Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Get a free audiobook on Independent Bookstore Day! Learn more

2021 Audie Award Finalists

The Audie Awards recognize distinction in audiobooks and spoken word entertainment and are sponsored by the Audio Publishers Association (APA). The winners will be announced at the Virtual Audies Gala on March 22, 2021.

Playlist Tags: awards: audies

View all playlists

Sex and Vanity

A Novel

By Kevin Kwan
Narrated by: Lydia Look
Length: 9 hours 36 minutes

A GOOD MORNING AMERICA Book Club Pick! 

"Kevin Kwan's new book is his most decadent yet." --Entertainment Weekly

The iconic author of the bestselling phenomenon Crazy Rich Asians returns with the glittering tale of a young woman who finds herself torn between two men: the WASPY fiancé of her family's dreams and George Zao, the man she is...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Such a Fun Age

By Kiley Reid
Narrated by: Nicole Lewis
Length: 9 hours 58 minutes

Such a Fun Age

“A racial comedy of manners for the digital age, Such a Fun Age is a hilarious and cringe-inducing look at white people trying to do the right thing: badly, and for all the wrong reasons. Nicole Lewis's reading is a dazzling feat: expertly code-switching between the voice Emira uses with her friends, to the voice she uses with her boss, Alix, to the voice her boss's suburban black friend, Tamara, uses with Alix, to the voice Tamara uses with Emira. I don't think I would have enjoyed this book half as much without this effortlessly nuanced narration.”

The Book Table image Rachel, The Book Table
Audiobook details

The Dead are Arising

The Life of Malcolm X

By Les Payne & Tamara Payne
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 18 hours 6 minutes

Les Payne, the renowned Pulitzer Prizewinning investigative journalist, embarked in 1990 on a nearly thirty-year-long quest to interview anyone he could find who had actually known Malcolm Xall living siblings of the Malcolm Little family, classmates, street friends, cellmates, Nation of Islam figures, FBI moles and cops, and political leaders... Read more »

Audiobook details

Deep Delta Justice

A Black Teen, His Lawyer, and Their Groundbreaking Battle for Civil Rights in the South

By Matthew Van Meter
Narrated by: Brad Sanders
Length: 8 hours 36 minutes

Deep Delta Justice

“Excellent read. Loved the historical context that was given surrounding the case. Gives a stark view at segregationist Louisiana.”

Leaves Book and Tea Shop image Tiffany, Leaves Book and Tea Shop
Audiobook details

His Truth Is Marching On

John Lewis and the Power of Hope

By Jon Meacham & John Lewis
Narrated by: JD Jackson & Jon Meacham
Length: 10 hours

If you enjoyed We're Better Than This, then you’ll love His Truth Is Marching On.

“Meacham's latest is a fascinating deep dive on John Lewis's formative years getting into good trouble as a civil rights activist in the 1960s. Anecdotes are pulled from both historical documentation and directly from interviews with Lewis himself. Narrator JD Jackson does a fantastic job, adding cadence for different speakers without a hint of caricature. Lewis's strong sense of justice and freedom, most often driven by faith, are on full display in this must-read.”

Quail Ridge Books image Amber, Quail Ridge Books
Audiobook details

J.R.R. Tolkien

The Making of a Legend

By Colin Duriez
Narrated by: Simon Vance
Length: 6 hours 16 minutes

Long before the successful The Lord of the Rings films, J.R.R. Tolkien's creations, imagination, and characters had captured the attention of millions of readers. But who was the man who dreamt up the intricate languages and perfectly crafted world of Middle-earth? Tolkien had a difficult life, for many years: orphaned and poor, his guardian... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Lincoln Conspiracy

The Secret Plot to Kill America's 16th President--and Why It Failed

By Brad Meltzer & Josh Mensch
Narrated by: Scott Brick
Length: 10 hours 41 minutes

"Everyone knows that Abraham Lincoln was assassinated, but how many know that there was a previous, unsuccessful attempt on his life? Let narrator Scott Brick tell you all about it...Brick can make a nursery rhyme sound exciting, and he's on fire in this audiobook." -- AudioFile Magazine

The bestselling authors of The First Conspiracy, which... Read more »

Audiobook details

The New One

Painfully True Stories from a Reluctant Dad

By Mike Birbiglia
Narrated by: Mike Birbiglia & J. Hope Stein
Length: 5 hours 8 minutes

With laugh-out-loud funny parenting observations, the New York Times bestselling author and award-winning comedian delivers a book that is perfect for anyone who has ever raised a child, been a child, or refuses to stop acting like one.   In 2016 comedian Mike Birbiglia and poet Jennifer Hope Stein took their fourteen-month-old daughter Oona... Read more »

Audiobook details

Social Purpose Annual Report

Social Purpose Annual Report

As we look to the future as a Social Purpose Corporation, we’re committed to serving readers and independent bookstores. Read our 2020 Annual Report to see an overview of the year.

Read the Report

Surrender, White People!

Our Unconditional Terms for Peace

By D. L. Hughley & Doug Moe
Narrated by: D. L. Hughley
Length: 5 hours 2 minutes

Surrender, white people! After 400 years of white supremacy in America, a reckoning is here. Time to listen up, look history in the face, and surrender unjust privilege. These are the terms of peace–and they are unconditional. Hope you have a sense of humor, because this is gonna sting.

The legendary activist/comedian and author of the “hilarious... Read more »

Audiobook details

A Very Punchable Face

A Memoir

By Colin Jost
Narrated by: Colin Jost
Length: 7 hours 40 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In these hilarious essays, the Saturday Night Live head writer and Weekend Update co-anchor learns how to take a beating.

“I always wanted to punch his face before I read this book. Now I just want to kick him in the balls.”—Larry David


NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Cosmopolitan Vulture Parade

If there’s... Read more »

Audiobook details

Wow, No Thank You.

Essays

By Samantha Irby
Narrated by: Samantha Irby
Length: 10 hours 3 minutes

A new rip-roaring essay collection from the smart, edgy, hilarious, unabashedly raunchy, and bestselling Samantha Irby.

Irby is forty, and increasingly uncomfortable in her own skin despite what Inspirational Instagram Infographics have promised her. She has left her job as a receptionist at a veterinary clinic, has published successful books and... Read more »

Audiobook details

Deacon King Kong

A Novel

By James McBride
Narrated by: Dominic Hoffman
Length: 14 hours 5 minutes

Deacon King Kong

“ James McBride has written a masterpiece with Deacon King Kong. The writing is a tapestry of story lines woven together with the skill of a master craftsman. The narrating is in a class by itself. This is absolutely the perfect book to lose yourself in. Straight up 10!”

Anderson's Bookshop image Mary, Anderson's Bookshop
Audiobook details

The Death of Vivek Oji

A Novel

By Akwaeke Emezi
Narrated by: Chukwudi Iwuji & Yetide Badaki
Length: 7 hours 38 minutes

If you enjoyed Transcendent Kingdom, then you’ll love The Death of Vivek Oji.

“This is a deeply emotional book. It's the story of Vivek’s life and death. Vivek was a person who shifted identities, whose relationship to the world was at once heavy and heartbreakingly delicate. Emezi brings her mastery of characters and language to this book, and you will not want to put it down. The Death Of Vivek Oji is a work of art, it will make you feel.”

Off the Beaten Path image Izzy, Off the Beaten Path
Audiobook details

These Ghosts are Family

A Novel

By Maisy Card
Narrated by: Karl O’Brian Williams
Length: 9 hours 55 minutes

PEN/Hemingway Award For Debut Novel Finalist​
Shortlisted for the 2020 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize

A “rich, ambitious debut novel” (The New York Times Book Review) that reveals the ways in which a Jamaican family forms and fractures over generations, in the tradition of Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi.

Stanford Solomon’s shocking,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Genesis Begins Again

By Alicia D. Williams
Narrated by: Alicia D. Williams
Length: 8 hours 48 minutes

A Newbery Honor Book
Winner of the Correta Scott King - John Steptoe for New Talent Author Award
A Morris Award Finalist
An NPR Favorite Book of 2019
A School Library Journal Best Middle Grade Book of 2019
A Kirkus Reviews Best Middle Grade Book of 2019

This deeply sensitive and powerful debut novel tells the story of a thirteen-year-old who... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Good Hawk

Shadow Skye: Book #1

By Joseph Elliott
Narrated by: Gary Furlong & Fiona Hardingham
Length: 8 hours 12 minutes

2021 Audie Award Winner for Best Middle Grade Audiobook

In a mythic Scotland, two unlikely heroes must make a dangerous journey to save their people.

Agatha is a Hawk, brave and fierce, who protects her people by patrolling the high walls of their island home. She is proud of her job, though some in her clan whisper that it is meant to keep her... Read more »

Audiobook details

King and the Dragonflies

By Kacen Callender
Narrated by: Ron Butler
Length: 5 hours 3 minutes

King and the Dragonflies

“Kingston (King) James and his parents are grieving the loss of Khalid-- King's older brother. When Khalid was alive and the two shared a bedroom, he would talk in his sleep, telling his younger brother stories about the universe and its magic. King continues to see Khalid in his dreams, and is convinced Khalid has transformed into a dragonfly. The Louisiana bayou provides the backdrop for both a colorful landscape and a tense, fearful place where racism festers. When King's former friend, Sandy, who is white, and the son of the racist police chief, goes missing, King ends up helping hide Sandy from his abusive father. Woven seamlessly into this wise story is King's slow awakening of his sexuality, brought to the fore by his renewed friendship with Sandy, who is known to be gay. Callender's writing is so authentic and their characters are so tenderly portrayed by Ron Butler's superb narration I mourned its conclusion. The whole package is a crowning achievement.”

Bear Pond Books image Jane, Bear Pond Books
Audiobook details

Say Her Name

By Zetta Elliott
Narrated by: Channie Waites
Length: 1 hours 25 minutes

Inspired by the #SayHerName campaign launched by the African American Policy Forum, these poems pay tribute to victims of police brutality as well as the activists insisting that Black Lives Matter. Elliott engages poets from the past two centuries to create a chorus of voices celebrating the creativity, resilience, and courage of Black women... Read more »

Audiobook details

Shuri: A Black Panther Novel #1

Black Panther: Book #1

By Nic Stone
Narrated by: Anika Noni Rose
Length: 5 hours 41 minutes

An original, upper-middle-grade series starring the break-out character from the Black Panther comics and films: T'Challa's younger sister, Shuri! Crafted by New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone. Shuri is a skilled martial artist, a genius, and a master of science and technology. But, she's also a teenager. And a princess. This... Read more »

Audiobook details

We Dream of Space

By Erin Entrada Kelly
Narrated by: Ramon de Ocampo
Length: 5 hours 55 minutes

Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly transports readers to 1986 and introduces them to the unforgettable Cash, Fitch, and Bird Thomas in this pitch-perfect middle grade novel about family, friendship, science, and exploration. A great choice for readers of Kate DiCamillo, Rita Williams-Garcia, and Rebecca... Read more »

Audiobook details

Get a free audiobook on Independent Bookstore Day! Learn more