Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Get a free audiobook on Independent Bookstore Day! Learn more

I Read Canadian

I READ CANADIAN DAY celebrates Canadian books for young readers. We've collected a list of some great Canadian audiobooks for kids, from the littlest little to the older teen.

Playlist Tags: audience: kids audience: teen topic: canadian

View all playlists

Coyote Tales

By Thomas King
Narrated by: Meegwun Fairbrother
Length: 39 minutes

Two tales, set in a time “when animals and human beings still talked to each other,” display Thomas King’s cheeky humor and master storytelling skills. Freshly illustrated and reissued as an early chapter book, these stories are perfect for newly independent readers.

In Coyote Sings to the Moon, Coyote is at first the cause of misfortune. In... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Hockey Sweater and Other Stories

A-List

By Roch Carrier
Narrated by: Roch Carrier
Length: 3 hours 49 minutes

As a part of the launch of the new A-List series, a curated selection of titles from Anansi's backlist featuring handsome new covers and introductions by well-known Canadian writers, comes Roch Carrier's The Hockey Sweater and Other Stories, with an introduction by Dave Bidini.

"The Hockey Sweater", the title story in this 20-story collection,... Read more »

Audiobook details

God Loves Hair

By Vivek Shraya & Cherie Dimaline
Narrated by: Vivek Shraya
Length: 1 hours 24 minutes

A tenth-anniversary edition of Vivek Shraya's first book: a YA story collection that celebrates racial, gender, and religious diversity.

In 2010, Vivek Shraya self-published God Loves Hair, her first book; since then, Vivek has published six more titles, including a novel, poetry collection, graphic novel, and children's picture book, while also... Read more »

Audiobook details

Scaredy Squirrel

By Melanie Watt
Narrated by: David de Vries
Length: 9 minutes

Scaredy Squirrel never leaves his nut tree. It's way too dangerous out there! Day after day he watches and waits, and waits and watches, until one day... his worst nightmare comes true! Scaredy Squirrel suddenly finds himself out of his tree. As he leaps into the unknown, he discovers something really uplifting and surprising about himself. Read more »

Audiobook details

This is Not My Hat

By Jon Klassen
Narrated by: John Keating
Length: 4 minutes

When a tiny fish shoots into view wearing a round blue topper - which happens to fit him perfectly, trouble could be following close behind! Visual humor swims to the fore as the best-selling Jon Klassen follows his breakout debut with another deadpan funny tale Read more »

Audiobook details

Town Is by the Sea

By Joanne Schwartz
Narrated by: Mark Turetsky
Length: 8 minutes

In this new book from Joanne Schwartz, a young boy enjoys a summer day while his thoughts constantly return to his father, who is digging for coal deep under the sea A young boy wakes up to the sound of the sea, visits his grandfather's grave after lunch and comes home to a simple family dinner, but all the while his mind strays to his father... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Darkest Dark

By Colonel Chris Hadfield & Kate Fillion
Narrated by: Author
Length: 7 minutes

Inspired by the childhood of real-life astronaut Chris Hadfield and brought to life by Terry and Eric Fan's lush, evocative illustrations, The Darkest Dark will encourage readers to dream the impossible.

Chris loves rockets and planets and pretending he's a brave astronaut, exploring the universe. Only one problem--at night, Chris doesn't feel... Read more »

Audiobook details

Small in the City

By Sydney Smith
Narrated by: Stephanie Willing
Length: 6 minutes

When you're small in the city, people don't see you, and loud sounds can scare you, and knowing what to do is sometimes hard. But this little kid knows what it's like and knows the neighborhood. And a little friendly advice can go a long way. Alleys can be good shortcuts, but some are too dark. And there are lots of good hiding places in the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Social Purpose Annual Report

Social Purpose Annual Report

As we look to the future as a Social Purpose Corporation, we’re committed to serving readers and independent bookstores. Read our 2020 Annual Report to see an overview of the year.

Read the Report

The Littlest Sled Dog

By Michael Kusugak
Narrated by: Heather Gould
Length: 10 minutes

Igvillu is a little dog with big dreams. One of her favorite dreams is of becoming a sled dog. When Igvillu is adopted from her kennel by an Inuit storyteller and moves to northern Canada, she comes face-to-face with real sled dogs. Igvillu loves living in the North, chasing siksiks and dreaming about her future. She's a dog who believes... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Magic Boat

By Kit Pearson & Katherine Farris
Narrated by: Heather Gould
Length: 5 minutes

Every summer morning, Ellie and her Nonna go to the beach. They swim and build sandcastles, and while Nonna reads, Ellie watches the other children play. One day Ellie builds up the courage to approach an older girl playing on her own in a beached rowboat. Piper has a gift, an imagination so great that she whisks Ellie off on grand adventures,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Anne of Green Gables

The Anne of Green Gables Series: Book #1

By L. M. Montgomery
Narrated by: Susan O’Malley
Length: 10 hours 41 minutes

Anne Shirley, the orphan child who brings happiness and love into the lives of her foster family, is one of the most beloved heroines in all of literature. This wildly imaginative, red-headed chatterbox tries to fit into the narrow confines of Victorian expectations, but her exuberant spirit keeps leaping delightfully beyond the bounds.

When... Read more »

Audiobook details

Broken Strings

By Eric Walters & Kathy Kacer
Narrated by: Gabi Epstein
Length: 6 hours 48 minutes

A violin and a middle-school musical unleash a dark family secret in this moving story by an award-winning author duo. For fans of The Devil's Arithmetic and Hana's Suitcase.

It's 2002. In the aftermath of the twin towers -- and the death of her beloved grandmother -- Shirli Berman is intent on moving forward. The best singer in her junior high,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Unplugged

By Gordon Korman
Narrated by: A.J. Beckles, Maxwell Glick, Vikas Adam, Reba Buhr, Sarah Mollo-Christensen & Barrett Leddy
Length: 6 hours 30 minutes

From New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman comes a hilarious middle grade novel about a group of kids forced to “unplug” at a wellness camp—where they instead find intrigue, adventure, and a whole lot of chaos. Perfect for fans of Korman’s The Unteachables and Masterminds series, as well as Carl Hiaasen’s eco mysteries.

As the son of... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Greats

By Deborah Ellis
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 4 hours 6 minutes

With the unexpected help of a giant prehistoric sloth, ghostly grandfathers return to help a suicidal teenager.

Winning a national high-school geography competition should be the high point of Jomon's life. So why does he find himself running through the streets of Georgetown, Guyana, later that same night - so angry and desperate? Why does he... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Lotterys Plus One

By Emma Donoghue
Narrated by: Thérèse Plummer
Length: 6 hours 35 minutes

The bestselling author of the adult novel Room bursts onto the children's book scene with this cross between Little Miss Sunshine, Cheaper by the Dozen, and Modern Family.

Sumac Lottery is nine years old and the self-proclaimed "good girl" of her (VERY) large, (EXTREMELY) unruly family. And what a family the Lotterys are: four parents, children... Read more »

Audiobook details

Optimists Die First

By Susin Nielsen
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 4 hours 58 minutes

Award-winning author Susin Nielsen has written a laugh-out-loud and heartrending novel for fans of Robyn Schneider’s Extraordinary Means and Cammie McGovern’s Say What You Will.
 
Beware: Life ahead.
 
Sixteen-year-old Petula de Wilde is anything but wild. A former crafting fiend with a happy life, Petula shut herself off from the world after a... Read more »

Audiobook details

Saints and Misfits

By S. K. Ali
Narrated by: Ariana Delawari
Length: 8 hours 4 minutes

Saints and Misfits is an unforgettable debut novel that feels like a modern day My So-Called Life…starring a Muslim teen.

There are three kinds of people in my world:

1. Saints, those special people moving the world forward. Sometimes you glaze over them. Or, at least, I do. They’re in your face so much, you can’t see them, like how you can’t see... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Agency 1: A Spy in the House

By Y. S. Lee
Narrated by: Justine Eyre
Length: 7 hours 29 minutes

Steeped in Victorian atmosphere and intrigue, this diverting mystery trails a feisty heroine as she takes on a precarious secret assignment.

Rescued from the gallows in 1850s London, young orphan (and thief) Mary Quinn is surprised to be offered a singular education, instruction in fine manners—and an unusual vocation. Miss Scrimshaw’s Academy... Read more »

Audiobook details

Empire of Wild

A Novel

By Cherie Dimaline
Narrated by: Michelle St. John
Length: 8 hours 16 minutes

Empire of Wild

“Cherie Dimaline’s latest novel packs a wallop of a story. Absolutely stunning in every way, this latest offering follows the story of Joan, whose husband has disappeared, and her courage when confronted with truths and lies. She and her husband, Victor, live in a Métis community, close and tight knit. As Joan deals with the fallout of her emotions after Victor disappears, she comes across another man, Eugene Wolff, who bears her husband’s face. He does not carry Victor’s memories and insists he has no idea who Joan’s husband is. Turning over rocks to find the truth, Joan reaches out to whomever she can in her community for help. What waits for her at the end of her quest is incredible. This novel will have you at the edge of your seat!”

The Neverending Bookshop image Annie Carl, The Neverending Bookshop
Audiobook details

Get a free audiobook on Independent Bookstore Day! Learn more