Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Audiobooks by Afghan Women

Support the voices of Afghan women by listening to the stories they tell.

Playlist Tags: topic: afghan topic: afghanistan

View all playlists

Dancing in the Mosque

An Afghan Mother’s Letter to her Son

By Homeira Qaderi
Narrated by: Ariana Delawari
Length: 6 hours 21 minutes

Dancing in the Mosque

“This was a very touching, unique read. It’s incredible that this story is true, and reading it reminded me of how vastly different my life is from those of women raised in Afghanistan. I feel so privileged to have been given such a great education and to have been allowed and encouraged to educate myself. I am very appreciative of Homeira Qaderi for having the courage and motivation to persist in publishing her work so that we may be graced with it. Very inspiring.”

BookPeople image Allie Blake, BookPeople
Audiobook details

Sparks Like Stars

A Novel

By Nadia Hashimi
Narrated by: Mozhan Marno
Length: 12 hours 2 minutes

An Afghan American woman returns to Kabul to learn the truth about her family and the tragedy that destroyed their lives in this brilliant and compelling novel from the bestselling author of The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, The House Without Windows, and When the Moon Is Low.

Kabul, 1978: The daughter of a prominent family, Sitara Zamani lives a...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Broken Circle

A Memoir of Escaping Afghanistan

By Enjeela Ahmadi-Miller
Narrated by: Lameece Issaq
Length: 8 hours 12 minutes

An emotional and sweeping memoir of love and survival—and of a committed and desperate family uprooted and divided by the violent, changing landscape of Afghanistan in the early 1980s.

Before the Soviet invasion of 1980, Enjeela Ahmadi remembers her home—Kabul, Afghanistan—as peaceful, prosperous, and filled with people from all walks of life....

Read more »

Audiobook details

A Land of Permanent Goodbyes

By Atia Abawi
Narrated by: Leila Buck
Length: 6 hours 39 minutes

Narrated by Destiny, this heartbreaking-and timely-story of refugees escaping from war-torn Syria is masterfully told by a foreign news correspondent who experienced the crisis firsthand. In a country ripped apart by war, Tareq lives with his big and loving family.until the bombs strike. His city is in ruins. His life is destroyed. And those who... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Favored Daughter

One Woman's Fight to Lead Afghanistan into the Future

By Nadene Ghouri & Fawzia Koofi
Narrated by: Emily Durante
Length: 9 hours 36 minutes

The nineteenth daughter of a local village leader in rural Afghanistan, Fawzia Koofi was left to die in the sun after birth by her mother. But she survived, and perseverance in the face of extreme hardship has defined her life ever since. Despite the abuse of her family, the exploitative Russian and Taliban regimes, the murders of her father and... Read more »

Audiobook details

She Persisted: Sally Ride

She Persisted

By Atia Abawi & Chelsea Clinton
Narrated by: Carolyn Kang
Length: 45 minutes

Inspired by the #1 New York Times bestseller She Persisted by Chelsea Clinton and Alexandra Boiger comes a chapter book series about women who stood up, spoke up and rose up against the odds!

In this chapter book biography by award-winning author Atia Abawi, readers learn about the amazing life of Sally Ride--and how she persisted

As the first... Read more »

Audiobook details

Above Us the Milky Way

An Illuminated Alphabet

By Fowzia Karimi
Narrated by: Fowzia Karimi
Length: 11 hours 35 minutes

Above Us the Milky Way is a story about war, immigration, and the remarkable human capacity to create beauty out of horror. As a young family attempts to reconstruct their lives in a new and peaceful country, they are daily drawn back to the first land through remembrance and longing, by news of the continued suffering and loss of loved ones,...

Read more »

Audiobook details

One Half from the East

By Nadia Hashimi
Narrated by: Ariana Delawari
Length: 5 hours 54 minutes

Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh—a preteen girl dressed as a boy.

Obayda’s family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Secret Sky

By Atia Abawi
Narrated by: Ariana Delawari & Assaf Cohen
Length: 7 hours 38 minutes

An eye-opening, heart-rending tale of love, honor and betrayal from NBC foreign news correspodent Atia Abawi

Fatima is a Hazara girl, raised to be obedient and dutiful. Samiullah is a Pashtun boy raised to defend the traditions of his tribe. They were not meant to fall in love. But they do. And the story that follows shows both the beauty and the... Read more »

Audiobook details