina Arafat’s You Exist Too Much is one of my favorite books of the year. This debut novel blew me away. Arafat’s narrator is confident in her vulnerability; her desire to be seen and understood is visceral and uncomfortably familiar. The intoxication of unrequited love and the disconcerting feeling that can accompany settling down are recognizable, yet in Arafat’s capable hands, I was transported. This book is for anyone who has struggled to fit into society’s neat boxes, who has been frustrated when emotions don’t follow a logical path, or who has been disappointed to find that sometimes the love of others isn’t enough.”

Dotters Books image Margaret Leonard, Dotters Books
Audiobook details

Punching the Air

By Ibi Zoboi & Yusef Salaam
Narrated by: Ethan Herrise
Length: 4 hours 28 minutes

From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Walter Dean Myers, and Elizabeth Acevedo. 

The story that I thought

was my life

didn’t start on the day

I was born 

Amal... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Awakening of Malcolm X

A Novel

By Ilyasah Shabazz & Tiffany D. Jackson
Narrated by: Landon Woodson
Length: 7 hours 54 minutes

The Awakening of Malcolm X

“Although this was written for young readers, I found it to be an engaging and informative look at the life and incarceration that helped mold Malcolm X into the leaders that he was. The narrating was wonderfully done, and I would recommend this for readers of all ages.”

Skylark Bookshop image Mary, Skylark Bookshop
Audiobook details

The Thirty Names of Night

A Novel

By Zeyn Joukhadar
Narrated by: Samy Figaredo & Lameece Issaq
Length: 9 hours 29 minutes

The Thirty Names of Night

“An affecting, multigenerational coming-of-age story about a young Syrian American artist’s discovery of self and the truth behind his mother’s mysterious passing. Featuring alternating perspectives that weave the past into the present, this novel embodies the epistolary not just in form and address, but in the way it reads like a love letter to New York City, especially the immigrant, working-class, and LGBTQ underground of New York. A book with a heartbeat, despite all its ghosts.”

Books Are Magic image Serena Morales, Books Are Magic
Audiobook details

The Empire of Gold

A Novel
The Daevabad Trilogy: Book #3

By S. A. Chakraborty
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 28 hours 37 minutes

"No series since George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire has quite captured both palace intrigue and the way that tribal infighting and war hurt the vulnerable the most." —Paste Magazine

The final chapter in the bestselling, critically acclaimed Daevabad Trilogy, in which a con-woman and an idealistic djinn prince join forces to save a... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Girl and the Ghost

By Hanna Alkaf
Narrated by: Mirai Booth-Ong
Length: 6 hours 30 minutes

The Girl and the Ghost

“THE GIRL AND THE GHOST is a book for every kid who loves ghost stories, who likes the more twisted version of fairy tales, and prefers some darkness in their happy endings. Suraya and Pink are best friends ever since Suraya's grandmother died and sent Pink to serve her when she was just a baby. Suraya is an awkward child and doesn't have any friends until a new girl comes to her school and they bond over their outsider status. Pink becomes jealous and his darker side is revealed in ways at times quite disturbing, prompting the trio to embark on a quest to help save Pink from himself. The heart of this story is the friendship between Suraya and Pink, which makes their falling out visceral for the reader even before Pink "goes bad". And readers should know that the bad is quite bad -- hallucinations that torture Suraya until she is visibly hurting, a clever manifestation of the way kids can hurt one another. Ultimately the resolution has even more depth than anticipated and had me tearing up with a melancholy that was totally earned in the final pages. This is not a happy ghost story, but it's one that will be beloved. Content Warnings for bullying, including physical harm, gross hallucinations, emotionally absent parent, demonic forces and their evil ways.”

Page 158 Books image FAith, Page 158 Books
Audiobook details

We Free the Stars

Sands of Arawiya: Book #2

By Hafsah Faizal
Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham & Steve West
Length: 17 hours 55 minutes

The second audiobook in the Sands of Arawiya duology by the masterful Hafsah Faizal—the follow-up to the smash New York Times bestselling novel We Hunt the Flame.

Darkness surged in his veins. Power bled from her bones.

The battle on Sharr is over. The Arz has fallen. Altair may be captive, but Zafira, Nasir, and Kifah are bound for Sultan’s Keep,... Read more »

Audiobook details

We Are Not Here to Be Bystanders

A Memoir of Love and Resistance

By Linda Sarsour
Narrated by: Linda Sarsour
Length: 7 hours 34 minutes

Linda Sarsour, co-organizer of the Women’s March, shares an “unforgettable memoir” (Booklist) about how growing up Palestinian Muslim American, feminist, and empowered moved her to become a globally recognized activist on behalf of marginalized communities across the country.

On a chilly spring morning in Brooklyn, nineteen-year-old Linda Sarsour... Read more »

Audiobook details

Internment

By Samira Ahmed
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 11 hours 17 minutes

Internment

“An emotionally charged, incredibly well written story of what it would be like if internment camps were brought back for this nation's Muslim citizens. Beautifully narrated, Internment is gripping and powerful, this is a must-listen for all ages.”

Anderson's Bookshop image Mary, Anderson's Bookshop
Audiobook details

Hani and Ishu's Guide to Fake Dating

By Adiba Jaigirdar
Narrated by: Reena Dutt & Shubhangi Karmakar
Length: 9 hours 35 minutes

Everyone likes Humaira "Hani" Khan―she’s easy going and one of the most popular girls at school. But when she comes out to her friends as bisexual, they invalidate her identity, saying she can’t be bi if she’s only dated guys. Panicked, Hani blurts out that she’s in a relationship…with a girl her friends absolutely hate―Ishita "Ishu" Dey. Ishu... Read more »

Audiobook details

Reopening Muslim Minds

A Return to Reason, Freedom, and Tolerance

By Mustafa Akyol
Narrated by: Neil Shah
Length: 9 hours 17 minutes

In this book, Mustafa Akyol, senior fellow at the Cato Institute and opinion writer for The New York Times, both diagnoses “the crisis of Islam” in the modern world and offers a way forward. Diving deep into Islamic theology, and also sharing lessons from his own life story, he reveals how Muslims lost the universalism that made them a great... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Muslim Problem

Why We're Wrong About Islam and Why It Matters

By Tawseef Khan
Narrated by: Taheen Modak
Length: 9 hours 13 minutes

A provocative exploration of what it means to be a Muslim today. Why are Muslim men portrayed as inherently violent? Does the veil violate women's rights? Is Islam stopping Muslims from integrating? Across western societies, Muslims are more misunderstood than any other minority. But what does it mean to believe in Islam today, to have forged... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Bad Muslim Discount

A Novel

By Syed M. Masood
Narrated by: Pej Vahdat & Hend Ayoub
Length: 12 hours 23 minutes

The Bad Muslim Discount

“I loved The Bad Muslim Discount so much I read the acknowledgements just so it wouldn’t end — and they were great, too! This is an insightful and funny novel about faith, family, and being a Muslim American today. Masood offers us a sharp perspective, a seamless style, and unforgettable characters, leaving the reader enriched for the experience.”

Bear Pond Books image Claire Benedict, Bear Pond Books
Audiobook details

The Light at the Bottom of the World

Light at the Bottom of the World

By London Shah
Narrated by: Shiromi Arserio
Length: 11 hours 25 minutes

At the end of the twenty-first century, the world has changed dramatically, but life continues one thousand feet below the ocean's surface. In Great Britain, sea creatures swim among the ruins of Big Ben and the Tower of London, and citizens waver between fear and hope: fear of what lurks in the abyss and hope that humanity will soon discover a... Read more »

Audiobook details

A Thousand Questions

By Saadia Faruqi
Narrated by: Gail Shalan & Reena Dutt
Length: 7 hours 38 minutes

A Thousand Questions

“With alternating perspectives Saadia Faruqi gives readers a chance to explore the city of Karachi and the nature of family. Each girl has something the other wants, a stable family or chance at education, and through their friendship learn to appreciate the things they have as well as what they lack. Content warning for absent parent, gang intimidation, home invasion, diabetic crisis.”

Page 158 Books image Faith, Page 158 Books
Audiobook details

I Hope You Get This Message

By Farah Naz Rishi
Narrated by: Priya Ayyar
Length: 9 hours 57 minutes

In this high concept YA novel debut that’s We All Looked Up meets The Sun Is Also a Star, three teens must face down the mistakes of their past after they learn that life on Earth might end in less than a week.

News stations across the country are reporting mysterious messages that Earth has been receiving from a planet—Alma—claiming to be its... Read more »

Audiobook details

Not the Girls You're Looking For

By Aminah Mae Safi
Narrated by: Priya Ayyar
Length: 10 hours 24 minutes

Not the Girls You're Looking For is debut author Aminah Mae Safi's honest and smart audiobook about how easy it can be to hurt those around you even if —especially if—you love them.

Lulu Saad doesn't need your advice, thank you very much. She's got her three best friends and nothing can stop her from conquering the known world. Sure, for half a... Read more »

Audiobook details

Amina's Song

Amina's Voice

By Hena Khan
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 5 hours 1 minutes

In the companion novel to the beloved and award-winning Amina’s Voice, Amina once again uses her voice to bridge the places, people, and communities she loves—this time across continents.

It’s the last few days of her vacation in Pakistan, and Amina has loved every minute of it. The food, the shops, the time she’s spent with her family—all of it... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ayesha at Last

By Uzma Jalaluddin
Narrated by: Roshni Shukla
Length: 11 hours 10 minutes

As seen on The Today Show! One of the best summer romance picks!

One of Publishers Weekly Best Romance Books of 2019!

A modern-day Muslim Pride and Prejudice for a new generation of love.


Ayesha Shamsi has a lot going on. Her dreams of being a poet have been set aside for a teaching job so she can pay off her debts to her wealthy uncle. She lives... Read more »

Audiobook details

Unmarriageable

A Novel

By Soniah Kamal
Narrated by: Soniah Kamal
Length: 10 hours 51 minutes

“This inventive retelling of Pride and Prejudice charms.”—People
 
“A fun, page-turning romp and a thought-provoking look at the class-obsessed strata of Pakistani society.”—NPR

Alys Binat has sworn never to marry—until an encounter with one Mr. Darsee at a wedding makes her reconsider.

A scandal and vicious rumor concerning the Binat family have... Read more »

Audiobook details

Celebrate Pride Month with Libro.fm! Learn more