Have a Gift or Promo Code? Get Started

Share a video about what your bookstore means to you and receive a FREE audiobook.

Learn more
Bookseller

AntiRacist Playlist for Middle Grade Listeners

Middle Grade Books about Race, Racism, and Justice

Playlist Tags: Wild Rumpus Books topic: social justice topic: antiracism topic: racism topic: race

View All Playlists

Black Brother, Black Brother

By Jewell Parker Rhodes
Narrated by Barrie Buckner /  4 hours 36 minutes

From award-winning and bestselling author, Jewell Parker Rhodes comes a powerful coming-of-age story about two brothers, one who presents as white, the other as black, and the complex ways in which they are forced to navigate the world, all while training for a fencing competition.
Framed. Bullied. Disliked. But I know I can still be the... Read more »

Price:

$28.73 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Ghost Boys

By Jewell Parker Rhodes
Narrated by Miles Harvey /  2 hours 51 minutes

A heartbreaking and powerful story about a black boy killed by a police officer, drawing connections through history, from award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes.

Only the living can make the world better. Live and make it better.

Twelve-year-old Jerome is shot by a police officer who mistakes his toy gun for a real threat. As a ghost, he... Read more »

Price:

$25.28 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Only Black Girls in Town

By Brandy Colbert
Narrated by Jeanette Illidge /  7 hours 28 minutes

Award-winning YA author Brandy Colbert's debut middle-grade novel about the only two black girls in town who discover a collection of hidden journals revealing shocking secrets of the past.

Beach-loving surfer Alberta has been the only black girl in town for years. Alberta's best friend, Laramie, is the closest thing she has to a sister, but... Read more »

Price:

$28.73 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

We Rise, We Resist, We Raise Our Voices

By Wade Hudson & Cheryl Willis Hudson
Narrated by Bahni Turpin, Guy Lockard, Various, January LaVoy, Dominic Hoffman, Adenrele Ojo, Kyla Garcia, N'Jameh Camara, Soneela Nankani, Darrell Dennis, Jennifer Lim, Sullivan Jones & Paul Robeson /  1 hour 41 minutes

The foremost diverse children's authors--including Jason Reynolds, Jacqueline Woodson, and Kwame Alexander--share answers to the question, "In this divisive world, what shall we tell our children?" in this powerful collection, published in partnership with Just Us Books.

Featuring poems, letters, personal essays, songs, and other works from such... Read more »

Price:

$15.40 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

From the Desk of Zoe Washington

By Janae Marks
Narrated by Bahni Turpin /  6 hours 9 minutes

From the Desk of Zoe Washington

“Zoe loves to bake. She wants to be a professional pastry chef when she grows up, and her mom landed her an internship at a local bakery this summer! But when she receives a letter from her birth father in prison on her 12th birthday, everything changes. Marcus sounds very nice in his letter, but he's in jail for murder. Zoe's not sure at first, but as she writes back and forth with Marcus (secretly—her mom would never allow it), she sees that he's really a good person. Could innocent people go to prison? With friendship challenges, cupcake creations, and a fight for justice—not to mention Bahni Turpin's peppy narration—From the Desk of Zoe Washington is an absolute delight to listen to.”

Raven Book Store image Mary, Raven Book Store
Price:

$24.14 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A Good Kind of Trouble

By Lisa Moore Ramée
Narrated by Imani Parks /  6 hours 45 minutes

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds.

Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules.... Read more »

Price:

$24.14 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Harbor Me

By Jacqueline Woodson
Narrated by N'Jameh Camara, Jacqueline Woodson, Toshi Widoff-Woodson, Jose Carrera, Dean Flanagan, Angel Romero & Mikelle Wright-Matos /  3 hours 49 minutes

Harbor Me

“In Harbor Me, six kids find common ground and build strong friendships through the simple act of talking to each other. The book addresses important contemporary issues of bullying, racial injustice, and immigration in a way that children from a wide range of backgrounds can relate. Jacqueline Woodson's latest is a beautifully written book that celebrates the power of communication and empathy to make our communities stronger. The kids in our store's book club picked this book and universally raved about it.”

Hicklebee's image Suzi Hough, Hicklebee's
Price:

$25.20 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Parker Inheritance

By Varian Johnson
Narrated by Cherise Boothe /  10 hours

The Westing Game meets The Watsons Go to Birmingham-1963 in a stirring mystery of past and present, as two kids search for a place in their families, city, and country.

The letter waits in a book, in a box, in an attic, in an old house in Lambert, South Carolina. It's waiting for Candice Miller.

When Candice finds the letter, she isn't sure she... Read more »

Price:

$27.99 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

One Crazy Summer

By Rita Williams-Garcia
Narrated by Sisi Aisha Johnson /  5 hours 9 minutes

Eleven-year-old Delphine and her younger sisters Vonetta and Fern travel to Oakland to meet their mother, Cecile, who abandoned their family years earlier. But even when Cecile gets them to her house, she shows no interest and seems to view them as nothing but a nuisance. Cecile's cold, unloving attitude leaves the girls wishing for the... Read more »

Price:

$18.39 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Clean Getaway

By Nic Stone
Narrated by Dion Graham /  3 hours 56 minutes

Clean Getaway

“A fast-paced read that has as many funny twists and turns as G-ma's driving! Part historical fiction, part road adventure, Nic Stone's first middle grade novel is perfect for a read aloud!”

Brain Lair Books image Jessica, Brain Lair Books
Price:

$21.00 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

King and the Dragonflies

By Kacen Callender
Narrated by Ron Butler /  5 hours 3 minutes

King and the Dragonflies

“Kingston (King) James and his parents are grieving the loss of Khalid-- King's older brother. When Khalid was alive and the two shared a bedroom, he would talk in his sleep, telling his younger brother stories about the universe and its magic. King continues to see Khalid in his dreams, and is convinced Khalid has transformed into a dragonfly. The Louisiana bayou provides the backdrop for both a colorful landscape and a tense, fearful place where racism festers. When King's former friend, Sandy, who is white, and the son of the racist police chief, goes missing, King ends up helping hide Sandy from his abusive father. Woven seamlessly into this wise story is King's slow awakening of his sexuality, brought to the fore by his renewed friendship with Sandy, who is known to be gay. Callender's writing is so authentic and their characters are so tenderly portrayed by Ron Butler's superb narration I mourned its conclusion. The whole package is a crowning achievement.”

Bear Pond Books image Jane, Bear Pond Books
Price:

$24.99 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Blended

By Sharon M. Draper
Narrated by Sharon M. Draper /  5 hours 41 minutes

Blended

“Not only is the book itself amazing, but the narration by the author Sharon M. Draper is beyond stellar. The story deals with tough issues surrounding both family and social strife. The author superbly writes about these issues with wit and wisdom, and with candor and honesty. Aside from the "written" brilliance of Blended, the author delivers this story with so much energy that captures the humor and tenderness of this story. We cannot say enough about this wonderful audiobook and wholeheartedly recommend Blended.”

Owl Books image Triera, Owl Books
Price:

$20.69 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

What Lane?

By Torrey Maldonado
Narrated by Torrey Maldonado /  2 hours 35 minutes

"STAY IN YOUR LANE." Stephen doesn't want to hear that--he wants to have no lane.

Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn't think it's his lane, but he goes. Here's the thing, though: Can he do everything his friends can? Lately, he's not so... Read more »

Price:

$21.00 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Share a video about what your bookstore means to you and receive a FREE audiobook.

Learn more