Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
Best of the Year, so far 2022 Playlist

Best of the Year, so far 2022 Playlist

Recommended Audio Books from the first half os 2022, chosen by Bookshop Santa Cruz Staff *Some new in paperbacks included*

Playlist Tags: Bookshop Santa Cruz best of 2022

View all playlists

Horse

A Novel

By Geraldine Brooks
Narrated by: James Fouhey, Lisa Flanagan, Graham Halstead, Katherine Littrell & Michael Obiora
Length: 14 hours 5 minutes

Horse

“This book centers on Lexington, often considered the greatest horse in history. But this book is much more than the story of a horse. Brooks writes of slavery, the Civil War, academia, art and publishing, love and loyalty, and racism in history and today. I loved the bond between Jarret, an enslaved boy, and Lexington. I will be thinking of this book for quite some time.”

Bookstore1Sarasota image Melanie, Bookstore1Sarasota
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

This Time Tomorrow

A Novel

By Emma Straub
Narrated by: Marin Ireland
Length: 8 hours 30 minutes

This Time Tomorrow

“If you were raised on 13 Going on 30 or 17 Again you will love this book. There is something so magical about body-swapping time travel to make you appreciate your own life. Straub takes the classic trope and infuses the magic of New York City, living without technology, and a heartwarming relationship between a father and daughter. Add in the magical narration of Marin Ireland (who can do no wrong, every audiobook she touches is pure joy) and you have yourself 8.5 hours of all-consuming entertainment that has you ignoring all your responsibilities and tripping over tree roots on your walk (true story).”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Kimi, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Acts of Service

A Novel

By Lillian Fishman
Narrated by: Rebecca Lowman
Length: 7 hours 21 minutes

A “bold and unflinchingly sexy” (Vogue) debut novel about a young woman who follows her desires into a world of pleasure, decadence, and privilege, unraveling everything she thought she knew about sex . . . and herself.
 
“One of the most entertaining books about sex I’ve ever read . . . The perfect read for fans of Raven Leilani and Ottessa... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

Brown Girls

A Novel

By Daphne Palasi Andreades
Narrated by: Tashi Thomas
Length: 4 hours 26 minutes

If you enjoyed Red at the Bone, then you’ll love Brown Girls.

“What an absolutely gorgeous debut. The audiobook, narrated by Tashi Thomas, was more of a breathtaking performance than a mere narration. I highly recommend listening to this book and getting swept up in the life Thomas gives it. This book follows a female friend group from Queens over the course of their lives, taking us through the different paths they travel and the common experiences shared. Told in first person plural and present tense, Palasi Andreades brings an urgency to their story, a universality to their experience. By having a whole group of girls as the protagonist, we the readers are able to meander through multiple lives, always feeling allied with each."”

Pocket Books Shop image Julie, Pocket Books Shop
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Notes on an Execution

A Novel

By Danya Kukafka
Narrated by: Mozhan Marno & Jim Meskimen
Length: 9 hours 42 minutes

Notes on an Execution

“When the book opens, we meet the murderer Ansel Packer in his jail cell, 12 hours from execution. In the next chapter, he is a toddler in 1973 and we learn about his origins. At that chapter, I was hooked! As the book progresses, everything we learn about Ansel is from the point of view of the women in his life: his mother, his wife, and—my favorite—an 11-year-old girl who was in the foster care system with him. This is such an interesting exploration into the mind of a murderer. He feels very real, and very relatable.”

A Great Good Place for Books image Donna, A Great Good Place for Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Love of My Life

A Novel

By Rosie Walsh
Narrated by: Imogen Church & Theo Solomon
Length: 11 hours 28 minutes

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK

“Rosie Walsh’s The Love of My Life is my favorite kind of thriller—gripping, heartbreaking and impossible to put down.”—Laura Dave

A dazzling supernova of a book, it picks you up on line one and doesn't let you go until the very end. Each chapter is filled with heart-breaking...
Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Pure Colour

A Novel

By Sheila Heti
Narrated by: Sheila Heti
Length: 3 hours 49 minutes

Pure Colour is a galaxy of an audiobook: explosive, celestially bright, huge, and streaked with beauty. It is a contemporary bible, an atlas of feeling, and an absurdly funny guide to the great (and terrible) things about being alive. Sheila Heti is a philosopher of modern experience, and she has reimagined what a book can hold.

Here we are, just...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Making Numbers Count

The Art and Science of Communicating Numbers

By Chip Heath & Karla Starr
Narrated by: Kathe Mazur
Length: 4 hours 35 minutes

A clear, practical, first-of-its-kind guide to communicating and understanding numbers and data—from bestselling business author Chip Heath.

How much bigger is a billion than a million?

Well, a million seconds is twelve days. A billion seconds is…thirty-two years.

Understanding numbers is essential—but humans aren’t built to understand them.... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Chorus

By Rebecca Kauffman
Narrated by: Elisabeth Rodgers
Length: 6 hours 30 minutes

The seven Shaw siblings have long been haunted by two early and profoundly consequential events. Told in turns from the early twentieth century through the 1950s, the story builds as each sibling relays their own versions of the memories that surround both their mother’s mysterious death and the circumstances of one sister’s scandalous teenage... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Groundskeeping

A novel

By Lee Cole
Narrated by: Michael Crouch
Length: 12 hours 47 minutes

A TODAY SHOW #ReadWithJenna BOOK CLUB PICK • An indelible love story about two very different people navigating the entanglements of class and identity and coming of age in an America coming apart at the seams—this is "an extraordinary debut about the ties that bind families together and tear them apart across generations" (Ann Patchett,... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Great Circle

A novel

By Maggie Shipstead
Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell & Alex McKenna
Length: 25 hours 16 minutes

Great Circle

Great Circle is about two women 100 years apart: pilot Marian Graves and Hadley Baxter, the actress cast to play the famous pilot. This epic novel is fascinating, adventurous, and well-written, with great characters, historical details, and fantastic settings. Don’t miss this journey!”

Newtown Bookshop image Kathy Morrison, Newtown Bookshop
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Mary Jane

A Novel

By Jessica Anya Blau
Narrated by: Caitlin Kinnunen
Length: 9 hours 44 minutes

Mary Jane

“Mary Jane, oh, Mary Jane... You'll be singing along too, I promise you, to the expert and pitch-perfect audio performed by Caitlin Kinnunen, best known for playing Emma Nolan in the musical The Prom, for which she was nominated for a Tony Award. This tragicomic novel by Jessica Anya Blau was so fabulous, so fresh yet so nostalgic, it's absolutely the book I will be recommending for anyone's beach read. The dialogue was superb, the characters were loveable, the time period—1970s!!—was the best I loved it!”

The Vermont Book Shop image Jenny, The Vermont Book Shop
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Hour of the Witch

A Novel

By Chris Bohjalian
Narrated by: Grace Experience, Saskia Maarleveld, Danny Campbell, Cassandra Campbell, Arthur Morey, Mark Deakins, Julia Whelan, Kaleo Griffith, Kirby Heyborne, Rebecca Lowman & Mark Bramhall
Length: 14 hours 8 minutes

Hour of the Witch

“Mary Deerfield is married to a cruel and violent man who outwardly appears to be a pillar of the Putritan Boston community of 1662. She tries to divorce miller Thomas, but during the trial she runs up against suspicions of witchcraft, a hanging offense. ”

Village Square Booksellers image Pat, Village Square Booksellers
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

We Are the Brennans

A Novel

By Tracey Lange
Narrated by: Barrie Kreinik
Length: 9 hours 39 minutes

We Are the Brennans

“I ABSOLUTELY love this book! We Are the Brennans is the debut novel by Tracey Lange and centers around the Brennan family and the secrets that threaten to destroy their wonderfully dysfunctional Irish Catholic family.”

A Great Good Place for Books image Kathleen, A Great Good Place for Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

What's Mine and Yours

By Naima Coster
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 12 hours 15 minutes

A Read with Jenna Today Show Book Club Pick!

An instant New York Times bestseller!

A USA Today bestseller!

Named a Best Book of 2021 by Amazon • Esquire • Marie Claire • Refinery29 • Kirkus • Redbook • Ms. Magazine • The Millions • Undomesticated Magazine • Paperback Paris

"A once-every-few-years reading experience."—Mary Beth Keane, New York...
Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account