Skip navigation
Skip content
Bookseller Created
Disability in Fiction

Disability in Fiction

These are all of the titles in the Disability in Fiction section at The Neverending Bookshop..

Playlist Tags: The Neverending Bookshop genre: Non-Classifiable disabilities fantasy science fiction childrens books

View all playlists

Beauty Queens

By Libba Bray
Narrated by: Libba Bray
Length: 14 hours 33 minutes

Beauty Queens

“This is my favorite book, ever. Bray's premise, teen pageant girls stranded on a hostile island, is executed with satire, humor, and heart. Among many other quirks, this novel features James Bond-esque tropes, hilarious 'commercial breaks' from an evil corporation, and himbo pirates. The female main cast is diverse in a way that doesn’t feel like a checklist–the trans representation in particular feels ahead of its time. Just as it took quarantine for so many people to reflect on their lives, it takes a deserted island for these young women to embrace their true selves. The author herself reads this audiobook in all its campy glory.”

Phoenix Books image Sam, Phoenix Books
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The War That Saved My Life

By Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Narrated by: Jayne Entwistle
Length: 7 hours 37 minutes

Winner of the 2016 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production

An exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World War 2, from the acclaimed author of Jefferson’s Sons and for fans of Number the Stars.
 
Nine-year-old Ada has never left her one-room apartment. Her mother is too humiliated by Ada’s twisted foot to... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The War I Finally Won

By Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Narrated by: Jayne Entwistle
Length: 8 hours 46 minutes

New York Times bestseller

Like the classic heroines of Sarah, Plain and TallLittle Women, and Anne of Green Gables, Ada is a fighter for the ages. Her triumphant World War II journey continues in this sequel to the Newbery Honor–winning The War that Saved My Life

 
When Ada’s clubfoot is surgically fixed at last, she knows for certain that... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

The Running Dream

By Wendelin Van Draanen
Narrated by: Laura Flanagan
Length: 6 hours 58 minutes

The acclaimed author of Flipped delivers a powerful and healing story that’s perfect for anyone who’s ever thought that something was impossible. Readers will revel in the story of a girl who puts herself back together—and learns to dream bigger than ever before—after she’s told she’ll never run again.

Jessica thinks her life is over when she... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A Boy Called Bat

The Bat Series: Book #1

By Elana K. Arnold
Narrated by: Patrick Lawlor
Length: 2 hours 27 minutes

The first book in a funny, heartfelt, and irresistible young middle grade series starring an unforgettable young boy on the autism spectrum, from acclaimed author Elana K. Arnold and with illustrations by Charles Santoso.

For Bixby Alexander Tam (nicknamed Bat), life tends to be full of surprises—some of them good, some not so good. Today,...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Tornado Brain

By Cat Patrick
Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie
Length: 6 hours 35 minutes

In this heartfelt and powerfully affecting coming of age story, a neurodivergent 7th grader is determined to find her missing best friend before it's too late.

Things never seem to go as easily for thirteen-year-old Frankie as they do for her sister, Tess. Unlike Tess, Frankie is neurodivergent. In her case, that means she can't stand to be... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Paper Heart

By Cat Patrick
Narrated by: Jesse Vilinsky
Length: 6 hours 54 minutes

In this companion to Tornado Brain, a moving tale of loss and healing comes full circle.

Tess has always understood her role in her family. She is supposed to be the "okay" one. The one no one has to worry about. But all Tess does is worry, constantly picking at her fingers every time a new worry arises. Still grieving her best friend's death,... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Just Ask!

Be Different, Be Brave, Be You

By Sonia Sotomayor
Narrated by: Ali Stroker & Sonia Sotomayor
Length: 11 minutes

A #1 New York Times bestseller!

Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor and award-winning artist Rafael Lopez create a kind and caring book about the differences that make each of us unique.


Feeling different, especially as a kid, can be tough. But in the same way that different types of plants and flowers make a garden more beautiful and enjoyable,... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

So Lucky

A Novel

By Nicola Griffith
Narrated by: Nicola Griffith
Length: 4 hours 51 minutes

From the author of Hild, a fierce and urgent autobiographical audiobook about a woman facing down a formidable foe.

So Lucky
is the sharp, surprising new audiobook by Nicola Griffith—the profoundly personal and emphatically political story of a confident woman forced to confront an unnerving new reality when in the space of a single week her wife...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Geek Love

Default Blank

By Katherine Dunn
Narrated by: Christina Moore
Length: 15 hours 28 minutes

Nominated for the National Book Award, Geek Love is mesmerizing, daring, and unconventional. Award-winning novelist Katherine Dunn fascinates and amazes much the same way tornados, earthquakes, and volcanos do. No one wants to be a victim, but most find the event too hypnotic to ignore. In order to save their traveling carnival from bankruptcy,... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Rosie Project

By Graeme Simsion
Narrated by: Dan O'Grady
Length: 7 hours 32 minutes

The international bestselling romantic comedy “bursting with warmth, emotional depth, and…humor,” (Entertainment Weekly) featuring the oddly charming, socially challenged genetics professor, Don, as he seeks true love.

The art of love is never a science: Meet Don Tillman, a brilliant yet socially inept professor of genetics, who’s decided it’s... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Out of My Mind

By Sharon M. Draper
Narrated by: Sisi Aisha Johnson
Length: 6 hours 49 minutes

A New York Times bestseller for three years and counting!

“A gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes.” —School Library Journal (starred review)
“Unflinching and realistic.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

From award-winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability,... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Song for a Whale

By Lynne Kelly
Narrated by: Abigail Revasch & Lynne Kelly
Length: 6 hours 34 minutes

In the spirit of modern-day classics like Fish in a Tree and Counting by 7s comes the story of a deaf girl's connection to a whale whose song can't be heard by his species, and the journey she takes to help him.

From fixing the class computer to repairing old radios, twelve-year-old Iris is a tech genius. But she's the only deaf person in her... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Planet Earth Is Blue

By Nicole Panteleakos
Narrated by: Dylan Moore
Length: 5 hours 36 minutes

"Tender and illuminating. A beautiful debut." --Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me

A heartrending and hopeful debut novel about a nonverbal girl and her passion for space exploration, for fans of See You in the Cosmos, Mockingbird, and The Thing About Jellyfish.


Twelve-year-old Nova is eagerly awaiting the launch of... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Girl in Red

By Christina Henry
Narrated by: January LaVoy
Length: 8 hours 21 minutes

The Girl in Red

“When people started getting sick, Red started getting ready. A fan of horror stories and survivalist tales, she thought she knew what it would take to keep herself and her family safe. Unfortunately, her parents and older brother weren’t inclined to take her advice. And so she finds herself in the woods, hatchet in hand and backpack on, slowly making her way to her grandmother’s house all alone. The Girl in Red is Christina Henry’s (Alice, Lost Boy) retelling of a classic folktale, in which Little Red Riding Hood is not as defenseless as she seems. A fascinating reimagining, placing ability at the heart of the tale. While Red is strong of mind, body, and spirit, she continues to put one foot in front of the other, letting nothing and no-one stand in her way, and facing the lengths she would go to in order to protect herself and those more vulnerable than her, in order to make it to her grandmother’s house alive.”

River Dog Book Co. image BrocheAroe, River Dog Book Co.
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account