Skip content
Are you an audio champion? Join our reading challenge and you could win a year of audiobooks and more! Learn more
Bookseller Created
2023 First Novel Prize Longlist
All playlists

2023 First Novel Prize Longlist

The First Novel Prize was created to honor the best debut fiction of the year. The winner receives a $15,000 prize and each of the other shortlisted authors receives $1,000. The shortlisted titles will be announced this fall, and the winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 5, 2023 at The Center for Fiction Annual Awards Benefit. Check out the 2023 long list! Please note: Some of the titles have not released yet so check in every few weeks to see the full list!

The Ocean Above Me

A Novel

By: Kevin Sites
Narrated by: Graham Halstead
Length: 9 hours 52 minutes

Longlisted for The Center for Fiction's First Novel PrizeAmerican Legacy Book Awards Winner""An intense and powerful novel about losing one’s way and then finding it again in the unlikeliest of places. I found it moving, thought-provoking and gripping in equal measure."" -- Ian McGuire, New York Times bestselling author of The North WaterTrapped... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Glassworks

By: Olivia Wolfgang-Smith
Narrated by: Katherine Littrell
Length: 14 hours 16 minutes

In 1910, Agnes Carter makes the wrong choice in marriage. After years as an independent woman of fortune, influential with the board of a prominent university because of her financial donations, she is now subject to the whims of an abusive, spendthrift husband. But when Bohemian naturalist and glassblower Ignace Novak reignites Agnes’s passion... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Chain Gang All Stars

National Book Award Finalist

By: Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Narrated by: Shayna Small, Aaron Goodson, Michael Crouch & Lee Osorio
Length: 13 hours 38 minutes

“This action-packed dystopian novel mixes real-life facts and horrors of the U.S. Prison Industrial Complex with an imagined and grotesque future. As the story unfolds, and more facts from present day seep into the narrative, that future starts to draw closer than we'd hope. Multiple voice actors and a cinematic narrative voice makes this book... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Gold medal with Libro.fm logo

Limited-time offer

Get two free audiobooks!

Now’s a great time to shop indie. When you start a new membership supporting local bookstores with promo code PRIMETIME, we’ll give you two bonus audiobook credits at sign-up.

Sign up today

In Memoriam

A novel

By: Alice Winn
Narrated by: Christian Coulson
Length: 12 hours 37 minutes

GMA BUZZ PICK • INTERNATIONAL BEST SELLER AND AWARD WINNER • A haunting, virtuosic debut novel about two young men who fall in love during World War I • “Will live in your mind long after you’ve closed the final pages.” —Maggie O’Farrell, best-selling author of Hamnet and The Marriage Portrait

A Best Book of the Year: The New Yorker, The...
Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Militia House

A Novel

By: John Milas
Narrated by: Davis Brooks
Length: 6 hours 38 minutes

Longlisted for the Center for Fiction's First Novel Prize

“An extraordinary novel about the quiet and not so quiet horrors of war.” —Roxane Gay


Stephen King meets Tim O’Brien in John Milas’s The Militia House, a spine-tingling and boldly original gothic horror novel.

It’s 2010, and the recently promoted Corporal Loyette and his unit are finishing... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

An Autobiography of Skin

A Novel

By: Lakiesha Carr
Narrated by: Kacie Rogers, Zenzi Williams & Karen Chilton
Length: 9 hours 22 minutes

A NEW YORKER BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR • This magisterial, intimate look at Black womanhood "follows three women whose various traumas haunt them literally and metaphorically, as it explores what it means to be a Black woman in America today" (The New York Times Book Review, Editor's Choice).

A middle-aged woman feed slots at a secret back-room... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Banyan Moon

A Novel

By: Thao Thai
Narrated by: Cindy Kay, Catherine Ho & Elyse Dinh
Length: 12 hours 23 minutes

Banyan Moon is a remarkable debut novel from Thao Thai that follows Vietnamese-American Ann, her mother, grandmother, and their connections to generations of women who came before. Moving from the Vietnam war to current day Florida, Thai peels away family secrets like an onion to reveal truth, healing, love and friendship. Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Sea Change

A Novel

By: Gina Chung
Narrated by: Jeena Yi
Length: 8 hours 14 minutes

A NEW YORK TIMES MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK • An enchanting novel about Ro, a woman tossed overboard by heartbreak and loss, who has to find her way back to stable shores with the help of a giant Pacific octopus at the mall aquarium where she works.

“Immersively beautiful.... A kaleidoscope of originality." —Weike Wang, acclaimed author of Joan is...
Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Moonrise Over New Jessup

By: Jamila Minnicks
Narrated by: Karen Chilton
Length: 10 hours 47 minutes

Winner of the 2021 PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction, a thought-provoking and enchanting debut about a Black woman doing whatever it takes to protect all she loves at the beginning of the civil rights movement in Alabama.
 
It’s 1957, and after leaving the only home she has ever known, Alice Young steps off the bus into the... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Red Clay Suzie

A Novel Inspired by True Events

By: Jeffrey Dale Lofton
Narrated by: Pete Cross
Length: 10 hours 13 minutes

The coming-of-age story of Philbet, a gay, physically-misshapen boy in rural Georgia, battles bullying, ignorance, and disdain as he makes his way in life as an outsider—before finding acceptance in unlikely places.Fueled by tomato sandwiches and green milkshakes and obsessed with cars, Philbet struggles with life and love as a gay boy in rural... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Our Best Intentions

A Novel

By: Vibhuti Jain
Narrated by: Ulka Simone Mohanty
Length: 10 hours 30 minutes

A Good Morning America Buzz Pick * NPR 1A Inaugural Book Club Pick * A 'Must-Read' by USA Today * Longlisted for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize * Booklist Editor's Choice * CrimeReads' Best of the YearA suspenseful drama about an immigrant family caught in a criminal investigation, perfect for readers of Celeste Ng's Everything I Never... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A Likely Story

A Novel

By: Leigh McMullan Abramson
Narrated by: Mia Barron, Cynthia Farrell, James Fouhey, Adam Grupper & Devon Sorvari
Length: 11 hours 2 minutes

“Meet Ward, his ultimate desire is to be a writer. Meet Claire, who desperately wants to break free of her family legacy. How far will they go to get what they want? Filled with family secrets, betrayal, and loss. But also a mother's love, redemption, and survival. A Likely Story is at first a slow burn novel that ends up moving like a freight... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

We Are A Haunting

A Novel

By: Tyriek White
Narrated by: James Jones, Machelle Williams & Arischa Frierson
Length: 8 hours 42 minutes

2023 First Novel Prize - Winner"What a beautiful, haunting and hued narrative of American living. I’m in love with this story and the way Tyriek White breathes life into these characters." —Jacqueline Woodson, MacArthur Fellow and author of Another Brooklyn
A poignant debut for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Jamel Brinkley, We Are a Haunting follows... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Y/N

A Novel

By: Esther Yi
Narrated by: Greta Jung
Length: 5 hours 8 minutes

Surreal, hilarious, and shrewdly poignant—a novel about a Korean American woman living in Berlin whose obsession with a K-pop idol sends her to Seoul on a journey of literary self-destruction.
It’s as if her life only began once Moon appeared in it. The desultory copywriting work, the boyfriend, and the want of anything not-Moon quickly fall away... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

What Napoleon Could Not Do

A Novel

By: DK Nnuro
Narrated by: Kofi Boakye, Ana Hoffman & Adam Lazarre-White
Length: 13 hours 57 minutes

One of the Books Barack Obama Is Reading This Summer
One of Vulture’s Best Books of 2023
One of Goodreads’ Buzziest Debut Novels of 2023
One of Essence’s 31 Books You Must Read
One of the most anticipated books by Town & Country and Elle

America is seen through the eyes and ambitions of three characters with ties to Africa in this gripping...
Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Night Wherever We Go

A Novel

By: Tracey Rose Peyton
Narrated by: Karen Chilton
Length: 8 hours 28 minutes

A RECOMMENDED READ FROM: The Washington Post • Atlanta Journal-Constitution • CrimeReads • Library JournalA gripping, radically intimate debut novel about a group of enslaved women staging a covert rebellion against their ownersOn a struggling Texas plantation, six enslaved women slip from their sleeping quarters and gather in the woods under... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Are you an audio champion? Join our reading challenge and you could win a year of audiobooks and more! Learn more