Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Bookseller

Current Events

We recognize what’s going in our country, and we want to show our support for the Black community. We here at Buy The Book do believe that Black Lives Matter, and want to do what we can to give everyone the resources to learn about what they can do to help. So, we have put together a list books about racism, antiracism, and how to talk to your children about racism.

Playlist Tags: Buy The Book genre: Non-Classifiable topic: racism topic: black authors topic: black lives matter

View all playlists

Chokehold

Policing Black Men

By Paul Butler
Narrated by: JD Jackson
Length: 8 hours 53 minutes

Nominated for the 49th NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work (Nonfiction)

A 2017 Washington Post Notable Book

A Kirkus Best Book of 2017

“Butler has hit his stride. This is a meditation, a sonnet, a legal brief, a poetry slam and a dissertation that represents the full bloom of his early thesis: The justice system does not work for...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Heavy

An American Memoir

By Kiese Laymon
Narrated by: Kiese Laymon
Length: 6 hours 17 minutes

Heavy

“Telling the truth has always been a radical and political act, but Kiese Laymon writes in Heavy with a rare, vulnerable unity of personal urgency and political clarity. This is a story about how our country’s lies and thefts weigh heavily on the hearts and souls of its black mothers and sons. About how dishonesty about white supremacy, money, sex, and violence threads through our most intimate relationships and causes us to become strangers to ourselves. If Heavy is about lies, it is also fundamentally about the redemptive power of truth, stories, language, and joy. If there’s a way out of the loneliness of being human in a country that does not value or support humanity, Laymon suggests, it is in the connection we find in the words we toss to one another, like lifelines, like laughter.”

Charis Books & More image E.R. Anderson, Charis Books & More
Audiobook details

Harriet Tubman

The Road to Freedom

By Catherine Clinton
Narrated by: Shayna Small
Length: 8 hours 3 minutes

The definitive biography of one of the most courageous women in American history "reveals Harriet Tubman to be even more remarkable than her legend" (Newsday).
Celebrated for her exploits as a conductor on the Underground Railroad, Harriet Tubman has entered history as one of nineteenth-century America's most enduring and important figures. But... Read more »
Audiobook details

Negroland

A Memoir

By Margo Jefferson
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 7 hours 59 minutes

At once incendiary and icy, mischievous and provocative, celebratory and elegiac-here is a deeply felt meditation on race, sex, and American culture through the prism of Margo Jefferson's rarefied upbringing and education among a black elite concerned with distancing itself from whites and the black generality while tirelessly measuring itself... Read more »
Audiobook details

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

By Maya Angelou
Narrated by: Maya Angelou
Length: 10 hours 10 minutes

Maya Angelou’s debut memoir is a modern American classic beloved worldwide. Her life story is told in the documentary film And Still I Rise, as seen on PBS’s American Masters.

Here is a book as joyous and painful, as mysterious and memorable, as childhood itself. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings captures the longing of lonely children, the brute... Read more »
Audiobook details

Black Shack Alley

By Joseph Zobel
Narrated by: Ron Butler
Length: 9 hours 37 minutes

The semi-autobiographical, Caribbean novel that explores shifting race relations in early twentieth-century colonial Martinique, with a foreword by Martinican author Patrick Chamoiseau A Penguin Classic Following in the tradition of Richard Wright's Black Boy, Joseph Zobel's semi-autobiographical 1950 novel Black Shack Alley chronicles the... Read more »
Audiobook details

Black Boy

By Richard Wright
Narrated by: Peter Francis James
Length: 15 hours 28 minutes

Richard Wright's powerful and eloquent memoir of his journey from innocence to experience in the Jim Crow South. At once an unashamed confession and a profound indictment, Black Boy is a poignant record of struggle and endurance--a seminal literary work that illuminates our own time.

When it exploded onto the literary scene in 1945, Black Boy was...

Read more »
Audiobook details

The Terrible

A Storyteller's Memoir

By Yrsa Daley-Ward
Narrated by: Yrsa Daley-Ward & Howard Daley-Ward
Length: 3 hours 59 minutes

From the celebrated poet behind bone, a lyrical memoir--part prose, part verse--about coming-of-age, uncovering the cruelty and the beauty of the wider world, and redemption through self-discovery and the bonds of family

.
"My little brother and I saw a unicorn in the garden in the late nineties.
I'm telling you. Neither one of us made it up; it... Read more »
Audiobook details

Here Comes the Sun

A Novel

By Nicole Dennis-Benn
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 11 hours 42 minutes

Capturing the distinct rhythms of Jamaican life and dialect, Nicole Dennis-Benn pens a tender hymn to a world hidden among pristine beaches and the wide expanse of turquoise seas. At an opulent resort in Montego Bay, Margot hustles to send her younger sister, Thandi, to school. Taught as a girl to trade her sexuality for survival, Margot is... Read more »
Audiobook details

How to Love a Jamaican

Stories

By Alexia Arthurs
Narrated by: Janina Edwards, Adenrele Ojo, Dominic Hoffman & James Fouhey
Length: 7 hours 3 minutes

“In these kaleidoscopic stories of Jamaica and its diaspora we hear many voices at once. All of them convince and sing. All of them shine.”—Zadie Smith

An O: The Oprah Magazine “Top 15 Best of the Year” • A Well-Read Black Girl’s Pick

Tenderness and cruelty, loyalty and betrayal, ambition and regret—Alexia Arthurs navigates these tensions to... Read more »
Audiobook details

The Mothers

A Novel

By Brit Bennett
Narrated by: Adenrele Ojo
Length: 9 hours 54 minutes

The Mothers

“The 'mothers' of this book's title refers to the gaggle of elderly churchgoing women who comment on the congregation around them, especially the trio of Nadia, Luke, and Aubrey. But The Mothers is about more than that -- it refers to the concept of motherhood, whether biological, lost, aborted, adoptive, or conflicted. The three young people at the heart of this story are all flawed, but their portrayals are realistic and they are easy for readers to support. This is a book about salvation -- not the spiritual salvation that the gossiping, but well-intentioned mothers seek, but the kind that comes with self-acceptance and growth. The Mothers is an honest, modern, and triumphant book.”

Women & Children First image Jamie Thomas, Women & Children First
Audiobook details

Bad Feminist

Essays

By Roxane Gay
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 11 hours 46 minutes

From the author of Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body, the New York Times Bestseller and Best Book of the Year at NPR, the Boston Globe, Newsweek, and many more

A collection of essays spanning politics, criticism, and feminism from one of the most-watched young cultural observers of her generation, Roxane Gay.

“Pink is my favorite color. I used to say...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Red at the Bone

A Novel

By Jacqueline Woodson
Narrated by: Jacqueline Woodson, Quincy Tyler Bernstine, Peter Francis James, Shayna Small & Bahni Turpin
Length: 3 hours 52 minutes

Red at the Bone

“Although you can read Jacqueline Woodson’s newest novel over the course of one evening, there is nothing breezy about the richness of its story, nothing short about the depth of its characters, nothing quick about the way this book stays with you after you finish reading. Told through five distinct voices, Red at the Bone tracks an African-American family through time and place as an unexpected pregnancy upends and reshapes family and class expectations as well as individual trajectories. Ultimately, the novel is about legacy in every sense of the word. And since Woodson’s writing packs the emotional punch of an epic in a novella number of pages, the legacy of her book is to be read over and over and over again.”

Kelly Brown image Kelly Brown, Magic City Books
Audiobook details

Beloved

By Toni Morrison
Narrated by: Toni Morrison
Length: 12 hours 2 minutes

Staring unflinchingly into the abyss of slavery, this spellbinding New York Times bestseller transforms history into a story as powerful as Exodus and as intimate as a lullaby.

Sethe, its protagonist, was born a slave and escaped to Ohio, but eighteen years later she is still not free. She has too many memories of Sweet Home, the beautiful... Read more »
Audiobook details

Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria?

And Other Conversations About Race

By Beverly Daniel Tatum
Narrated by: Beverly Daniel Tatum
Length: 13 hours 27 minutes

The classic, New York Times-bestselling book on the psychology of racism that shows us how to talk about race in America.

Walk into any racially mixed high school and you will see Black, White, and Latino youth clustered in their own groups. Is this self-segregation a problem to address or a coping strategy? How can we get past our reluctance to... Read more »
Audiobook details

Ninth Ward

By Jewell Parker Rhodes
Narrated by: Sisi Aisha Johnson
Length: 4 hours 23 minutes

Acclaimed novelist Jewell Parker Rhodes is an American Book Award winner. Rhodes' Ninth Ward is a stunning tale set against the horrors of Hurricane Katrina. Orphaned 12-year-old Lanesha lives with Mama Ya-Ya, the midwife who birthed her, in New Orleans' Ninth Ward. Although Lanesha is different-able to see ghosts like that of her dead... Read more »
Audiobook details

We Love You, Charlie Freeman

By Kaitlyn Greenidge
Narrated by: Cherise Boothe, Karole Foreman & Myra Lucretia Taylor
Length: 10 hours 16 minutes

Frustrated by the limitations of cross-race communication in her predominantly white town, a young African-American girl teaches herself to sign. Years later, Laurel uproots her husband and daughters from their downwardly-mobile, over-educated and underpaid life in the South End of Boston for Cortland County, Massachusetts. The Freemans are to... Read more »
Audiobook details

I am Rosa Parks

Ordinary People Change the World

By Brad Meltzer
Narrated by: Robin Miles & Various
Length: 15 minutes

"We can all be heroes" is the message entertainingly told in this biography series from #1 New York Times Bestselling author Brad Meltzer.

“Kids always search for heroes, so we might as well have a say in it,” Brad Meltzer realized, and so he envisioned this friendly, fun approach to biography – for his own kids, and for yours. Each entry tells... Read more »
Audiobook details

Who Was Rosa Parks?

Who Was?

By Yona Zeldis McDonough
Narrated by: Adenrele Ojo
Length: 1 hours 8 minutes

In 1955, Rosa Parks refused to give her bus seat to a white passenger in Montgomery, Alabama. This seemingly small act triggered civil rights protests across America and earned Rosa Parks the title "Mother of the Civil Rights Movement." Read more »
Audiobook details

Who Was Coretta Scott King?

Who Was?

By Gail Herman & Who HQ
Narrated by: Adenrele Ojo
Length: 1 hours 4 minutes

The wife of Martin Luther King Jr., Coretta Scott King was a civil rights leader in her own right, playing a prominent role in the African American struggle for racial equality in the 1960s.

Here's a gripping portrait of a smart, remarkable woman. Growing up in Alabama, Coretta Scott King graduated valedictorian from her high school before... Read more »
Audiobook details