Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Astoria Bookshop 2018 Staff Picks - Young Readers

These are our staff picks for middle grade and young adult books from 2018!

Playlist Tags: Astoria Bookshop genre: Children's audience: kids audience: middle grade bookstore-created audience: teens audience: tweens

View all playlists

The Poet X

By Elizabeth Acevedo
Narrated by: Elizabeth Acevedo
Length: 3 hours 30 minutes

The Poet X

“The Poet X is written and narrated by Elizabeth Acevedo. It is a novel made up of poems by a teenager, Xiomara Batista, growing up in Harlem. Acevedo's narration is wonderful and brings the story to life. Xiomara's dad is MIA even though he lives at home; her mother is extremely religious and pushes her faith onto her daughter; her twin brother is quiet and also working through his own feelings; she starts her first relationship with a guy; and all the time Xiomara is told what she can and cannot do, gets accosted by men, has to defend herself because no one else will, is questioning God and has no one to open up to. She releases her pent of feelings in a notebook. It isn't until her new English teacher introduces her to spoken poetry that she realizes that is what she is meant to be: a poet. This is a lovely story of a young, misunderstood girl, coming of age and showing the world that she is worth it. Great for adults who enjoyed Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson and extremely relevant literature for the #metoo movement.”

M. Judson Booksellers image Kelly, M. Judson Booksellers
Audiobook details

Monday's Not Coming

By Tiffany D. Jackson
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 10 hours 6 minutes

Monday's Not Coming

“This heartbreaking, mind-bending thriller reads like truth: Monday Charles, a young black girl who lives in poverty, whose care has been shifted from one agency to another until no one knows who is supposed be looking out for her, disappears at the beginning of a long, hot, DC summer. But only her best friend Claudia registers her disappearance. Everyone else assumes she's moved, she's living with another relative, she's dropped out of school. As Claudia struggles to find allies to help her in her search for Monday, she also struggles to reconcile the Monday she thought she knew with the girl who was fighting for her life against the ponderous bulk of an uncaring system. This book is a tragic wake-up call in an era where the lives of some missing girls are still given more weight than the lives of others.”

Inklings Bookshop image Emily, Inklings Bookshop
Audiobook details

The Light Between Worlds

By Laura E. Weymouth
Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham & Moira Quirk
Length: 9 hours 34 minutes

What happens when you return to the real world after being in a fantastical one like Narnia? This YA debut by Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of Melissa Albert’s The Hazel Wood and Lev Grossman’s The Magicians.

Six years ago, sisters Evelyn and Philippa Hapwell were swept away to a strange and beautiful kingdom called the Woodlands, where...

Read more »
Audiobook details

All We Can Do is Wait

By Richard Lawson
Narrated by: Holly Linneman
Length: 9 hours 19 minutes

Debut author and Vanity Fair film critic Richard Lawson makes your heart stop and time stand still in his extraordinary and life-affirming novel that's perfect for fans of If I Stay and We All Looked Up.

In the hours after a bridge collapse rocks their city, a group of Boston teenagers meet in the waiting room of Massachusetts General... Read more »
Audiobook details

Serpent's Secret, The

Kiranmala and the Kingdom Beyond: Book #1

By Sayantani DasGupta
Narrated by: Sayantani DasGupta
Length: 8 hours 14 minutes

A new middle-grade fantasy series packed with action and adventure, perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Soman Chainani. MEET KIRANMALA: INTERDIMENSIONAL DEMON SLAYER (Only she doesn't know it yet.) On the morning of her twelfth birthday, Kiranmala is just a regular sixth grader living in Parsippany, New Jersey . . . until her parents... Read more »
Audiobook details

City of Ghosts

City of Ghosts: Book #1

By Victoria Schwab
Narrated by: Reba Buhr
Length: 5 hours 1 minutes

From #1 NYT bestselling author Victoria Schwab comes a sweeping, spooky, evocative adventure, perfect for fans of "Stranger Things" and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead . .... Read more »
Audiobook details

The Hazel Wood

A Novel
The Hazel Wood: Book #1

By Melissa Albert
Narrated by: Rebecca Soler & James Fouhey
Length: 10 hours 30 minutes

The Hazel Wood

“This book is perfect for those who love dark fairytales. Alice has always lived her life on the road with her mother, Ella. They move every couple of months due to this run of bad luck that follows them wherever they go. She has an estranged grandmother with a small cult-following from writing a mysterious book of fairytales whom her mother refuses to talk about. However, when Ella goes missing in New York City, Alice must unravel the secrets of her grandmother's past to get the answers regarding her mother's disappearance. Such a creepy and captivating story!”

An Unlikely Story image Colleen, An Unlikely Story
Audiobook details

I Stop Somewhere

By TE Carter
Narrated by: Laurel Schroeder
Length: 8 hours 38 minutes

From TE Carter comes a highly-anticipated audiobook debut. I Stop Somewhere promises to keep listeners hooked from the very first track.

Ellie Frias disappeared long before she vanished.

Tormented throughout middle school, Ellie begins her freshman year with a new look: she doesn’t need to be popular; she just needs to blend in with the...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Children of Blood and Bone

Legacy of Orisha: Book #1

By Tomi Adeyemi
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 17 hours 44 minutes

Children of Blood and Bone

“A sprawling fantasy teeming with deep and meaningful magic. One of the things I like most about this debut is that it raises very real and important issues of our time through multiple character's perspectives. No character is one-dimensional, and every character must learn from failure and introspection to become who they were meant to be.”

Mysterious Galaxy Books image Kelly, Mysterious Galaxy Books
Audiobook details

Sky in the Deep

Sky and Sea: Book #1

By Adrienne Young
Narrated by: Khristine Hvam
Length: 8 hours 40 minutes

"Fearless in its exploration of family, forgiveness, loyalty, and love, Sky in the Deep is fierce, vivid, and violently beautiful. This book will wage a war with your heart as brutal and as bold as the battles inked in its pages." - Stephanie Garber, New York Times Bestselling author of Caraval

In her highly-anticipated debut audiobook, Adrienne...

Read more »
Audiobook details

The Cruel Prince

The Folk of the Air: Book #1

By Holly Black
Narrated by: Caitlin Kelly
Length: 12 hours 36 minutes

The Cruel Prince

“I ate this trilogy right up! And in return it destroyed me (in a good way!) If you're looking for a fun fantasy read to keep you up at night with plots and scheming, you've hit the jackpot. So much fun!”

Oblong Books image Lafe, Oblong Books
Audiobook details

Emergency Contact

By Mary H. K. Choi
Narrated by: Joy Osmanski & Jacques Roy
Length: 9 hours 6 minutes

“Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.” —Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

For Penny Lee, high... Read more »
Audiobook details

Dry

By Neal Shusterman & Jarrod Shusterman
Narrated by: Neal Shusterman, Jarrod Shusterman, Jenni Barber, Noah Galvin, Michael Crouch & Kivlighan De Montebello
Length: 11 hours 6 minutes

Dry

“In the near-future, the drought in SoCal has reached catastrophic proportions despite years of warnings and restrictions...and it becomes downright apocalyptic once a water supply deal falls through and the water is turned off entirely. The main story of Dry follows Alyssa, her brother, and their prepper neighbor as they try to survive in this new world while society crumbles around them. The Shustermen have clearly done their research when it comes to the effects of dehydration and desperation — something that is viscerally and terrifyingly conveyed throughout the book. Told through the point of view of several characters, the timely plot grabs you from page one and pulls you at a breakneck pace all the way through to the end, with each person having their own distinct voice and coping mechanisms. Just be sure to have a glass of water handy while you’re reading — you’ll need it.”

Mysterious Galaxy Books image Darcy, Mysterious Galaxy Books
Audiobook details

Merci Suárez Changes Gears

Merci Suárez: Book #1

By Meg Medina
Narrated by: Frankie Corzo
Length: 7 hours 9 minutes

Winner of the 2019 Newbery Medal

Thoughtful, strong-willed sixth-grader Merci Suarez navigates difficult changes with friends, family, and everyone in between in a resonant new novel from Meg Medina.

Merci Suarez knew that sixth grade would be different, but she had no idea just how different. For starters, Merci has never been like the other kids...

Read more »
Audiobook details