Skip content
Celebrate our 10th Anniversary with giveaways, merch, and more! Learn more
Bookseller Created
Dark Tales: Extraordinary Story Collections
All playlists

Dark Tales: Extraordinary Story Collections

Short story collections can be a hard sell - a shame, considering how vibrant the scene is. Here are some of our favorite collections!

Dark Tales

By: Shirley Jackson
Narrated by: Kirsten Potter, Kimberly Farr, Karissa Vacker & Mark Deakins
Length: 8 hours

For the first time in one volume, a collection of Shirley Jackson’s scariest stories, with a foreword by PEN/Hemingway Award winner Ottessa Moshfegh
 
After the publication of her short story “The Lottery” in the New Yorker in 1948 received an unprecedented amount of attention, Shirley Jackson was quickly established as a master horror... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

I Hold a Wolf by the Ears

Stories

By: Laura van den Berg
Narrated by: Amy Landon
Length: 5 hours 37 minutes

“Laura van den Berg’s new collection of stories, one of the most unique I’ve read in recent years, navigates a space between the outer and inner world and takes unexpected turns that, like her novel, The Third Hotel, seem to bring in aesthetics of literature outside our time and place to tell stories that are very much grounded in our present.... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Magic for Beginners

Stories

By: Kelly Link
Narrated by: Various
Length: 10 hours 44 minutes

Perfect for readers of George Saunders, Karen Russell, Neil Gaiman, and Aimee Bender, Magic for Beginners is an exquisite, dreamlike dispatch from a virtuoso storyteller who can do seemingly anything. Kelly Link reconstructs modern life through an intoxicating prism, conjuring up unforgettable worlds with humor and humanity. These stories are at... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Buy one get one free

This month only!

Become a member and shop our members-only, 10th anniversary buy-one-get-one sale in support of local bookstores.

Get started

Cursed Bunny

Stories

By: Bora Chung
Narrated by: Greta Jung
Length: 7 hours 6 minutes

SHORTLISTED FOR THE INTERNATIONAL BOOKER PRIZE AND WINNER OF A PEN/HEIM TRANSLATION GRANT

"Cool, brilliantly demented K-horror—just the way I like it!" Ed Park, author of Personal Days

A stunning, wildly original debut from a rising star of Korean literature—surreal, chilling fables that take on the patriarchy, capitalism, and the reign of big... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Howls From the Dark Ages

An Anthology of Medieval Horror

By: Christopher Buehlman, Brian Evenson, Bridget D. Brave, C.B. Jones, Caleb Stephens, Christopher O'Halloran, Cody Goodfellow, David Worn, Ethan Yoder, Hailey Piper, J.L. Kiefer, Jessica Peter, Lindsey Ragsdale, M.E. Bronstein, Michelle Tang, P.L. McMillan, Patrick Barb, Peter Ong Cook, Philippa Evans, Solomon Forse & Stevie Edwards
Narrated by: Don LaFollette, Sonja Lademacher, James Takahashi, Joshua Davos, Kyle Royall-West, Lance Lovegood, Matthew Byrne, Pandora Beatrix & Theodore T. Truman
Length: 9 hours 3 minutes

Uncover the secret annals of untold history in these eighteen medieval manuscripts. Each tortured scribe will bring you face to face with ancient horrors lurking in cursed castles, wild woodlands, haunted hamlets, and mysterious monasteries. Including a lineup of authors both established and emerging, HOWL Society Press presents the first-ever... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Monstrous Affections

An Anthology of Beastly Tales

By: Kelly Link (Editor)
Narrated by: Amy Rubinate & Nick Podehl
Length: 13 hours 22 minutes

Predatory kraken that sing with—and for—their kin; band members and betrayed friends who happen to be demonic; harpies as likely to attract as to repel. Welcome to a world where humans live side-by-side with monsters, from vampires both nostalgic and bumbling, to an eight-legged alien who makes tea. Here you'll find mercurial forms that burrow... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Great God Pan and Other Weird Tales

By: Arthur Machen
Narrated by: Peter Wickham
Length: 12 hours 50 minutes

Dubbed the greatest horror story in English by Stephen King, The Great God Pan is an eerie and otherworldly mystery about a diabolical operation and its terrifying repercussions. After rescuing a young woman from the streets of London, Dr Raymond uses her as a test subject for brain surgery aimed at ‘lifting the veil’ of reality, to see the... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Get In Trouble

Stories

By: Kelly Link
Narrated by: Grace Experience, Kirby Heyborne, Tara Sands, Robbie Daymond, Rebecca Lowman, Cassandra Campbell, Ish Klein, Susan Duerden & Kirsten Potter
Length: 9 hours 56 minutes

FINALIST FOR THE PULITZER PRIZE • NATIONAL BESTSELLER • A bewitching story collection from a writer hailed as “the most darkly playful voice in American fiction” (Michael Chabon) and “a national treasure” (Neil Gaiman).

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BookPageBuzzFeedChicago TribuneKirkus Reviews • NPR • San Francisco... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Damned & Other Stories of the Macabre

By: Algernon Blackwood
Narrated by: Paul Boehmer, Arthur Morey, Stefan Rudnicki & various narrators
Length: 10 hours 21 minutes

“And the word that rose in my mind was not the gross description of ‘impure,’ but the more fundamental qualification—‘un-pure.’”The Damned & Other Stories of the Macabre is Skyboat Media’s second original compilation of stories by Algernon Blackwood, featuring six of his most unique and macabre stories that contemplate the true meaning of... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Mouthful of Birds

Stories

By: Samanta Schweblin
Narrated by: Various
Length: 5 hours 57 minutes

Mouthful of Birds is an unsettling collection with a wide range of fascinating characters, finely tuned to focus on misogyny and parenthood, life and death. Across many of the stories in this book, it feels like the characters are running towards something until suddenly they realize they’re running away from it instead. Either way, their... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

salt slow

By: Julia Armfield
Narrated by: Kristin Atherton
Length: 5 hours 36 minutes

"Artistic and perceptive, Armfield’s debut explores the ebbs and flows of human connection in lives touched by the bizarre." - Kirkus

From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link.

In her electrifying debut, Julia Armfield explores women’s... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Century

By: Kim Fu
Narrated by: Piper Goodeve, Sean Patrick Hopkins, Samara Naeymi, Gary Tiedemann & Jeena Yi
Length: 6 hours 27 minutes

In the twelve unforgettable tales of Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Century, the strange is made familiar and the familiar strange, such that a girl growing wings on her legs feels like an ordinary rite of passage, while a bug-infested house becomes an impossible, Kafkaesque nightmare. Each story builds a new world all its own: a group of... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Stories of Your Life and Others

By: Ted Chiang
Narrated by: Abby Craden & Todd McLaren
Length: 10 hours 23 minutes

“I have read in several places that Ted Chiang is one of the most important voices in modern science fiction and after reading this book I fully agree with this statement. Stories of Your Life is a collection of short stories that for the most part were originally published in magazines. Each of the stories dealt with wildly different subjects,... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Her Body and Other Parties

Stories

By: Carmen Maria Machado
Narrated by: Amy Landon
Length: 8 hours 41 minutes

Her Body and Other Parties: Stories by Carmen Maria Machado is a blend of urban legends and horror stories all focusing on the roles women play in society. Machado writes in the most beautiful, haunting way, and each story is truly unique and almost always a little uncomfortable. Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Growing Things and Other Stories

By: Paul Tremblay
Narrated by: Sean Crisden, Graham Halstead, Cassandra Campbell, Sarah Naughton, Michael Crouch & Caitlin Kelly
Length: 11 hours 59 minutes

A chilling collection of psychological suspense and literary horror from the multiple award-winning author of the national bestseller The Cabin at the End of the World and A Head Full of Ghosts.

A masterful anthology featuring nineteen pieces of short fiction, Growing Things and Other Stories is an exciting glimpse into Paul Tremblay’s... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Celebrate our 10th Anniversary with giveaways, merch, and more! Learn more