Skip navigation
Skip content
Shop small and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference
Bookseller Created
Spooky Szn

Spooky Szn

Listen to these spooky favorites...if you dare!

Playlist Tags: Tattered Cover genre: Horror season: halloween topic: horror halloween

View all playlists

A Cosmology of Monsters

A Novel

By Shaun Hamill
Narrated by: Sean Patrick Hopkins
Length: 10 hours 47 minutes

A Cosmology of Monsters

“When is the last time a horror novel was both scary and charming? A Cosmology of Monsters is that book! Riffing on themes from H.P. Lovecraft and Ray Bradbury, Hamill weaves a complex tale of lost cities, haunted Halloween attractions, and doorways to other worlds. I really enjoyed this literary horror story, which starts out as a love story (don’t ALL good horror tales?) and grows progressively creepier. The book posits the questions: Who are the real monsters, and why do we love to be scared? Truly an uber-creepy yet delightful homage. I loved it.”

An Unlikely Story image William Carl, An Unlikely Story
Audiobook details

Everyone Knows Your Mother Is a Witch

A Novel

By Rivka Galchen
Narrated by: Natasha Soudek
Length: 8 hours 47 minutes

"It’s both transfixing and destabilizing. It’s the best thing I listened to all winter." —Alexis Gunderson, PASTE Magazine

The startling, witty, highly anticipated second novel from Rivka Galchen, the critically acclaimed author of Atmospheric Disturbances.


The story begins in 1618, in the German duchy of Württemberg. Plague is spreading. The...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Haunting of Hill House

By Shirley Jackson
Narrated by: Bernadette Dunne
Length: 7 hours 27 minutes

Past the rusted gates and untrimmed hedges, Hill House broods and waits.

Four seekers have come to the ugly, abandoned old mansion: Dr. Montague, an occult scholar looking for solid evidence of the psychic phenomenon called haunting; Theodora, his lovely and lighthearted assistant; Eleanor, a lonely, homeless girl well acquainted with...

Read more »

Audiobook details
Libro.fm app in a gift box

Shop small and gift big!

Gift an audiobook membership to anyone in the world and support local bookstores at the same time.

Start gifting

The Saturday Night Ghost Club

A Novel

By Craig Davidson
Narrated by: Corey Brill
Length: 5 hours 41 minutes

The Saturday Night Ghost Club

“Good ghost stories are never really about ghosts. They are about memories, lessons learned, unfinished business, broken promises, potential unfulfilled, unthinkable tragedy, and everything that happened before we came on the scene. The Saturday Night Ghost Club is about all of these things and more. A heaping scoop of ’80s nostalgia provides a solid and comfortable backdrop for the story of a kid growing up and learning that adults (even familiar loved ones) have complicated lives and histories of their own.”

Inkwood Books NJ image Jen Richter, Inkwood Books NJ
Audiobook details

The Haunting of Alma Fielding

A True Ghost Story

By Kate Summerscale
Narrated by: David Morrissey
Length: 8 hours 19 minutes

Shortlisted for the 2020 Baillie Gifford Prize * New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice

Named a Best Book of the Year by NPR * The Sunday Times * The New Statesman * The Times * The Spectator * The Telegraph

“Prepare not to see much broad daylight, literal or metaphorical, for days if you read this.... The atmosphere evoked is something I will... Read more »

Audiobook details

Certain Dark Things

A Novel

By Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Narrated by: Aida Reluzco
Length: 8 hours 46 minutes

Certain Dark Things

“What an engrossing, vibrant, new take on vampires. Part forbidden love story, part revenge caper, part bloodbath, this is easily one of my favorite vampire stories now. I love how Moreno-Garcia creates complex social structures and vampire-specific physical attributes to heighten tensions. This divide between vampires, as well as the human-vampire rift, shines a stark light on the haves & have-nots. Moreno-Garcia is so deft at telling whirlwind stories while also presenting important social commentary. Aida Reluzco is an excellent narrator as well! Loved her narration style and tonal intonations.”

Books & Books @ The Studios of Key West image Riona, Books & Books @ The Studios of Key West
Audiobook details

Meddling Kids

A Novel

By Edgar Cantero
Narrated by: Kyla Garcia
Length: 12 hours 53 minutes

Meddling Kids

“I have an abiding fondness for kooky premises executed well, and Edgar Cantero's Meddling Kids is as kooky as they come. In 1977, the tween members of the Blyton Summer Detective Club solved their last case and went their separate ways. Now it's 1990 and the man they sent to jail has been paroled. These former detectives have unfinished business, so one of them resolves to get the gang back together to find out the dark truth behind that final case. Meddling Kids is a pop-culture savvy, uproarious romp but also an action-packed horror-thriller. Highly recommended for fans of Christopher Moore and Ernest Cline, or anyone seeking a little laughter, nostalgia, or escapism.”

BookShop West Portal image Susan Tunis, BookShop West Portal
Audiobook details

The Whisper Man

A Novel

By Alex North
Narrated by: Christopher Eccleston
Length: 9 hours 38 minutes

The Whisper Man

“A creepy, sinister, can’t-put-it-down story of a town that survives and then relives the crimes of a child serial killer. For those who love psychological thrillers (with the absence of gore but plenty of plot twists and turns), The Whisper Man is a grand ride into the minds of those who kill and those who are victims. You’ll find yourself looking over your shoulder when reading this book. Don’t stand too close to an open window...”

Maria's Bookshop image Helen Gregory, Maria's Bookshop
Audiobook details
Shop small and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference