Get Your First Month for Free Get Started

AkooBooks Audio Black/African: Narrated by Robin Miles

A list of all the latest African/African American & other audiobooks narrated by Robin Miles

Twelve Times Blessed

By Jacquelyn Mitchard
Narrated by Robin Miles / 

It is True Dickinson's forty-third birthday, and her best friends have gathered on this snowy night in Cape Cod at a trendy neighborhood restaurant to celebrate. True has never felt more alone.

It's been eight years since the death of her husband, leaving her to raise their son on her own. Both her son and her small business are thriving, and... Read More »

Price:

$47.14

Currently Not Available
Check back soon or contact us at support@libro.fm.

A Permanent Member of the Family

By Russell Banks
Narrated by Danny Campbell, Andrus Nichols & Robin Miles /  5 hours 58 minutes

A masterly collection of new stories from Russell Banks, acclaimed author of The Sweet Hereafter and Rule of the Bone, which maps the complex terrain of the modern American family

The New York Times lauds Russell Banks as "the most compassionate fiction writer working today" and hails him as a novelist who delivers "wrenching, panoramic visions... Read More »

Price:

$21.84

Get for Free with Membership

Remembering Whitney

My Story of Love, Loss, and the Night the Music Stopped
By Cissy Houston
Narrated by Robin Miles /  7 hours 54 minutes

Honest and heartbreaking, a mother's story of tears, joy, and her greatest love of all—her daughter, Whitney

On the eve of the 2012 Grammy Awards, the world learned of a stunning tragedy: Whitney Houston, unquestionably one of the most remarkable and powerful voices in all of music, had been silenced forever. Over the weeks and months that... Read More »

Price:

$25.29

Get for Free with Membership

Red

A Crayon's Story
By Michael Hall
Narrated by Robin Miles /  5 minutes

This is a story about a crayon I know.

I wrote it for you. Read More »

Price:

$2.29

Get for Free with Membership

Another Brooklyn

A Novel
By Jacqueline Woodson
Narrated by Robin Miles /  2 hours 43 minutes

Another Brooklyn

“National Book Award-winning author Jacqueline Woodson has crafted a beautiful, heart-wrenching novel of a young girl's coming-of-age in Brooklyn. Effortlessly weaving poetic prose, Woodson tells the story of the relationships young women form, their yearning to belong, and the bonds that are created - and broken. Brooklyn itself is a vivid character in this tale -- a place at first harsh, but one that becomes home and plays a role in each character's future. Woodson is one of the most skilled storytellers of our day, and I continue to love and devour each masterpiece she creates!”

Nicole Yasinsky image Nicole Yasinsky, The Booksellers at Laurelwood
Price:

$18.39

Get for Free with Membership

The Freedom Maze

By Delia Sherman
Narrated by Robin Miles /  8 hours 33 minutes

Set against the burgeoning Civil Rights movement of the 1960s, and then just before the outbreak of the Civil War, The Freedom Maze explores both political and personal liberation, and how the two intertwine.

In 1960, thirteen-year-old Sophie isn’t happy about spending the summer at her grandmother’s old house in the Bayou. But the house has... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

Revolution

The Sixties Trilogy
By Deborah Wiles
Narrated by Stacey Aswad, Francois Battiste, J. D. Jackson & Robin Miles /  12 hours 8 minutes

It's 1964, and Sunny's town is being invaded. Or at least that's what the adults of Greenwood, Mississippi are saying. All Sunny knows is that people from up north are coming to help people register to vote. They're calling it Freedom Summer.

Meanwhile, Sunny can't help but feel like her house is being invaded, too. She has a new stepmother, a... Read More »

Price:

$30.00

Get for Free with Membership

Counting by 7s

By Holly Goldberg Sloan
Narrated by Robin Miles /  7 hours 14 minutes

A New York Times Bestseller

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to... Read More »

Price:

$24.00

Get for Free with Membership

Binti

Binti: Book #1
By Nnedi Okorafor & N. K. Jemisin
Narrated by Robin Miles /  2 hours 30 minutes

Winner of the Hugo Award and the Nebula Award for Best Novella!

Her name is Binti, and she is the first of the Himba people ever to be offered a place at Oomza University, the finest institution of higher learning in the galaxy. But to accept the offer will mean giving up her place in her family to travel between the stars among strangers who do... Read More »

Price:

$12.64

Get for Free with Membership

The Drowning Eyes

By Emily Foster
Narrated by Robin Miles /  2 hours 56 minutes

When the Dragon Ships began to tear through the trade lanes and ravage coastal towns, the hopes of the archipelago turned to the Windspeakers on Tash. The solemn weather-shapers with their eyes of stone can steal the breeze from raiders' sails and save the islands from their wrath. But the Windspeakers' magic has been stolen, and only their... Read More »

Price:

$12.64

Get for Free with Membership

Brother I'm Dying

By Edwidge Danticat
Narrated by Robin Miles /  7 hours 51 minutes

From the age of four, award-winning writer Edwidge Danticat came to think of her uncle Joseph as her "second father," when she was placed in his care after her parents left Haiti for America. And so she was both elated and saddened when, at twelve, she joined her parents and youngest brothers in New York City. As Edwidge made a life in a new... Read More »

Price:

$28.74

Get for Free with Membership

Plain Brown Wrapper

By Karen Grigsby Bates
Narrated by Robin Miles /  11 hours 35 minutes

Karen Grigsby Bates, a contributor to People magazine and the Los Angeles Times and an NPR commentator, delivers a slick mystery featuring sharp-tongued reporter Alex Powell. While attending the National Association of Black Journalists conference, Alex discovers the dead body of a publishing bigwig who was about to be toasted as journalist of... Read More »

Price:

$34.49

Get for Free with Membership

Between Goodbyes

By Anita Bunkley
Narrated by Robin Miles /  11 hours 28 minutes

Popular author Anita Bunkley is a Career Achievement Award Winner in African-American Fiction from Romantic Times and was voted one of the 50 favorite African-American authors of the 20th century. Between Goodbyes is her riveting tale of Broadway star Niya Londres, who is planning her extravagant Acapulco wedding. But there's one problem. Niya... Read More »

Price:

$34.49

Get for Free with Membership

Beyond This Moment

The Timber Ridge Reflections series: Book #2
By Tamera Alexander
Narrated by Robin Miles /  16 hours 4 minutes

Tamera Alexander—RITA and Christy Award winner—interweaves threads of hope and second chances into a life tangled by half-truths and lies. Stepping off the train in 1876 Colorado Territory, Professor Molly Whitcomb, Ph.D, makes a distasteful choice she sees as her only chance to recover a fraction of what she’s lost. Read More »

Price:

$40.24

Get for Free with Membership

More

By Austin Clarke
Narrated by Robin Miles /  10 hours 33 minutes

Winner of the Giller Prize and the Commonwealth Writers Prize for his novel The Polished Hoe, Austin Clarke is among Canada’s most celebrated authors. More follows Barbados native and Toronto resident Idora Morrison, who cannot muster the desire to rise one morning. Her husband has left her, her son has chosen gang life, and societal prejudices... Read More »

Price:

$34.49

Get for Free with Membership

Never Caught

By Erica Armstrong Dunbar
Narrated by Robin Miles /  6 hours 45 minutes

Finalist for the National Book Award for Nonfiction

A startling and eye-opening look into America’s First Family, Never Caught is the powerful narrative of Ona Judge, George and Martha Washington’s runaway slave who risked it all to escape the nation’s capital and reach freedom.

When George Washington was elected president, he reluctantly left... Read More »

Price:

$20.69

Get for Free with Membership

Leaving Atlanta

By Tayari Jones
Narrated by Robin Miles, Myra Lucretia Taylor & Kevin R. Free /  7 hours 24 minutes

Award-winning novelist Tayari Jones delivers a story based on the 1979-1980 Atlanta child murders. Told from the perspective of three fifth-grade classmates, Leaving Atlanta is a vividly disturbing, but hopeful novel. The convincing characters, voiced by a full cast of narrators, make this a haunting and effective work. Read More »

Price:

$28.74

Get for Free with Membership

Within My Heart

The Timber Ridge Reflections series: Book #3
By Tamera Alexander
Narrated by Robin Miles /  13 hours 7 minutes

Christy Award-winning author Tamera Alexander crafts magnificent tales that touch the heart and move the soul. Here widow Rachel Boyd struggles to keep her Colorado ranch afloat and provide for her young sons. When her cattle grow sick, she turns to Timber Ridge’s doctor, Rand Brookston, for help. She tries to suppress her attraction to the... Read More »

Price:

$34.49

Get for Free with Membership

The Warmth of Other Suns

The Epic Story of America's Great Migration
By Isabel Wilkerson
Narrated by Robin Miles /  22 hours 40 minutes

In this epic, beautifully written masterwork, Pulitzer Prize–winning author Isabel Wilkerson chronicles one of the great untold stories of American history: the decades-long migration of black citizens who fled the South for northern and western cities in search of a better life. From 1915 to 1970, this exodus of almost six million people... Read More »

Price:

$17.24

Get for Free with Membership

Redemption in Indigo

By Karen Lord
Narrated by Robin Miles /  6 hours 28 minutes

This fascinating debut by Karen Lord—a retelling of a Senegalese folktale—earned starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist and won the Frank Collymore Award. When Paama finally leaves her gluttonous husband, she attracts the attention of the undying spirit Patience, who gives her Chance’s Chaos Stick as a gift. But Chance insists... Read More »

Price:

$28.74

Get for Free with Membership

Share this page!

Link too long? Use a URL Shortener