Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started

Astoria Bookshop 2018 Staff Picks - Young Readers

These are our staff picks for middle grade and young adult books from 2018!

The Poet X

By Elizabeth Acevedo
Narrated by Elizabeth Acevedo /  3 hours 30 minutes

The Poet X

“Getting to listen to the author herself read her poetry, which are clearly a testament to the spoken word and the art of slam, is absolutely the best way to devour this novel-in-verse. Acevedo puts everything into her words, and no one else could do them justice the way she does herself. Despite possible age/cultural/religious differences, any listener will immediately relate to this teenage girl desperately trying to both find herself and her voice, and live up to her family's expectations.”

Quail Ridge Books image Amber, Quail Ridge Books
Price:

$18.39 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Monday's Not Coming

By Tiffany D. Jackson
Narrated by Imani Parks /  10 hours 6 minutes

Monday's Not Coming

“This heartbreaking, mind-bending thriller reads like truth: Monday Charles, a young black girl who lives in poverty, whose care has been shifted from one agency to another until no one knows who is supposed be looking out for her, disappears at the beginning of a long, hot, DC summer. But only her best friend Claudia registers her disappearance. Everyone else assumes she's moved, she's living with another relative, she's dropped out of school. As Claudia struggles to find allies to help her in her search for Monday, she also struggles to reconcile the Monday she thought she knew with the girl who was fighting for her life against the ponderous bulk of an uncaring system. This book is a tragic wake-up call in an era where the lives of some missing girls are still given more weight than the lives of others.”

Inklings Bookshop image Emily, Inklings Bookshop
Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Light Between Worlds

By Laura E. Weymouth
Narrated by Fiona Hardingham & Moira Quirk /  9 hours 34 minutes

What happens when you return to the real world after being in a fantastical one like Narnia? This YA debut by Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of Melissa Albert’s The Hazel Wood and Lev Grossman’s The Magicians.

Six years ago, sisters Evelyn and Philippa Hapwell were swept away to a strange and beautiful kingdom called the Woodlands, where... Read More »

Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

All We Can Do is Wait

By Richard Lawson
Narrated by Holly Linneman /  9 hours 19 minutes

Debut author and Vanity Fair film critic Richard Lawson makes your heart stop and time stand still in his extraordinary and life-affirming novel that's perfect for fans of If I Stay and We All Looked Up.

In the hours after a bridge collapse rocks their city, a group of Boston teenagers meet in the waiting room of Massachusetts General... Read More »

Price:

$35.00 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Kiranmala and the Kingdom Beyond #1: The Serpent's Secret

By Sayantani DasGupta
Narrated by Sayantani DasGupta /  8 hours 14 minutes

A new middle-grade fantasy series packed with action and adventure, perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Soman Chainani.

MEET KIRANMALA:
INTERDIMENSIONAL DEMON SLAYER

(Only she doesn't know it yet.)

On the morning of her twelfth birthday, Kiranmala is just a regular sixth grader living in Parsippany, New Jersey . . . until her parents mysteriously... Read More »

Price:

$27.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

City of Ghosts

By Victoria Schwab
Narrated by Reba Buhr /  5 hours 1 minute

Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead . . . and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost.

So things are already pretty strange. But they're about to get much stranger.

When Cass's parents start hosting a TV... Read More »

Price:

$20.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

The Hazel Wood

A Novel
The Hazel Wood
By Melissa Albert
Narrated by Rebecca Soler /  10 hours 30 minutes

The Hazel Wood

“This book is perfect for those who love dark fairytales. Alice has always lived her life on the road with her mother, Ella. They move every couple of months due to this run of bad luck that follows them wherever they go. She has an estranged grandmother with a small cult-following from writing a mysterious book of fairytales whom her mother refuses to talk about. However, when Ella goes missing in New York City, Alice must unravel the secrets of her grandmother's past to get the answers regarding her mother's disappearance. Such a creepy and captivating story!”

An Unlikely Story image Colleen, An Unlikely Story
Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for Free with Membership

I Stop Somewhere

By TE Carter
Narrated by Laurel Schroeder /  8 hours 38 minutes

From TE Carter comes a highly-anticipated audiobook debut. I Stop Somewhere promises to keep listeners hooked from the very first track.

Ellie Frias disappeared long before she vanished.

Tormented throughout middle school, Ellie begins her freshman year with a new look: she doesn’t need to be popular; she just needs to blend in with the... Read More »

Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Children of Blood and Bone

Legacy of Orisha: Book #1
By Tomi Adeyemi
Narrated by Bahni Turpin /  17 hours 44 minutes

Children of Blood and Bone

“Children of Blood & Bone, is a story told in a world where magic no longer exists. Years ago, this was not the case. Once, magic and the Gods were celebrated. Now, Diviners (those with Maji blood, but no magic) are treated poorly, and all the Maji have been killed. One of those including our main protagonist, Zélie’s, mother. Determined to find a way to bring back magic, Zélie, along with her brother Tzain, and Orïsha’s only princess, Amari (gone rogue), set out on a quest against all odds. Told from Zélie, Amari and Amari’s brother and crown prince, Inan’s viewpoints, Tomi Adeyemi weaves together a tale so beautifully and tragically relevant, it will leave you craving for answers and more.”

Vroman’s Bookstore image Jen, Vroman’s Bookstore
Price:

$37.94 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Sky in the Deep

By Adrienne Young
Narrated by Khristine Hvam /  8 hours 40 minutes

"Fearless in its exploration of family, forgiveness, loyalty, and love, Sky in the Deep is fierce, vivid, and violently beautiful. This book will wage a war with your heart as brutal and as bold as the battles inked in its pages." - Stephanie Garber, New York Times Bestselling author of Caraval

In her highly-anticipated debut audiobook, Adrienne... Read More »

Price:

$3.99 USD

Retail Price (USD): $4.59

Discount: 13%

Get for Free with Membership

The Cruel Prince

The Folk of the Air: Book #1
By Holly Black
Narrated by Caitlin Kelly /  12 hours 36 minutes

An instant bestseller!
By #1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black, the first book in a stunning new series about a mortal girl who finds herself caught in a web of royal faerie intrigue.
Of course I want to be like them. They're beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever.

And Cardan is even more... Read More »

Price:

$28.73 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Emergency Contact

By Mary H. K. Choi
Narrated by Joy Osmanski & Jacques Roy /  9 hours 6 minutes

“Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.” —Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

For Penny Lee high... Read More »

Price:

$20.69 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Dry

By Neal Shusterman & Jarrod Shusterman
Narrated by Jenni Barber, Noah Galvin, Michael Crouch, Kivlighan De Montebello, Neal Shusterman & Jarrod Shusterman /  11 hours 6 minutes

Dry

“Dry by Neal Shusterman is frightening it its reality. Set in modern day California with a simple thought—what if southern California were to wake up one day, turn on the water faucet to discover that there was NO WATER in the taps. Not absurd at all. Shusterman takes us through a week of “TAP OUT” with a cast of teens in which we see the very best and the very worst of humanity. Enough humor and kindness are interjected to relive some of the tension, but the ugly side of mankind is shown as well. Chilling and very realistic!”

Wellesley Books image Phyllis, Wellesley Books
Price:

$27.59 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Merci Suárez Changes Gears

By Meg Medina
Narrated by Frankie Corzo /  7 hours 9 minutes

Thoughtful, strong-willed sixth-grader Merci Suarez navigates difficult changes with friends, family, and everyone in between in a resonant new novel from Meg Medina.

Merci Suarez knew that sixth grade would be different, but she had no idea just how different. For starters, Merci has never been like the other kids at her private school in... Read More »

Price:

$32.49 USD

Get for Free with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener