Get Your First Month for Free Get Started
Celebrate Small Business Saturday! Over 150 great audiobooks on sale from now thru Saturday, November 24th! Shop the Sale

Astoria Bookshop - Best of 2017 - Fiction

Here is a roundup of our favorite fiction audiobooks of 2017.

Magpie Murders

A Novel
By Anthony Horowitz
Narrated by Samantha Bond & Allan Corduner /  15 hours 47 minutes

If you enjoyed And Then There Were None, then you’ll love Magpie Murders.

“Set in England, story and writing reminiscent of Christie. Wonderful!”

Mostly Books image Tricia, Mostly Books
Price:

$32.19

Get for Free with Membership

The Bear and the Nightingale

A Novel
Winternight Trilogy: Book #1
By Katherine Arden
Narrated by Kathleen Gati /  11 hours 47 minutes

If you enjoyed Uprooted, then you’ll love The Bear and the Nightingale.

“These two books have a very similar feel! I will often hear that one reminded someone of the other, and both are fantastic worlds with strong female leads.”

Liberty Bay Books image Kate, Liberty Bay Books
Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

My Absolute Darling

A Novel
By Gabriel Tallent
Narrated by Alex McKenna /  15 hours 46 minutes

If you enjoyed Where the Crawdads Sing, then you’ll love My Absolute Darling.

“Where the Crawdad's Sing is much like My Absolute Darling in that it stars an amazing young woman who is left in the wild to fend for herself. However there is a lot less violent/sexual abuse in Where the Crawdad's sing and it is set in a completely different setting, southern marsh land. The writing about the natural world is similarly beautiful as My Absolute Darling.”

Townie Books image Danica, Townie Books
Price:

$30.00

Get for Free with Membership

Little Fires Everywhere

By Celeste Ng
Narrated by Jennifer Lim /  11 hours 26 minutes

If you enjoyed We All Love the Beautiful Girls, then you’ll love Little Fires Everywhere.

“Readers who enjoyed the run away hit Little Fires Everywhere will devour this new, slightly edgier fiction release, We All Love the Beautiful Girls.”

Anderson's Bookshop image Katie, Anderson's Bookshop
Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

The Lucky Ones

A Novel
By Julianne Pachico
Narrated by Marisol Ramirez & Ramón de Ocampo /  8 hours 7 minutes

A literary jigsaw puzzle of a debut novel set in Colombia during the peak of its decades-long conflict, and in New York City

While her parents are away, a teenager finds herself home alone, with the household staff mysteriously gone, no phone connection, and news of an insurgency on the radio—and then she hears a knock at the door. Her teacher,... Read More »

Price:

$21.00

Get for Free with Membership

Sorry to Disrupt the Peace

By Patty Yumi Cottrell
Narrated by Nancy Wu /  6 hours 19 minutes

Helen Moran is thirty-two years old, single, childless, college educated, and partially employed as a guardian of troubled young people in New York. She is accepting a furniture delivery in her shared studio apartment when her uncle calls to break the news: Helen’s adoptive brother is dead.According to the Internet, there are six possible... Read More »

Price:

$22.94

Get for Free with Membership

Manhattan Beach

A Novel
By Jennifer Egan
Narrated by Norbert Leo Butz, Heather Lind & Vincent Piazza /  15 hours 16 minutes

Manhattan Beach

“Jennifer Egan's Manhattan Beach captures a time and place on the verge of momentous change. Set in Brooklyn in the 1940s, the novel tells the story of Anna Kerrigan, a young woman who has dropped out of Brooklyn College to contribute what she can to the American war effort. Unsatisfied with her job of inspecting and measuring machine parts, she attempts to enter the male-only world of deep-sea diving. Manhattan Beach is rich and atmospheric, highlighting a period when gangs controlled the waterfront, jazz streamed from the doors of nightclubs, and the future for everyone was far from certain.”

Politics & Prose image Mark LaFramboise, Politics & Prose
Price:

$28.74

Get for Free with Membership

Dear Cyborgs

By Eugene Lim
Narrated by Feodor Chin /  4 hours 6 minutes

A fractal fable about the possibility and power of protest as told by three superheroes on their lunch breakIn a small Midwestern town, two Asian American boys bond over their outcast status and a mutual love of comic books. Meanwhile, in an alternative or perhaps future universe, a team of superheroes ponders modern society during their time... Read More »

Price:

$19.49

Get for Free with Membership

Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist)

By Min Jin Lee
Narrated by Allison Hiroto /  18 hours 15 minutes

Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist)

“A father's gentle nature, a mother's sacrifice, a daughter's trust, and a son's determination are the cornerstones of this grand, multilayered saga. Pachinko follows one family through an ever-changing cultural landscape, from 1910 Korea to 1989 Japan. As the bonds of family are put to the test in the harsh realities of their world, Sunja and those she holds dear manage to carve themselves a place to call home with hard work, self sacrifice, and a little kimchi. Through it all is a message about love, faith, and the deep-rooted bonds of family. Min Jin Lee gives us a phenomenal story about one family's struggle that resonates with us today. It will take hold of you and not let go!”

Jennifer Steele image Jennifer Steele, Boswell Book Company
Price:

$29.88

Get for Free with Membership

The Power

By Naomi Alderman
Narrated by Naomi Alderman /  12 hours 5 minutes

One of the New York Times's Ten Best Books of 2017 A Los Angeles Times Best Book of 2017 One of the Washington Post's Ten Best Books of 2017 An NPR Best Book of 2017 One of Entertainment Weekly's Ten Best Books of 2017 A Bustle Best Book of 2017 A Paste Magazine Best Novel of 2017 A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of 2017 Winner of the... Read More »

Price:

$28.73

Get for Free with Membership

Sing, Unburied, Sing

A Novel
By Jesmyn Ward
Narrated by Kelvin Harrison, Jr., Chris Chalk & Rutina Wesley /  8 hours 22 minutes

Sing, Unburied, Sing

“Sing, Unburied, Sing is a dark and gorgeous song of love and heartbreak, haunting and tragic and disorienting in its timelessness. The Deepwater Horizon oil spill anchors Ward's tale to Mississippi today, which is almost indistinguishable from its notorious yesterday, a present and past (ironically) made more alive in the novel by ghosts and where everyone suffers from the cancers of buried sins. On Jojo's 13th birthday, while Mam is dying and Pop struggles to keep everyone safe, Leonie plans a road trip to the prison to pick up Michael, Jojo and baby Kayla's father. It's The Odyssey meets the Delta blues meets William Faulkner and Toni Morrison and some ineffable something that is Jesmyn Ward's own magic.”

Hudson Booksellers image Sara Hinckley, Hudson Booksellers
Price:

$22.99

Get for Free with Membership

The Changeling

A Novel
By Victor LaValle
Narrated by Victor LaValle /  14 hours 1 minute

“[This] haunting tale weaves a mesmerizing web around fatherhood, racism, horrific anxieties and even To Kill a Mockingbird. And the backdrop for this rich phantasmagoria? The boroughs of New York.”—The New York Times

Winner of an American Book Award, a Locus Award for Best Horror Novel, a British Fantasy Award for Best Horror Novel, a World... Read More »

Price:

$27.00

Get for Free with Membership

Sour Heart

Stories
By Jenny Zhang
Narrated by Greta Jung, Jenny Zhang & Various /  9 hours 59 minutes

A sly debut story collection that conjures the experience of adolescence through the eyes of Chinese American girls growing up in New York City—for readers of Zadie Smith, Helen Oyeyemi, and Junot Díaz

A fresh new voice emerges with the arrival of Sour Heart, establishing Jenny Zhang as a frank and subversive interpreter of the immigrant... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

New People

By Danzy Senna
Narrated by Kristen Ariza /  6 hours 5 minutes

Named a BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW, VOGUE, TIME MAGAZINE, NPR and THE ROOT

Named A 2017 BEST SUMMER READ BY


Vogue • Elle Harper's Bazaar Glamour • Buzzfeed • In Style • Men's Journal Bustle Ms. Magazine Pop Sugar Newsday • The Millions • Time Out • Bitch CNN's The Lead • The Fader

"[A] cutting take on race...
Read More »

Price:

$18.00

Get for Free with Membership

Do Not Become Alarmed

A Novel
By Maile Meloy
Narrated by Maile Meloy /  8 hours 58 minutes

Do Not Become Alarmed

“All parents have had those moments when something happens and you think, 'This is it. The moment my life changes.' This is the story of two families that face the unimaginable: they lose their children in a foreign country. The tale alternates between characters, with each fully realized and fully drawn. Maile Meloy explores what happens to each family: the relationship between the wives, who are cousins and have been close since childhood, and between the children who are missing. The writing is incredible, and the story is such that you can't put it down. A satisfying read that makes you wonder about how you would react in the same situation.”

Kym Havens image Kym Havens, An Unlikely Story
Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership
Celebrate Small Business Saturday! Over 150 great audiobooks on sale from now thru Saturday, November 24th! Shop the Sale

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener